Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Sleep Inn logo
FV-02342Data Quality·Standard76%FDD 2024 · 2yr old
Manager-run OKNo: No territory protection

Sleep Inn Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

LodgingMDFranchising since 1987CEOPatrick S. PaciousWebsite Report an errorFranchisor? Claim this listing

Data from FDD filing + SBA 7(a) records

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

This data is from a 2024 FDD. Current terms may differ. Always verify with the franchisor's latest disclosure document.
BAbove average66/100

Sleep Inn is a Choice Hotels limited-service hotel franchise in the economy-to-midscale tier. Franchisees own and operate individual properties, running front desk, housekeeping, and revenue management on Choice's systems.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Sleep Inn franchise requires a total initial investment of $7.4M – $9.4M, including a $3K – $92K franchise fee and an ongoing 5.5% royalty[2]. The 2024 FDD on file does not yield a unit-revenue figure we can publish. SBA 7(a) loans show a 3.4% charge-off rate across 207 loans[1]. FranchiseVerdict grade: B (Above average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Data last verified · figures per the 2024 FDD issuance

Overview

Investment
$7.4M – $9.4M
37th pct Lodging
Avg gross sales
N/A
Projection
Royalty
5.5%
39th pct Lodging
Units
427
61st pct Lodging
SBA charge-off
3.4%
% of SBA 7(a) loans not repaid · median varies by category

Quick verdict · Lodging · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$7.4M – $9.4M
Avg $10.5M
below avg ↓
Franchise Fee
$3K – $92K
Avg $60K
Liquid Capital Req'd
$125K – $270K
Avg $566K
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Non-annual metric
Royalty Rate
5.5%
Avg 5.4%
Ongoing Fees
9.0% of rev
Avg 10.4%
SBA Charge-Off Rate
3.4%
Avg 5.7%
below avg ↓
System Size
427 units
Avg 229 units
Turnover Rate
2.1%
Avg 4.0%
Territory
Not protected
Franchisor can open nearby
Owner-Operator
Optional
Can hire a manager
Litigation
92 cases
Review carefully

Green = favorable by >10% vs Lodging avg · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $7.4M – $9.4M including a $40K franchise fee, 5.5% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSItem 19 discloses Average Occupancy Rate (59.4% avg), Average Daily Rate ($95.70 avg), and RevPAR ($56.85 avg) for the Performance Sample (412 of 427 hotels) for year ended Dec 31, 2023, plus a separate table for hotels newly constructed since 2016. No gross sales or net income figures are disclosed; costs/expenses are excluded.
  • RISKVerdict B (Above average), verdict score 66/100 (higher is better). SBA loan charge-off rate of 3.4% across 207 loans (well below the franchise average, based on all SBA 7(a) franchise lending, 2010–2025).
  • LEGAL92 litigation matters disclosed in Item 3, higher than typical. Review the summary for patterns (franchisor-initiated vs. franchisee-initiated).

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Choice Hotels International, Inc.
Parent company
Choice Hotels International, Inc.
Predecessor
Quality Courts Motels, Inc.
Prior franchisor entity
Incorporated in
Delaware
HQ
915 Meeting Street, Suite 600, North Bethesda, Maryland 20852
Auditor
Ernst & Young LLP
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$1.5B
vs $1.4B prior year

Independent franchisee associations

  • Franchise Advisory Council (FAC)

Franchisee-led councils or alliances disclosed in Item 20. Indicates operator voice.

Overview

About

CEO
Patrick S. Pacious
Headquarters
MD
Founded
1963
FDD year
2024
States available
43

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 20% below the typical lodging franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$7.4M – $9.4MCited, not corroborated — printed on page 49 of the 2024 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$40,000Not cited — published from our reading of the franchisor's disclosure document; the page it is printed on has not been located.
Royalty + ad fund5.5% + 3.5%
Working capital$125K – $270K

Source: FDD 2024 · Items 5–7

Full Item 7 breakdown22 line items

Initial investment breakdown

Item 7 initial investment line items
Line itemLowHigh
Affiliation Feenot refundable$40K$45K
Architectural Plans & Inspections$90K$150K
Legal Fees$10K$40K
Environmental Impact Study (if necessary)$0$16K
Market Study$10K$15K
Construction (excluding soft costs)$6.0M$6.9M
Equipment for food preparation, fitness and laundry facilities$130K$200K
Insurance$45K$175K
Pre-Opening Advertising$5K$50K
Furniture, Fixtures & Equipment$630K$773K
Hardware required to operate property management systemnot refundable$4K$11K
choiceADVANTAGE Software License and Systems Training Feesnot refundable$9K$11K
Opening Inventory of Supplies$182K$280K
Orientation and Hospitality Training Feesnot refundable$1K$3K
High Speed Internet Access for in-room, in-lobby, public areas and meeting rooms$10K$20K
Mandatory On-Premises Signs$20K$80K
Interior design waiver feenot refundable$0$15K
Architectural Design Review & Construction Servicesnot refundable$0$15K
Pre-Opening Photographynot refundable$1K$3K
Design and engineering costs and inspections$100K$180K
Total initial investment$7.4M$9.4M

Line items extracted from FDD Item 7. Ranges reflect the franchisor's stated low and high per line. Total is the sum of line-item lows / highs — actual costs may fall outside this range depending on market and build-out scope.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$7.4M – $9.4M
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$125K – $270K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$3K – $92K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
5.5%
typical 6–8%
Ad fund
3.5%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
9.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Sleep Inn: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty5.5% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund3.5% of gross sales
Technology fee$472
Transfer fee$45K
Renewal fee$45K
Inventory (initial)$182K $280K
Total fee load9.0% of rev

What do units actually make?

