Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham logo

Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

LodgingNJFranchising since 1995
BAbove averageAbove average64/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$7.5M – $9.6M
Disclosed sales
partial, no system average
SBA charge-off
Not SBA-matched

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-01624FDD 2026Data QualityExcellent81%
Manager-run OKYes: Protected territory

Data from FDD filing

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham is a limited-service, economy-to-midscale hotel franchise of new-construction properties. Franchisees develop and operate individual hotels, running rooms and guest services on Wyndham's systems.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham franchise requires a total initial investment of $7.5M – $9.6M, including a $40K franchise fee and an ongoing 6.0% royalty[2]. The 2026 FDD on file does not yield a unit-revenue figure we can publish. FranchiseVerdict grade: B (Above average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: low - issued within the last 12 months

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored5 of 5 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing.

Overview

Investment
$7.5M – $9.6M
37th pct Lodging
Avg gross sales
N/A
Outlet subsetProjection
Royalty
6.0%
53rd pct Lodging
Units
280
56th pct Lodging
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Lodging · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$7.5M – $9.6M
Median $8.9M
near median
Franchise Fee
$40K – $40K
Median $50K
below median ↓, better than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$118K – $184K
Median $312K
below median ↓, better than category
Avg Revenue
Partial, no system average
No system average in Item 19
Royalty Rate
6.0%
Median 5.0%
above median ↑, worse than category
Ongoing Fees
8.0% of rev
Median 8.5%
near median
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Not SBA-matched
Not matched to SBA 7(a) loans
System Size
280 units
Median 60 units
above median ↑, better than category
Turnover Rate
2.9%
Median 0.7%
above median ↑, worse than category
Territory
Protected, not exclusive
Limits on the franchisor opening nearby; not an exclusive zone
Owner-Operator
Optional
Can hire a manager
Litigation
15 cases
Review carefully

Green = favorable by >10% vs Lodging median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $7.5M – $9.6M including a $40K franchise fee, 6.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSItem 19 reports ADR/Occupancy/RevPAR metrics (not gross sales) rather than annual gross sales, so unit revenue is not directly comparable.
  • RISKVerdict B (Above average), verdict score 64/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHNegative: net -5 franchised outlets in the latest year (3 opened, 8 closed); 71 signed but not yet open (Item 20).
  • LEGAL15 litigation matters disclosed in Item 3, higher than typical. Of these, 2 name the franchisor itself, 13 its parent, affiliates or predecessor. Pending claims are allegations, not findings.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Microtel Inns and Suites Franchising, Inc.
Parent company
U.S. Franchise Systems, Inc. (USFS); Wyndham Hotel Group, LLC; Wyndham Hotels & Resorts, Inc.
FDD Item 1, page 9 of the 2026 FDD
Ultimate parent
Wyndham Hotels & Resorts, Inc.
FDD Item 1, page 9 of the 2026 FDD
CEO title
President and Chief Executive Officer
Geoff Ballotti
Incorporated in
GA
HQ
22 Sylvan Way, Parsippany, New Jersey 07054
Auditor
Deloitte & Touche LLP
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$1.4B
vs $1.4B prior year
Management churn noted
Frequent turnover
Item 2 disclosed frequent executive changes

Independent franchisee associations

  • Franchise Advisory Council (FAC)

Franchisee-led councils or alliances disclosed in Item 20. Indicates operator voice.

Affiliated brands

  • WSSI

Other brands the franchisor or its parent operates (Item 1).

Same owner · FDD Item 1, page 9

16 other brands on this site name Wyndham Hotels & Resorts, Inc. as parent or ultimate parent in their own FDD.

Grouped by the owner's name as each filing prints it (this page: the 2026 FDD). Spelling variants of the same group may be listed apart; a brand is never grouped with an owner its filing does not name.

Overview

About

CEO
Geoff Ballotti
Headquarters
NJ
Founded
1995
FDD year
2026
States available
42

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost is about typical for a lodging franchise (near the category median).

