Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
HardTop Hotel logo

HardTop Hotel Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

LodgingMAFranchising since 2024
BAbove averageAbove average58/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$116K – $206K
Disclosed sales
partial, no system average
SBA charge-off
Not SBA-matched

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-01160FDD 2026Data QualityExcellent81%Pre-opening
Owner-operator requiredYes: Exclusive territory

Data from FDD filing

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

HardTop Hotel is a hotel franchise operating boutique lodging properties. Franchisees own and operate the hotels, managing front desk, housekeeping, and revenue under brand standards.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A HardTop Hotel franchise requires a total initial investment of $116K – $206K, including a $50K franchise fee and an ongoing 8.0% royalty[2]. The 2026 FDD on file does not yield a unit-revenue figure we can publish. FranchiseVerdict grade: B (Above average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Limited operating history: franchising since 2024. A system this young has fewer than three years of Item 20 outlet history and rarely enough SBA loans for a charge-off rate, so its grade rests on less evidence than an established system's. Read its Item 20 tables and talk to its first franchisees before relying on the grade. Other new franchisors

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: low - issued within the last 12 months

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored6 of 6 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing.

Overview

Investment
$116K – $206K
4th pct Lodging
Avg gross sales
N/A
Company-owned onlyn=1
Royalty
8.0%
67th pct Lodging
Units
6
18th pct Lodging
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Lodging · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$116K – $206K
Median $8.9M
below median ↓, better than category
Franchise Fee
$50K – $50K
Median $50K
near median
Liquid Capital Req'd
$10K – $25K
Median $312K
below median ↓, better than category
Avg Revenue
Partial, no system average
No system average in Item 19
Royalty Rate
8.0%
Median 5.0%
above median ↑, worse than category
Ongoing Fees
9.0% of rev
Median 8.5%
near median
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Not SBA-matched
Not matched to SBA 7(a) loans
System Size
6 units
Median 60 units
below median ↓, worse than category
Turnover Rate
N/A
Median 0.7%
below median ↓, better than category
Territory
Exclusive
No other outlet of the brand may open inside it
Owner-Operator
Required
You must run it yourself
Litigation
None disclosed
Clean record

Green = favorable by >10% vs Lodging median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $116K – $206K including a $50K franchise fee, 8.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSItem 19 covers the single affiliate-owned outlet serving Greater Boston, southern New Hampshire and Rhode Island. Five franchised outlets were open at the 2025 year end and none are disclosed. The franchisor notes the affiliate outlet is not subject to the territorial restrictions or fees a franchisee faces.
  • RISKVerdict B (Above average), verdict score 58/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHPositive: net +5 franchised outlets in the latest year (5 opened, 0 closed); 1 signed but not yet open (Item 20).
  • DATAItem 19 reports outlet revenue, but not in a form that yields a per-outlet average we can compare across brands. Ask franchisees directly for full unit-level revenue.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
HardTop Hotel LLC
Predecessor
None
Prior franchisor entity
CEO title
Chief Executive Officer
Ryan Henry
Incorporated in
MA
HQ
63 Middlesex Street, Suite 16, North Chelmsford, Massachusetts, 01863
Auditor
Not specified (St. George, Utah auditor)
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$349K
vs $19K prior year

Overview

About

CEO
Ryan Henry
Headquarters
MA
Founded
2024
FDD year
2026
States available
4

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 98% below the typical lodging franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$116K – $206KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 14 of the 2026 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$50,000Verified — printed on page 8 of the 2026 FDD (Item 5), and another item of the same filing prints the same figure on a labelled row, which is an independent restatement.
Royalty8.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 8 of the 2026 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fund1.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 8 of the 2026 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Working capital$10K – $25K

Source: FDD 2026 · Items 5–7

FDD Item 7 · 2026 filing

Initial investment breakdown

HardTop Hotel: Item 7 initial investment breakdown
Cost componentLowHigh
Initial franchise fee$50K$50K
Working capital (3–6 mo)$10K$25K
Equipment, build-out, other$56K$131K
Total initial investment$116K$206K

Source: HardTop Hotel 2026 FDD, Items 5 and 7[2]. “Equipment, build-out, other” is computed as total minus disclosed line items above.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$116K – $206K
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$10K – $25K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$50K – $50K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
8.0%
typical 6–8%
Ad fund
1.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
9.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

HardTop Hotel: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty8.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund1.0% of gross sales
Technology fee$25
Transfer fee$33K
Renewal fee$5K
Inventory (initial)$400 – $400
Total fee load9.0% of rev

What do units actually make?

Avg gross salesNot extracted
Median gross salesNot extracted
Item 19 typeaffiliate outlet historica…
Sample size1

Source: FDD 2026 · Item 19

ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

No Item 19 revenue figure for HardTop Hotel is on file. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one HardTop Hotel unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $116K–$206K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $10K–$25K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$178K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2026 FDD

Financial Performance

Item 19 covers the single affiliate-owned outlet serving Greater Boston, southern New Hampshire and Rhode Island. Five franchised outlets were open at the 2025 year end and none are disclosed. The franchisor notes the affiliate outlet is not subject to the territorial restrictions or fees a franchisee faces.

