Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Wayback Burgers logo

Wayback Burgers Franchise Cost & 2025 FDD Data

Quick-Service RestaurantsConnecticutFranchising since 2002

38/100

Middle tier

38 this brand51 Quick-Service Restaurants medianlikely 34–42 (high confidence)

Higher is better · an editorial assessment, not investment advice

#2,660 of 3,068 graded brands

Why a C: Helped by unit growth, scale and legal record. Held back by financial health and transparency. See all six factors

Total investment
$256K – $850K
excl. real estate
Avg gross sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
21.1%

1 in 5 SBA 7(a) loans to Wayback Burgers owners charged off (12 of 57 resolved loans, approved since FY1991); Quick-Service Restaurants median 17.6%. Loans approved FY2014–FY2019: 12 of 53 resolved loans charged off (22.6%); newer loans have not had time to default, so this is not a trend.

2025 FDD5 of 5 figures cite a filing pageA manager may run itNo territory protection

Data from the FDD filing + SBA 7(a) records. Analysis by FranchiseVerdict · Methodology · Website · Report an error · Franchisor? Claim this listing

One-time PDF; full refund within 7 days if the data does not match the FDD

Wayback Burgers is a fast-casual franchise serving cooked-to-order Angus burgers, hand-dipped shakes, and fries. Franchisees run restaurants managing food prep, counter and drive-thru service, and staffing.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2025 FDD

Per the 2025 FDD, a Wayback Burgers franchise requires a total initial investment of $256K – $850K, excluding real estate, including a $35K franchise fee. Once open, the ongoing royalty is 5.0%. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the verdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. SBA 7(a) loans show a 21.1% charge-off rate on 57 resolved loans. Verdict grade: C (Middle tier), an editorial assessment, not investment advice.

Sources: 2025 FDD · SBA 7(a) loan records (FOIA) · What one unit could make and lose →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: medium (issued 12 to 24 months ago; a newer filing is likely on file)

Evidence for the headline figures: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✓ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored5 of 5 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing.

Overview

Bottom line

  • RETURNSThe FDD makes no financial performance representation in Item 19, so it discloses no revenue or earnings figures; Item 19 is voluntary, and the Financial performance section explains what that does and does not mean.
  • GROWTHIn the latest Item 20 year, the number of franchised outlets grew by 15 (25 opened, 10 closed).
  • DATAThe FDD makes no financial performance representation in Item 19, so it discloses no revenue or earnings figures; Item 19 is voluntary, and the Financial performance section explains what that does and does not mean. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

AT STAKEOne unit at the Item 7 midpoint: $72K a year in payments on assumed SBA 7(a)-style terms.You put in about $111K of your own cash and personally guarantee a $442K loan. Assumptions are labeled in Sales; not investment advice.See what one unit could make and lose

Things to check before you sign (3)

  • SBA 7(a) charge-off 21.1% on 57 resolved loans, loans approved since FY1991, above the Quick-Service Restaurants median of 17.6% (175 brands).
  • The franchisor keeps the right to compete inside your territory (Item 12, territory).
  • You waive a jury trial in disputes with the franchisor (Item 17, renewal, termination and disputes).

Checked and clear: no auditor doubt that the franchisor can keep operating, no net loss of franchised outlets in the latest Item 20 years, no lawsuit naming the franchisor in Item 3, no supplier rebates to the franchisor, no rule that the owner must run it personally and the full filing on file.

What to do next

  1. Step 1: Read the FDD itself.

    Free: read the 2025 filing on this site, page by page. The franchisor must also give you its current FDD at least 14 days before you sign or pay. Or look it up in a state registry (Wisconsin, Minnesota, California). What to read first.

  2. Step 2: Talk to current and former owners.

    Free: Item 20 of the FDD lists every current owner and those who left last year, most with a phone number. Questions to ask.

    Shortcut: the Wayback Burgers owner list as a CSV, in the Contacts section.

