Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Kwik Kar logo
FV-01439FDD 2025Data Quality·Excellent86%
Manager-run OKNo: No territory protection

Kwik Kar Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

AutomotiveCOFranchising since 2024CEORon StilwellWebsite Report an errorFranchisor? Claim this listing

Data from FDD filing + SBA 7(a) records

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

BAbove average53/100

Kwik Kar is an automotive franchise offering oil changes, tire service, and general auto maintenance and repair. Franchisees run the service centers, managing technicians, scheduling, and customer service.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Kwik Kar franchise requires a total initial investment of $291K – $917K, including a $40K franchise fee and an ongoing 6.0% royalty[2]. The 2025 FDD on file does not yield a unit-revenue figure we can publish. SBA 7(a) loans show a 7.7% charge-off rate across 43 loans[1]. FranchiseVerdict grade: B (Above average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Data last verified · figures per the 2025 FDD issuance

Overview

Investment
$291K – $917K
38th pct Automotive
Avg gross sales
N/A
Company-owned onlyNet sales
Royalty
6.0%
15th pct Automotive
Units
26
16th pct Automotive
SBA charge-off
7.7%
% of SBA 7(a) loans not repaid · median varies by category

Quick verdict · Automotive · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$291K – $917K
Avg $876K
below avg ↓
Franchise Fee
$40K – $40K
Avg $33K
Liquid Capital Req'd
$35K – $75K
Avg $77K
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Non-annual metric
Royalty Rate
6.0%
Avg 7.2%
Ongoing Fees
6.5% of rev
Avg 9.4%
SBA Charge-Off Rate
7.7%
Avg 15.8%
below avg ↓
System Size
26 units
Avg 322 units
Turnover Rate
N/A
Avg 7.8%
Territory
Not protected
Franchisor can open nearby
Owner-Operator
Optional
Can hire a manager
Litigation
None disclosed
Clean record

Green = favorable by >10% vs Automotive avg · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $291K – $917K including a $40K franchise fee, 6.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSItem 19 reports outlet revenue, but not in a form that yields a per-outlet average we can compare across brands.
  • RISKVerdict B (Above average), verdict score 53/100 (higher is better). SBA loan charge-off rate of 7.7% across 43 loans (near or below the 16% franchise average, based on all SBA 7(a) franchise lending, 2010–2025).
  • DATAItem 19 reports outlet revenue, but not in a form that yields a per-outlet average we can compare across brands. Ask franchisees directly for full unit-level revenue.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Kwik Kar Franchising, LLC
Parent company
MOP GM Holding, LLC
Ultimate parent
MidOcean Partners V, L.P.
CEO title
President
Ron Stilwell
Incorporated in
DE
HQ
5575 DTC Parkway, Suite 100, Greenwood Village, CO 80111
Auditor
KPMG LLP
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$278.9M
vs $288.4M prior year

Independent franchisee associations

  • Franchise Advisory Council (FAC)

Franchisee-led councils or alliances disclosed in Item 20. Indicates operator voice.

Overview

About

CEO
Ron Stilwell
Headquarters
CO
Founded
2024
FDD year
2025
States available
1

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 31% below the typical automotive franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$291K – $917KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 23 of the 2025 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$39,900Verified — printed on page 17 of the 2025 FDD (Item 5), and another item of the same filing prints the same figure on a labelled row, which is an independent restatement.
Royalty + ad fund6.0% + 0.5%
Working capital$35K – $75K

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 5–7

FDD Item 7 · 2025 filing

Initial investment breakdown

Kwik Kar: Item 7 initial investment breakdown
Cost componentLowHigh
Initial franchise fee$40K$40K
Working capital (3–6 mo)$35K$75K
Equipment, build-out, other$216K$802K
Total initial investment$291K$917K

Source: Kwik Kar 2025 FDD, Items 5 and 7[2]. “Equipment, build-out, other” is computed as total minus disclosed line items above.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$291K – $917K
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$35K – $75K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$40K – $40K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
6.0%
typical 6–8%
Ad fund
0.5%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
6.5%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Kwik Kar: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty6.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund0.5% of gross sales
Technology fee$193
Transfer fee$5K
Renewal fee$5K
Inventory (initial)$25K $35K
Total fee load6.5% of rev

What do units actually make?

