Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Marriott Hotel / JW Marriott logo
FV-01575FDD 2026Data Quality·Excellent81%
Manager-run OKYes: Protected territory

Marriott Hotel / JW Marriott Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

LodgingMDFranchising since 1968CEOAnthony CapuanoWebsite Report an errorFranchisor? Claim this listing

Data from FDD filing + SBA 7(a) records

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

AStrongest tier76/100

JW Marriott is Marriott's luxury full-service hotel franchise for upscale business and leisure travelers. Franchisees own and operate individual properties, running rooms, dining, events, and guest services on Marriott's systems.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Marriott Hotel / JW Marriott franchise does not disclose total investment in its current FDD, including a $100K – $120K franchise fee and an ongoing 6.0% royalty[2]. The 2026 FDD on file does not yield a unit-revenue figure we can publish. FranchiseVerdict grade: A (Strongest tier), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Data last verified · figures per the 2026 FDD issuance

Overview

Investment
$104.8M
72nd pct Lodging
Avg gross sales
N/A
Projection
Royalty
6.0%
53rd pct Lodging
Units
369
60th pct Lodging
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Lodging · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$104.8M
Avg $10.5M
Franchise Fee
$100K – $120K
Avg $60K
Liquid Capital Req'd
$1.1M – $2.4M
Avg $566K
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Non-annual metric
Royalty Rate
6.0%
Avg 5.4%
Ongoing Fees
7.0% of rev
Avg 10.4%
SBA Charge-Off Rate
No SBA data
Not SBA-matched
System Size
369 units
Avg 229 units
Turnover Rate
0.8%
Avg 4.0%
Territory
Protected
Exclusive zone granted
Owner-Operator
Optional
Can hire a manager
Litigation
5 cases
Some history

Green = favorable by >10% vs Lodging avg · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $104.8M including a $100K franchise fee, 6.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSItem 19 reports operating metrics rather than annual gross sales, so unit revenue is not directly comparable.
  • RISKVerdict A (Strongest tier), verdict score 76/100 (higher is better).
  • DATAItem 19 reports operating metrics rather than annual gross sales, so unit revenue is not directly comparable. Ask franchisees directly for full unit-level revenue.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
MIF, L.L.C.
Parent company
Marriott International, Inc.
CEO title
Director, Chief Executive Officer, and President (of MII)
Anthony Capuano
Incorporated in
DE
HQ
7750 Wisconsin Avenue, Bethesda, Maryland 20814
Auditor
Ernst & Young LLP
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$147.5M
vs $103.3M prior year

Overview

About

CEO
Anthony Capuano
Headquarters
MD
FDD year
2026
States available
40

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Franchise fee$100,000Not cited — published from our reading of the franchisor's disclosure document; the page it is printed on has not been located.
Royalty + ad fund6.0% + 1.0%
Working capital$1.1M – $2.4M

Source: FDD 2026 · Items 5–7

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$104.8M
Bottom third — review vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$1.1M – $2.4M
Middle of category vs category
Franchise fee
$100K – $120K
Middle of category vs category
Royalty
6.0%
Set by a formula · typical 6–8%
Ad fund
1.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
7.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Marriott Hotel / JW Marriott: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty6.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund1.0% of gross sales
Technology fee$210
Training fee$105K
Transfer fee$16K
Renewal fee$0
Total fee load7.0% of rev

What do units actually make?

Item 19 typeoperating metrics
Sample size232

Source: FDD 2026 · Item 19

ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

No Item 19 revenue figure for Marriott Hotel / JW Marriott is on file. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Marriott Hotel / JW Marriott unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 68%
typ 35%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
No Item 7 range on file. Enter your own
FDD reports $1.1M–$2.4M

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
EBITDA margin
Total invested
$106.5M
Payback
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2026 FDD

Financial Performance

Not a revenue figure

Item 19 type
operating metrics
Sample size
232
vs category median 98 · large
Reporting year
2025
Fiscal year the figures cover
Source filing
FDD 2026
Disclosed in the 2026 filing, covering 2025
Gross sales rank
No comparison data
Investment cost rank72th
Lower investment ranks lower (better)
Royalty rate rank53th
Lower royalty = lower percentile (better)
Unit count rank60th
vs Lodging peers
Risk score rank14th
Lower risk = lower percentile (better)

Compared against 175 Lodging brands

Showing the headline figures — all 134 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 7.0% — below the Lodging average of 10.4%.

