Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
DAELA COSMETIC TATTOO logo

Daela Cosmetic Tattoo Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Personal Care & BeautyWAFranchising since 2023
DBelow averageBelow average36/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$263K – $601K
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Not SBA-matched

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-00700Data QualityExcellent81%FDD 2023 · 3yr old
Owner-operator requiredYes: Protected territory
CEOErica Johnson / Angelina AndersonWebsite Report an errorFranchisor? Claim this listing

Data from FDD filing

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

This data is from a 2023 FDD. Current terms may differ. Always verify with the franchisor's latest disclosure document.

DAELA Cosmetic Tattoo is a beauty franchise offering permanent makeup like microbladed brows, eyeliner, and lip blush. Franchisees run the studios, managing licensed artists, appointments, and consultations.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A DAELA COSMETIC TATTOO franchise requires a total initial investment of $263K – $601K, including a $25K franchise fee and an ongoing 6.5% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: D (Below average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: high - issued more than two years ago

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored4 of 5 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing; the rest are marked “Not cited” beside the figure.

Overview

Investment
$263K – $601K
29th pct Personal Care…
Avg gross sales
N/A
2 outlets
Royalty
6.5%
43rd pct Personal Care…
Units
2
5th pct Personal Care…
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Personal Care & Beauty · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$263K – $601K
Median $402K
near median
Franchise Fee
$25K – $25K
Median $45K
below median ↓, better than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$50K – $100K
Median $34K
above median ↑, worse than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
6.5%
Median 6.0%
near median
Ongoing Fees
6.5% of rev
Median 7.9%
below median ↓, better than category
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Not SBA-matched
Not matched to SBA 7(a) loans
System Size
2 units
Median 40 units
below median ↓, worse than category
Turnover Rate
N/A
Median 0.8%
below median ↓, better than category
Territory
Protected, not exclusive
Limits on the franchisor opening nearby; not an exclusive zone
Owner-Operator
Required
You must run it yourself
Litigation
None disclosed
Clean record

Green = favorable by >10% vs Personal Care & Beauty median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $263K – $601K including a $25K franchise fee, 6.5% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict D (Below average), verdict score 36/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHFlat: no net change in franchised outlets in the latest year (0 opened, 0 closed); 1 signed but not yet open (Item 20).
  • DATAThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Daela Co.
CEO title
Vice President and Co-Chief Executive Officer
Erica Johnson / Angelina Anderson
Incorporated in
WA
HQ
19609 NE 35th Court, Ridgefield, Washington 98642
Auditor
Van Beek & Co., LLC
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$1K
Most recent fiscal year

Overview

About

CEO
Erica Johnson / Angelina Anderson
Headquarters
WA
Founded
2022
FDD year
2023
States available
2

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost is about typical for a personal care & beauty franchise (near the category median).

Total investment (Item 7)$263K – $601KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 15 of the 2023 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$25,000Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 11 of the 2023 FDD (Item 5). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Royalty6.5%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 12 of the 2023 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fund0.0%Not cited — published from our reading of the franchisor's disclosure document; the page it is printed on has not been located.
Working capital$50K – $100K

Source: FDD 2023 · Items 5–7

FDD Item 7 · 2023 filing

Initial investment breakdown

DAELA COSMETIC TATTOO: Item 7 initial investment breakdown
Cost componentLowHigh
Initial franchise fee$25K$25K
Working capital (3–6 mo)$50K$100K
Equipment, build-out, other$188K$476K
Total initial investment$263K$601K

Source: DAELA COSMETIC TATTOO 2023 FDD, Items 5 and 7[2]. “Equipment, build-out, other” is computed as total minus disclosed line items above.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$263K – $601K
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$50K – $100K
Middle of category vs category
Franchise fee
$25K – $25K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
6.5%
typical 6–8%
Ad fund
0.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
6.5%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

DAELA COSMETIC TATTOO: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty6.5% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund0.0%
Technology fee$550
Training fee$20K
Inventory (initial)$17K – $20K
Total fee load6.5% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

DAELA COSMETIC TATTOO makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one DAELA COSMETIC TATTOO unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $263K–$601K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $50K–$100K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$507K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2023 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 118 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 6.5% — below the Personal Care & Beauty median of 7.9%.

