Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
TRAVEL LEADERS logo

Travel Leaders Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Recreation & EntertainmentMNFranchising since 1984
BAbove averageAbove average66/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$2K – $18K
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Limited · 10 loans

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-02785FDD 2026Data QualityStandard71%
Owner-operator requiredNo: No territory protection

Data from FDD filing + SBA 7(a) records

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

Travel Leaders is a travel-agency franchise whose advisors book leisure and corporate travel using the network's supplier relationships. Franchisees run an agency, often home-based, earning commissions on trips and packages.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A TRAVEL LEADERS franchise requires a total initial investment of $2K – $18K. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: B (Above average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: low - issued within the last 12 months

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✓ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored2 of 2 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing.

Overview

Investment
$2K – $18K
1st pct Recreation & …
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
Not extracted
Units
188
49th pct Recreation & …
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Recreation & Entertainment · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$2K – $18K
Median $560K
below median ↓, better than category
Franchise Fee
$0 – $3K
Median $49K
below median ↓, better than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$0 – $0
Median $40K
below median ↓, better than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
Not extracted
Median 7.0%
Ongoing Fees
Not extracted
Median 8.0%
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Limited · 10 loans
Limited SBA coverage: 10 loans, rate hidden until 10 have resolved and loans reach 2% of franchised units
System Size
188 units
Median 11 units
above median ↑, better than category
Turnover Rate
4.3%
Median 0.0%
Territory
None
The franchisor can open or license outlets nearby
Owner-Operator
Required
You must run it yourself
Litigation
None disclosed
Clean record

Green = favorable by >10% vs Recreation & Entertainment median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $2K – $18K.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict B (Above average), verdict score 66/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHNegative: net -1 franchised outlets in the latest year (7 opened, 8 closed) (Item 20).
  • DATAThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Travel Leaders Network, LLC
Parent company
Travel Leaders Group, LLC
FDD Item 1, page 6 of the 2026 FDD
Ultimate parent
Internova Travel Group
FDD Item 1, page 9 of the 2026 FDD
Predecessor
Travel Leaders Franchise Group, LLC (formerly Carlson Travel Network Associates, Inc.; originally Ask Mr. Foster Associates, Inc.)
Prior franchisor entity
CEO title
President
Lindsay Pearlman
Incorporated in
Minnesota
HQ
3033 Campus Drive, Suite E192, Minneapolis, Minnesota 55441
Auditor
KPMG LLP
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$131.7M
vs $118.5M prior year
Management churn noted
Frequent turnover
Item 2 disclosed frequent executive changes

Overview

About

CEO
Lindsay Pearlman
Headquarters
MN
Founded
1984
FDD year
2026
States available
40

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 98% below the typical recreation & entertainment franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$2K – $18KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 16 of the 2026 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise feeNot extracted
RoyaltyNot extracted
Ad fundNot extracted
Working capital$0 – $0

Source: FDD 2026 · Items 5–7

FDD Item 7 · 2026 filing

Initial investment breakdown

TRAVEL LEADERS: Item 7 initial investment breakdown
Cost componentLowHigh
Working capital (3–6 mo)$0$0
Equipment, build-out, other$2K$18K
Total initial investment$2K$18K

Source: TRAVEL LEADERS 2026 FDD, Items 5 and 7[2]. “Equipment, build-out, other” is computed as total minus disclosed line items above.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$2K – $18K
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$0 – $0
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
N/A
Paid to franchisor at signing
Royalty
$1,285 per month
Ad fund
$340 per month

Ongoing fees · Item 6

TRAVEL LEADERS: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty (flat)Level 1: $1285/month main, $124/month branch; Level 2: $886/month main, $124/month branch; Level 3: $612/month main, $124/month branch
Technology fee$1K
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

TRAVEL LEADERS makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one TRAVEL LEADERS unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundnot set
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $2K–$18K (midpoint used)
Item 7 didn't break this out. Enter your pre-opening cash burn

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, royalty rate, ad fund rate, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$10K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2026 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 111 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

System roughly stable (+2.7% 3-year CAGR) with 188 units.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Recreation & Entertainment medians

How Travel Leaders Compares

Metric
Travel Leaders
Category median
vs median
Investment
$10K
$560Kmiddle half $268K–$1.5M · n=91
Below median, better than category
Revenue
N/A
$794Kmiddle half $424K–$1.6M · n=25
N/A
Unit Count
188
11middle half 3–64 · n=91
Above median, better than category

Category median of published Recreation & Entertainment brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units188Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 33 of the 2026 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
3-yr growth-0.5% (worth scrutinizing)
Turnover rate4.3% (favorable vs category)

Source: FDD 2026 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
188
Opened
7
Last reporting year
Closed
8
Terminated
0
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
5
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
4.3%
Company-owned
1
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
100%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
-0.5%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
+2.7%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
0
Not renewed
5
Transferred
1
Termination rate
0.5%
Franchisor-initiated terminations
Ceased ops
1.1%
Units that stopped operating
2023
182
Franchised units
2024
188+6
Franchised units
2025
187-1
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 20 · 38 states with active franchisees

The Territory Map

Derived from franchisee contact records. Shows states with at least one current operator. Not where the franchisor is registered to sell new units (that data is re-extracting in a future refresh).