Total investment (Item 7)$7.5M – $9.6MCited, not corroborated — printed on page 45 of the 2026 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$40,000Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 26 of the 2026 FDD (Item 5). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Royalty6.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 29 of the 2026 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fund2.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 29 of the 2026 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Working capital$118K – $184K

Source: FDD 2026 · Items 5–7

FDD Item 7 · 2026 filing

Initial investment breakdown

Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham: Item 7 initial investment breakdown
Cost componentLowHigh
Initial franchise fee$40K$40K
Working capital (3–6 mo)$118K$184K
Equipment, build-out, other$7.4M$9.3M
Total initial investment$7.5M$9.6M

Source: Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham 2026 FDD, Items 5 and 7[2]. “Equipment, build-out, other” is computed as total minus disclosed line items above.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$7.5M – $9.6M
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$118K – $184K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$40K – $40K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
6.0%
typical 6–8%
Ad fund
2.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
8.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty6.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund2.0% of gross sales
Training fee$5K
Transfer fee$40K
Renewal fee$40K
Inventory (initial)$276K – $299K
Total fee load8.0% of rev

What do units actually make?

Avg gross salesNot extracted
Median gross salesNot extracted
Item 19 typeADR/Occupancy/RevPAR metri…
Sample size141

Source: FDD 2026 · Item 19

ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

No Item 19 revenue figure for Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham is on file. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $7.5M–$9.6M (midpoint used)
FDD reports $118K–$184K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$8.7M
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2026 FDD

Financial Performance

Reported for a subset of outlets rather than the whole system

An occupancy metric, not unit revenue

Item 19 type
ADR/Occupancy/RevPAR metrics (not gross sales)
Sample size
141
vs category median 98
Reporting year
2025
Fiscal year the figures cover
Source filing
FDD 2026
Disclosed in the 2026 filing, covering 2025
Gross sales rank
No comparison data
Investment cost rank37th
Lower investment ranks lower (better)
Royalty rate rank53th
Lower royalty = lower percentile (better)
Unit count rank56th
vs Lodging peers
Risk score rank33th
Lower risk = lower percentile (better)

Compared against 175 Lodging brands

Showing the headline figures — all 123 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 8.0% (near the Lodging median).

Disclosure

Item 19 reports ADR/Occupancy/RevPAR metrics (not gross sales) rather than annual gross sales, so unit revenue is not directly comparable.

Operator retention

System contracting at -4.4% CAGR over 3 years. Investigate whether closures are franchisor-driven consolidation or franchisee exits.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Lodging medians

How Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Compares

Metric
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham
Category median
vs median
Investment
$8.5M
$8.9Mmiddle half $1.2M–$18.3M · n=96
Near median
Revenue
N/A
$1.4Mmiddle half $1.0M–$1.8M · n=2
N/A
Unit Count
280
60middle half 6–245 · n=126
Above median, better than category

Category median of published Lodging brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units280Verified — printed on page 84 of the 2026 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it three ways.
3-yr growth-4.4% (worth scrutinizing)
Turnover rate2.9% (favorable vs category)

Source: FDD 2026 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
280
Opened
3
Last reporting year
Closed
8
Turnover rate
2.9%
Company-owned
0
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
100%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
-4.4%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
-4.4%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Signed, not yet open
71
0.25 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
18
Franchisor's next-year forecast
Transfer rate
3.1%
Owners selling to other franchisees
Termination rate
0.3%
Franchisor-initiated terminations
Ceased ops
3.1%
Units that stopped operating
2023
293
Franchised units
2024
285-8
Franchised units
2025
280-5
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 12 · 42 states reported

The Territory Map

FDD Item 12 reports the state count, but the specific list isn't in our current data. The map will appear once we re-extract from the FDD or enough franchisee contacts are available.