  3. Step 3: Talk to an SBA lender.

    Free: the SBA's Lender Match, or the lenders already lending to this brand in the SBA section. Ask what you would personally guarantee and what the monthly payment would be. If you plan to use retirement savings, ask a CPA about the rules for that first.

  4. Step 4: Have a franchise attorney review the FDD and agreement.

    Free: your state bar's lawyer referral service can name franchise lawyers, and many offer a short first consultation. Bring the checks listed above.

Research steps, not investment or legal advice.

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost (the Item 7 midpoint) is 13% above the Quick-Service Restaurants median ($487K).

Total investment$256K – $850K
2025 FDD p.17, show the quoted text2025 Franchise Disclosure Document, page 17, Item 7… first 3 months of operation Employees, utilities, suppliers, etc. TOTAL $256,000 to $850,000 …Open Item 7, p.17 in the filingQuoted from the franchisor's filing. Table text, cells in reading order; column headings may sit outside the quoted lines.
Excludes real estate (Item 7, p.17)
Franchise fee$35,000
Verified · 2025 FDD p.12, show the quoted text2025 Franchise Disclosure Document, page 12, Item 5Except as may be stated in this Item 5, we charge an identical initial franchise fee to all franchisees. Franchise fees of less than $35,000 may be negotiated when …Open p.12 in the filingQuoted from the franchisor's filing. Table text, cells in reading order; column headings may sit outside the quoted lines.
Royalty5.0%
2025 FDD p.12, show the quoted text2025 Franchise Disclosure Document, page 12Royalty The greater of 5% of weekly Gross Sales …Open p.12 in the filingQuoted from the franchisor's filing.
Ad fund2.0%
2025 FDD p.12, show the quoted text2025 Franchise Disclosure Document, page 12, Item 6Advertising Fund 2% of weekly Gross Sales …Open p.12 in the filingQuoted from the franchisor's filing.
Working capital$20K – $60K

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 5–7 (fees and startup costs)

Do you qualify? The filing states no minimum net worth or liquid capital. Ask Wayback Franchising LLC (formerly Jake's Franchising, LLC) (Item 1: 716 South Main Street, Cheshire, CT 06410) and your lender what they require, and keep living costs for the first year outside the deal.

Full Item 7 breakdown14 line items

Initial investment breakdown

Item 7 initial investment line items
Line itemLowHigh
Initial Franchise Fee$35K$35K
Leasehold Improvements$75K$350K
Initial Rent Outlays$2.5K$20K
Equipment$85K$255K
Outside Fixtures and Furnishings$5K$10K
Signage$7K$35K
Initial Inventory$9K$13K
Supplies$5K$35K
Travel and Living Expenses during Training$1K$10K
Utility Deposits$0$5K
Prepaid Insurance Premiums$500$5K
Permits and Licenses (including design fees)$6K$12K
Grand Opening Advertising$5K$5K
Additional Funds and Miscellaneous$20K$60K
Total initial investment$256K$850K

Line items extracted from FDD Item 7. Ranges reflect the franchisor's stated low and high per line. The total row is the total as printed in Item 7. Actual costs may fall outside this range depending on market and build-out scope.

Item 6 · what you pay once you are open

Ongoing fees

Wayback Burgers: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
RoyaltyPercentage of sales; paid weekly (Item 6). Minimum: greater of 5% of weekly Gross Sales or $400 per week5.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund2.0% of gross sales
Technology feesComputer/website/POS/equipment maintenance, upgrades, updates approximately $2,400 to $4,500 per yearSee the list
Training feeAdditional training charge listed in Item 6$200
Transfer feeItem 17 lists $50$17,500
Renewal fee$3,500
Total fee loadnear the Quick-Service Restaurants median of 7.0%7.0% of sales

What do units actually make?

This FDD makes no Item 19 financial performance representation - a voluntary item - so unit sales aren't disclosed.

