Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Yi Fang Taiwan Fruit Tea logo

Yi Fang Taiwan Fruit Tea Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Quick-Service RestaurantsCAFranchising since 2018
CAverageAverage40/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$119K – $221K
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Not SBA-matched

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-03018FDD 2025Data QualityExcellent86%
Owner-operator requiredYes: Protected territory

Data from FDD filing

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

Yi Fang Taiwan Fruit Tea is a bubble tea franchise known for fresh fruit teas made with real fruit and hand-brewed tea. Franchisees run the shops, managing drink prep, ingredient inventory, and counter service.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Yi Fang Taiwan Fruit Tea franchise requires a total initial investment of $119K – $221K, including a $30K franchise fee and an ongoing 4.0% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: C (Average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: medium - issued 12 to 24 months ago; a newer filing is likely on file

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored4 of 4 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing.

Overview

Investment
$119K – $221K
7th pct Service Resta…
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
4.0%
3rd pct Service Resta…
Units
33
58th pct Service Resta…
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Quick-Service Restaurants · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$119K – $221K
Median $486K
below median ↓, better than category
Franchise Fee
$30K – $30K
Median $35K
below median ↓, better than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$30K – $40K
Median $33K
near median
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
4.0%
Median 5.5%
below median ↓, better than category
Ongoing Fees
4.0% of rev
Median 7.5%
below median ↓, better than category
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Not SBA-matched
Not matched to SBA 7(a) loans
System Size
33 units
Median 18 units
above median ↑, better than category
Turnover Rate
48.5%
Median 0.0%
Territory
Protected, not exclusive
Limits on the franchisor opening nearby; not an exclusive zone
Owner-Operator
Required
You must run it yourself
Litigation
4 cases
Some history

Green = favorable by >10% vs Quick-Service Restaurants median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $119K – $221K including a $30K franchise fee, 4.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict C (Average), verdict score 40/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHNegative: net -2 franchised outlets in the latest year (14 opened, 16 closed) (Item 20).
  • FLAG16 units terminated last reporting year (48.5% of the system). Ask existing franchisees why.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Inkism International Co., LLC
Parent company
Inkism International Co., Ltd. (Taiwan) ("Inkism-Taiwan")
FDD Item 1, page 6 of the 2025 FDD
Ultimate parent
Inkism International Co., Ltd. (Taiwan)
FDD Item 1, page 6 of the 2025 FDD
Predecessor
DanYe
Prior franchisor entity
CEO title
Chief Executive Officer and Manager
Tzu-Kai Ko
Founder active
Yes
Original founder still leading the business
Incorporated in
California
HQ
100 Pine St., 1250, San Francisco, CA 94111
Auditor
DLEE Accountancy, Inc.
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$868K
vs $728K prior year

Overview

About

CEO
Tzu-Kai Ko
Headquarters
CA
Founded
2018
FDD year
2025
States available
8

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 65% below the typical quick-service restaurants franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$119K – $221KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 20 of the 2025 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$30,000Verified — printed on page 14 of the 2025 FDD (Item 5), and another item of the same filing prints the same figure on a labelled row, which is an independent restatement.
Royalty4.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 16 of the 2025 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fundNot extracted
Working capital$30K – $40K

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 5–7

Full Item 7 breakdown14 line items

Initial investment breakdown

Item 7 initial investment line items
Line itemLowHigh
Initial Franchise Fee$30K$30K
Design Fee$1K$4K
Security Deposit for Franchisee$10K$10K
Training expenses$3K$8K
Lease of Outlet premises and lease security deposit$2K$10K
Leasehold improvements$10K$50K
Equipment, furniture and fixtures$20K$40K
Point of sale system$700$3K
Interior/exterior signs and graphics$1K$5K
Professional fees$2K$3K
Business licenses and permits$1K$5K
Inventory and administrative supplies to begin operating$8K$11K
Business insurance$1K$3K
Additional funds - 3 months$30K$40K
Total initial investment$119K$221K

Line items extracted from FDD Item 7. Ranges reflect the franchisor's stated low and high per line. Total is the sum of line-item lows / highs — actual costs may fall outside this range depending on market and build-out scope.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$119K – $221K
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$30K – $40K
Middle of category vs category
Franchise fee
$30K – $30K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
4.0%
typical 6–8%
Ad fund
Minimum $1,000 per month
Total fee load
4.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Yi Fang Taiwan Fruit Tea: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty4.0% of gross sales
Training fee$6K
Transfer fee$10K
Renewal fee$10K
Inventory (initial)$8K – $11K
Total fee load4.0% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

Yi Fang Taiwan Fruit Tea makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Yi Fang Taiwan Fruit Tea unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $119K–$221K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $30K–$40K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, ad fund rate, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$205K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2025 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 139 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 4.0% — below the Quick-Service Restaurants median of 7.5%.