42

states with franchisees (per FDD Item 12)

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

No SBA loan data available for this brand.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offNot SBA-matched
Verdict score64/100 (higher is better)
Litigation15 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

BAbove average64Verdict score 64/100

Declining system with undisclosed unit economics, multiple legal liabilities, and no financial benchmarking data creates elevated risk for an $8M+ hotel investment.

Why this reads harsher than the B grade: the grade weighs financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency across the whole filing, while this summary lists individual flags without that weighting. The flags are worth checking with current owners; neither is investment advice.

Moderate confidence±13 pts
5177

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: the franchisor is a named party (plaintiff).

No pending litigation against the Franchisor. Nine pending cases against parents/affiliates include Canadian class actions (price-fixing/hotel fee), franchisee breach cases, and extended stay antitrust litigation. One resolved case named MISF directly (New Mexico). One pending indemnification suit filed by MISF and affiliates against franchisees.

Largest disclosed settlement: $7,000

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Deloitte & Touche LLP

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $1429.0MYr 2: $1408.0M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Item 21/Exhibit D references audited consolidated financial statements of parent Wyndham Hotels & Resorts, Inc. (auditor PCAOB ID No. 34). Only the index page (F-1) appears in the extracted text; balance sheet, income statement, and equity pages (F-2 to F-9) were not captured, so no figures are available.

ⓘ These are the parent company's consolidated financials (the parent guarantees the franchisor), not this brand's standalone results — the figure reflects the whole corporate group, not this brand alone.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: Yes
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No

Score breakdown · what drove the 64 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MINORDeclining unit count (-1.8% YoY) indicates system contraction and potential saturation or performance issues
  2. 02HIGHMaterial litigation disclosed involving price-fixing, fee transparency, breach of contract, and data security—suggests franchisor governance and legal compliance concerns
  3. 03MINORHigh capital requirement ($7.5M-$9.6M) combined with 6% royalty creates substantial fixed costs with unvalidated revenue potential
  4. 04MINOR20-year term locks franchisee into relationship with litigious franchisor; exit costs likely high given capital intensity

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 123 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Full litigation history from the FDD (Items 3 and 4) →

Litigation case detail15 matters · Item 3

Litigation cases

The franchisor

Concluded (1)

  • Presidential Hospitality, LLC, Ace Development, Inc. and Sam Blue v. Wyndham Hotel Group, LLC, Baymont Inn & Suites Franchise Systems, Inc. and Microtel Inn and Suites Franchising, Inc.

    settled

    Brought by a franchisee · filed 2017-09-12 · State of New Mexico, County of San Juan, Eleventh Judicial District Court (transferred to and consolidated with the NJ Action, U.S. District Court for the District of New Jersey) · D-1116-CV-2017-01329

    “Presidential Hospitality, LLC, Ace Development, Inc. and Sam Blue v. Wyndham Hotel Group, LLC, Baymont Inn & Suites Franchise Systems, Inc. and Microtel Inn and Suites Franchising, Inc., State of New Mexico, County of San Juan, Eleventh Judicial District Court, (Case D-1116-CV-2017-01329). Plaintiffs were parties to a license agreement and guaranty with Microtel Inn and Suites Franchising, Inc.”Page 24 of the 2026 FDD, Item 3

    Outcome:“In September 2018, plaintiffs agreed to settle both the New Jersey Action and the New Mexico Action, with payment to the Wyndham Entities, and both actions were dismissed with prejudice.”

