Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Valcourt Building Services logo

Valcourt Building Services Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Cleaning & MaintenanceVAFranchising since 1997
BAbove averageAbove average69/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$23K – $37K
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Not SBA-matched

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-02870FDD 2025Data QualityStandard71%Pre-opening
Owner-operator requiredNo: No territory protection

Data from FDD filing

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

Valcourt Building Services is a commercial building maintenance franchise specializing in exterior facade cleaning, window washing, and waterproofing for high-rises. Franchisees run local operations, managing crews and commercial accounts.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Valcourt Building Services franchise requires a total initial investment of $23K – $37K, including a $10K franchise fee. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: B (Above average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: medium - issued 12 to 24 months ago; a newer filing is likely on file

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored1 of 3 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing; the rest are marked “Not cited” beside the figure.

Overview

Investment
$23K – $37K
6th pct Cleaning & Ma…
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
Not extracted
Units
37
37th pct Cleaning & Ma…
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Cleaning & Maintenance · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$23K – $37K
Median $169K
below median ↓, better than category
Franchise Fee
$10K – $10K
Median $47K
below median ↓, better than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$750 – $4K
Median $30K
below median ↓, better than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
Not extracted
Median 7.0%
Ongoing Fees
5.0% of rev
Median 8.3%
below median ↓, better than category
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Not SBA-matched
Not matched to SBA 7(a) loans
System Size
37 units
Median 51 units
below median ↓, worse than category
Turnover Rate
N/A
Median 3.4%
below median ↓, better than category
Territory
None
The franchisor can open or license outlets nearby
Owner-Operator
Required
You must run it yourself
Litigation
None disclosed
Clean record

Green = favorable by >10% vs Cleaning & Maintenance median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $23K – $37K including a $10K franchise fee.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict B (Above average), verdict score 69/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHFlat: no net change in franchised outlets in the latest year (0 opened, 0 closed) (Item 20).
  • DATAThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Valcourt Building Services of Washington, DC, LC
Parent company
Valcourt Intermediate Holdings, LLC
FDD Item 1, page 6 of the 2025 FDD
Ultimate parent
LJ Valcourt Holdings, Inc.
FDD Item 1, page 7 of the 2025 FDD
CEO title
Chairman, LJ Valcourt Holdings
Jonathan R. Capon
Incorporated in
Virginia
HQ
1951 Kidwell Drive, Suite 350, Vienna, VA 22182
Auditor
PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$19.4M
vs $19.8M prior year

Overview

About

CEO
Jonathan R. Capon
Headquarters
VA
Founded
1997
FDD year
2025
States available
2

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 83% below the typical cleaning & maintenance franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$23K – $37KNot cited — published from our reading of the franchisor's disclosure document; the page it is printed on has not been located.
Franchise fee$10,000Verified — printed on page 12 of the 2025 FDD (Item 5), and another item of the same filing prints the same figure on a labelled row, which is an independent restatement.
RoyaltyNot extracted
Ad fundNot extracted
Working capital$750 – $4K

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 5–7

Full Item 7 breakdown7 line items

Initial investment breakdown

Item 7 initial investment line items
Line itemLowHigh
Initial Franchise Feenot refundable$10K$10K
Travel and Living Expenses while Trainingnot refundable$100$1K
Service Vehiclenot refundable$10K$20K
Cleaning Suppliesnot refundable$500$500
Miscellaneous Opening Costsnot refundable$100$250
Uniforms (logoed shirts and pants)not refundable$750$750
Additional Operating Funds for 3 monthsnot refundable$750$4K
Total initial investment$22K$37K

Line items extracted from FDD Item 7. Ranges reflect the franchisor's stated low and high per line. Total is the sum of line-item lows / highs — actual costs may fall outside this range depending on market and build-out scope.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$23K – $37K
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$750 – $4K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$10K – $10K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
Varies by work order. Ranges from 5% to 95% of the order …
Ad fund
No advertising fund; Item 11 states "There is no advertis…
Total fee load
5.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Valcourt Building Services: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Transfer fee$1K
Renewal fee$0
Total fee load5.0% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

Valcourt Building Services makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Valcourt Building Services unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundnot set
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $23K–$37K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $750–$4K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, royalty rate, ad fund rate, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$32K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2025 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 132 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 5.0% — below the Cleaning & Maintenance median of 8.3%.