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

System expanding at 13.8% CAGR over 3 years across 33 units — operators are staying and new ones are joining.

Multi-unit rate

Only 11% of franchisees own multiple units. Could indicate challenging economics or a young system where operators haven't had time to expand.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Quick-Service Restaurants medians

How Yi Fang Taiwan Fruit Tea Compares

Metric
Yi Fang Taiwan Fruit Tea
Category median
vs median
Investment
$170K
$486Kmiddle half $342K–$748K · n=780
Below median, better than category
Revenue
N/A
$975Kmiddle half $664K–$1.4M · n=284
N/A
Unit Count
33
18middle half 5–79 · n=755
Above median, better than category

Category median of published Quick-Service Restaurants brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units33Verified — printed on page 45 of the 2025 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it three ways.
3-yr growth-5.7% (worth scrutinizing)
Turnover rate48.5% (caution)

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
33
Opened
14
Last reporting year
Closed
16
Terminated
16
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
48.5%
Company-owned
0
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
100%
vs corporate-owned
Multi-unit owners
10.5%
Net growth (3-yr)
-5.7%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
+13.8%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
16
Not renewed
0
Transferred
0
Projected new
5
Franchisor's next-year forecast
Termination rate
48.5%
Franchisor-initiated terminations
Ceased ops
48.5%
Units that stopped operating
2022
29
Franchised units
2023
35+6
Franchised units
2024
33-2
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 20 · 10 states with active franchisees

The Territory Map

Derived from franchisee contact records. Shows states with at least one current operator. Not where the franchisor is registered to sell new units (that data is re-extracting in a future refresh).

AK
ME
VT
NH
MA
RI
CT
NY
NJ
PA
DE
MD
DC
WA
OR
CA
NV
ID
MT
WY
UT
CO
AZ
NM
ND
SD
NE
KS
OK
TX
MN
IA
MO
AR
LA
WI
IL
MS
TN
MI
IN
KY
AL
OH
WV
GA
VA
NC
SC
FL
HI
Active operators · 10 states
No contacts on file

States derived from franchisee contact records (FDD Item 20). Shows states with at least one current operator on file. Full state registration data (Item 12) will appear on a future FDD refresh.

Available to sell in · Item 12

  • Hawaii
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Maryland
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • North Dakota
  • Rhode Island
  • South Dakota
  • Virginia
  • Washington
  • Wisconsin

States where the franchisor is registered to sell new franchises (FDD registration filings).

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

44 current owners across 10 states.

  • CA 18
  • NY 9
  • WA 7
  • HI 3
  • TX 2
  • CT 1
  • MD 1
  • NV 1
  • OR 1
  • PA 1

Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

No SBA loan data available for this brand.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offNot SBA-matched
Verdict score40/100 (higher is better)
Litigation4 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

CAverage40Verdict score 40/100

Beverage franchisor with parent-level financials ($5.97M revenue) and 33 franchised units. Four Item-3 matters are all resolved franchise-registration/disclosure violations (largest payment $7,200). Notable elevated turnover of 48.5% and no Item 19 stack against otherwise resolved litigation to a minor flag.

Moderate confidence±13 pts
2753

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: the franchisor is a named party (defendant).

Four government enforcement actions disclosed: (1) California Notice of Violation filed September 3, 2019 by Department of Financial Protection and Innovation regarding unregistered franchise offering (approved October 2, 2019); (2) New York Attorney General Assurance of Discontinuance (AOD No. 19-004) signed January 29, 2019 by parent company Inkism International Co. Ltd. for selling two unregistered franchises (unit registration approved February 8, 2019, renewed February 6, 2020); (3) California Notice of Violation filed October 11, 2019 by subfranchisor Fortune Journey LLC and Roy Lam for unregistered franchise sales (approved February 5, 2020); (4) Washington State Securities Division Consent Order (Order No. S-21-3087-21-CO03) entered July 13, 2022 against Inkism International Co., LLC for misrepresentation/non-disclosure of store numbers in franchise disclosure document, with $7,200 investigative costs ordered. All matters settled/concluded.

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · DLEE Accountancy, Inc.

