Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
PALGONG TEA logo

Palgong Tea Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Quick-Service RestaurantsILFranchising since 2021
DBelow averageBelow average34/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$148K – $186K
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Not SBA-matched

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-01875Data QualityExcellent81%FDD 2021 · 5yr old
Owner-operator requiredYes: Protected territory

Data from FDD filing

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

This data is from a 2021 FDD. Current terms may differ. Always verify with the franchisor's latest disclosure document.

Palgong Tea is a bubble tea franchise serving Korean-style milk teas, fruit teas, and boba drinks. Franchisees run the shops, managing drink prep, inventory, and counter service.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A PALGONG TEA franchise requires a total initial investment of $148K – $186K, including a $20K franchise fee and an ongoing 5.0% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: D (Below average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: high - issued more than two years ago

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored5 of 5 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing.

Overview

Investment
$148K – $186K
11th pct Service Resta…
Avg gross sales
N/A
1 outlet
Royalty
5.0%
12th pct Service Resta…
Units
1
3rd pct Service Resta…
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Quick-Service Restaurants · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$148K – $186K
Median $486K
below median ↓, better than category
Franchise Fee
$20K – $20K
Median $35K
below median ↓, better than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$20K – $25K
Median $33K
below median ↓, better than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
5.0%
Median 5.5%
near median
Ongoing Fees
8.0% of rev
Median 7.5%
near median
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Not SBA-matched
Not matched to SBA 7(a) loans
System Size
1 units
Median 18 units
below median ↓, worse than category
Turnover Rate
N/A
Median 0.0%
Territory
Protected, not exclusive
Limits on the franchisor opening nearby; not an exclusive zone
Owner-Operator
Required
You must run it yourself
Litigation
None disclosed
Clean record

Green = favorable by >10% vs Quick-Service Restaurants median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $148K – $186K including a $20K franchise fee, 5.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict D (Below average), verdict score 34/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHFlat: no net change in franchised outlets in the latest year (0 opened, 0 closed) (Item 20).
  • DATAThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
PalgongTea Franchising LLC
Parent company
PalgongTea USA, Inc.
FDD Item 1, page 7 of the 2021 FDD
CEO title
President
John Park
Incorporated in
IL
HQ
1625 North Milwaukee Avenue, Glenview, Illinois 60025
Auditor
B. H. Whang and Associates, Ltd.
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$22K
Most recent fiscal year

Overview

About

CEO
John Park
Headquarters
IL
Founded
2020
FDD year
2021
States available
1

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 66% below the typical quick-service restaurants franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$148K – $186KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 14 of the 2021 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$20,000Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 13 of the 2021 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Royalty5.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 10 of the 2021 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fund3.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 11 of the 2021 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Working capital$20K – $25K

Source: FDD 2021 · Items 5–7

Full Item 7 breakdown14 line items

Initial investment breakdown

Item 7 initial investment line items
Line itemLowHigh
Initial Franchise Fee$20K$20K
Rent, Security Deposit, and Other Real Estate Services and Costs——
Leasehold Improvements$50K$70K
Signage$5K$5K
Furniture and Fixtures$10K$15K
Equipment$15K$20K
Point-of-Sale Hardware and Software$5K$5K
Business Licenses and Permits$1K$1K
Professional Fees$5K$5K
Initial Inventory$8K$10K
Insurance$2K$3K
Training Expenses$5K$5K
Grand Opening Advertising$2K$2K
Additional Funds - 3 Months$20K$25K
Total initial investment$148K$186K

Line items extracted from FDD Item 7. Ranges reflect the franchisor's stated low and high per line. Total is the sum of line-item lows / highs — actual costs may fall outside this range depending on market and build-out scope.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$148K – $186K
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$20K – $25K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$20K – $20K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
5.0%
typical 6–8%
Ad fund
3.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
8.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

PALGONG TEA: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty5.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund3.0% of gross sales
Transfer fee$15K
Renewal fee$0
Inventory (initial)$8K – $10K
Total fee load8.0% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

PALGONG TEA makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one PALGONG TEA unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $148K–$186K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $20K–$25K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$189K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2021 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 121 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 8.0% (near the Quick-Service Restaurants median).

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Multi-unit rate

Only 9% of franchisees own multiple units. Could indicate challenging economics or a young system where operators haven't had time to expand.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Quick-Service Restaurants medians

How Palgong Tea Compares

Metric
Palgong Tea
Category median
vs median
Investment
$167K
$486Kmiddle half $342K–$748K · n=780
Below median, better than category
Revenue
N/A
$975Kmiddle half $664K–$1.4M · n=284
N/A
Unit Count
1
18middle half 5–79 · n=755
Below median, worse than category

Category median of published Quick-Service Restaurants brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units1Verified — printed on page 42 of the 2021 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it two ways.