Avg gross salesNot disclosed
Median gross salesNot disclosed
Item 19 typeNot disclosed
Sample sizeNot disclosed

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 19 (sales and earnings)

Items 6 (other fees), 7 (startup costs) and 19 (sales and earnings) · assumptions labeled

What you could make and lose: one unit

What one Wayback Burgers unit would ask of you, from the filing's Item 7 total and labeled assumptions.

How these figures are worked out
  • Loan (assumption): 80% of the $553K Item 7 midpoint is a $442K loan, paid over 10 years at 10.5%: $72K a year. SBA 7(a)-style terms on a long-term rate; your lender sets yours. Wayback Burgers' past SBA 7(a) loans averaged 7.4% at approval; 7(a) rates move with the prime rate, so 10.5% is a current-rate assumption, not this brand's history.

What you put at risk

Your own cash in: about $111K Assumption (the part the loan does not cover of the $553K Item 7 midpoint), plus whatever anything Item 7 leaves out (its notes say what). The loan is $442K.

Personal guarantee. SBA 7(a) loans require a personal guarantee from anyone who owns 20% or more of the business. If the unit cannot pay, the lender can collect from you personally, which can include your savings and your home. The worst case is losing the cash you put in and still owing the rest of the loan.

Gross sales are not profit, and none of these figures is take-home pay until tax and every operating cost are paid. The assumptions are ours, not the filing's. Not investment advice.

Returns modelOne unit · several units · editable

Wayback Burgers makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no gross sales figures are disclosed. The return models need one gross sales figure to start from, plus the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions; nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · one unit

What would one Wayback Burgers unit leave you each year after the loan payment?

FDDFrom the filingNot set: this brand's filing does not supply it and we will not substitute one. Enter your ownYou overrode an FDD valueAssumed: our stated assumption, edit it
Gross sales · per unit, per year

Not disclosed in Item 19. Enter your own gross sales assumption

Gross sales, not profit: the costs below decide what is left.

Franchisor take · royalty + ad fund
Operating costs · you supply them

No Item 19 figures are on file for this brand. Enter your own costs from a lease quote, a payroll plan and calls with current owners.

Illustrative category typicals, not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to open

Item 7 midpoint of $256K to $850K

Item 7's $20K to $60K additional funds are already in the total

Financing · assumed SBA 7(a)-style loan

Left after the loan payment · per year

The unit's EBITDA minus the assumed loan payment. Before tax, depreciation and any cost your inputs leave out (insurance, accounting and legal, licenses, technology fees): not take-home pay.

Gross sales are not profit. Neither the filing nor a stated assumption on this page supplies annual revenue, COGS, labor, rent / occupancy and other operating costs. Enter your own (a lease quote, owner calls) and the model runs on it.


Store EBITDA · annual
Needs the inputs above
EBITDA margin
Needs the inputs above
Total invested
$553K
Your cash in
$111K
Loan payment · assumed
$72K/yr
Return on invested capital
Needs the inputs above
Payback
Needs the inputs above

Loan of $442K at 10.5% over 10 years, an assumption, not a quote. Return and payback are before tax, depreciation and the costs above. The loan usually needs your personal guarantee.

One unit only. An owner of several units also pays for shared services (managers, accounting, a head office), which the multi-unit model adds on top of these figures.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2025 FDD · filed by Wayback Franchising LLC (formerly Jake's Franchising, LLC)

Financial performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the verdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures. All 147 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report →

Who are you contracting with?

Wayback Franchising LLC (formerly Jake's Franchising, LLC).

Item 1 (the franchisor) · who you're contracting with

The franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Wayback Franchising LLC (formerly Jake's Franchising, LLC)
Predecessor
Jake's Franchising LLC (formerly Jake's Hamburgers)
Prior franchisor entity
CEO title
Chief Executive Officer
John Eucalitto
CEO experience
16 yrs
Years in role or industry
Incorporated in
Delaware
HQ
716 South Main Street, Cheshire, CT 06410
Auditor
UHY LLP
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$8.0M
latest fiscal year in the 2025 FDD; $9.4M the year before

Overview

About

CEO
John Eucalitto
States and territories listed
33
registered or offered in, as the filing lists them (DC and territories included); not where units may open

Is the system healthy?