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $0.9MYr 2: $0.7M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Item 21 audited financial statements are for the franchisor Inkism International Co., LLC (Inkism-USA), FYE Dec 31 2024/2023/2022, in Exhibit B, but the exhibit text is garbled/unrecoverable (mojibake) in this extraction; balance-sheet and income figures could not be read reliably. The only clean figure is the Taiwan parent Inkism-Taiwan's FY2024 total revenue of $5,965,452 (disclosed in Item 8), which is a DIFFERENT entity than the audited franchisor and does not reconcile to a franchisor balance sheet, so it was not used for franchisor financial fields.

ⓘ These are the parent company's consolidated financials (the parent guarantees the franchisor), not this brand's standalone results — the figure reflects the whole corporate group, not this brand alone.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: No
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No

Score breakdown · what drove the 40 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MINORHigh franchisee turnover 48.5%
  2. 02MINOR4 resolved franchise-registration/disclosure violations (max $7,200)
  3. 03MINORNo Item 19 disclosure
  4. 04MEDParent-level financials — brand equity not disclosed
  5. 05MINORNo bankruptcy, no going-concern

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 139 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Full litigation history from the FDD (Items 3 and 4) →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 4.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term3 yrs
Renewal term3 yrs
TerritoryProtected, not exclusive
Initial training160 hrs

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term3 years
Renewal term3 years
Territory typeProtected territory
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Territory radius0.3 mi
Online sales rightsℹRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Not allowed
Owner-operatorRequired
Non-compete (years)ℹ1 year
Non-compete (miles)ℹ25 mi
Right of first refusalℹYes
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice60 days
Curable defaultsℹ2
Mandatory arbitrationYes
Arbitration locationLos Angeles County, California
Governing lawNew York
Litigation count4
View Item 3 litigation summary

Four government enforcement actions disclosed: (1) California Notice of Violation filed September 3, 2019 by Department of Financial Protection and Innovation regarding unregistered franchise offering (approved October 2, 2019); (2) New York Attorney General Assurance of Discontinuance (AOD No. 19-004) signed January 29, 2019 by parent company Inkism International Co. Ltd. for selling two unregistered franchises (unit registration approved February 8, 2019, renewed February 6, 2020); (3) California Notice of Violation filed October 11, 2019 by subfranchisor Fortune Journey LLC and Roy Lam for unregistered franchise sales (approved February 5, 2020); (4) Washington State Securities Division Consent Order (Order No. S-21-3087-21-CO03) entered July 13, 2022 against Inkism International Co., LLC for misrepresentation/non-disclosure of store numbers in franchise disclosure document, with $7,200 investigative costs ordered. All matters settled/concluded.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
55 hrs
On-the-job training
105 hrs
Training location
On-site and off-site
Ongoing training
Required
Field support
105 hrs/yr
On-site visits per year
Time to open
9 mo
From signing to launch
Site selection
franchisee_with_franchisor_consent
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10
POS system
POS System
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Technology: POS System

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

44 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 44 contacts · $49
Free preview
(267) 992-••••PA
Unlock all 44 contacts
(267) 616-••••NY
(425) 961-••••WA
(206) 420-••••WA
(646) 861-••••NY

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Yi Fang Taiwan Fruit Tea franchise?

The total investment to open a Yi Fang Taiwan Fruit Tea franchise ranges from $119K – $221K, with an initial franchise fee of $30K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Yi Fang Taiwan Fruit Tea franchise owners earn?

Yi Fang Taiwan Fruit Tea makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns Yi Fang Taiwan Fruit Tea?

Yi Fang Taiwan Fruit Tea is franchised by Inkism International Co., LLC. Its parent company is Inkism International Co., Ltd. (Taiwan) ("Inkism-Taiwan"). The ultimate parent named in the FDD is Inkism International Co., Ltd. (Taiwan). Source: FDD Item 1, 2025 filing.

What is Item 19 in the Yi Fang Taiwan Fruit Tea FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Yi Fang Taiwan Fruit Tea FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Yi Fang Taiwan Fruit Tea's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for Yi Fang Taiwan Fruit Tea (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many Yi Fang Taiwan Fruit Tea franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Yi Fang Taiwan Fruit Tea has 33 total units in the United States, including 33 franchised units and 0 company-owned units. 14 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is Yi Fang Taiwan Fruit Tea a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Yi Fang Taiwan Fruit Tea as a C-grade franchise with a verdict score of 40 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Yi Fang Taiwan Fruit Tea, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Quick-Service Restaurants franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Quick-Service Restaurants category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.