Company-owned outlets only - not franchisee performance

Based on a single reporting unit - not a system average

Item 19 type
affiliate outlet historical
Sample size
1
vs category median 98 · small
Reported figure
$682KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 33 of the 2026 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
A single outlet — not a range
Reporting year
2025
Fiscal year the figures cover
Source filing
FDD 2026
Disclosed in the 2026 filing, covering 2025
Transparency
6 / 10
vs category median 0 / 10 · above
Gross sales rank
No comparison data
Investment cost rank4th
Lower investment ranks lower (better)
Royalty rate rank67th
Lower royalty = lower percentile (better)
Unit count rank18th
vs Lodging peers
Risk score rank43th
Lower risk = lower percentile (better)

Compared against 175 Lodging brands

Showing the headline figures — all 150 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 9.0% (near the Lodging median).

Disclosure

Item 19 reports outlet revenue, but not in a form that yields a per-outlet average we can compare across brands.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Lodging medians

How HardTop Hotel Compares

Metric
HardTop Hotel
Category median
vs median
Investment
$161K
$8.9Mmiddle half $1.2M–$18.3M · n=96
Below median, better than category
Revenue
N/A
$1.4Mmiddle half $1.0M–$1.8M · n=2
N/A
Unit Count
6
60middle half 6–245 · n=126
Below median, worse than category

Category median of published Lodging brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units6Verified — printed on page 35 of the 2026 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it two ways.

Source: FDD 2026 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
6
Opened
5
Last reporting year
Closed
0
Terminated
0
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
N/A
Company-owned
1
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
83%
vs corporate-owned

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
0
Not renewed
0
Transferred
0
Reacquired
0
Franchisor bought back
Signed, not yet open
1
0.17 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
0
Franchisor's next-year forecast
2023
0
Franchised units
2024
0±0
Franchised units
2025
5+5
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 12 · 4 states reported

The Territory Map

FDD Item 12 reports the state count, but the specific list isn't in our current data. The map will appear once we re-extract from the FDD or enough franchisee contacts are available.

4

states with franchisees (per FDD Item 12)

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

2 current owners across 2 states.

  • MA 1
  • WA 1

Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

No SBA loan data available for this brand.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offNot SBA-matched
Verdict score58/100 (higher is better)
Litigation0 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

BAbove average58Verdict score 58/100
Moderate confidence±13 pts
4571

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: officers or affiliates. The franchisor is not a named party in these cases.

0 case reference(s): 3 pending, 0 settled.

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Not specified (St. George, Utah auditor)

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $0.3MYr 2: $0.0M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: No
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: Yes

Score breakdown · what drove the 58 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MINOROnly 6 units with unknown growth trajectory suggests stagnant or contracting system
  2. 02MINORHigh royalty rate (8%) combined with capital intensity reduces franchisee margins
  3. 03MINORSignificant investment range ($116k-$206k) suggests inconsistent unit economics or hidden costs

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 150 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 9.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term7 yrs
Renewal term5 yrs
TerritoryExclusive (favorable vs category)
Initial training32 hrs

Source: FDD 2026 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term7 years
Renewal term5 years
Allowed renewalsℹ3
Territory typeExclusive territory
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryℹYes
Online sales rightsℹRestricted
Franchisor can competeNo
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorRequired
Non-compete (years)ℹ2 years
Non-compete (miles)ℹ25 mi
Right of first refusalℹYes
RoFR response window30 days
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice5 days
Curable defaultsℹ1
Mandatory arbitrationYes
Arbitration locationMassachusetts
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawMA
Litigation count0
View Item 3 litigation summary

0 case reference(s): 3 pending, 0 settled.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
23 hrs
On-the-job training
11 hrs
Training location
North Chelmsford, MA (HQ)
Ongoing training
Required
Time to open
2 mo
From signing to launch
Site selection
Franchisor approves storage facility site
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10
POS system
OwnerAlly
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Technology: OwnerAlly

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

2 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 2 contacts · $49
Free preview
(617) 766-••••MA
Unlock all 2 contacts
(360) 902-••••WA

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a HardTop Hotel franchise?

The total investment to open a HardTop Hotel franchise ranges from $116K – $206K, with an initial franchise fee of $50K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do HardTop Hotel franchise owners earn?

Item 19 of the HardTop Hotel FDD discloses outlet figures from $682K to $682K but no single average across all outlets. These are gross sales figures, not profit; the Revenue section shows what the filing reports and on what basis. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns HardTop Hotel?

HardTop Hotel is franchised by HardTop Hotel LLC. The FDD names no parent company. Source: FDD Item 1, 2026 filing.

What is Item 19 in the HardTop Hotel FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the HardTop Hotel FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is HardTop Hotel's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for HardTop Hotel (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many HardTop Hotel franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, HardTop Hotel has 6 total units in the United States, including 5 franchised units and 1 company-owned units. 5 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is HardTop Hotel a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates HardTop Hotel as a B-grade franchise with a verdict score of 58 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent HardTop Hotel, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Lodging franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Lodging category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.