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Multi-unit rate

Only 23% of franchisees own multiple units. Could indicate challenging economics or a young system where operators haven't had time to expand.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Personal Care & Beauty medians

How Daela Cosmetic Tattoo Compares

Metric
Daela Cosmetic Tattoo
Category median
vs median
Investment
$432K
$402Kmiddle half $261K–$677K · n=112
Near median
Revenue
N/A
$527Kmiddle half $402K–$892K · n=59
N/A
Unit Count
2
40middle half 8–151 · n=111
Below median, worse than category

Category median of published Personal Care & Beauty brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units2Verified — printed on page 36 of the 2023 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it two ways.

Source: FDD 2023 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
2
Opened
0
Last reporting year
Closed
0
Terminated
0
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
N/A
Company-owned
2
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
0%
vs corporate-owned
Multi-unit owners
23.3%

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
0
Not renewed
0
Transferred
0
Reacquired
0
Franchisor bought back
Signed, not yet open
1
0.50 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
2
Franchisor's next-year forecast
2020
0
Franchised units
2021
0±0
Franchised units
2022
0±0
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 12 · 2 states reported

The Territory Map

FDD Item 12 reports the state count, but the specific list isn't in our current data. The map will appear once we re-extract from the FDD or enough franchisee contacts are available.

2

states with franchisees (per FDD Item 12)

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

1 current owner across 1 state.

  • AZ 1

Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

No SBA loan data available for this brand.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offNot SBA-matched
Verdict score36/100 (higher is better)
Litigation0 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

DBelow average36Verdict score 36/100
Low confidence±16 pts
2052

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: officers or affiliates. The franchisor is not a named party in these cases.

No litigation is required to be disclosed in this Item.

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Van Beek & Co., LLC

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $0.0M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Balance sheets only (as of December 31, 2022 and March 9, 2022 inception); no income statement provided. Revenue from initial franchise fees totaled $1,167 for the period ended December 31, 2022 per Note 1; no artist training or royalty income recognized. Franchisor is a startup (Daela Co., fka Meraki PMU Inc.), Washington S corporation, one franchise sold but not yet open at year-end.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: Yes
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No

Score breakdown · what drove the 36 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MEDOnly 2 existing units indicates extremely limited system validation and network support; no evidence of scalability or franchisee success
  2. 02MEDAverage revenue and net income not disclosed; inability to model ROI on $263k-$600k investment creates unquantifiable risk
  3. 03HIGHNo litigation disclosed is positive, but with only 2 units and potential going concern issues, litigation may not be the primary concern
  4. 04MINORHigh investment range ($263k-$600k) paired with unknown revenue/profit means franchisee cannot validate payback period or profitability
  5. 05MINORMicro-franchise system (2 units) suggests franchisor has not successfully replicated business model; expansion may be failing

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 118 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 6.5% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term10 yrs
Renewal term10 yrs
TerritoryProtected, not exclusive
Initial training80 hrs

Source: FDD 2023 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term10 years
Renewal term10 years
Territory typeProtected territory
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Online sales rightsℹRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Not allowed
Owner-operatorRequired
Non-compete (years)ℹ2 years
Non-compete (miles)ℹ100 mi
Right of first refusalℹYes
RoFR response window30 days
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Mandatory arbitrationYes
Arbitration locationWashington
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawWA
Litigation count0
View Item 3 litigation summary

No litigation is required to be disclosed in this Item.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
40 hrs
On-the-job training
40 hrs
Training location
Oregon (designated training location) and franchise site
Ongoing training
Required
Time to open
4 mo
From signing to launch
Site selection
Franchisee selects, subject to franchisor approval
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10
POS system
Mindbody Online
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Technology: Mindbody Online

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

1 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 1 contacts · $49
Free preview
(602) 809-••••AZ

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a DAELA COSMETIC TATTOO franchise?

The total investment to open a DAELA COSMETIC TATTOO franchise ranges from $263K – $601K, with an initial franchise fee of $25K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do DAELA COSMETIC TATTOO franchise owners earn?

DAELA COSMETIC TATTOO makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns DAELA COSMETIC TATTOO?

DAELA COSMETIC TATTOO is franchised by Daela Co.. Source: FDD Item 1, 2023 filing.

What is Item 19 in the DAELA COSMETIC TATTOO FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the DAELA COSMETIC TATTOO FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is DAELA COSMETIC TATTOO's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for DAELA COSMETIC TATTOO (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many DAELA COSMETIC TATTOO franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, DAELA COSMETIC TATTOO has 2 total units in the United States.

Is DAELA COSMETIC TATTOO a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates DAELA COSMETIC TATTOO as a D-grade franchise with a verdict score of 36 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent DAELA COSMETIC TATTOO, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Personal Care & Beauty franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Personal Care & Beauty category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.