Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Ameriprise Financial Services, LLC Independent Advisor Business logo
FV-00129FDD 2026Data Quality·Standard76%
Owner-operator requiredNo: No territory protection

Ameriprise Financial Services, LLC Independent Advisor Business Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Financial ServicesMNFranchising since 1999CEOJames M. CracchioloWebsite Report an errorFranchisor? Claim this listing

Data from FDD filing + SBA 7(a) records

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

AStrongest tier76/100

Ameriprise's independent-advisor franchise lets financial advisors run their own practice under the Ameriprise brand, offering investment, retirement, and financial planning. Franchisees build a book of retail clients and assets under management while handling advice, compliance, and prospecting.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Ameriprise Financial Services, LLC Independent Advisor Business franchise requires a total initial investment of $10K – $138K, including a $2K franchise fee. The 2026 FDD on file does not yield a unit-revenue figure we can publish. SBA 7(a) loans show a 0.3% charge-off rate across 473 loans[1]. FranchiseVerdict grade: A (Strongest tier), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Data last verified · figures per the 2026 FDD issuance

Overview

Investment
$10K – $138K
0th pct Financial Ser…
Avg gross sales
N/A
Per franchisee, not per outlet
Royalty
N/A
Units
5,462
82nd pct Financial Ser…
SBA charge-off
0.3%
% of SBA 7(a) loans not repaid · median varies by category

Quick verdict · Financial Services · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$10K – $138K
Avg $123K
below avg ↓
Franchise Fee
$2K – $2K
Avg $39K
Liquid Capital Req'd
$0 – $9K
Avg $17K
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Non-annual metric
Royalty Rate
N/A
Avg 13.5%
Ongoing Fees
10.0% of rev
Avg 16.9%
SBA Charge-Off Rate
0.3%
Avg 11.1%
below avg ↓
System Size
5,462 units
Avg 673 units
Turnover Rate
3.6%
Avg 12.7%
Territory
Not protected
Franchisor can open nearby
Owner-Operator
Required
You must run it yourself
Litigation
7 cases
Review carefully

Green = favorable by >10% vs Financial Services avg · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $10K – $138K including a $2K franchise fee.
  • RETURNSItem 19 publishes no overall average. The figure shown was the TOP of thirteen production bands — independent advisors billing $1,000,000+ in annual gross dealer concession, 1,628 of 3,751 advisors (printed p.46) — and the bands run down to $25,538. The measure is also per ADVISOR rather than per outlet, and GDC is gross dealer concession before a payout that runs 73.7% to 88.0%; the same row's average gross income is $2,742,768 and its median $1,803,545.
  • RISKVerdict A (Strongest tier), verdict score 76/100 (higher is better). SBA loan charge-off rate of 0.3% across 473 loans (well below the franchise average, based on all SBA 7(a) franchise lending, 2010–2025).
  • DECLINESystem contracting at -6.6% CAGR over 3 years. Investigate whether closures are franchisor-driven (consolidation) or franchisee-driven (economics).

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Ameriprise Financial Services, LLC
Parent company
Ameriprise Financial, Inc.
CEO title
Chairman and Chief Executive Officer (of Parent, Ameriprise Financial, Inc.)
James M. Cracchiolo
Incorporated in
DE
HQ
200 Ameriprise Financial Center, Minneapolis, Minnesota 55474
Auditor
PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$9.3B
vs $8.4B prior year

Independent franchisee associations

  • Franchise Advisory Council (FAC)

Franchisee-led councils or alliances disclosed in Item 20. Indicates operator voice.

Overview

About

CEO
James M. Cracchiolo
Headquarters
MN
Founded
1971
FDD year
2026
States available
51

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 40% below the typical financial services franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$10K – $138KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 29 of the 2026 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$1,500Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 20 of the 2026 FDD (Item 5). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Working capital$0 – $9K

Source: FDD 2026 · Items 5–7

Full Item 7 breakdown23 line items

Initial investment breakdown

Item 7 initial investment line items
Line itemLowHigh
Initial Fee (including initial orientation program)not refundable$2K$2K
Additional Funds - 3 monthsnot refundable$0$3K
Association Feenot refundable$290$290
Business Authorizations and Licensesnot refundable$500$3K
Computer Hardware$1K$2K
Computer Software Installation Servicenot refundable$200$200
Errors and Omissions Feenot refundable$42$208
Internet Service, Mobile Communication Devices and Services, Phone Service, Printers and Scanners$2K$21K
Network Equipmentnot refundable$1K$8K
Network Monitoringnot refundable$25$25
Office Aesthetics and Furnishingsnot refundable$0$50K
Office Cablingnot refundable$500$6K
Office Lease$0$3K
Optional Training Programsnot refundable$0$10K
Other Software Fees and Licensesnot refundable$20$200
Security Deposits$0$9K
Signagenot refundable$60$9K
Software Licenses and Fees for Staffnot refundable$135$550
Start-up Suppliesnot refundable$100$100
Supervisionnot refundable$258$3K
Total initial investment$9K$135K