+21 franchised outlets between the first and last year-ends Item 20 prints (158 to 179, +13.3% in total, +6.4% a year compounded).

Franchised units179+1 company-owned (180 in all)
Verified · 2025 FDD p.54, show the quoted text2025 Franchise Disclosure Document, page 54, Item 20Net Change Franchised 2022 146 158 +12 2023 158 164 +6 2024 164 179 +15 Company-Owned* 2022 3 2 -1 2023 2 1 -1 2024 1 1 0 Total Outlets 2022 149 160 +11 2023 160 165 +5 2024 165 180 …Open p.54 in the filingQuoted from the franchisor's filing. Table text, cells in reading order; column headings may sit outside the quoted lines.
Transferred6
Net change, latest year+15 (favorable)(+9.1%)
Turnover rate5.6%

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 20 (outlets opened, closed and transferred)

Item 20 (outlet counts) · unit dynamics

The growth chart

Company-owned
1
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
99%
vs corporate-owned

Last fiscal year · Item 20 rates and pipeline

Reacquired
0
Franchisor bought back
Signed, not yet open
43
0.24 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
45
Franchisor's next-year forecast

Item 20 projects a RANGE here, not a single number: the filing prints 0-45 new franchised outlets. The figure shown is the high end, 45, which is the convention every range-resolved brand on this site follows (owner ruling R91-A).

Transfer rate
3.3%
Owners selling to other franchisees
Continuity rate
94.7%
Units that stayed open
Termination rate
3.3%
Franchisor-initiated terminations

Item 20 · franchised units at year end

Franchised units rose from 158 in 2022 to 179 in 2024

Axis does not start at zero.

Source and method
FDD Item 20, franchised outlets at each year end. Opened and closed are the latest year's counts.

Item 20 (outlet counts) outlets · 32 states

Where current outlets are

States with at least one current outlet in the Item 20 list the franchisor prints. Former owners are not counted, and this is not a list of where the franchisor may sell new units.

Current outlets (count on the tile) · 32 statesNo current outlet

137 current outlets in 32 states: the 137 on the owner list, of 179 franchised at year end (Item 20). 9 former owners (terminated, transferred, not renewed or otherwise left) listed separately.

Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20. The contact details are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

Government records

SBA loan data

Lenders charged off 21.1% of 57 resolved SBA 7(a) loans, above the 17.6% category median. 7(a) is the SBA's main small-business loan; a resolved loan was paid in full or charged off.

Loans on file
98
SBA 7(a) loans matched to this brand, incl. those still being repaid
Loan volume
$27.2M
Average loan
$277K
loan volume divided by loans
Charge-off rate
21.1%
12 of 57 resolved loans
Paid in full
78.9%
of resolved loans
Charge-off, loans approved FY2014–FY2019
22.6%
12 of 53 resolved loans; newer loans have not had time to default, so this is not a trend
Lenders
36
Average interest rate
7.4%
Jobs reported
1,747
Lender concentration
33%
top lender's share

Cumulative: every 7(a) loan matched to this brand in the SBA’s FOIA files, approved FY1991 onward. Historical lending data, not predictive of future performance. How SBA charge-off rates are calculated

Benchmark: the median Quick-Service Restaurants brand charges off 17.6% (175 brands with a published rate, same cumulative window and source). This brand is 3.4 points above it.

Borrower mix: of the 49 loans with a recorded business age, 40 (82%) went to startups or businesses under two years old and 9 (18%) to established businesses or ownership changes.

The approval-year breakdown covers 53 of the 57 resolved loans and 12 of the 12 charge-offs (FY2014 to FY2019).

SBA 7(a) · charge-off rate by approval year

Wayback Burgers: above all franchise loans in 2 of 3 rated years

Wayback Burgers: above all franchise loans in 2 of 3 rated yearsWayback Burgers charge-off rate by loan approval year. 6 approval years, 2014 to 2019; the 3 with at least 10 resolved loans are plotted, against all franchise loans approved the same year. Their rates run from 8.3% to 41.7%.