Status not stated in the filing (1)

  • Wyndham Hotels & Resorts, Inc.; Microtel Inns & Suites Franchising, Inc.; and Days Inns Worldwide, Inc. v. Naniatma, LLC; Sudhir Modi; Shilpa Modi; Gita Hospitality, LLC; Anil Raman Parag; Ambe Maa, Inc.; Praful Patel; Shree Rama Inc.; Shobhanaben Topiwala (A/K/A Shobhna Topiwala); Sureshchandra Top

    Brought against a franchisee · filed 2025-10-16 · United States District Court for the District of New Jersey · 2:25-cv-16692

    “Litigation Against Franchisees Commenced in the Past Fiscal Year Litigation Against Franchisees for Indemnification: Caption Date Complaint Filed Court Docket Number Wyndham Hotels & Resorts, Inc.; Microtel Inns & Suites Franchising, Inc.; and Days Inns Worldwide, Inc. v. 10/16/2025 United States District Court 2:25-cv- 16692”Page 25 of the 2026 FDD, Item 3

Parent, affiliates and predecessor

Pending (9)

  • Benoit v. Integrated Decision and Systems Inc. et al.

    pending

    Third-party plaintiff · Wyndham Hotels & Resorts, Inc. and Wyndham Hotels & Resorts Canada, Inc. · filed 2026 · Cour Supérieure du Québec · 200-06-000274-251

    “Benoit v. Integrated Decision and Systems Inc. et al. (Cour Supérieure du Québec, Case No. 200-06- 000274-251). In January 2026, Patrick Benoit filed a proposed class action against SAS Institute (Canada), Inc., SAS Institute Inc., Integrated Decisions and Systems, Inc (“IDeaS”), Accor Management Canada Inc., Choice Hotels International, Inc., Choice”Page 20 of the 2026 FDD, Item 3
  • Beard Real Estate Holding Two, LLC v. Travelodge Hotels, Inc. and Wyndham Hotels and Resorts, Inc.

    pending

    Brought by a franchisee · Travelodge Hotels, Inc. and Wyndham Hotels and Resorts, Inc. · filed 2025-08-04 · Circuit Court of Chicot County, Arkansas, Civil Division · 09-cv-25-119

    “Beard Real Estate Holding Two, LLC v. Travelodge Hotels, Inc. and Wyndham Hotels and Resorts, Inc. (Circuit Court of Chicot County, Arkansas, Civil Division; Case No. 09-cv-25-119). On August 4, 2025,”Page 21 of the 2026 FDD, Item 3
  • Jantunen v. SAS Institute (Canada) Inc., et al.

    pending

    Third-party plaintiff · Wyndham Hotels & Resorts, Inc. and Wyndham Hotels & Resorts Canada, Inc. · filed 2025-12-05 · Supreme Court of British Columbia · VLC-S-S-259245

    “Jantunen v. SAS Institute (Canada) Inc., et al. (Supreme Court of British Columbia, Case No. VLC-S-S- 259245). On December 5, 2025, Evelyn Jantunen and John Jantunen sued SAS Institute (Canada), Inc., SAS Institute Inc., Integrated Decisions and Systems, Inc (“IDeaS”), Accor Management Canada Inc., Accor S.A., APA Canada, Inc.,”Page 21 of the 2026 FDD, Item 3
  • Proulx et al. v. Orsini Bros. Inns Inc. et al.

    pending

    Third-party plaintiff · Wyndham Hotels & Resorts Canada, Inc. and Wyndham Hotels & Resorts, Inc. (amended to remove Wyndham Hotels & Resorts, Inc. and add Wyndham Hotel Group Canada, ULC) · filed 2025-07-08 · Ontario Superior Court of Justice · CV-25-00000000-00CP

    “Proulx et al. v. Orsini Bros. Inns Inc. et al. (Ontario Superior Court of Justice, CV-25-00000000-00CP). On July 8, 2025, plaintiffs Patrick Proulx, Gordon Vanwestern, Boris Susac, and John Martin filed a proposed class action against Carmelo Niagara Company LTD. (d/b/a Wyndham Fallsview Hotel), Wyndham Hotels”Page 21 of the 2026 FDD, Item 3
  • Tumas Raju Patel and Kalpesh Solanki v. Wyndham Hotels and Resorts, Inc., Wyndham Hotel Group, and Super 8 Worldwide, Inc.

