Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
True Movement logo

True Movement Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Health & FitnessFranchising since 2025
DBelow averageBelow average35/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$338K – $1.1M
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Not SBA-matched

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-02800FDD 2025Data QualityStandard67%Pre-opening
Manager-run OKYes: Protected territory

Data from FDD filing

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

True Movement is a fitness franchise offering movement-based training and wellness in a studio setting. Franchisees run the studios, managing trainers, client sessions, and memberships.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A True Movement franchise requires a total initial investment of $338K – $1.1M, including a $50K franchise fee and an ongoing 7.0% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: D (Below average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Limited operating history: franchising since 2025. A system this young has fewer than three years of Item 20 outlet history and rarely enough SBA loans for a charge-off rate, so its grade rests on less evidence than an established system's. Read its Item 20 tables and talk to its first franchisees before relying on the grade. Other new franchisors

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: low - issued within the last 12 months

Evidence: partial✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored5 of 5 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing.

Overview

Investment
$338K – $1.1M
62nd pct Health & Fitn…
Avg gross sales
N/A
0 outlets
Royalty
7.0%
37th pct Health & Fitn…
Units
0
0th pct Health & Fitn…
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Health & Fitness · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$338K – $1.1M
Median $392K
above median ↑, worse than category
Franchise Fee
$50K – $50K
Median $50K
near median
Liquid Capital Req'd
$25K – $75K
Median $35K
above median ↑, worse than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
7.0%
Median 7.0%
near median
Ongoing Fees
9.0% of rev
Median 9.0%
near median
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Not SBA-matched
Not matched to SBA 7(a) loans
System Size
0 units
Median 17 units
below median ↓, worse than category
Territory
Protected, not exclusive
Limits on the franchisor opening nearby; not an exclusive zone
Owner-Operator
Optional
Can hire a manager
Litigation
1 case
Some history

Green = favorable by >10% vs Health & Fitness median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $338K – $1.1M including a $50K franchise fee, 7.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict D (Below average), verdict score 35/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHFlat: no net change in franchised outlets in the latest year (0 opened, 0 closed) (Item 20).
  • DATAThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
True Movement Franchising Inc.
Parent company
True Movement U.S. Inc.
FDD Item 1, page 9 of the 2025 FDD
Ultimate parent
2702570 Alberta Ltd.
FDD Item 1, page 9 of the 2025 FDD
CEO title
Director, President and Secretary-Treasurer
Erin Baker
Incorporated in
Delaware
HQ
11204 178 St., NW, Edmonton, Alberta, Canada T5S 1P2
Auditor
Chiampou Travis Besaw & Kershner LLP
Audited financials

Overview

About

CEO
Erin Baker
Founded
2025
FDD year
2025
States available
0

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 77% above the typical health & fitness franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$338K – $1.1MCited, not corroborated — printed on page 21 of the 2025 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$50,000Verified — printed on page 14 of the 2025 FDD (Item 5), and another item of the same filing prints the same figure on a labelled row, which is an independent restatement.
Royalty7.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 15 of the 2025 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fund2.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 15 of the 2025 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Working capital$25K – $75K

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 5–7

FDD Item 7 · 2025 filing

Initial investment breakdown

True Movement: Item 7 initial investment breakdown
Cost componentLowHigh
Initial franchise fee$50K$50K
Working capital (3–6 mo)$25K$75K
Equipment, build-out, other$263K$930K
Total initial investment$338K$1.1M

Source: True Movement 2025 FDD, Items 5 and 7[2]. “Equipment, build-out, other” is computed as total minus disclosed line items above.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$338K – $1.1M
Middle of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$25K – $75K
Middle of category vs category
Franchise fee
$50K – $50K
Middle of category vs category
Royalty
7.0%
typical 6–8%
Ad fund
2.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
9.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

True Movement: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty7.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund2.0% of gross sales
Transfer fee$25K
Renewal fee$13K
Inventory (initial)$1K – $2K
Total fee load9.0% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

True Movement makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one True Movement unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $338K–$1.1M (midpoint used)
FDD reports $25K–$75K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$746K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2025 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 131 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 9.0% (near the Health & Fitness median).

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Health & Fitness medians

How True Movement Compares

Metric
True Movement
Category median
vs median
Investment
$696K
$392Kmiddle half $226K–$620K · n=172
Above median, worse than category
Revenue
N/A
$477Kmiddle half $316K–$739K · n=65
N/A
Unit Count
0
17middle half 5–70 · n=171
Below median, worse than category

Category median of published Health & Fitness brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units0Verified — printed on page 60 of the 2025 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it two ways.

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
0
Opened
0
Last reporting year
Closed
0
Company-owned
0
Corporate units in the system

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Signed, not yet open
0
Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
1
Franchisor's next-year forecast
2022
0
Franchised units
2023
0±0
Franchised units
2024
0±0
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

No SBA loan data available for this brand.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offNot SBA-matched
Verdict score35/100 (higher is better)
Litigation1 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

DBelow average35Verdict score 35/100
Low confidence±15 pts
2050

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: the franchisor is a named party (defendant).

Affiliate 2436173 Alberta Ltd. sued a former licensee (2473361 Alberta Ltd.) in Alberta for non-payment of licensing/equipment lease fees in 2023; defendant counterclaimed; parties settled in Sept 2025 with Owner paying $40,000 CAD in installments and mutual release.

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Chiampou Travis Besaw & Kershner LLP

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Financial statements are a startup balance sheet as of July 31, 2025 only; the franchisor began operations April 29, 2025 and had $0 gross revenue for the period.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: No
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No

Score breakdown · what drove the 35 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MINORPre-opening: 0 units, $0 revenue, began franchising 2025
  2. 02MINOROne affiliate dispute settled Sept 2025 ($40,000 CAD)
  3. 03MINORThin net worth $45,500, no Item 19

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 131 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Full litigation history from the FDD (Items 3 and 4) →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 9.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term5 yrs
Renewal term5 yrs
TerritoryProtected, not exclusive
Initial training125 hrs

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term5 years
Renewal term5 years
Allowed renewalsℹ2
Territory typeProtected territory
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Territory radius2.5 mi
Territory population20,000
Online sales rightsRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorOptional
Non-compete (years)ℹ2 years
Non-compete (miles)ℹ6.2 mi
Right of first refusalℹYes
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice15 days
Termination groundsℹ8
Curable defaultsℹ3
Mandatory arbitrationYes
Arbitration locationWilmington, Delaware
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawDelaware
Litigation count1
View Item 3 litigation summary

Affiliate 2436173 Alberta Ltd. sued a former licensee (2473361 Alberta Ltd.) in Alberta for non-payment of licensing/equipment lease fees in 2023; defendant counterclaimed; parties settled in Sept 2025 with Owner paying $40,000 CAD in installments and mutual release.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
90 hrs
On-the-job training
35 hrs
Ongoing training
Required
Site selection
franchisee, subject to franchisor approval
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10
POS system
Walla
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Technology: Walla

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a True Movement franchise?

The total investment to open a True Movement franchise ranges from $338K – $1.1M, with an initial franchise fee of $50K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do True Movement franchise owners earn?

True Movement makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns True Movement?

True Movement is franchised by True Movement Franchising Inc.. Its parent company is True Movement U.S. Inc.. The ultimate parent named in the FDD is 2702570 Alberta Ltd.. Source: FDD Item 1, 2025 filing.

What is Item 19 in the True Movement FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the True Movement FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is True Movement's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for True Movement (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

Is True Movement a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates True Movement as a D-grade franchise with a verdict score of 35 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent True Movement, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Health & Fitness franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Health & Fitness category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.