Hollow rings on the axis: years with fewer than 10 resolved loans, not rated (too few to judge). Their numbers are in the table.

Show the numbers by year
YearResolvedCharged offRate
201411327.3%
20151218.3%
201612541.7%
201781Too few
201871Too few
201931Too few

Dashed line: all franchise 7(a) loans approved the same year.

Source and method
SBA 7(a) FOIA loan records. Rate: charged-off loans over resolved loans (paid in full plus charged off) for loans approved that year; it moves as loans are resolved.

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

Full SBA lending reportlenders · charge-off rate · trend

Lender network · SBA 7(a)

SBA Lending Report

Lender, state and yearly detail for Wayback Burgers from SBA 7(a) FOIA loan records.

Principal charged off (% of dollars)
7.6%
Average charge-off
$171K
across 12 charged-off loans
Average SBA guarantee
73%
Average interest rate
7.4%
Lender concentration
33%
Jobs reported
1,747

Top 10 SBA lenders by loan count

LoansVolumeCharge-off
Stearns Bank National Association
32$7.0M21.4%28 resolved
Citizens Bank
8$4.0MToo few0 resolved
Ameris Bank
7$2.4MToo few6 resolved
CRF Small Business Loan Company, LLC
6$1.0MToo few3 resolved
The Huntington National Bank
6$1.4MToo few0 resolved
Manufacturers and Traders Trust Company
4$607KToo few4 resolved
TD Bank, National Association
3$120KToo few2 resolved
The Bancorp Bank National Association
3$798KToo few2 resolved
Montana Community Development Corp.
2$250KToo few0 resolved
Associated Bank, National Association
1$40KToo few1 resolved

A lender’s rate counts only its resolved loans, the loans that have finished (paid in full or charged off); a 0.0% often means few of its loans have finished. Under 10 resolved loans, the rate reads “Too few”.

Charge-off rate by state (top 10 by loans)

StateLoansCharged offRate
TX Texas14660.0%10 resolved
PA Pennsylvania122Too few8 resolved
GA Georgia81Too few4 resolved
SC South Carolina80Too few6 resolved
CA California70Too few4 resolved
CT Connecticut61Too few5 resolved
UT Utah50Too few0 resolved
FL Florida40Too few3 resolved
NC North Carolina40Too few3 resolved
NY New York41Too few2 resolved

Rate: charged-off loans over resolved loans (paid in full plus charged off), shown from 10 resolved loans. "Too few": under 10 resolved. The Loans column counts every approval in the window, including loans still being repaid.

SBA 7(a) loans approved per year

2011
1
2013
1
2014
11
2015
12
2016
14
2017
10
2018
10
2019
6
2020
4
2021
1
2022
6
2023
9
2024
10
2025
3

Borrower profile

The SBA's own business-age labels (5)
Startup (opening with the loan)35 (71%)
Ownership change6 (12%)
New (2 years or less)4 (8%)
Existing (over 2 years)3 (6%)
New (under 1 year)1 (2%)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA loan-level data, matched to the brand by FranchiseVerdict.

SBA 7(a) lending insight

A 21.1% charge-off rate means about 1 in 5 resolved SBA 7(a) loans to this brand was charged off. The approval-year chart above shows which years they came from.

What are the risks?

Main risk in the grade: financial health, then transparency. The reasons are below.

SBA charge-off21.1%on 57 resolved loans
Litigation0 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 7.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before your own operating costs.