Disclosure

Item 19 reports operating metrics rather than annual gross sales, so unit revenue is not directly comparable.

Operator retention

System roughly stable (+2.0% 3-year CAGR) with 369 units.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Lodging averages

How Marriott Hotel / JW Marriott Compares

Metric
Marriott Hotel / JW Marriott
Category Avg
vs Avg
Investment
N/A
$10.5M
Revenue
N/A
$1.4M
Unit Count
369
229.333

Is the system healthy?

Total units369Verified — printed on page 121 of the 2026 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it two ways.
3-yr growth+2.0%
Turnover rate0.8%

Source: FDD 2026 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
369
Opened
7
Last reporting year
Closed
0
Terminated
2
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
0.8%
Company-owned
119
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
68%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
+2.0%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
+2.0%
Compounded over last 3 years

3-year detail · Item 20

Opened (3yr)
7
Closed (3yr)
0
Terminated (3yr)
2
Non-renewed (3yr)
0
Transfers (3yr)
9
Reacquired (3yr)
0
Franchisor bought back
Termination rate
1.2%
Franchisor-initiated terminations
2023
245
Franchised units
2024
245±0
Franchised units
2025
250+5
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 20 · 40 states with active franchisees

The Territory Map

Derived from franchisee contact records. Shows states with at least one current operator. Not where the franchisor is registered to sell new units (that data is re-extracting in a future refresh).

AK
ME
VT
NH
MA
RI
CT
NY
NJ
PA
DE
MD
DC
WA
OR
CA
NV
ID
MT
WY
UT
CO
AZ
NM
ND
SD
NE
KS
OK
TX
MN
IA
MO
AR
LA
WI
IL
MS
TN
MI
IN
KY
AL
OH
WV
GA
VA
NC
SC
FL
HI
Active operators · 40 states
No contacts on file

States derived from franchisee contact records (FDD Item 20). Shows states with at least one current operator on file. Full state registration data (Item 12) will appear on a future FDD refresh.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

Total loans
11
Loan volume
$26.1M
Median loan
$2.4M
average
Charge-off rate
N/A
no resolved loans yet — rate needs a terminal outcome

Historical SBA 7(a) lending data, not predictive of future performance. How SBA charge-off rates are calculated

Repayment rate (PIF)
N/A
5-yr charge-off
N/A
Loans approved 2021+
Active lenders
9
Defaults
0

Vintage analysis

Marriott Hotel / JW Marriott charge-off rate by loan vintage

BrandNational avg
Marriott Hotel / JW Marriott charge-off rate by loan vintage. Showing 7 vintages from 2002 to 2012. Rates range from 0.0% to 0.0%.0%5%10%'02'04'07'09'10'11'12

Top lenders financing Marriott Hotel / JW Marriott franchisees

United Fidelity Bank, FSB2 loans0.0%
Liberty Bank, FSB2 loans0.0%
BMO Bank National Association1 loans0.0%

Showing 3 of 9 lenders. The full breakdown — every lender, state distribution, interest rates & risk ratings — is in the SBA Lending Report below.

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

Premium insight

SBA Lending Report

Deep-dive into Marriott Hotel / JW Marriott's SBA lending history: lender network, geographic footprint, interest rates, and more.

SBA Lending Report

  • Principal loss rate and NAICS industry benchmark
  • 9 lenders with concentration factor
  • Per-state charge-off rates across 5 states
  • Startup risk premium and job creation velocity
$29 one-time

Instant access. No subscription.

What could kill this investment?

Verdict score76/100 (higher is better)
Litigation5 cases
Going concernClear

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

AStrongest tier76Verdict score 76/100

JW Marriott presents moderate-to-cautionary risk: stagnant growth, material litigation exposure, opaque financials, and heavy royalty load without disclosed profitability benchmarks.