    pending

    Brought by a franchisee · Wyndham Hotels and Resorts, Inc., Wyndham Hotel Group, and Super 8 Worldwide, Inc. · filed 2025-12-02 · United States District Court, Central District of California · CV25-03815

    “Tumas Raju Patel and Kalpesh Solanki v. Wyndham Hotels and Resorts, Inc., Wyndham Hotel Group, and Super 8 Worldwide, Inc. (United States District Court, Central District of California; Case No. CV25- 03815). On December 2, 2025, Plaintiffs filed suit against Wyndham Hotels and Resorts, Inc., Wyndham Hotel Group, and Super 8 Worldwide, Inc. (the “Wyndham Entities”) alleging that the Wyndham”Page 22 of the 2026 FDD, Item 3
  • Hanson Dai, et al. v. SAS Institute, Inc., et al.

    pending

    Third-party plaintiff · Wyndham Hotels & Resorts, Inc. · filed 2024-04-26 · United States District Court, Northern District of California · 4:24-cv-02537

    “Hanson Dai, et al. v. SAS Institute, Inc., et al. (United States District Court, Northern District of California, Case No. 4:24-cv-02537). On April 26, 2024, Plaintiffs Hanson Dai, Max Chiswick, Adolph Robles, Steven Stack, Matthew Gilbert, Michael Molinaro, Tony Qian, and Mark Lester (the “Original Plaintiffs”) filed a purported class action suit against SAS Institute, Inc., Integrated Decisions”Page 23 of the 2026 FDD, Item 3
  • In Re Extended Stay Hotel Antitrust Litigation

    pending

    Third-party plaintiff · Wyndham Hotels & Resorts, Inc. · filed 2024-07-24 · United States District Court, Northern District of California · 4:24- cv-09060-JSW

    “In Re Extended Stay Hotel Antitrust Litigation (United States District Court, Northern District of California, Case No. 4:24- cv-09060-JSW). On July 24, 2024, Plaintiffs Andy Au, Karen Austin, Mignon Bacon, Sha-Quwana Boyd, Amanda Casnave, Charlotte Daniels, Trista McRae, Nadia Moreno, Andrew Rivers, Salimu Scott, Elizabeth Suriano, Matthias Will and Cynthia Wright (the “Original Plaintiffs”)”Page 22 of the 2026 FDD, Item 3
  • Wyndham Hotel Group, LLC, TMH Worldwide, LLC, Travelodge Hotels, Inc, and Baymont Franchise Systems, Inc. v. LuxUrban Hotels, Inc., LuxUrban RE Holdings LLC, CorpHousing RSL LLC, and Brian Ferdinand

    pending

    Brought against a franchisee · Wyndham Hotel Group, LLC, TMH Worldwide, LLC, Travelodge Hotels, Inc. and Baymont Franchise Systems, Inc. · filed 2024-05-16 · The Superior Court of New Jersey, Morris County · MRS-L-000977-24

    “Wyndham Hotel Group, LLC, TMH Worldwide, LLC, Travelodge Hotels, Inc, and Baymont Franchise Systems, Inc. v. LuxUrban Hotels, Inc., LuxUrban RE Holdings LLC, CorpHousing RSL LLC, and Brian Ferdinand (The Superior Court of New Jersey, Morris County, Case No. MRS-L-000977-24). On May 16, 2024, as amended on November 14, 2024, Wyndham Hotel Group, LLC, TMH Worldwide, LLC, Travelodge Hotels, Inc.,”Page 22 of the 2026 FDD, Item 3
  • Norma Knuth v. Wyndham Worldwide Corporation, et al.

    pending

    Third-party plaintiff · Wyndham Worldwide Corporation, Wyndham Hotel Group, LLC, Days Inns Worldwide, Inc., Ramada Worldwide Inc., Super 8 Worldwide, Inc., Travelodge Hotels, Inc., and Wingate Inns International, Inc. · filed 2014-12-05 · Court of Queen’s Bench for Saskatchewan, Judicial Centre of Regina · QBG-2650/2014

