Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Da Vi Nails / Em Lash Studio logo

Da Vi Nails / Em Lash Studio Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Personal Care & BeautyUTFranchising since 2010
BAbove averageAbove average61/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$61K – $141K
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Not SBA-matched

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-20483FDD 2025Data QualityExcellent81%Pre-opening
Manager-run OKYes: Protected territory

Data from FDD filing

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

Da Vi Nails and Em Lash Studio is a personal-care franchise offering manicures, pedicures, and eyelash-extension services. Franchisees run salons and lash studios managing licensed technicians, scheduling, and retail sales, often in retail centers.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Da Vi Nails / Em Lash Studio franchise requires a total initial investment of $61K – $141K, including a $50K – $105K franchise fee. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: B (Above average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: medium - issued 12 to 24 months ago; a newer filing is likely on file

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored3 of 4 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing; the rest are marked “Not cited” beside the figure.

Overview

Investment
$61K – $141K
4th pct Personal Care…
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
Flat fee
Units
387
54th pct Personal Care…
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Personal Care & Beauty · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$61K – $141K
Median $402K
below median ↓, better than category
Franchise Fee
$50K – $105K
Median $45K
above median ↑, worse than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$2K – $6K
Median $34K
below median ↓, better than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
Not extracted
Median 6.0%
Ongoing Fees
Not extracted
Median 7.9%
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Not SBA-matched
Not matched to SBA 7(a) loans
System Size
387 units
Median 40 units
above median ↑, better than category
Turnover Rate
9.6%
Median 0.8%
above median ↑, worse than category
Territory
Protected, not exclusive
Limits on the franchisor opening nearby; not an exclusive zone
Owner-Operator
Optional
Can hire a manager
Litigation
4 cases
Some history

Green = favorable by >10% vs Personal Care & Beauty median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $61K – $141K including a $50K franchise fee.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict B (Above average), verdict score 61/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHNegative: net -14 franchised outlets in the latest year (23 opened, 37 closed) (Item 20).
  • DATAThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Da Vi Nails Salon and Spa, L.L.C.
Predecessor
Da-Vi Nails International, L.L.C.
Prior franchisor entity
CEO title
Business Manager
David Truong
Incorporated in
UT
HQ
1559 West 3860 South, West Valley City, UT 84119
Auditor
Traveller & Company, LLC
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$17.6M
vs $17.7M prior year

Affiliated brands

  • Em Lash Beauty Supply

Other brands the franchisor or its parent operates (Item 1).

Overview

About

CEO
David Truong
Headquarters
UT
Founded
2010
FDD year
2025
States available
46

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 75% below the typical personal care & beauty franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$61K – $141KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 13 of the 2025 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$50,000Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 10 of the 2025 FDD (Item 5). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
RoyaltyFlat fee
Ad fund0.0%Not cited — published from our reading of the franchisor's disclosure document; the page it is printed on has not been located.
Working capital$2K – $6K

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 5–7

Full Item 7 breakdown10 line items

Initial investment breakdown

Item 7 initial investment line items
Line itemLowHigh
Initial Franchise Feenot refundable$50K$105K
Leased Property$1K$8K
Lease Property Deposit$5K$8K
Computer system, software, and merchant account and related equipment$1K$2K
Training$0$3K
Security deposit, utility deposits, business licenses, and other prepaid expenses$500$5K
Travel$1K$2K
Advertising Expenses$0$500
Insurance Premium$650$3K
Additional Funds - Initial Period of 3 months$2K$6K
Total initial investment$61K$141K

Line items extracted from FDD Item 7. Ranges reflect the franchisor's stated low and high per line. Total is the sum of line-item lows / highs — actual costs may fall outside this range depending on market and build-out scope.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$61K – $141K
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$2K – $6K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$50K – $105K
Middle of category vs category
Royalty
$300-$700/month for Da Vi Nails salon; $1,000/month for E…
Ad fund
0.0%
typical 3–5%

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Da Vi Nails / Em Lash Studio: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty (flat)$300 to $1,000 per month per salon depending on size, location and business volume; Da Vi Nails ranges $300-$700/month, Em Lash Studio $1,000/month
Marketing / ad fund0.0%
Transfer fee$2K
Renewal fee$1K
Inventory (initial)$3K – $3K
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

Da Vi Nails / Em Lash Studio makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Da Vi Nails / Em Lash Studio unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $61K–$141K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $2K–$6K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, royalty rate, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$105K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2025 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 131 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

System contracting at -3.0% CAGR over 3 years. Investigate whether closures are franchisor-driven consolidation or franchisee exits.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Personal Care & Beauty medians