Source: FDD 2021 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
1
Opened
0
Last reporting year
Closed
0
Terminated
0
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
N/A
Company-owned
1
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
0%
vs corporate-owned
Multi-unit owners
9.1%

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
0
Not renewed
0
2018
0
Franchised units
2019
0±0
Franchised units
2020
0±0
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 12 · 1 state reported

The Territory Map

FDD Item 12 reports the state count, but the specific list isn't in our current data. The map will appear once we re-extract from the FDD or enough franchisee contacts are available.

1

states with franchisees (per FDD Item 12)

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

1 current owner across 1 state.

  • IL 1

Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

No SBA loan data available for this brand.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offNot SBA-matched
Verdict score34/100 (higher is better)
Litigation0 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

DBelow average34Verdict score 34/100

Single-unit, pre-revenue-disclosure franchise with corporate going concern issues and unproven business model poses extreme validation and profitability risk.

Low confidence±19 pts
1553

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: officers or affiliates. The franchisor is not a named party in these cases.

No litigation information required to be disclosed in Item 3

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · B. H. Whang and Associates, Ltd.

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $0.0M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Entity: PALGONGTEA FRANCHISING LLC (Illinois LLC formed Oct 29, 2020; subsidiary of Palgong Tea USA, Inc.), a startup franchisor presenting a Balance Sheet as of June 1, 2021 with Independent Auditor's Report. The provided image set contains only the cover page, the index, and a notes page (Notes 1-3: organization, accounting policies, contingencies). The actual Balance Sheet page and the Independent Auditor's Report page are NOT included in these images, so no numeric figures (assets, liabilities, equity, revenue, net income) and no auditor name are available. Note 1 mentions $150,000 capital contribution and an April 16, 2021 funding, but no balance-sheet line items are shown. As a newly formed startup franchisor there is likely no revenue/income statement.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: No
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: Yes
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: Yes

Score breakdown · what drove the 34 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MINOROnly 1 existing unit—system shows no growth trajectory or scalability proof
  2. 02MINORNo Item 19 financial disclosure (avg revenue/net income)—impossible to validate ROI on $147,500-$185,700 investment
  3. 03MED5-year term is shorter than industry standard (10 years), suggesting limited franchisor commitment or high turnover
  4. 04MEDExtremely limited track record with single unit makes franchisee comparison and validation impossible
  5. 05MEDNo disclosed litigation history doesn't mitigate systemic weakness—early-stage brand with minimal exposure

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 121 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 8.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term5 yrs
Renewal term5 yrs
TerritoryProtected, not exclusive
Initial training36 hrs

Source: FDD 2021 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term5 years
Renewal term5 years
Allowed renewalsℹ2
Territory typeProtected territory
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Territory radius5 mi
Territory population125,000
Online sales rightsℹRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Not allowed
Owner-operatorRequired
Non-compete (years)ℹ2 years
Non-compete (miles)ℹ10 mi
Right of first refusalℹYes
RoFR response window30 days
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Mandatory arbitrationYes
Arbitration locationGlenview, Illinois
Jury trial waiverNo
Governing lawIL
Litigation count0
View Item 3 litigation summary

No litigation information required to be disclosed in Item 3

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
12 hrs
On-the-job training
24 hrs
Training location
Corporate Palgong Tea Shop in Glenview, Illinois or other location designated by franchisor
Ongoing training
Required
Field support
10 hrs/yr
On-site visits per year
Time to open
6 mo
From signing to launch
Site selection
Franchisee with franchisor approval
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support
✓Lease negotiation help

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

1 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 1 contacts · $49
Free preview
(773) 600-••••IL

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a PALGONG TEA franchise?

The total investment to open a PALGONG TEA franchise ranges from $148K – $186K, with an initial franchise fee of $20K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do PALGONG TEA franchise owners earn?

PALGONG TEA makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns PALGONG TEA?

PALGONG TEA is franchised by PalgongTea Franchising LLC. Its parent company is PalgongTea USA, Inc.. Source: FDD Item 1, 2021 filing.

What is Item 19 in the PALGONG TEA FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the PALGONG TEA FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is PALGONG TEA's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for PALGONG TEA (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many PALGONG TEA franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, PALGONG TEA has 1 total units in the United States.

Is PALGONG TEA a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates PALGONG TEA as a D-grade franchise with a verdict score of 34 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent PALGONG TEA, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Quick-Service Restaurants franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Quick-Service Restaurants category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.