    “Norma Knuth v. Wyndham Worldwide Corporation, et al. (Court of Queen’s Bench for Saskatchewan, Judicial Centre of Regina, QBG-2650/2014). On December 5, 2014, Plaintiff Norma Knuth filed a class action suit as a representative of all “persons, corporations, and entities, resident or situated in Canada . . . that paid a “Destination Marketing Fee” to a hotel in Canada owned, operated, or managed”Page 23 of the 2026 FDD, Item 3

Concluded (4)

  • Jay Brodsky v. Hilton Worldwide Inc., et al.

    settled

    Third-party plaintiff · Wyndham Hotels · filed 2018-08-20 · United States District Court for the District of New Jersey · 2:18-cv-13045-KM-JBC

    “Jay Brodsky v. Hilton Worldwide Inc., et al. (United States District Court for the District of New Jersey, Case 2:18-cv-13045-KM-JBC). On August 20, 2018, plaintiff Jay Brodsky filed an individual lawsuit against numerous hotel industry companies, including “Wyndham Hotels” Plaintiff alleged a per se violation of the Sherman Antitrust Act (in the form of bid rigging and a group boycott),”Page 24 of the 2026 FDD, Item 3

    Outcome:“Defendants jointly settled for $7,000 payment ($1,400 as to Wyndham Hotels) to Mr. Brodsky on February 22, 2019, resulting in a dismissal of the action.” (page 25)

  • Thomas Luca, Jr. v. Wyndham Worldwide Corporation, et al.

    settled

    Third-party plaintiff · Wyndham Hotel Group, LLC and Wyndham Hotels and Resorts, LLC (Wyndham Worldwide Corporation and Wyndham Hotel Management, Inc. dismissed) · filed 2016-06-06 · United States District Court for the Western District of Pennsylvania · 2:16-cv-00746-MRH

    “Thomas Luca, Jr. v. Wyndham Worldwide Corporation, et al. (United States District Court for the Western District of Pennsylvania, Case 2:16-cv-00746-MRH). On June 6, 2016, Plaintiff Thomas Luca, Jr. filed a class action lawsuit against defendants Wyndham Worldwide Corporation, Wyndham Hotel Group, LLC, Wyndham Hotels and Resorts, LLC and Wyndham Hotel Management, Inc. (the “Wyndham Entities”).”Page 24 of the 2026 FDD, Item 3

    Outcome:“Wyndham Hotel Group and Wyndham Hotels and Resorts, LLC entered into a settlement agreement with Plaintiff whereby a class was certified for settlement purposes and eligible class members will receive either $22 or 2,200 Wyndham Rewards points, and Wyndham will make certain display changes. The Court granted preliminary approval on October 18, 2019, and granted final approval on February 24, 2020.”

  • FTC v. Wyndham Worldwide Corporation, et al.

    dismissed

    Government or regulatory action · Wyndham Worldwide Corporation, Wyndham Hotel Group, LLC, Wyndham Hotels and Resorts, LLC and Wyndham Hotel Management, Inc. · filed 2012-06-26 · United States District Court for the District of New Jersey · 13-cv-1887 (ES)(JAD)

    “FTC v. Wyndham Worldwide Corporation, et al. (United States District Court for the District of New Jersey, Case No. 13-cv-1887 (ES)(JAD)). On June 26, 2012, the U.S. Federal Trade Commission (“FTC”) filed a lawsuit in Federal District Court for the District of Arizona against Wyndham Worldwide Corporation, Wyndham Hotel Group, LLC, Wyndham Hotels and Resorts, LLC and Wyndham Hotel Management,”Page 25 of the 2026 FDD, Item 3

    Outcome:“The parties settled the case by executing a Stipulated Order for Injunction, which does not hold the Wyndham Entities liable for any violations, nor require it to pay any monetary relief. The Court entered the Order and dismissed the case with prejudice on December 11, 2015.”

