Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Big Al's Mufflers–Brakes & More logo

Big Al's Mufflers–Brakes & More Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

AutomotiveVAFranchising since 1989
BAbove averageAbove average60/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$100K – $1.1M
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Not SBA-matched

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-00296FDD 2025Data QualityStandard76%
Manager-run OKNo: No territory protection

Data from FDD filing

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

Big Al's Mufflers, Brakes & More is an automotive franchise offering exhaust, brake, and general auto repair. Franchisees run the service centers, managing technicians, scheduling, and customer service.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Big Al's Mufflers–Brakes & More franchise requires a total initial investment of $100K – $1.1M, including a $15K franchise fee and an ongoing 5.5% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: B (Above average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: medium - issued 12 to 24 months ago; a newer filing is likely on file

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored5 of 5 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing.

Overview

Investment
$100K – $1.1M
13th pct Automotive
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
5.5%
14th pct Automotive
Units
15
11th pct Automotive
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Automotive · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$100K – $1.1M
Median $368K
above median ↑, worse than category
Franchise Fee
$15K – $15K
Median $35K
below median ↓, better than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$15K – $20K
Median $40K
below median ↓, better than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
5.5%
Median 6.0%
near median
Ongoing Fees
9.5% of rev
Median 8.0%
above median ↑, worse than category
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Not SBA-matched
Not matched to SBA 7(a) loans
System Size
15 units
Median 92 units
below median ↓, worse than category
Turnover Rate
7.1%
Median 2.4%
above median ↑, worse than category
Territory
None
The franchisor can open or license outlets nearby
Owner-Operator
Optional
Can hire a manager
Litigation
None disclosed
Clean record

Green = favorable by >10% vs Automotive median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $100K – $1.1M including a $15K franchise fee, 5.5% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict B (Above average), verdict score 60/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHFlat: no net change in franchised outlets in the latest year (0 opened, 1 closed) (Item 20).
  • DATAThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Big Al's Franchising, Inc.
Predecessor
corporation
Prior franchisor entity
CEO title
President, Secretary, Treasurer, Chief Executive Officer, Director
Ralph L. Wetherington, Jr.
CEO experience
2012 yrs
Years in role or industry
Founder active
Yes
Original founder still leading the business
Incorporated in
VA
HQ
109 East 40th Street, Norfolk, Virginia 23504
Auditor
Colonial CPA Group
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$48K
vs $58K prior year
Management churn noted
Frequent turnover
Item 2 disclosed frequent executive changes

Overview

About

CEO
Ralph L. Wetherington, Jr.
Headquarters
VA
Founded
1988
FDD year
2025
States available
1

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 62% above the typical automotive franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$100K – $1.1MCited, not corroborated — printed on page 16 of the 2025 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$15,000Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 12 of the 2025 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Royalty5.5%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 12 of the 2025 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fund4.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 12 of the 2025 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Working capital$15K – $20K

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 5–7

Item 7 total vs its own lines

The filing's Item 7 TOTAL row prints $99,875 to $1,089,000. Its own line items add to $99,875 to $1,048,500. The total is shown as the franchisor printed it; the lines are listed as printed. The only Item 7 table (pp.12-16; Big Al's Mufflers, Brakes & More 2026, an old-format disclosure with narrative payee cells).

Full Item 7 breakdown12 line items

Initial investment breakdown

Item 7 initial investment line items
Line itemLowHigh
Initial Franchise Fee$15K$15K
Leasehold Improvements$3K$480K
Equipment$33K$465K
Furniture and Fixtures$1K$5K
Lease and Utility Deposits$5K$8K
Real Estate (Leased)$2K$5K
Initial Inventory$13K$29K
Office Supplies$2K$3K
Working Capital$15K$20K
Signage$3K$10K
Initial Advertising$10K$10K
Insurance$375$500
Total initial investment$100K$1.0M

Line items extracted from FDD Item 7. Ranges reflect the franchisor's stated low and high per line. Total is the sum of line-item lows / highs — actual costs may fall outside this range depending on market and build-out scope.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$100K – $1.1M
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$15K – $20K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$15K – $15K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
5.5%
typical 6–8%
Ad fund
4.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
9.5%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Big Al's Mufflers–Brakes & More: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty5.5% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund4.0% of gross sales
Training fee$1K
Transfer fee$2K
Renewal fee$0
Inventory (initial)$13K – $29K
Total fee load9.5% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

Big Al's Mufflers–Brakes & More makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Big Al's Mufflers–Brakes & More unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $100K–$1.1M (midpoint used)
FDD reports $15K–$20K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$612K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2025 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 124 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 9.5% — above the Automotive median of 8.0%.

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

System contracting at -6.7% CAGR over 3 years. Investigate whether closures are franchisor-driven consolidation or franchisee exits.

