Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
7-Eleven logo
FV-00036FDD 2025Data Quality·Standard67%
Owner-operator requiredNo: No territory protection

7-Eleven Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

RetailTexasFranchising since 1964CEOStephen DacusWebsite Report an errorFranchisor? Claim this listing

Data from FDD filing + SBA 7(a) records

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

AStrongest tier78/100

7-Eleven is the largest convenience-store franchise, selling fresh and hot food, proprietary drinks like the Slurpee, private-label goods, and fuel at many sites. Franchisees run extended-hour stores managing inventory, staffing, and daily retail operations.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A 7-Eleven franchise requires a total initial investment of $142K – $1.6M. The 2025 FDD on file does not yield a unit-revenue figure we can publish. FranchiseVerdict grade: A (Strongest tier), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Data last verified · figures per the 2025 FDD issuance

Overview

Investment
$142K – $1.6M
15th pct Retail
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
N/A
Units
8,254
45th pct Retail
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Retail · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$142K – $1.6M
Avg $412K
above avg ↑
Franchise Fee
$0 – $690K
Avg $35K
Liquid Capital Req'd
$66K – $198K
Avg $50K
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Non-annual metric
Royalty Rate
N/A
Avg 6.2%
Ongoing Fees
1.0% of rev
Avg 9.0%
SBA Charge-Off Rate
No SBA data
Not SBA-matched
System Size
8,254 units
Avg 407 units
Turnover Rate
3.8%
Avg 8.1%
Territory
Not protected
Franchisor can open nearby
Owner-Operator
Required
You must run it yourself
Litigation
28 cases
Review carefully

Green = favorable by >10% vs Retail avg · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $142K – $1.6M.
  • RETURNSItem 19 discloses only state-by-state historic averages/medians of total sales and gross profit in a separate Exhibit H not captured in this extracted text; no consolidated system-wide figures given in narrative.
  • RISKVerdict A (Strongest tier), verdict score 78/100 (higher is better).
  • LEGAL28 litigation matters disclosed in Item 3, higher than typical. Review the summary for patterns (franchisor-initiated vs. franchisee-initiated).

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
7-Eleven, Inc.
Parent company
SEJ Asset Management & Investment Company
Ultimate parent
Seven & i Holdings Co., Ltd.
CEO title
Chairman of the Board (7-Eleven, Inc.); CEO/President of Seven & i Holdings
Stephen Dacus
Incorporated in
Texas
HQ
3200 Hackberry Road, Irving, Texas 75063
Auditor
KPMG LLP
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$52.6B
vs $56.8B prior year

Overview

About

CEO
Stephen Dacus
Headquarters
Texas
Founded
1961
FDD year
2025
States available
14

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 115% above the typical retail franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$142K – $1.6MNot cited — published from our reading of the franchisor's disclosure document; the page it is printed on has not been located.
Working capital$66K – $198K

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 5–7

Full Item 7 breakdown12 line items

Initial investment breakdown

Item 7 initial investment line items
Line itemLowHigh
Franchise Fee$0$1.1M
Training expenses$0$14K
Down Payment for opening inventory$20K$20K
Additional opening inventory$42K$240K
Cash Register Fund$3K$15K
Store supplies$1K$4K
Licenses and permits$7K$11K
Real estate and equipment
Insurance$2K$36K
Grand Opening Fee$8K$8K
Goodwill
Additional funds during first 3 months$60K$180K
Total initial investment$142K$1.6M

Line items extracted from FDD Item 7. Ranges reflect the franchisor's stated low and high per line. Total is the sum of line-item lows / highs — actual costs may fall outside this range depending on market and build-out scope.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$142K – $1.6M
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$66K – $198K
Middle of category vs category
Franchise fee
N/A
Paid to franchisor at signing
Royalty
Variable "7-Eleven Charge" royalty based on Gross Profit …
Ad fund
1.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
1.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

7-Eleven: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty (flat)Variable percentage of Gross Profit via tiered base-plus-marginal-rate formula; not a single flat rate.
Marketing / ad fund1.0%
Renewal fee$50K
Inventory (initial)$53K $258K
Total fee load1.0% of rev

What do units actually make?