High confidence±3 pts
3642

Litigation (Item 3)

Ongoing data breach litigation from 2018 Starwood incident (MDL plus thousands of individual plaintiffs in NY state court); Canadian class action; two hotel antitrust class actions (Portillo, Segal); franchisee credit card proceeds dispute (SRG Investment). Concluded cases include resort fee class actions, UK ICO penalty, FTC/AG settlements totaling $52M+, Chicago settlement $5.8M.

Largest disclosed settlement: $52,000,000

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Ernst & Young LLP

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $147.5MYr 2: $103.3MNon-royalty: $3.0M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

MIF, L.L.C. statements of income ($ in thousands). FY2025 total revenue $147,482K = net fee revenues $96,599K (gross fee revenue $98,016K less contract investment amortization $1,417K) plus cost reimbursement revenue $50,883K. Other revenue = licensing fees and other revenue $2,989K (component of gross fee revenue).

ⓘ These are the parent company's consolidated financials (the parent guarantees the franchisor), not this brand's standalone results — the figure reflects the whole corporate group, not this brand alone.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: Yes
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: Yes

Score breakdown · what drove the 76 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MINORMinimal unit growth (2.0% YoY) suggests market saturation or franchisee dissatisfaction in luxury hotel segment
  2. 02HIGHSignificant ongoing litigation from 2018 Starwood data breach, resort fee investigations, and antitrust claims creates operational and reputational risk
  3. 03MEDHigh capital barrier and 20-year commitment with no disclosed average net income creates asymmetric risk for franchisee vs. franchisor
  4. 04MINORLuxury hotel segment vulnerable to economic downturns, travel disruption, and labor cost inflation affecting already-thin margins

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 134 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Full litigation history from the FDD (Items 3 and 4) →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 7.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term20 yrs
TerritoryNot exclusive
Initial training40 hrs

Source: FDD 2026 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term20 years
Allowed renewals0
Territory typeprotected
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryNo
Online sales rightsGranted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorOptional
Right of first refusalNo
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Curable defaults7
Mandatory arbitrationYes
Arbitration locationBaltimore, Maryland
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawMD
Litigation count5
View Item 3 litigation summary

Ongoing data breach litigation from 2018 Starwood incident (MDL plus thousands of individual plaintiffs in NY state court); Canadian class action; two hotel antitrust class actions (Portillo, Segal); franchisee credit card proceeds dispute (SRG Investment). Concluded cases include resort fee class actions, UK ICO penalty, FTC/AG settlements totaling $52M+, Chicago settlement $5.8M.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
40 hrs
On-the-job training
0 hrs
Training location
Franchisor-designated location (on-site and virtual); pre-opening training at hotel or franchisor facilities
Ongoing training
Required
Time to open
33 mo
From signing to launch
Site selection
franchisee
Franchisor financing
Offered
Item 10
POS system
Simphony POS by Oracle
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

Site selection assistance
Grand opening support
Lease negotiation help

Technology: Simphony POS by Oracle

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

249 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 249 contacts · $49
Free preview
(203) 357-••••CT
Unlock all 249 contacts
(708) 594-••••IL
(305) 374-••••FL
(402) 399-••••NE
(801) 377-••••UT

FDD download

Marriott Hotel / JW Marriott · FDD (2026) PDF

Single-page checkout · instant download · CSV export of contacts available separately above

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

What do Marriott Hotel / JW Marriott franchise owners earn?

No average owner earnings figure for Marriott Hotel / JW Marriott is on file. Item 19 — where a franchisor may disclose what its outlets earn — is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and we have not established what this brand's FDD says. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

What is Item 19 in the Marriott Hotel / JW Marriott FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Marriott Hotel / JW Marriott FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Marriott Hotel / JW Marriott's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for Marriott Hotel / JW Marriott (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many Marriott Hotel / JW Marriott franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Marriott Hotel / JW Marriott has 369 total units in the United States, including 250 franchised units and 119 company-owned units. 7 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is Marriott Hotel / JW Marriott a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Marriott Hotel / JW Marriott as a A-grade franchise with a verdict score of 76 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Marriott Hotel / JW Marriott, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Lodging franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Lodging category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.