How Da Vi Nails / Em Lash Studio Compares

Metric
Da Vi Nails / Em Lash Studio
Category median
vs median
Investment
$101K
$402Kmiddle half $261K–$677K · n=112
Below median, better than category
Revenue
N/A
$527Kmiddle half $402K–$892K · n=59
N/A
Unit Count
387
40middle half 8–151 · n=111
Above median, better than category

Category median of published Personal Care & Beauty brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units387Verified — printed on page 25 of the 2025 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it two ways.
3-yr growth-3.0% (worth scrutinizing)
Turnover rate9.6% (favorable vs category)

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
387
Opened
23
Last reporting year
Closed
37
Terminated
1
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
33
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
9.6%
Company-owned
0
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
100%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
-3.0%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
-3.0%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
1
Not renewed
33
Transferred
30
Reacquired
0
Franchisor bought back
Signed, not yet open
0
0.00 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
4
Franchisor's next-year forecast
2022
399
Franchised units
2023
401+2
Franchised units
2024
387-14
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 20 · 47 states with active franchisees

The Territory Map

Derived from franchisee contact records. Shows states with at least one current operator. Not where the franchisor is registered to sell new units (that data is re-extracting in a future refresh).

AK
ME
VT
NH
MA
RI
CT
NY
NJ
PA
DE
MD
DC
WA
OR
CA
NV
ID
MT
WY
UT
CO
AZ
NM
ND
SD
NE
KS
OK
TX
MN
IA
MO
AR
LA
WI
IL
MS
TN
MI
IN
KY
AL
OH
WV
GA
VA
NC
SC
FL
HI
Active operators · 47 states
No contacts on file

States derived from franchisee contact records (FDD Item 20). Shows states with at least one current operator on file. Full state registration data (Item 12) will appear on a future FDD refresh.

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

768 current owners across 47 states.

  • TX 118
  • FL 62
  • IL 62
  • CA 52
  • GA 33
  • NC 30
  • AZ 26
  • NY 25
  • OH 24
  • UT 23
  • OK 22
  • KY 19
  • +35 more states

Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

No SBA loan data available for this brand.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offNot SBA-matched
Verdict score61/100 (higher is better)
Litigation4 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

BAbove average61Verdict score 61/100

A contracting franchise system with serious regulatory compliance violations, hidden unit economics, and unprotected territories presents substantial operational and legal risk to prospective franchisees.

Moderate confidence±13 pts
4874

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: the franchisor is a named party (defendant).

Virginia 2008 settlement (SEC-2008-00066) for unregistered franchise sales; Virginia 2018 settlement (SEC-2017-0065) for selling one franchise without current FDD; California 2009/2012 Desist and Refrain Order for franchise law violations; California 2018 Consent Decree for unregistered franchise sales. All involve regulatory/state enforcement actions.

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Traveller & Company, LLC

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $17.6MYr 2: $17.7MNon-royalty: $1.1M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

FY2024 total income of $17,626,680 is dominated by lease revenue ($11,675,671) and royalties ($3,211,600); franchisor subleases space (largely in Walmart stores) to franchisees, so lease revenue is the largest component rather than royalties.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Must buy proprietary products: No
  • Restricted to system-approved products: No
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: Yes

Score breakdown · what drove the 61 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MINORDeclining unit count (-3.5% YoY) signals system contraction and franchisee struggles
  2. 02HIGHSignificant regulatory litigation in major markets (Virginia, California) for franchise law violations including unregistered offerings and failure to provide disclosure documents
  3. 03MEDNo disclosed average revenue or net income data — opacity prevents ROI assessment and suggests franchisor may be hiding poor unit economics
  4. 04MINORZero territory protection exposes franchisees to cannibalization and direct franchisor competition
  5. 05MINOR5-year term is relatively short, limiting ability to recoup initial investment and build equity

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 131 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Full litigation history from the FDD (Items 3 and 4) →

Litigation case detail4 matters · Item 3

Litigation cases

Other disclosed matters

Concluded (4)

  • Commonwealth of Virginia, Division of Securities and Retail Franchising v. Da Vi Nails

    settled

    Government action · filed 2018-04-20 · Virginia State Corporation Commission · SEC-2017-0065

    After investigation, Virginia alleged that in April 2017 Da Vi Nails sold one franchise in Virginia while its state registration had lapsed and without providing a current Franchise Disclosure Document. Without admitting or denying the allegations, Da Vi Nails settled by paying $21,000 and offering rescission to the affected franchisee.

    Outcome:“New Settlement Order; Da Vi Nails agreed to pay $20,000 in monetary penalties plus $1,000 in investigation costs and to extend a rescission offer to the affected purchaser.”