Multi-unit rate

33% of franchisees own multiple units, a moderate multi-unit rate.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Automotive medians

How Big Al's Mufflers–Brakes & More Compares

Metric
Big Al's Mufflers–Brakes & More
Category median
vs median
Investment
$594K
$368Kmiddle half $178K–$858K · n=95
Above median, worse than category
Revenue
N/A
$1.0Mmiddle half $695K–$1.8M · n=38
N/A
Unit Count
15
92middle half 23–293 · n=94
Below median, worse than category

Category median of published Automotive brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units15Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 38 of the 2025 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
3-yr growth-6.7% (worth scrutinizing)
Turnover rate7.1% (favorable vs category)

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
15
Opened
0
Last reporting year
Closed
1
Turnover rate
7.1%
Company-owned
0
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
100%
vs corporate-owned
Multi-unit owners
33.3%
Net growth (3-yr)
-6.7%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
-6.7%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Transfer rate
0.9%
Owners selling to other franchisees
2022
15
Franchised units
2023
15±0
Franchised units
2024
15±0
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 12 · 1 state reported

The Territory Map

FDD Item 12 reports the state count, but the specific list isn't in our current data. The map will appear once we re-extract from the FDD or enough franchisee contacts are available.

1

states with franchisees (per FDD Item 12)

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

13 current owners across 1 state.

  • VA 13

Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

No SBA loan data available for this brand.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offNot SBA-matched
Verdict score60/100 (higher is better)
Litigation0 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

BAbove average60Verdict score 60/100

A micro-system with undisclosed unit economics, no territorial protection, and franchisor financial concerns presents substantial risk; the absence of Item 19 data makes informed investment impossible.

Low confidence±15 pts
4575

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Colonial CPA Group

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $0.0MYr 2: $0.1MNon-royalty: $0.0M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Item 21 attaches single-year audited statements of Big Al's Franchising, Inc. for 2024, 2023 and 2022 (scanned). 2024 total income $47,650 (royalty fees $26,464, advertising fees $21,186), net income $0; 2023 total income $58,243. December 31, 2024 balance sheet: total assets $10,000, total liabilities $5,991; the printed equity total ($10,000) does not foot - common stock $6,278 less the $2,269 deficit gives $4,009, which is shown. The row had held the 2022 set with the revenue years reversed.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: No
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: No
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: No
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: Yes

Score breakdown · what drove the 60 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MEDNo average revenue or net income disclosed in FDD Item 19 — impossible to validate ROI claims
  2. 02MINOROnly 14 units system-wide with unknown growth trajectory suggests stagnant or declining brand
  3. 03MINORTerritory completely unprotected — franchisees face internal competition and cannibalization risk
  4. 04MINORWide investment range ($99K-$1.09M) with no clarity on what drives 11x cost variance
  5. 05MINORLow franchise fee ($15K) paired with high royalties (5.5%) may indicate franchisor relies on royalty extraction vs. franchisee success

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 124 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 9.5% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term10 yrs
Renewal term5 yrs
TerritoryNone (caution)
Initial training298 hrs

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term10 years
Renewal term5 years
Allowed renewalsℹ2
Territory typeNo territory protection
Protected territoryNo
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Territory radius3 mi
Territory population30,000
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorOptional
Non-compete (years)ℹ2 years
Non-compete (miles)ℹ10 mi
Right of first refusalℹYes
RoFR response window10 days
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Mandatory arbitrationYes
Arbitration locationMutually agreed upon (default: Franchisor's offices in Norfolk, Virginia)
Jury trial waiverNo
Governing lawVA
Litigation count0

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
18 hrs
On-the-job training
280 hrs
Training location
Company or franchise store location; home office in Norfolk, Virginia
Ongoing training
Required
Time to open
4 mo
From signing to launch
Site selection
Franchisee selects; franchisor must approve
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10
POS system
Point of Sale Software
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✗Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Technology: Point of Sale Software

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

13 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 13 contacts · $49
Free preview
(757) 627-••••VA
Unlock all 13 contacts
(757) 363-••••VA
(757) 485-••••VA
(757) 855-••••VA
(757) 397-••••VA

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Big Al's Mufflers–Brakes & More franchise?

The total investment to open a Big Al's Mufflers–Brakes & More franchise ranges from $100K – $1.1M, with an initial franchise fee of $15K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Big Al's Mufflers–Brakes & More franchise owners earn?

Big Al's Mufflers–Brakes & More makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns Big Al's Mufflers–Brakes & More?

Big Al's Mufflers–Brakes & More is franchised by Big Al's Franchising, Inc.. Source: FDD Item 1, 2025 filing.

What is Item 19 in the Big Al's Mufflers–Brakes & More FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Big Al's Mufflers–Brakes & More FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Big Al's Mufflers–Brakes & More's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for Big Al's Mufflers–Brakes & More (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many Big Al's Mufflers–Brakes & More franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Big Al's Mufflers–Brakes & More has 15 total units in the United States, including 15 franchised units and 0 company-owned units.

Is Big Al's Mufflers–Brakes & More a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Big Al's Mufflers–Brakes & More as a B-grade franchise with a verdict score of 60 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Big Al's Mufflers–Brakes & More, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Automotive franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Automotive category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.