Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Chester's logo

Chester's Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Quick-Service RestaurantsAlabamaFranchising since 2008
BAbove averageAbove average56/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$28K – $307K
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Limited · 10 loans

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-20469FDD 2026Data QualityStandard71%
Manager-run OKNo: No territory protection

Data from FDD filing + SBA 7(a) records

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

Chester's is a quick-service fried-chicken franchise built for non-traditional sites, convenience stores, supermarkets, and grab-and-go kiosks. Franchisees run a store-in-store or express counter serving fried chicken, tenders, and sides.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Chester's franchise requires a total initial investment of $28K – $307K, including a $2K – $4K franchise fee. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: B (Above average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: 2026 filing · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: low - the current year's filing

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✓ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored2 of 3 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing; the rest are marked “Not cited” beside the figure.

Overview

Investment
$28K – $307K
1st pct Service Resta…
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
Flat fee
Units
918
92nd pct Service Resta…
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Quick-Service Restaurants · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$28K – $307K
Median $486K
below median ↓, better than category
Franchise Fee
$2K – $4K
Median $35K
below median ↓, better than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$10K – $25K
Median $33K
below median ↓, better than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
Not extracted
Median 5.5%
Ongoing Fees
Not extracted
Median 7.5%
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Limited · 10 loans
Limited SBA coverage: 10 loans, rate hidden until 10 have resolved and loans reach 2% of franchised units
System Size
918 units
Median 18 units
above median ↑, better than category
Turnover Rate
21.2%
Median 0.0%
Territory
None
The franchisor can open or license outlets nearby
Owner-Operator
Optional
Can hire a manager
Litigation
None disclosed
Clean record

Green = favorable by >10% vs Quick-Service Restaurants median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $28K – $307K including a $4K franchise fee.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict B (Above average), verdict score 56/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHNegative: net -76 franchised outlets in the latest year (120 opened, 195 closed) (Item 20).
  • DECLINESystem contracting at -8.1% CAGR over 3 years. Investigate whether closures are franchisor-driven (consolidation) or franchisee-driven (economics).

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Chester's International, LLC
Predecessor
Chester's International, LLC (the "First Chester's")
Prior franchisor entity
CEO title
Chief Executive Officer and Managing Director
Wynn Giles
Incorporated in
Alabama
HQ
1531 3rd Avenue North, Suite 110, Birmingham, Alabama 35203
Auditor
Warren Averett, LLC
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$30.6M
vs $40.4M prior year
Management churn noted
Frequent turnover
Item 2 disclosed frequent executive changes

Overview

About

CEO
Wynn Giles
Headquarters
Alabama
Founded
2002
FDD year
2026
States available
47

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 66% below the typical quick-service restaurants franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$28K – $307KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 18 of the 2026 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$3,500Not cited — published from our reading of the franchisor's disclosure document; the page it is printed on has not been located.
RoyaltyFlat fee
Ad fundNot extracted
Working capital$10K – $25K

Source: FDD 2026 · Items 5–7

FDD Item 7 · 2026 filing

Initial investment breakdown

Chester's: Item 7 initial investment breakdown
Cost componentLowHigh
Initial franchise fee$4K$4K
Working capital (3–6 mo)$10K$25K
Equipment, build-out, other$14K$278K
Total initial investment$28K$307K

Source: Chester's 2026 FDD, Items 5 and 7[2]. “Equipment, build-out, other” is computed as total minus disclosed line items above.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$28K – $307K
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$10K – $25K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$2K – $4K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
No ongoing royalty fee disclosed; franchisor derives reve…
Ad fund
No advertising fund contribution required; a $200/quarter…

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Chester's: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Technology fee$250
Training fee$4K
Inventory (initial)$2K – $9K
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

Chester's makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Chester's unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundnot set
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $28K–$307K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $10K–$25K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, royalty rate, ad fund rate, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$185K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2026 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 128 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

System contracting at -8.1% CAGR over 3 years. Investigate whether closures are franchisor-driven consolidation or franchisee exits.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Quick-Service Restaurants medians