Item 19 typeAverage Occupancy, ADR, an…
Sample size412

Source: FDD 2024 · Item 19

ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

No Item 19 revenue figure for Sleep Inn is on file. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Sleep Inn unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 68%
typ 35%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $7.4M–$9.4M (midpoint used)
FDD reports $125K–$270K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
EBITDA margin
Total invested
$8.6M
Payback
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2024 FDD

Financial Performance

Item 19 discloses Average Occupancy Rate (59.4% avg), Average Daily Rate ($95.70 avg), and RevPAR ($56.85 avg) for the Performance Sample (412 of 427 hotels) for year ended Dec 31, 2023, plus a separate table for hotels newly constructed since 2016. No gross sales or net income figures are disclosed; costs/expenses are excluded.

An occupancy metric, not unit revenue

Item 19 type
Average Occupancy, ADR, and RevPAR
Sample size
412
vs category median 98 · large
Reporting year
2023
Fiscal year the figures cover
Source filing
FDD 2024
Disclosed in the 2024 filing, covering 2023
Gross sales rank
No comparison data
Investment cost rank37th
Lower investment ranks lower (better)
Royalty rate rank39th
Lower royalty = lower percentile (better)
Unit count rank61th
vs Lodging peers
Risk score rank31th
Lower risk = lower percentile (better)

Compared against 175 Lodging brands

Showing the headline figures — all 130 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 9.0% (near the Lodging average).

Disclosure

Item 19 reports Average Occupancy, ADR, and RevPAR rather than annual gross sales, so unit revenue is not directly comparable.

Operator retention

System roughly stable (+3.1% 3-year CAGR) with 427 units.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Lodging averages

How Sleep Inn Compares

Metric
Sleep Inn
Category Avg
vs Avg
Investment
$8.4M
$10.5M
Revenue
N/A
$1.4M
Unit Count
427
229.333

Is the system healthy?

Total units427Verified — printed on page 85 of the 2024 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it two ways.
3-yr growth+3.1%
Turnover rate2.1%

Source: FDD 2024 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
427
Opened
13
Last reporting year
Closed
9
Turnover rate
2.1%
Company-owned
0
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
100%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
+3.1%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
+3.1%
Compounded over last 3 years

3-year detail · Item 20

Opened (3yr)
13
Closed (3yr)
8
Terminated (3yr)
0
Non-renewed (3yr)
1
Transfers (3yr)
21
Reacquired (3yr)
0
Franchisor bought back
Termination rate
0.7%
Franchisor-initiated terminations
Ceased ops
1.2%
Units that stopped operating
2021
414
Franchised units
2022
423+9
Franchised units
2023
427+4
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 12 · 43 states reported

The Territory Map

FDD Item 12 reports the state count, but the specific list isn't in our current data. The map will appear once we re-extract from the FDD or enough franchisee contacts are available.

43

states with franchisees (per FDD Item 12)

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

A
SBA Lending Health
Excellent SBA lending record · 3.4% charge-off
Total loans
207
Loan volume
$551.3M
Median loan
$2.7M
average
Charge-off rate
3.4%
rates vary by category · see methodology

Historical SBA 7(a) lending data, not predictive of future performance. How SBA charge-off rates are calculated

Repayment rate (PIF)
96.6%
5-yr charge-off
0.0%
Loans approved 2021+
Active lenders
97
Defaults
4
Typical loan rate
6.1%
avg rate to borrowers
vs industry
N/A
Jobs supported
N/A
Lender concentration
13%
top lender's share

Vintage analysis

Sleep Inn charge-off rate by loan vintage

BrandNational avg
Sleep Inn charge-off rate by loan vintage. Showing 29 vintages from 1993 to 2025. Rates range from 0.0% to 100.0%.0%5%10%15%20%25%30%35%40%45%50%55%60%65%70%75%80%85%90%95%100%'93'98'04'12'17'22'25

Top lenders financing Sleep Inn franchisees

GBank26 loans0.0%
SouthState Bank, National Association8 loans0.0%
First Western SBLC, Inc7 loans0.0%

Showing 3 of 97 lenders. The full breakdown — every lender, state distribution, interest rates & risk ratings — is in the SBA Lending Report below.

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

Total loans
175
Loan volume
$219.3M
Charge-off rate
19.0%
Jobs created
2,501

Historical SBA 504 lending data via CDCs, not predictive of future performance.