  • In the matter of Da Vi Nails (California Division of Business Oversight Consent Decree)

    settled

    Government action · filed 2018-10-26 · California Division of Business Oversight

    Da Vi Nails entered a Consent Decree with the California Division of Business Oversight requiring it and its managers to desist and refrain from offering or selling unregistered franchises. The company paid a $3,000 fine and is currently registered in California.

    Outcome:“Consent Decree dated October 26, 2018; Da Vi Nails and its managers ordered to desist and refrain from the offer and sale of unregistered franchises and paid a $3,000 fine.”

  • In the matter of DaVi Nails International, LLC, David Truong and Vi Cao

    settled

    Government action · filed 2009-02-25 · California Corporations Commissioner

    The California Corporations Commissioner issued a Desist and Refrain Order against Da Vi International, David Truong, and Vi Cao for selling franchise licenses and subleases without registering under the California Franchise Investment Law. A second 2012 order over three additional 2009 violations was resolved by stipulation with a $7,500 fine.

    Outcome:“Desist and Refrain Order issued February 25, 2009; additional Citations and Desist and Refrain Order issued July 30, 2012, resolved by Stipulation on August 13, 2012 with payment of a $7,500 fine.”

  • Commonwealth of Virginia, ex rel. State Corporation Commission v. Da Vi Nails International, LLC and David Truong

    settled

    Government action · filed 2008-07-21 · Virginia State Corporation Commission · SEC-2008-00066

    The Virginia Division of Securities and Retail Franchising alleged Da Vi Nails and David Truong offered or granted franchises in Virginia without first registering and without providing required disclosure documents. The defendants neither admitted nor denied the allegations and settled by paying $8,500 in penalties plus $750 in investigation costs.

    Outcome:“Settlement Order; Defendants agreed to pay $8,500 in monetary penalties plus $750 in investigation costs, provide each Virginia franchisee with a copy of the Settlement Order, and agree not to violate the Act in the future. Final Order entered August 28, 2008.”

Item 3 lists the litigation the franchisor must disclose; a matter against a parent, an affiliate or a named officer is not a matter against the franchisor, and pending claims are allegations, not findings.

What are you signing up for?

Initial term5 yrs
Renewal term3 yrs
TerritoryProtected, not exclusive
Initial training9 hrs

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term5 years
Renewal term3 years
Allowed renewalsℹ2
Territory typeProtected territory
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Online sales rightsℹRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorOptional
Non-compete (years)ℹ2 years
Right of first refusalℹYes
RoFR response window30 days
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Mandatory arbitrationNo
Arbitration locationSalt Lake City, UT
Jury trial waiverNo
Governing lawUT
Litigation count4
View Item 3 litigation summary

Virginia 2008 settlement (SEC-2008-00066) for unregistered franchise sales; Virginia 2018 settlement (SEC-2017-0065) for selling one franchise without current FDD; California 2009/2012 Desist and Refrain Order for franchise law violations; California 2018 Consent Decree for unregistered franchise sales. All involve regulatory/state enforcement actions.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
9 hrs
On-the-job training
0 hrs
Training location
Salt Lake City, UT
Ongoing training
Required
Time to open
6 mo
From signing to launch
Site selection
Franchisor
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support
✓Lease negotiation help

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

768 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 768 contacts · $49
Free preview
920-233-••••WI
Unlock all 768 contacts
801-779-••••UT
773-982-••••IL
830-249-••••TX
352-569-••••FL

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Da Vi Nails / Em Lash Studio franchise?

The total investment to open a Da Vi Nails / Em Lash Studio franchise ranges from $61K – $141K, with an initial franchise fee of $50K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Da Vi Nails / Em Lash Studio franchise owners earn?

Da Vi Nails / Em Lash Studio makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns Da Vi Nails / Em Lash Studio?

Da Vi Nails / Em Lash Studio is franchised by Da Vi Nails Salon and Spa, L.L.C.. Source: FDD Item 1, 2025 filing.

What is Item 19 in the Da Vi Nails / Em Lash Studio FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Da Vi Nails / Em Lash Studio FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Da Vi Nails / Em Lash Studio's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for Da Vi Nails / Em Lash Studio (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many Da Vi Nails / Em Lash Studio franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Da Vi Nails / Em Lash Studio has 387 total units in the United States, including 387 franchised units and 0 company-owned units. 23 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is Da Vi Nails / Em Lash Studio a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Da Vi Nails / Em Lash Studio as a B-grade franchise with a verdict score of 61 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Da Vi Nails / Em Lash Studio, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Personal Care & Beauty franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Personal Care & Beauty category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.