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

System roughly stable (0.0% 3-year CAGR) with 37 units.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Cleaning & Maintenance medians

How Valcourt Building Services Compares

Metric
Valcourt Building Services
Category median
vs median
Investment
$30K
$169Kmiddle half $115K–$269K · n=170
Below median, better than category
Revenue
N/A
$538Kmiddle half $349K–$1.1M · n=59
N/A
Unit Count
37
51middle half 12–108 · n=169
Below median, worse than category

Category median of published Cleaning & Maintenance brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units37Not cited — published from our reading of the franchisor's disclosure document; the page it is printed on has not been located.
3-yr growth+0.0%

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
37
Opened
0
Last reporting year
Closed
0
Terminated
0
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
N/A
Company-owned
19
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
49%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
+0.0%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
+0.0%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
0
Not renewed
0
Transferred
0
Reacquired
0
Franchisor bought back
2022
18
Franchised units
2023
18±0
Franchised units
2024
18±0
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 12 · 2 states reported

The Territory Map

FDD Item 12 reports the state count, but the specific list isn't in our current data. The map will appear once we re-extract from the FDD or enough franchisee contacts are available.

2

states with franchisees (per FDD Item 12)

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

1 current owner across 1 state.

  • VA 1

Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

No SBA loan data available for this brand.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offNot SBA-matched
Verdict score69/100 (higher is better)
Litigation0 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

BAbove average69Verdict score 69/100

Strong operations: net income $7.10M on $19.4M revenue with positive net worth $3.39M and 37 units. No litigation, bankruptcy, or going-concern issues; audited financials. Only minor item is no Item 19 disclosure, insufficient to lift risk.

Low confidence±15 pts
5484

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: officers or affiliates. The franchisor is not a named party in these cases.

No litigation is required to be disclosed in this Item.

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $19.4MYr 2: $19.8M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: No
  • Must buy proprietary products: No
  • Restricted to system-approved products: No
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: Yes

Score breakdown · what drove the 69 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MINORNet income $7.10M on $19.4M revenue; net worth $3.39M
  2. 02MINOR37 units (18 franchised, 19 company-owned)
  3. 03MINORNo litigation/bankruptcy/going-concern; audited
  4. 04MINORNo Item 19 disclosure (single minor gap)

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 132 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 5.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term5 yrs
Renewal term5 yrs
TerritoryNone (caution)
Initial training44 hrs

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term5 years
Renewal term5 years
Territory typeNo territory protection
Protected territoryNo
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Territory sizeℹnon_exclusive
Online sales rightsGranted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Not allowed
Owner-operatorRequired
Non-compete (years)ℹ1 year
Right of first refusalℹNo
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice3 days
Curable defaultsℹ2
Mandatory arbitrationNo
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawVirginia
Litigation count0
View Item 3 litigation summary

No litigation is required to be disclosed in this Item.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
38 hrs
On-the-job training
6 hrs
Training location
Vienna, VA
Ongoing training
Required
Field support
6 hrs/yr
On-site visits per year
Time to open
1 mo
From signing to launch
Site selection
Not applicable — work performed at customer buildings, no fixed site required
Franchisor financing
Offered
Item 10

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✗Site selection assistance
✗Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

1 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 1 contacts · $49
Free preview
(703) 356-••••VA

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Valcourt Building Services franchise?

The total investment to open a Valcourt Building Services franchise ranges from $23K – $37K, with an initial franchise fee of $10K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Valcourt Building Services franchise owners earn?

Valcourt Building Services makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns Valcourt Building Services?

Valcourt Building Services is franchised by Valcourt Building Services of Washington, DC, LC. Its parent company is Valcourt Intermediate Holdings, LLC. The ultimate parent named in the FDD is LJ Valcourt Holdings, Inc.. Source: FDD Item 1, 2025 filing.

What is Item 19 in the Valcourt Building Services FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Valcourt Building Services FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Valcourt Building Services's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for Valcourt Building Services (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many Valcourt Building Services franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Valcourt Building Services has 37 total units in the United States, including 18 franchised units and 19 company-owned units.

Is Valcourt Building Services a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Valcourt Building Services as a B-grade franchise with a verdict score of 69 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Valcourt Building Services, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Cleaning & Maintenance franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Cleaning & Maintenance category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.