Item 19 typeHistoric state-level avera…
Sample size241 outlets

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 19

ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

No Item 19 revenue figure for 7-Eleven is on file. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one 7-Eleven unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 68%
typ 35%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $142K–$1.6M (midpoint used)
FDD reports $66K–$198K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, royalty rate, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
EBITDA margin
Total invested
$1.0M
Payback
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2025 FDD

Financial Performance

Item 19 discloses only state-by-state historic averages/medians of total sales and gross profit in a separate Exhibit H not captured in this extracted text; no consolidated system-wide figures given in narrative.

Item 19 type
Historic state-level averages/medians of total sales, gross profit, gross profit % and consigned gasoline commissions for franchised stores, provided per-state in Exhibit H (not included in extracted text)
Sample size
241 outlets
vs category median 46 · large
Range (low → high)
$525K$4.5M
Cohort dispersion (min → max)
Reporting year
2024
Fiscal year the figures cover
Source filing
FDD 2025
Disclosed in the 2025 filing, covering 2024
Transparency
3 / 10
vs category median 3 / 10 · typical
Gross sales rank
No comparison data
Investment cost rank15th
Lower investment ranks lower (better)
Royalty rate rank
No comparison data
Unit count rank45th
vs Retail peers
Risk score rank7th
Lower risk = lower percentile (better)

Compared against 278 Retail brands

Showing the headline figures — all 132 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 1.0% — below the Retail average of 9.0%.

Disclosure

Item 19 reports revenue alongside profit figures rather than annual gross sales, so unit revenue is not directly comparable.

Operator retention

System roughly stable (+0.4% 3-year CAGR) with 8,254 units.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Retail averages

How 7-Eleven Compares

Metric
7-Eleven
Category Avg
vs Avg
Investment
$885K
$412K
Revenue
N/A
$920K
Unit Count
8,254
406.738

Is the system healthy?

Total units8,254Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 67 of the 2025 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
3-yr growth+0.4%
Turnover rate3.8%

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
8,254
Opened
300
Last reporting year
Closed
316
Terminated
0
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
3.8%
Company-owned
1,025
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
88%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
+0.4%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
+0.4%
Compounded over last 3 years

3-year detail · Item 20

Opened (3yr)
277
Closed (3yr)
83
Terminated (3yr)
0
Non-renewed (3yr)
0
Transfers (3yr)
190
Reacquired (3yr)
167
Franchisor bought back
Ceased ops
37.9%
Units that stopped operating
2022
7,218
Franchised units
2023
7,245+27
Franchised units
2024
7,229-16
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 20 · 7 states with active franchisees

The Territory Map

Derived from franchisee contact records. Shows states with at least one current operator. Not where the franchisor is registered to sell new units (that data is re-extracting in a future refresh).

AK
ME
VT
NH
MA
RI
CT
NY
NJ
PA
DE
MD
DC
WA
OR
CA
NV
ID
MT
WY
UT
CO
AZ
NM
ND
SD
NE
KS
OK
TX
MN
IA
MO
AR
LA
WI
IL
MS
TN
MI
IN
KY
AL
OH
WV
GA
VA
NC
SC
FL
HI
Active operators · 7 states
No contacts on file

States derived from franchisee contact records (FDD Item 20). Shows states with at least one current operator on file. Full state registration data (Item 12) will appear on a future FDD refresh.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

Total loans
16
Loan volume
$5.0M
Median loan
$315K
average
Charge-off rate
N/A
no resolved loans yet — rate needs a terminal outcome

Historical SBA 7(a) lending data, not predictive of future performance. How SBA charge-off rates are calculated

Repayment rate (PIF)
N/A
5-yr charge-off
N/A
Loans approved 2021+
Active lenders
0
Defaults
0

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

What could kill this investment?

Verdict score78/100 (higher is better)
Litigation28 cases
Going concernClear

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

AStrongest tier78Verdict score 78/100

7-Eleven presents moderate-to-high risk due to shrinking unit base, extensive litigation, opaque profitability metrics, unprotected territories, and unclear royalty calculations despite strong revenue averages.