Median gross sales$874KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 57 of the 2025 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Item 19 typeaffiliate owned centers
Sample size24

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 19

ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

No Item 19 revenue figure for Kwik Kar is on file. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Kwik Kar unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 68%
typ 35%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $291K–$917K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $35K–$75K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
EBITDA margin
Total invested
$659K
Payback
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2025 FDD

Financial Performance

Company-owned outlets only - not franchisee performance

Reported as net sales, not gross sales

Median gross sales
$874K

Gross sales are revenue before expenses — not profit. Actual owner earnings depend on rent, labor, royalties, marketing fees, and debt service.

No system-wide average is published for this brand. The median and range below are what Item 19 supports; we show an average only where it reconciles against them.

Item 19 type
affiliate owned centers
Sample size
24
vs category median 70 · small
Range (low → high)
$431K$2.2M
Cohort dispersion (min → max)
Reporting year
2024
Fiscal year the figures cover
Source filing
FDD 2025
Disclosed in the 2025 filing, covering 2024
Transparency
9 / 10
vs category median 4 / 10 · above
Gross sales rank
No comparison data
Investment cost rank38th
Lower investment ranks lower (better)
Royalty rate rank15th
Lower royalty = lower percentile (better)
Unit count rank16th
vs Automotive peers
Risk score rank42th
Lower risk = lower percentile (better)

Compared against 167 Automotive brands

Showing the headline figures — all 156 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 6.5% — below the Automotive average of 9.4%.

Disclosure

Item 19 reports outlet revenue, but not in a form that yields a per-outlet average we can compare across brands.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Automotive averages

How Kwik Kar Compares

Metric
Kwik Kar
Category Avg
vs Avg
Investment
$604K
$876K
Revenue
N/A
$1.4M
Unit Count
26
322.223

Is the system healthy?

Total units26Verified — printed on page 61 of the 2025 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it two ways.

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
26
Opened
0
Last reporting year
Closed
0
Terminated
0
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
N/A
Company-owned
26
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
0%
vs corporate-owned

3-year detail · Item 20

Opened (3yr)
0
Closed (3yr)
0
Terminated (3yr)
0
Non-renewed (3yr)
0
Transfers (3yr)
0
Reacquired (3yr)
0
Franchisor bought back
Projected new
3
Franchisor's next-year forecast
2022
0
Franchised units
2023
0±0
Franchised units
2024
0±0
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 12 · 1 state reported

The Territory Map

FDD Item 12 reports the state count, but the specific list isn't in our current data. The map will appear once we re-extract from the FDD or enough franchisee contacts are available.

1

states with franchisees (per FDD Item 12)

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

B
SBA Lending Health
Strong SBA lending record · 7.7% charge-off
Total loans
43
Loan volume
$35.2M
Median loan
$820K
average
Charge-off rate
7.7%
rates vary by category · see methodology

Historical SBA 7(a) lending data, not predictive of future performance. How SBA charge-off rates are calculated

Repayment rate (PIF)
92.3%
5-yr charge-off
0.0%
Loans approved 2021+
Active lenders
25
Defaults
3
Typical loan rate
5.7%
avg rate to borrowers
vs industry
N/A
Jobs supported
N/A
Lender concentration
14%
top lender's share

Vintage analysis

Kwik Kar charge-off rate by loan vintage

BrandNational avg
Kwik Kar charge-off rate by loan vintage. Showing 20 vintages from 1993 to 2017. Rates range from 0.0% to 100.0%.0%5%10%15%20%25%30%35%40%45%50%55%60%65%70%75%80%85%90%95%100%'93'96'01'04'09'12'16'17

Top lenders financing Kwik Kar franchisees

Wells Fargo Bank National Association6 loans0.0%
Simmons Bank4 loans0.0%
American Bank and Trust Company3 loans0.0%

Showing 3 of 25 lenders. The full breakdown — every lender, state distribution, interest rates & risk ratings — is in the SBA Lending Report below.

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

Total loans
25
Loan volume
$16.5M
Charge-off rate
13.6%
Jobs created
242

Historical SBA 504 lending data via CDCs, not predictive of future performance.

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

Premium insight

SBA Lending Report

Deep-dive into Kwik Kar's SBA lending history: lender network, geographic footprint, interest rates, and more.