Initial term20 yrs
Renewal term5 yrs
TerritoryNone (check the terms)
Initial training140 hrs

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12 (territory), 15 (owner participation) and 17 (renewal, termination and disputes)

Contract and territory detail

Allowed renewals2
Protected territoryNo
Exclusive territoryNo
Online sales rightsRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Who runs it (Item 15)A manager may run it
Non-compete (years)2 years
Non-compete (miles)25 mi
Right of first refusalYes
RoFR response window15 days
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Termination grounds15
Curable defaults8
Mandatory arbitrationYes
Arbitration locationcounty of our principal place of business
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawConnecticut

Items 10 (financing), 11 (training and support)

Training and operations

Classroom training
40 hrs
On-the-job training
100 hrs
Training location
On-site and corporate
Time to open
8–24 mo
From signing to launch (FDD p.28)
Site selection
Franchisee selects site; franchisor approves within 30 days
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10

Items 5 (initial fees) & 11 (training and support)

Franchisor support

Yes: Site selection assistance
Yes: Grand opening support
Yes: Lease negotiation help

Item 20 (outlet counts) · call current owners

Franchisee contacts

Who can you call before you sign?

137 current outlets listed

Each record has a phone number and state. 115 of 146 also name the franchisee; 47 of 146 also name a city. 146 records: 137 current outlets + 9 former owners (terminated, transferred, not renewed or otherwise left). From the filing's Item 20 (the outlet list); the FDD itself is the free source. Our list covers 137 of the 179 franchised outlets Item 20 counts at year end; the owner exhibit prints the rest without a usable phone number, or omits them.

For your own due-diligence calls only. Not for telemarketing, marketing lists, or automated or prerecorded calls or texts.

One-time · CSV download · full refund within 7 days if the data does not match the FDD. Some numbers, especially for former owners, may be outdated.

Unlock 146 contacts · $49
Free preview
Devang Patel(862) 579-••••FlorenceSC
Unlock all 146 contacts · $49
Hashem Abul(770) 452-••••GA
Azhar Mubeen(240) 237-••••MD

Frequently asked questions

How much does it cost to open a Wayback Burgers franchise?

Per the 2025 FDD, the total investment to open a Wayback Burgers franchise ranges from $256K to $850K, with an initial franchise fee of $35K. This is the Item 7 total in the Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD): the startup costs the franchisor lists, such as build-out, equipment, inventory and working capital. The filing says these totals do not include real estate.

What do Wayback Burgers franchise owners earn?

Wayback Burgers makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no gross sales figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the verdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns Wayback Burgers?

Wayback Burgers is franchised by Wayback Franchising LLC (formerly Jake's Franchising, LLC). Source: FDD Item 1, 2025 filing.

What is Item 19 in the Wayback Burgers FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. The Wayback Burgers FDD does not make an Item 19 financial performance representation, so this page shows no earnings figure.

What is Wayback Burgers' franchise failure rate?

There is no published franchise failure rate. What is measurable is Wayback Burgers' SBA charge-off rate: 21.1% on 57 resolved loans. Put plainly: 1 in 5 SBA 7(a) loans to Wayback Burgers owners charged off (12 of 57 resolved loans, approved since FY1991); loans approved FY2014–FY2019: 12 of 53 resolved loans charged off (22.6%); newer loans have not had time to default, so this is not a trend. The SBA charge-off rate is the share of a brand's resolved SBA 7(a) loans to its franchisees that the SBA wrote off, including purchased guarantees. Resolved means paid in full or charged off; active loans are excluded because their outcome is not yet known. It is a lending outcome, not a count of closed businesses. A franchisee can repay and close, or default and keep trading.

How many Wayback Burgers franchise locations are there?

Per the 2025 FDD, Wayback Burgers has 179 franchised units and 1 company-owned (180 in all). In the latest year, the number of franchised outlets grew by 15 (25 opened, 10 closed).

Is Wayback Burgers a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict gives Wayback Burgers a C Verdict grade (Middle tier) with a verdict score of 38 out of 100 (higher is better), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Helped by unit growth, scale and legal record. Held back by financial health (audited financials) and transparency (Item 19 declines to disclose financial performance). The “Why a C” section on this page lists all six dimensions and any adjustment. Speak with current franchisees before making any investment decision.

Other Quick-Service Restaurants franchises

Similar investment first, then by grade

This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.