  • Joyce Roberts, individually and on behalf of classes of similarly situated individuals v. Wyndham International, Inc., Wyndham Worldwide Operations, Inc., Wyndham Hotels and Resorts, LLC & Does 1- 10

    settled

    Third-party plaintiff · Wyndham International, Inc., Wyndham Worldwide Operations, Inc., and Wyndham Hotels and Resorts, LLC · filed 2012-07-17 · Superior Court of the State of California, County of Santa Cruz · RG 12639589

    “Joyce Roberts, individually and on behalf of classes of similarly situated individuals v. Wyndham International, Inc., Wyndham Worldwide Operations, Inc., Wyndham Hotels and Resorts, LLC & Does 1- 10 (Superior Court of the State of California, County of Santa Cruz (RG 12639589). On July 17, 2012, a purported class action complaint was filed against Wyndham International, Inc., Wyndham Worldwide”Page 25 of the 2026 FDD, Item 3

    Outcome:“The parties reached a settlement before the class certification motion hearing took place, which had been scheduled for September 1, 2015, and thereafter executed a settlement agreement. The Court granted final approval of the settlement and entered an order on the same, dismissing the lawsuit, on October 27, 2016.”

Item 3 lists the litigation the franchisor must disclose; a matter against a parent, an affiliate or a named officer is not a matter against the franchisor, and pending claims are allegations, not findings.

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 8.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term20 yrs
Renewal termNot extracted
TerritoryProtected, not exclusive
Initial training67 hrs

Source: FDD 2026 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term20 years
Allowed renewalsℹ0
Territory typeProtected territory
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Online sales rightsℹRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorOptional
Right of first refusalℹNo
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice10 days
Termination groundsℹ4
Curable defaultsℹ3
Mandatory arbitrationNo
Arbitration locationNew Jersey (Morris County or US District Court for NJ); non-binding mediation available
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawNJ
Litigation count15
View Item 3 litigation summary

No pending litigation against the Franchisor. Nine pending cases against parents/affiliates include Canadian class actions (price-fixing/hotel fee), franchisee breach cases, and extended stay antitrust litigation. One resolved case named MISF directly (New Mexico). One pending indemnification suit filed by MISF and affiliates against franchisees.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
34 hrs
On-the-job training
0 hrs
Training location
Corporate designated location (Parsippany, NJ) or online (hybrid or virtual-only)
Ongoing training
Required
Site selection
Franchisee selects, Franchisor approves
Franchisor financing
Offered
Item 10
POS system
SynXis Property Hub (Aven Hospitality) or OPERA Cloud (Oracle Hospitality)
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Technology: SynXis Property Hub (Aven Hospitality) or OPERA Cloud (Oracle Hospitality)

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

274 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 274 contacts · $49
Free preview
(817) 319-••••
Unlock all 274 contacts
800-758-••••
(570) 970-••••
(205) 907-••••
302227••••

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham franchise?

The total investment to open a Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham franchise ranges from $7.5M – $9.6M, with an initial franchise fee of $40K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham franchise owners earn?

Item 19 of the Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham FDD discloses figures for part of the system but no single average across all outlets. These are gross sales figures, not profit; the Revenue section shows what the filing reports and on what basis. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham?

Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham is franchised by Microtel Inns and Suites Franchising, Inc.. Its parent company is U.S. Franchise Systems, Inc. (USFS); Wyndham Hotel Group, LLC; Wyndham Hotels & Resorts, Inc.. The ultimate parent named in the FDD is Wyndham Hotels & Resorts, Inc.. Source: FDD Item 1, 2026 filing.

What is Item 19 in the Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham has 280 total units in the United States, including 280 franchised units and 0 company-owned units. 3 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham as a B-grade franchise with a verdict score of 64 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Lodging franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Lodging category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.