Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
House of Colour logo

House of Colour Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Personal Care & BeautyVAFranchising since 2016
AStrongest tierStrongest tier74/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$33K – $52K
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Not SBA-matched

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-01238FDD 2025Data QualityStandard76%
Owner-operator requiredYes: Protected territory

Data from FDD filing

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

House of Colour is a personal-styling franchise offering seasonal color analysis and wardrobe and makeup consulting. Franchisees run a consultancy, often home- or studio-based, delivering one-on-one sessions and selling styling tools.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A House of Colour franchise requires a total initial investment of $33K – $52K, including a $30K franchise fee and an ongoing 4.0% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: A (Strongest tier), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: medium - issued 12 to 24 months ago; a newer filing is likely on file

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored3 of 4 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing; the rest are marked “Not cited” beside the figure.

Overview

Investment
$33K – $52K
2nd pct Personal Care…
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
4.0%
1st pct Personal Care…
Units
312
53rd pct Personal Care…
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Personal Care & Beauty · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$33K – $52K
Median $402K
below median ↓, better than category
Franchise Fee
$30K – $30K
Median $45K
below median ↓, better than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$345 – $4K
Median $34K
below median ↓, better than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
4.0%
Median 6.0%
below median ↓, better than category
Ongoing Fees
6.0% of rev
Median 7.9%
below median ↓, better than category
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Not SBA-matched
Not matched to SBA 7(a) loans
System Size
312 units
Median 40 units
above median ↑, better than category
Turnover Rate
5.1%
Median 0.8%
above median ↑, worse than category
Territory
Protected, not exclusive
Limits on the franchisor opening nearby; not an exclusive zone
Owner-Operator
Required
You must run it yourself
Litigation
None disclosed
Clean record

Green = favorable by >10% vs Personal Care & Beauty median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $33K – $52K including a $30K franchise fee, 4.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict A (Strongest tier), verdict score 74/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHPositive: net +34 franchised outlets in the latest year (50 opened, 16 closed); 10 signed but not yet open (Item 20).
  • GROWTHSystem growing at 47.2% CAGR over 3 years with 312 total units. Strong expansion trajectory.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
House of Colour USA, Inc.
Parent company
House of Colour International Ltd
FDD Item 1, page 8 of the 2025 FDD
CEO title
USA Chief Executive Officer
Allison Van Iten
Incorporated in
VA
HQ
7 Bell Yard, London, WC2A 2JR, United Kingdom
Auditor
Kezos & Dunlavy
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$11.8M
vs $10.6M prior year

Independent franchisee associations

  • Franchise Advisory Council (FAC)
  • Franchisee Advisory Board

Franchisee-led councils or alliances disclosed in Item 20. Indicates operator voice.

Affiliated brands

  • House of Colour
  • is a United Kingdom limited liability company with a pr

Other brands the franchisor or its parent operates (Item 1).

Overview

About

CEO
Allison Van Iten
Headquarters
VA
Founded
2016
FDD year
2025
States available
43

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 89% below the typical personal care & beauty franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$33K – $52KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 18 of the 2025 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$30,000Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 11 of the 2025 FDD (Item 5). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Royalty4.0%Not cited — published from our reading of the franchisor's disclosure document; the page it is printed on has not been located.
Ad fundNot extracted
Working capital$345 – $4K

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 5–7

Full Item 7 breakdown9 line items

Initial investment breakdown

Item 7 initial investment line items
Line itemLowHigh
Initial Franchise Fee$30K$30K
Pre-Opening Marketing$2K$5K
Training Expenses$500$3K
Insurance$350$1K
Licensesnot refundable$50$263
Computers, Software, Office Equipment, Phones$500$3K
Professional Fees$0$5K
Office Supplies, Stationery$100$1K
Additional Funds - 3 Months$345$4K
Total initial investment$33K$52K

Line items extracted from FDD Item 7. Ranges reflect the franchisor's stated low and high per line. Total is the sum of line-item lows / highs — actual costs may fall outside this range depending on market and build-out scope.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$33K – $52K
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$345 – $4K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$30K – $30K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
4.0%
Set by a formula · typical 6–8%
Ad fund
Not currently charged; up to 2% of Gross Revenues per mon…
Total fee load
6.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

House of Colour: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty4.0% of gross sales
Technology fee$95
Training fee$12K
Transfer fee$750
Renewal fee$2K
Total fee load6.0% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

House of Colour makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one House of Colour unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $33K–$52K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $345–$4K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, ad fund rate, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$45K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2025 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 121 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 6.0% — below the Personal Care & Beauty median of 7.9%.