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

Premium insight

SBA Lending Report

Deep-dive into Sleep Inn's SBA lending history: lender network, geographic footprint, interest rates, and more.

SBA Lending Report

  • Principal loss rate and NAICS industry benchmark
  • 10 lenders with concentration factor
  • Per-state charge-off rates across 20 states
  • Startup risk premium and job creation velocity
  • SBA 504 real estate/equipment data
$29 one-time

Instant access. No subscription.

What could kill this investment?

SBA loans charge off at 3.4% — 79% below the 16.0% national norm, i.e. lower lender-observed risk.

SBA charge-off3.4%
Verdict score66/100 (higher is better)
Litigation92 cases
Going concernClear

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

BAbove average66Verdict score 66/100

Choice Hotels-owned 427-unit brand with very strong financials (revenue $1.54B, net income $258.5M) but three material pending matters: a Canadian class action, a ~90-owner RICO/antitrust suit, and another. Financials are pristine, but the active class-action/RICO litigation raises this above a single-flag score.

High confidence±5 pts
4252

Litigation (Item 3)

Choice Hotels International (Sleep Inn franchisor) discloses 3 major pending litigation/arbitration matters as of the FDD date: a Canadian class action re: destination marketing fees (Knuth v. Radisson et al.), a large RICO/antitrust suit by ~90 franchise owners re: discriminatory practices (Jai Sai Baba v. Choice, stayed pending arbitration), and a breach-of-contract/trade-secrets suit (T&T Management v. Choice/Country Inn & Suites). Additionally, Item 3 lists numerous routine actions initiated by Choice to recover royalties and debts from individual franchisees.

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Ernst & Young LLP

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $1544.2MYr 2: $1401.9MTotal: $1311.8M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

ⓘ These are the parent company's consolidated financials (the parent guarantees the franchisor), not this brand's standalone results — the figure reflects the whole corporate group, not this brand alone.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: No
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: Yes
  • Must buy proprietary products: No
  • Restricted to system-approved products: No
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: Yes

Score breakdown · what drove the 66 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MINOR3 pending matters incl. RICO/antitrust and class action
  2. 02MINORVery strong financials (net income $258,507,000)
  3. 03MINORActive (not concluded) litigation
  4. 04MEDLarge 427-unit system, audited, Item 19 disclosed

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 130 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Full litigation history from the FDD (Items 3 and 4) →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 9.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term20 yrs
TerritoryNot exclusive
Initial training81 hrs

Source: FDD 2024 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term20 years
Allowed renewals0
Protected territoryNo
Exclusive territoryNo
Online sales rightsGranted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorOptional
Right of first refusalNo
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Termination grounds2
Curable defaults4
Mandatory arbitrationYes
Arbitration locationMaryland
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawMaryland
Litigation count92
View Item 3 litigation summary

Choice Hotels International (Sleep Inn franchisor) discloses 3 major pending litigation/arbitration matters as of the FDD date: a Canadian class action re: destination marketing fees (Knuth v. Radisson et al.), a large RICO/antitrust suit by ~90 franchise owners re: discriminatory practices (Jai Sai Baba v. Choice, stayed pending arbitration), and a breach-of-contract/trade-secrets suit (T&T Management v. Choice/Country Inn & Suites). Additionally, Item 3 lists numerous routine actions initiated by Choice to recover royalties and debts from individual franchisees.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
65 hrs
On-the-job training
16 hrs
Training location
On-site and franchisor location
Ongoing training
Required
Site selection
joint
Franchisor financing
Offered
Item 10
POS system
choiceADVANTAGE
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

Site selection assistance
Grand opening support
Lease negotiation help

Technology: choiceADVANTAGE

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

377 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 377 contacts · $49
Free preview
478951••••
Unlock all 377 contacts
561889••••
757214••••
803469••••
941359••••YO

FDD download

Sleep Inn · FDD (2024) PDF

Single-page checkout · instant download · CSV export of contacts available separately above

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Sleep Inn franchise?

The total investment to open a Sleep Inn franchise ranges from $7.4M – $9.4M, with an initial franchise fee of $40K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Sleep Inn franchise owners earn?

No average owner earnings figure for Sleep Inn is on file. Item 19 — where a franchisor may disclose what its outlets earn — is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and we have not established what this brand's FDD says. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

What is Item 19 in the Sleep Inn FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Sleep Inn FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Sleep Inn's franchise failure rate?

Based on SBA 7(a) loan data, Sleep Inn has a charge-off rate of 3.4% across 207 loans, meaning 3.4% of franchise loans were charged off. Charge-off rates are one proxy for franchise risk, though they do not capture all closures. This data comes from FOIA-sourced SBA lending records.

How many Sleep Inn franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Sleep Inn has 427 total units in the United States, including 427 franchised units and 0 company-owned units. 13 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is Sleep Inn a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Sleep Inn as a B-grade franchise with a verdict score of 66 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Sleep Inn, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Lodging franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Lodging category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.