AK
ME
VT
NH
MA
RI
CT
NY
NJ
PA
DE
MD
DC
WA
OR
CA
NV
ID
MT
WY
UT
CO
AZ
NM
ND
SD
NE
KS
OK
TX
MN
IA
MO
AR
LA
WI
IL
MS
TN
MI
IN
KY
AL
OH
WV
GA
VA
NC
SC
FL
HI
Active operators · 38 states
No contacts on file

States derived from franchisee contact records (FDD Item 20). Shows states with at least one current operator on file. Full state registration data (Item 12) will appear on a future FDD refresh.

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

188 current owners across 39 states.

  • WI 18
  • CA 17
  • MN 14
  • MI 11
  • FL 8
  • IL 8
  • TX 8
  • IN 7
  • WA 6
  • IA 5
  • MD 5
  • NJ 5
  • +27 more states

Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20; 1 entries carry no state. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

Total loans
10
Loan volume
$3.1M
Median loan
$312K
average
Charge-off rate
Limited · 10 loans
Limited SBA coverage: 10 loans, rate hidden until 10 have resolved and loans reach 2% of franchised units

Historical SBA 7(a) lending data, not predictive of future performance. How SBA charge-off rates are calculated

Repayment rate (PIF)
Limited · 10 loans
5-yr charge-off
Limited · 10 loans
Loans approved 2021+
Active lenders
6
Defaults
2

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offLimited · 10 loans
Verdict score66/100 (higher is better)
Litigation0 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

BAbove average66Verdict score 66/100

Established travel-agency franchisor (since 1984), 188 units, no litigation or bankruptcy, strong parent-level financials (net worth $38.7M, revenue $131.7M, net income $56.5M), audited. Financials are parent-level so the brand's own equity isn't disclosed, and there is no Item 19.

High confidence±6 pts
6072

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: officers or affiliates. The franchisor is not a named party in these cases.

No litigation required to be disclosed

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · KPMG LLP

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $131.7MYr 2: $118.5M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Franchisor revenue figures are for Travel Leaders Network, LLC's own consolidated financials (Item 21), not franchisee unit-level sales; no Item 19 franchisee financial performance representations are made.

ⓘ These are the parent company's consolidated financials (the parent guarantees the franchisor), not this brand's standalone results — the figure reflects the whole corporate group, not this brand alone.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: Yes
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: No
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: Yes

Score breakdown · what drove the 66 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MEDFinancials are parent-level; brand-specific equity not disclosed
  2. 02MINORNo Item 19 disclosure
  3. 03MINOROtherwise clean: 0 litigation, no bankruptcy, 188 units +2.7%, audited

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 111 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

What are you signing up for?

Initial term3 yrs
Renewal term3 yrs
TerritoryNone (caution)
Initial training16 hrs

Source: FDD 2026 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term3 years
Renewal term3 years
Protected territoryNo
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Online sales rightsℹGranted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorRequired
Non-compete (years)ℹ2 years
Right of first refusalℹYes
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Mandatory arbitrationNo
Jury trial waiverNo
Governing lawMinnesota
Litigation count0
View Item 3 litigation summary

No litigation required to be disclosed

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
16 hrs
On-the-job training
0 hrs
Training location
Franchisor location and on-site
Ongoing training
Required
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10
POS system
ClientBase CRM
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✗Site selection assistance
✗Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Technology: ClientBase CRM

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

189 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 189 contacts · $49
Free preview
(206) 623-••••WA
Unlock all 189 contacts
(952) 925-••••MN
(440) 248-••••OH
(507) 455-••••MN
(843) 626-••••SC

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a TRAVEL LEADERS franchise?

The total investment to open a TRAVEL LEADERS franchise ranges from $2K – $18K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do TRAVEL LEADERS franchise owners earn?

TRAVEL LEADERS makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns TRAVEL LEADERS?

TRAVEL LEADERS is franchised by Travel Leaders Network, LLC. Its parent company is Travel Leaders Group, LLC. The ultimate parent named in the FDD is Internova Travel Group. Source: FDD Item 1, 2026 filing.

What is Item 19 in the TRAVEL LEADERS FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the TRAVEL LEADERS FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is TRAVEL LEADERS's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for TRAVEL LEADERS (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many TRAVEL LEADERS franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, TRAVEL LEADERS has 188 total units in the United States, including 187 franchised units and 1 company-owned units. 7 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is TRAVEL LEADERS a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates TRAVEL LEADERS as a B-grade franchise with a verdict score of 66 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent TRAVEL LEADERS, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Recreation & Entertainment franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Recreation & Entertainment category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.