How Chester's Compares

Metric
Chester's
Category median
vs median
Investment
$167K
$486Kmiddle half $342K–$748K · n=780
Below median, better than category
Revenue
N/A
$975Kmiddle half $664K–$1.4M · n=284
N/A
Unit Count
918
18middle half 5–79 · n=755
Above median, better than category

Category median of published Quick-Service Restaurants brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units918Verified — printed on page 47 of the 2026 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it three ways.
3-yr growth-8.1% (worth scrutinizing)
Turnover rate21.2% (caution)

Source: FDD 2026 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
918
Opened
120
Last reporting year
Closed
195
Terminated
11
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
33
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
21.2%
Company-owned
0
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
100%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
-8.1%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
-8.1%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
11
Not renewed
33
Transferred
15
Reacquired
0
Franchisor bought back
Transfer rate
1.9%
Owners selling to other franchisees
Continuity rate
90.1%
Units that stayed open
Termination rate
5.0%
Franchisor-initiated terminations
Ceased ops
5.9%
Units that stopped operating
2023
1,002
Franchised units
2024
994-8
Franchised units
2025
918-76
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 20 · 45 states with active franchisees

The Territory Map

Derived from franchisee contact records. Shows states with at least one current operator. Not where the franchisor is registered to sell new units (that data is re-extracting in a future refresh).

AK
ME
VT
NH
MA
RI
CT
NY
NJ
PA
DE
MD
DC
WA
OR
CA
NV
ID
MT
WY
UT
CO
AZ
NM
ND
SD
NE
KS
OK
TX
MN
IA
MO
AR
LA
WI
IL
MS
TN
MI
IN
KY
AL
OH
WV
GA
VA
NC
SC
FL
HI
Active operators · 45 states
No contacts on file

States derived from franchisee contact records (FDD Item 20). Shows states with at least one current operator on file. Full state registration data (Item 12) will appear on a future FDD refresh.

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

742 current owners across 45 states; 23 former (terminated, transferred or not renewed) listed separately.

  • AR 71
  • CA 59
  • MS 41
  • TX 40
  • TN 39
  • MO 34
  • WI 33
  • IA 32
  • NE 29
  • WA 27
  • GA 24
  • KS 24
  • +33 more states

Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

Total loans
10
Loan volume
$16.3M
Median loan
$1.7M
50th percentile
Charge-off rate
Limited · 10 loans
Limited SBA coverage: 10 loans, rate hidden until 10 have resolved and loans reach 2% of franchised units

Historical SBA 7(a) lending data, not predictive of future performance. How SBA charge-off rates are calculated

Repayment rate (PIF)
Limited · 10 loans
5-yr charge-off
Limited · 10 loans
Loans approved 2021+
Active lenders
8
Defaults
0
Typical loan rate
6.8%
avg rate to borrowers
Franchised industry avg
5.0%
n=3,380 loans
Jobs supported
98
0.6 per loan
Lender concentration
22%
top lender's share

Borrower mix: 57% went to startups / new businesses, 43% to established operators

Franchise vs independent — in gasoline stations with convenience stores, franchised businesses charge off at 5.0% vs 16.0% for independents — franchising is associated with 69% lower SBA default risk in this category.

Top lenders financing Chester's franchisees

Enterprise Bank & Trust2 loans—
SouthState Bank, National Association1 loans—
Byline Bank1 loans0.0%

Showing 3 of 8 lenders. The full breakdown — every lender, state distribution, interest rates & risk ratings — is in the SBA Lending Report below.

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

Total loans
1
Loan volume
$321K
Charge-off rate
N/A
Jobs created
9

Historical SBA 504 lending data via CDCs, not predictive of future performance.

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

Lender network · 7(a) + 504

SBA Lending Report

Full lending analysis for Chester's from SBA 7(a) FOIA data.