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

System expanding at 47.2% CAGR over 3 years across 312 units — operators are staying and new ones are joining.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Personal Care & Beauty medians

How House of Colour Compares

Metric
House of Colour
Category median
vs median
Investment
$43K
$402Kmiddle half $261K–$677K · n=112
Below median, better than category
Revenue
N/A
$527Kmiddle half $402K–$892K · n=59
N/A
Unit Count
312
40middle half 8–151 · n=111
Above median, better than category

Category median of published Personal Care & Beauty brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units312Verified — printed on page 45 of the 2025 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it two ways.
3-yr growth+47.2% (favorable vs category)
Turnover rate5.1% (favorable vs category)

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
312
Opened
50
Last reporting year
Closed
16
Terminated
5
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
2
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
5.1%
Company-owned
0
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
100%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
+47.2%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
+47.2%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
5
Not renewed
2
Transferred
11
Reacquired
0
Franchisor bought back
Signed, not yet open
10
0.03 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
50
Franchisor's next-year forecast
Transfer rate
3.5%
Owners selling to other franchisees
2022
212
Franchised units
2023
278+66
Franchised units
2024
312+34
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 20 · 31 states with active franchisees

The Territory Map

Derived from franchisee contact records. Shows states with at least one current operator. Not where the franchisor is registered to sell new units (that data is re-extracting in a future refresh).

AK
ME
VT
NH
MA
RI
CT
NY
NJ
PA
DE
MD
DC
WA
OR
CA
NV
ID
MT
WY
UT
CO
AZ
NM
ND
SD
NE
KS
OK
TX
MN
IA
MO
AR
LA
WI
IL
MS
TN
MI
IN
KY
AL
OH
WV
GA
VA
NC
SC
FL
HI
Active operators · 31 states
No contacts on file

States derived from franchisee contact records (FDD Item 20). Shows states with at least one current operator on file. Full state registration data (Item 12) will appear on a future FDD refresh.

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

172 current owners across 47 states.

  • TX 24
  • TN 11
  • IL 10
  • NC 10
  • MO 8
  • AZ 7
  • AL 6
  • IN 6
  • MN 6
  • NE 6
  • IA 5
  • ID 5
  • +35 more states

Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20; 6 entries carry no state. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

No SBA loan data available for this brand.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offNot SBA-matched
Verdict score74/100 (higher is better)
Litigation0 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

AStrongest tier74Verdict score 74/100
Low confidence±15 pts
5989

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: officers or affiliates. The franchisor is not a named party in these cases.

No litigation is required to be disclosed in this Item.

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Kezos & Dunlavy

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $11.8MYr 2: $10.6M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: Yes
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No

Score breakdown · what drove the 74 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MINORNo average revenue or net income disclosure (Item 19) — impossible to assess ROI or profitability
  2. 02MINOR12.2% YoY unit growth is modest for a mature system; unclear if this reflects market saturation or underperformance
  3. 03MINORHigh franchise fee ($30,000) relative to low total investment ceiling ($52,260) creates thin margin for working capital
  4. 04MINORMinimum royalty of $175/month ($2,100/year) represents 4% of revenues needed just to break even on royalties alone
  5. 05MINOR5-year term is shorter than industry standard (10 years), increasing renewal risk and uncertainty

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 121 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 6.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term5 yrs
Renewal term3 yrs
TerritoryProtected, not exclusive
Initial training139 hrs

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term5 years
Renewal term3 years
Allowed renewalsℹ2
Territory typeProtected territory
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Territory population100,000
Online sales rightsℹRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorRequired
Non-compete (years)ℹ1 year
Non-compete (miles)ℹ25 mi
Right of first refusalℹYes
RoFR response window60 days
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Curable defaultsℹ3
Mandatory arbitrationYes
Arbitration locationVirginia
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawState where House of Colour Business is located
Litigation count0
View Item 3 litigation summary

No litigation is required to be disclosed in this Item.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
49 hrs
On-the-job training
29 hrs
Training location
Virtual and Des Moines, Iowa, or other designated location
Ongoing training
Required
Time to open
1 mo
From signing to launch
Site selection
Franchisee, with franchisor approval required if commercial space
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10
POS system
Proprietary point-of-sale (POS)
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✗Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Technology: Proprietary point-of-sale (POS)

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

178 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 178 contacts · $49
Free preview
801 307••••WY
Unlock all 178 contacts
972971••••TX
723 703••••TA
770 951••••HA
382 573••••KY

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a House of Colour franchise?

The total investment to open a House of Colour franchise ranges from $33K – $52K, with an initial franchise fee of $30K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do House of Colour franchise owners earn?

House of Colour makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns House of Colour?

House of Colour is franchised by House of Colour USA, Inc.. Its parent company is House of Colour International Ltd. Source: FDD Item 1, 2025 filing.

What is Item 19 in the House of Colour FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the House of Colour FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is House of Colour's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for House of Colour (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many House of Colour franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, House of Colour has 312 total units in the United States, including 312 franchised units and 0 company-owned units. 50 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is House of Colour a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates House of Colour as a A-grade franchise with a verdict score of 74 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent House of Colour, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Personal Care & Beauty franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Personal Care & Beauty category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.