Line items extracted from FDD Item 7. Ranges reflect the franchisor's stated low and high per line. Total is the sum of line-item lows / highs — actual costs may fall outside this range depending on market and build-out scope.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$10K – $138K
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$0 – $9K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$2K – $2K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
Franchisor retains a percentage of GDC (Gross Dealer Conc…
Ad fund
1.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
10.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Ameriprise Financial Services, LLC Independent Advisor Business: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Marketing / ad fund1.0%
Technology fee$595
Training fee$5K
Transfer fee$800
Total fee load10.0% of rev

What do units actually make?

Item 19 typeGDC production bands (gros…
Sample size3,751 franchisees

Source: FDD 2026 · Item 19

ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

No Item 19 revenue figure for Ameriprise Financial Services, LLC Independent Advisor Business is on file. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Ameriprise Financial Services, LLC Independent Advisor Business unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 68%
typ 35%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $10K–$138K (midpoint used)
Item 7 didn't break this out. Enter your pre-opening cash burn

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, royalty rate, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
EBITDA margin
Total invested
$78K
Payback
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2026 FDD

Financial Performance

Item 19 publishes no overall average. The figure shown was the TOP of thirteen production bands — independent advisors billing $1,000,000+ in annual gross dealer concession, 1,628 of 3,751 advisors (printed p.46) — and the bands run down to $25,538. The measure is also per ADVISOR rather than per outlet, and GDC is gross dealer concession before a payout that runs 73.7% to 88.0%; the same row's average gross income is $2,742,768 and its median $1,803,545.

Averaged per franchisee, not per outlet - not comparable with per-outlet figures

Item 19 type
GDC production bands (gross income before expenses, not net income)
Sample size
3,751 franchisees
vs category median 94 · large
Range (low → high)
$0$99.2M
Cohort dispersion (min → max)
Reporting year
2025
Fiscal year the figures cover
Source filing
FDD 2026
Disclosed in the 2026 filing, covering 2025
Transparency
4 / 10
vs category median 0 / 10 · above
Gross sales rank
No comparison data
Investment cost rank0th
Lower investment ranks lower (better)
Royalty rate rank
No comparison data
Unit count rank82th
vs Financial Services peers
Risk score rank9th
Lower risk = lower percentile (better)

Compared against 45 Financial Services brands

Showing the headline figures — all 127 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Item 19 · by group

What the filing does disclose

Item 19 of this FDD reports performance in more than one group. We publish no single average for this brand; the groups the filing does disclose are listed below, quoted from its own Item 19 table.

Each row below is quoted from the FDD's own Item 19 table. Gross sales are not profit.

Per franchisee, not per outlet

Item 19 detail

What these figures cover

Item 19 publishes no overall average. The figure shown was the TOP of thirteen production bands — independent advisors billing $1,000,000+ in annual gross dealer concession, 1,628 of 3,751 advisors (printed p.46) — and the bands run down to $25,538. The measure is also per ADVISOR rather than per outlet, and GDC is gross dealer concession before a payout that runs 73.7% to 88.0%; the same row's average gross income is $2,742,768 and its median $1,803,545.

gdc band

SegmentSample (franchisees)Avg
GDC $1,000,000+ (Annual GDC in 000s: 1000+)1,628 franchisees$3.1M
GDC $900,000-$999,000108 franchisees$955K
GDC $800,000-$899,000137 franchisees$850K
GDC $700,000-$799,000153 franchisees$750K
GDC $600,000-$699,000140 franchisees$650K
GDC $500,000-$599,000129 franchisees$552K
GDC $400,000-$499,000158 franchisees$447K
GDC $300,000-$399,000205 franchisees$348K
GDC $200,000-$299,000216 franchisees$248K
GDC $100,000-$199,000299 franchisees$143K
GDC $50,000-$99,000303 franchisees$71K
GDC $0-$49,000275 franchisees$26K

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 10.0% — below the Financial Services average of 16.9%.

Disclosure

Item 19 reports outlet revenue, but not in a form that yields a per-outlet average we can compare across brands.

Operator retention

System contracting at -6.6% CAGR over 3 years. Investigate whether closures are franchisor-driven consolidation or franchisee exits.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Financial Services averages

How Ameriprise Financial Services, LLC Independent Advisor Business Compares

Metric
Ameriprise Financial Services, LLC Independent Advisor Business
Category Avg
vs Avg
Investment
$74K
$123K
Revenue
N/A
$243K

Per franchisee, not per outlet - the category average is per-outlet only, so no comparison is shown

Unit Count
5,462
673.368

Is the system healthy?