High confidence±5 pts
3343

Litigation (Item 3)

Numerous franchisee-initiated suits (wrongful termination, breach of contract, misrepresentation, FTC Franchise Rule/state franchise-act claims) and franchisor-initiated trademark/post-termination enforcement suits; also two FTC antitrust/consent-order matters (Sunoco divestiture Consent Order and Speedway acquisition Order), with a 2025 stipulated judgment requiring a $4.5M civil penalty for a Consent Order violation.

Largest disclosed settlement: $4,500,000

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · KPMG LLP

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $52603.0MYr 2: $56823.0MNon-royalty: $97.0M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

ⓘ These are the parent company's consolidated financials (the parent guarantees the franchisor), not this brand's standalone results — the figure reflects the whole corporate group, not this brand alone.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: Yes
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No

Score breakdown · what drove the 78 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MINORDeclining unit count (-0.2% YoY) signals system contraction despite massive franchise base
  2. 02HIGHSignificant litigation history involving wrongful termination, breach of contract, fraudulent inducement, and FTC actions suggests systemic franchisor-franchisee relationship issues
  3. 03MINORUnprotected territory creates direct competition risk; franchisees may cannibalize each other's sales in overlapping areas
  4. 04MEDVariable royalty structure tied to Gross Profit (not Net) is opaque and difficult to forecast; actual percentage rates not disclosed
  5. 05MEDHigh initial investment ceiling ($1.6M+) combined with undisclosed profitability creates severe ROI uncertainty
  6. 06MINOR15-year term is lengthy with no clear exit strategy articulated, locking franchisees into declining system

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 132 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Full litigation history from the FDD (Items 3 and 4) →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 1.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term15 yrs
Renewal term15 yrs
TerritoryNot exclusive
Initial training300 hrs

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term15 years
Renewal term15 years
Allowed renewals1
Territory typenone
Protected territoryNo
Exclusive territoryNo
Online sales rightsRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorRequired
Right of first refusalYes
RoFR response window15 days
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice2 days
Termination grounds18
Curable defaults14
Mandatory arbitrationNo
Arbitration locationTexas (mediation at mutually accessible neutral location in market area; other actions in Texas courts)
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawTexas
Litigation count28
View Item 3 litigation summary

Numerous franchisee-initiated suits (wrongful termination, breach of contract, misrepresentation, FTC Franchise Rule/state franchise-act claims) and franchisor-initiated trademark/post-termination enforcement suits; also two FTC antitrust/consent-order matters (Sunoco divestiture Consent Order and Speedway acquisition Order), with a 2025 stipulated judgment requiring a $4.5M civil penalty for a Consent Order violation.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
24 hrs
On-the-job training
280 hrs
Training location
Store Support Center (Irving, TX) and a 7-Eleven Training Store
Ongoing training
Required
Site selection
franchisor
Franchisor financing
Offered
Item 10
POS system
Store Information System (SIS)
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

Site selection assistance
Grand opening support
Lease negotiation help

Technology: Store Information System (SIS)

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

1,142 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 1,142 contacts · $49
Free preview
(586) 465 ••••MI
Unlock all 1,142 contacts
(773) 775 ••••IL
(630) 620 ••••IL
(817) 472 ••••TX
(313) 563 ••••MI

FDD download

7-Eleven · FDD (2025) PDF

Single-page checkout · instant download · CSV export of contacts available separately above

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a 7-Eleven franchise?

The total investment to open a 7-Eleven franchise ranges from $142K – $1.6M. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do 7-Eleven franchise owners earn?

No average owner earnings figure for 7-Eleven is on file. Item 19 — where a franchisor may disclose what its outlets earn — is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and we have not established what this brand's FDD says. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

What is Item 19 in the 7-Eleven FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the 7-Eleven FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is 7-Eleven's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for 7-Eleven (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many 7-Eleven franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, 7-Eleven has 8,254 total units in the United States, including 7,229 franchised units and 1,025 company-owned units. 300 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is 7-Eleven a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates 7-Eleven as a A-grade franchise with a verdict score of 78 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent 7-Eleven, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Retail franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Retail category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.