Principal loss rate
0.0%
Avg SBA guarantee
82%
Avg interest rate
6.81%
Lender concentration
22.2%
Job velocity
0.6 per $100K
NAICS benchmark
6.7%
NAICS 447110
Jobs supported
98

Top SBA lendersTop lender holds 22% of loans

#LenderLoansVolumeDefault %
1Enterprise Bank & Trust2$5.5MN/A
2SouthState Bank, National Association1$350KN/A
3Byline Bank1$1.7M0.0%
4Celtic Bank Corporation1$3.7MN/A
5North State Bank1$265KN/A
6Harvest Small Business Finance, LLC1$1.4MN/A
7First Savings Bank1$2.0M0.0%
8First National Community Bank1$1.1M0.0%

Geographic failure vector

StateLoansDefaultsRate
CACalifornia30--
FLFlorida10--
GAGeorgia100.0%
INIndiana100.0%
NYNew York10--
TXTexas100.0%
WAWashington10--

SBA 7(a) lending trend

2016
2
2018
1
2021
4
2023
1
2025
1

Borrower profile

New (< 2 yr)2 (29%)
Existing (2+ yr)2 (29%)
Startup2 (29%)
Ownership change1 (14%)

Source: SBA 7(a) + 504 FOIA loan-level data, matched by FranchiseVerdict

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offLimited · 10 loans
Verdict score56/100 (higher is better)
Litigation0 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

BAbove average56Verdict score 56/100

Declining unit base, missing profitability data, unprotected territory, and unusually low royalties suggest a mature or struggling system with weak unit economics and limited franchisor support infrastructure.

High confidence±6 pts
5062

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: officers or affiliates. The franchisor is not a named party in these cases.

No litigation is required to be disclosed in this Item.

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Warren Averett, LLC

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $30.6MYr 2: $40.4MNon-royalty: $21.0M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: Yes
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No

Score breakdown · what drove the 56 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MINORUnit count declining 0.9% YoY indicates shrinking franchise system with potential saturation or performance issues
  2. 02MEDNo average revenue or net income disclosure (missing Item 19) prevents realistic ROI assessment and suggests weak unit economics
  3. 03MINORExtremely low royalty fee ($800/year) relative to $27.5K-$301.5K investment range signals either underdeveloped support system or franchisor struggling with unit viability
  4. 04MINORUnprotected territory creates direct competition risk from other franchisees and could cannibalize sales in high-density areas
  5. 05MINORNo 'going concern' statement absent—franchisor financial stability and long-term viability unconfirmed

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 128 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

What are you signing up for?

Initial term5 yrs
Renewal term1 yrs
TerritoryNone (caution)
Initial training44 hrs

Source: FDD 2026 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term5 years
Renewal term1 year
Allowed renewalsℹ2
Territory typeNo territory protection
Protected territoryNo
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Online sales rightsℹRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorOptional
Non-compete (years)ℹ5 years
Non-compete (miles)ℹ5 mi
Right of first refusalℹNo
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice20 days
Mandatory arbitrationNo
Jury trial waiverNo
Governing lawAlabama
Litigation count0
View Item 3 litigation summary

No litigation is required to be disclosed in this Item.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
8 hrs
On-the-job training
36 hrs
Training location
Franchisee's Chester's Restaurant (on-site)
Ongoing training
Required
Time to open
3 mo
From signing to launch
Site selection
franchisee
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10
POS system
Chester's POS System
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✗Site selection assistance
✗Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Technology: Chester's POS System

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

765 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 765 contacts · $49
Free preview
(308) 386-••••NE
Unlock all 765 contacts
(317) 865-••••IN
(304) 984-••••WV
(970) 522-••••CO
207 - 285 ••••ME

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Chester's franchise?

The total investment to open a Chester's franchise ranges from $28K – $307K, with an initial franchise fee of $4K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Chester's franchise owners earn?

Chester's makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns Chester's?

Chester's is franchised by Chester's International, LLC. Source: FDD Item 1, 2026 filing.

What is Item 19 in the Chester's FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Chester's FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Chester's's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for Chester's (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many Chester's franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Chester's has 918 total units in the United States, including 918 franchised units and 0 company-owned units. 120 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is Chester's a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Chester's as a B-grade franchise with a verdict score of 56 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Chester's, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Quick-Service Restaurants franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Quick-Service Restaurants category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.