Total units5,462Verified — printed on page 78 of the 2026 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it one way.
3-yr growth-6.6%
Turnover rate3.6%

Source: FDD 2026 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
5,462
Opened
52
Last reporting year
Closed
133
Turnover rate
3.6%
Company-owned
1,724
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
68%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
-6.6%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
-6.6%
Compounded over last 3 years

3-year detail · Item 20

Opened (3yr)
52
Closed (3yr)
0
Terminated (3yr)
133
Non-renewed (3yr)
0
Transfers (3yr)
521
Reacquired (3yr)
0
Franchisor bought back
Transfer rate
9.3%
Owners selling to other franchisees
Termination rate
2.7%
Franchisor-initiated terminations
2023
4,003
Franchised units
2024
3,855-148
Franchised units
2025
3,738-117
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 20 · 51 states with active franchisees

The Territory Map

Derived from franchisee contact records. Shows states with at least one current operator. Not where the franchisor is registered to sell new units (that data is re-extracting in a future refresh).

AK
ME
VT
NH
MA
RI
CT
NY
NJ
PA
DE
MD
DC
WA
OR
CA
NV
ID
MT
WY
UT
CO
AZ
NM
ND
SD
NE
KS
OK
TX
MN
IA
MO
AR
LA
WI
IL
MS
TN
MI
IN
KY
AL
OH
WV
GA
VA
NC
SC
FL
HI
Active operators · 51 states
No contacts on file

States derived from franchisee contact records (FDD Item 20). Shows states with at least one current operator on file. Full state registration data (Item 12) will appear on a future FDD refresh.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

A
SBA Lending Health
Excellent SBA lending record · 0.3% charge-off
Total loans
473
Loan volume
$301.5M
Median loan
$637K
average
Charge-off rate
0.3%
rates vary by category · see methodology

Historical SBA 7(a) lending data, not predictive of future performance. How SBA charge-off rates are calculated

Repayment rate (PIF)
N/A
5-yr charge-off
N/A
Loans approved 2021+
Active lenders
31
Defaults
1
Typical loan rate
6.2%
avg rate to borrowers
vs industry
N/A
Jobs supported
N/A
Lender concentration
58%
top lender's share

Vintage analysis

Ameriprise Financial Services, LLC Independent Advisor Business charge-off rate by loan vintage

BrandNational avg
Ameriprise Financial Services, LLC Independent Advisor Business charge-off rate by loan vintage. Showing 19 vintages from 2007 to 2025. Rates range from 0.0% to 2.9%.0%5%10%'07'10'13'16'19'22'25

Shaded area: recent vintages with few resolved loans; rates may change as loans mature.

Top lenders financing Ameriprise Financial Services, LLC Independent Advisor Business franchisees

Live Oak Banking Company272 loans0.0%
Byline Bank66 loans0.0%
Citizens Community Federal National Association15 loans0.0%

Showing 3 of 31 lenders. The full breakdown — every lender, state distribution, interest rates & risk ratings — is in the SBA Lending Report below.

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

Premium insight

SBA Lending Report

Deep-dive into Ameriprise Financial Services, LLC Independent Advisor Business's SBA lending history: lender network, geographic footprint, interest rates, and more.

SBA Lending Report

  • Principal loss rate and NAICS industry benchmark
  • 10 lenders with concentration factor
  • Per-state charge-off rates across 20 states
  • Startup risk premium and job creation velocity
$29 one-time

Instant access. No subscription.

Lending insight

With a 0.3% charge-off rate across 473 loans, banks have historically viewed this brand favorably for lending.

What could kill this investment?

SBA loans charge off at 0.3% — 98% below the 16.0% national norm, i.e. lower lender-observed risk.

SBA charge-off0.3%
Verdict score76/100 (higher is better)
Litigation7 cases
Going concernClear

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

AStrongest tier76Verdict score 76/100

Ameriprise's declining unit count, opaque royalty structure, extensive regulatory/legal troubles, withheld profitability data, and unprotected territories create elevated risk of franchisee underperformance and franchisor vulnerability.

High confidence±3 pts
3642

Litigation (Item 3)

Franchisor is defendant in multiple pending matters including cash sweep class actions (Mehlman/Tripson consolidated), FINRA arbitrations by current/former advisors (Mattson), collection matters (Urban), recruiting-related cases (Oppenheimer, Edward Jones). Past SEC/FINRA settlements: $4.5M (2018 safeguarding), $8.75M total disgorgement+penalty (2017 F-Squared), $850K fine (2016 FINRA wire transfer). Field sales force and advisor client litigation of 5-60 matters/year disclosed as routine.