SBA Lending Report

  • Principal loss rate and NAICS industry benchmark
  • 10 lenders with concentration factor
  • Per-state charge-off rates across 5 states
  • Startup risk premium and job creation velocity
  • SBA 504 real estate/equipment data
$29 one-time

Instant access. No subscription.

What could kill this investment?

SBA loans charge off at 7.7% — 52% below the 16.0% national norm, i.e. lower lender-observed risk.

SBA charge-off7.7%
Verdict score53/100 (higher is better)
Litigation0 cases
Going concernClear

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

BAbove average53Verdict score 53/100

Kwik Kar presents elevated risk due to a stagnant small unit base, lack of financial transparency, unprotected territories, and absence of earnings claims—making it difficult to validate ROI assumptions.

High confidence±3 pts
5561

Litigation (Item 3)

0 case reference(s): 0 pending, 0 settled.

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · KPMG LLP

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $278.9MYr 2: $288.4MNon-royalty: $1.5M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Total revenues of MidOcean FSA Holdings, L.P. (consolidated parent) for fiscal year ended 12/28/2024, comprising retail store sales net of discounts ($251,021,644), franchise revenues ($26,363,808), and other revenues ($1,548,320). Financial statements are consolidated at the MidOcean FSA Holdings parent level, not Kwik Kar Franchising, LLC alone.

ⓘ These are the parent company's consolidated financials (the parent guarantees the franchisor), not this brand's standalone results — the figure reflects the whole corporate group, not this brand alone.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: No
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: No
  • Must buy proprietary products: No
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes

Score breakdown · what drove the 53 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MINOROnly 26 units with unknown/stagnant growth trajectory raises questions about system viability and market demand
  2. 02MINORUnprotected territory creates direct competition risk; franchisees could face cannibalization from other company-owned or franchised locations
  3. 03MED6% royalty on $1.04M average revenue ($62.5K annually) combined with $309K net income leaves limited margin for underperforming units

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 156 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 6.5% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term15 yrs
Renewal term15 yrs
TerritoryNot exclusive
Initial training72 hrs

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term15 years
Renewal term15 years
Allowed renewals1
Territory typenone
Protected territoryNo
Exclusive territoryNo
Online sales rightsRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorOptional
Non-compete (years)3 years
Non-compete (miles)25 mi
Right of first refusalYes
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Curable defaults2
Mandatory arbitrationYes
Arbitration locationDenver, Colorado
Jury trial waiverNo
Governing lawCO
Litigation count0
View Item 3 litigation summary

0 case reference(s): 0 pending, 0 settled.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
29 hrs
On-the-job training
43 hrs
Training location
Greenwood Village, Colorado and franchised location
Ongoing training
Required
Time to open
9 mo
From signing to launch
Site selection
franchisee with franchisor approval
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10
POS system
Sage Microsystems and Integrated Services, Inc. (ISI)
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

Site selection assistance
Grand opening support
Lease negotiation help

Technology: Sage Microsystems and Integrated Services, Inc. (ISI)

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

2 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 2 contacts · $49
Free preview
(303) 297-••••
Unlock all 2 contacts
(303) 297-••••

FDD download

Kwik Kar · FDD (2025) PDF

Single-page checkout · instant download · CSV export of contacts available separately above

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Kwik Kar franchise?

The total investment to open a Kwik Kar franchise ranges from $291K – $917K, with an initial franchise fee of $40K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Kwik Kar franchise owners earn?

No average owner earnings figure for Kwik Kar is on file. Item 19 — where a franchisor may disclose what its outlets earn — is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and we have not established what this brand's FDD says. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

What is Item 19 in the Kwik Kar FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Kwik Kar FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Kwik Kar's franchise failure rate?

Based on SBA 7(a) loan data, Kwik Kar has a charge-off rate of 7.7% across 43 loans, meaning 7.7% of franchise loans were charged off. Charge-off rates are one proxy for franchise risk, though they do not capture all closures. This data comes from FOIA-sourced SBA lending records.

How many Kwik Kar franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Kwik Kar has 26 total units in the United States.

Is Kwik Kar a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Kwik Kar as a B-grade franchise with a verdict score of 53 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Kwik Kar, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Automotive franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Automotive category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.