Largest disclosed settlement: $6,300,000

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $9323.4MYr 2: $8392.7M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: Yes
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes

Score breakdown · what drove the 76 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MINORDeclining unit count (-3.0% YoY) signals shrinking franchisee base and potential market saturation or dissatisfaction
  2. 02MINORExtremely wide royalty range (9-28% of GDC) lacks transparency; unclear what determines placement and actual franchisee take-home
  3. 03HIGHSix active litigation matters including class action, FINRA arbitration, and three regulatory settlements indicate systemic compliance failures in supervision and advertising
  4. 04MINORUnprotected territory creates direct competition risk from other franchisees and company-employed advisors
  5. 05MINORLow franchise fee ($1,500) and high investment range suggests upfront capital may be understated or variable costs are substantial
  6. 06MINORThree-year term is short; renewal risk and franchisor control leverage are high
  7. 07MINORRecent SEC/FINRA settlements indicate franchisor's own regulatory compliance deficiencies that cascade to franchisees

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 127 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Full litigation history from the FDD (Items 3 and 4) →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 10.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term3 yrs
Renewal term3 yrs
TerritoryNot exclusive
Initial training10 hrs

Source: FDD 2026 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term3 years
Renewal term3 years
Allowed renewals1
Territory typenone
Protected territoryNo
Exclusive territoryNo
Online sales rightsGranted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Not allowed
Owner-operatorRequired
Non-compete (years)1 year
Right of first refusalYes
RoFR response window30 days
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice14 days
Mandatory arbitrationYes
Arbitration locationFINRA arbitration (location per agreement)
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawDE
Litigation count7
View Item 3 litigation summary

Franchisor is defendant in multiple pending matters including cash sweep class actions (Mehlman/Tripson consolidated), FINRA arbitrations by current/former advisors (Mattson), collection matters (Urban), recruiting-related cases (Oppenheimer, Edward Jones). Past SEC/FINRA settlements: $4.5M (2018 safeguarding), $8.75M total disgorgement+penalty (2017 F-Squared), $850K fine (2016 FINRA wire transfer). Field sales force and advisor client litigation of 5-60 matters/year disclosed as routine.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
10 hrs
On-the-job training
0 hrs
Training location
Online and Region (local RVP/FVP office)
Ongoing training
Required
Time to open
1 mo
From signing to launch
Site selection
Franchisee selects, subject to franchisor approval. Must be in commercial or mixed commercial/residential zone; FINRA registration required.
Franchisor financing
Offered
Item 10
POS system
AdvisorCompass
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

Site selection assistance
Grand opening support
Lease negotiation help

Technology: AdvisorCompass

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

2,439 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 2,439 contacts · $49
Free preview
(612) 671-••••
Unlock all 2,439 contacts
518.891.••••NY
608.729.••••WI
484.879.••••PA
303.407.••••CO

FDD download

Ameriprise Financial Services, LLC Independent Advisor Business · FDD (2026) PDF

Single-page checkout · instant download · CSV export of contacts available separately above

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Ameriprise Financial Services, LLC Independent Advisor Business franchise?

The total investment to open a Ameriprise Financial Services, LLC Independent Advisor Business franchise ranges from $10K – $138K, with an initial franchise fee of $2K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Ameriprise Financial Services, LLC Independent Advisor Business franchise owners earn?

No average owner earnings figure for Ameriprise Financial Services, LLC Independent Advisor Business is on file. Item 19 — where a franchisor may disclose what its outlets earn — is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and we have not established what this brand's FDD says. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

What is Item 19 in the Ameriprise Financial Services, LLC Independent Advisor Business FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Ameriprise Financial Services, LLC Independent Advisor Business FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Ameriprise Financial Services, LLC Independent Advisor Business's franchise failure rate?

Based on SBA 7(a) loan data, Ameriprise Financial Services, LLC Independent Advisor Business has a charge-off rate of 0.3% across 473 loans, meaning 0.3% of franchise loans were charged off. Charge-off rates are one proxy for franchise risk, though they do not capture all closures. This data comes from FOIA-sourced SBA lending records.

How many Ameriprise Financial Services, LLC Independent Advisor Business franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Ameriprise Financial Services, LLC Independent Advisor Business has 5,462 total units in the United States, including 3,738 franchised units and 1,724 company-owned units. 52 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is Ameriprise Financial Services, LLC Independent Advisor Business a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Ameriprise Financial Services, LLC Independent Advisor Business as a A-grade franchise with a verdict score of 76 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Ameriprise Financial Services, LLC Independent Advisor Business, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Financial Services franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Financial Services category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.