Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Seriously Addictive Mathematics logo

Seriously Addictive Mathematics Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

EducationCAFranchising since 2015
BAbove averageAbove average51/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$58K – $100K
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Not SBA-matched

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-02282Data QualityExcellent81%FDD 2023 · 3yr old
Manager-run OKYes: Exclusive territory

Data from FDD filing

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

This data is from a 2023 FDD. Current terms may differ. Always verify with the franchisor's latest disclosure document.

Seriously Addictive Mathematics (S.A.M.) is a children's education franchise offering a Singapore-method math tutoring program for K-12 students. Franchisees run the centers, managing tutors, curriculum, and enrollment.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Seriously Addictive Mathematics franchise requires a total initial investment of $58K – $100K, including a $25K franchise fee. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: B (Above average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: high - issued more than two years ago

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored4 of 4 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing.

Overview

Investment
$58K – $100K
15th pct Education
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
Not extracted
Units
14
33rd pct Education
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Education · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$58K – $100K
Median $194K
below median ↓, better than category
Franchise Fee
$25K – $25K
Median $45K
below median ↓, better than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$5K – $6K
Median $25K
below median ↓, better than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
Not extracted
Median 7.0%
Ongoing Fees
31.0% of rev
Median 9.0%
above median ↑, worse than category
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Not SBA-matched
Not matched to SBA 7(a) loans
System Size
14 units
Median 20 units
below median ↓, worse than category
Turnover Rate
7.1%
Median 0.0%
Territory
Exclusive
No other outlet of the brand may open inside it
Owner-Operator
Optional
Can hire a manager
Litigation
None disclosed
Clean record

Green = favorable by >10% vs Education median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $58K – $100K including a $25K franchise fee.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict B (Above average), verdict score 51/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHPositive: net +3 franchised outlets in the latest year (3 opened, 1 closed) (Item 20).
  • DATAThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
SAM Chicagoland, LLC (subfranchisor); Seriously Addictive Learning Center USA LLC (franchisor)
Parent company
Seriously Addictive Learning Centre Pte Ltd. (Singapore)
FDD Item 1, page 7 of the 2023 FDD
CEO title
Executive Director
Samuel Chia Kiah Hua
Incorporated in
Illinois (SAM Chicagoland, LLC); Delaware (Seriously Addictive Learning Center USA LLC)
HQ
460 Edgewood Lane, Northfield, Illinois 60093
Auditor
DNJ & Associates
Unaudited
Franchisor revenue
$29K
vs $190K prior year

Overview

About

CEO
Samuel Chia Kiah Hua
Headquarters
CA
Founded
2014
FDD year
2023
States available
1

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 59% below the typical education franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$58K – $100KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 16 of the 2023 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$25,000Verified — printed on page 10 of the 2023 FDD (Item 5), and another item of the same filing prints the same figure on a labelled row, which is an independent restatement.
RoyaltyNot extracted
Ad fund1.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 11 of the 2023 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Working capital$5K – $6K

Source: FDD 2023 · Items 5–7

FDD Item 7 · 2023 filing

Initial investment breakdown

Seriously Addictive Mathematics: Item 7 initial investment breakdown
Cost componentLowHigh
Initial franchise fee$25K$25K
Working capital (3–6 mo)$5K$6K
Equipment, build-out, other$28K$69K
Total initial investment$58K$100K

Source: Seriously Addictive Mathematics 2023 FDD, Items 5 and 7[2]. “Equipment, build-out, other” is computed as total minus disclosed line items above.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$58K – $100K
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$5K – $6K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$25K – $25K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
$30 per student per month
Ad fund
1.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
31.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Seriously Addictive Mathematics: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty (flat)$30 per enrolled student per month (based on prior month's student enrollments), tracked via the S.A.M. IT system; franchisor may increase per CPI
Marketing / ad fund1.0% of gross sales
Technology fee$50
Transfer fee$5K
Renewal fee$8K
Inventory (initial)$500 – $1K
Total fee load31.0% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

Seriously Addictive Mathematics makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Seriously Addictive Mathematics unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $58K–$100K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $5K–$6K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, royalty rate, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$84K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2023 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 139 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 31.0% — above the Education median of 9.0%.

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

System expanding at 40.0% CAGR over 3 years across 14 units — operators are staying and new ones are joining.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Education medians

How Seriously Addictive Mathematics Compares

Metric
Seriously Addictive Mathematics
Category median
vs median
Investment
$79K
$194Kmiddle half $94K–$625K · n=164
Below median, better than category
Revenue
N/A
$408Kmiddle half $269K–$1.2M · n=72
N/A
Unit Count
14
20middle half 6–79 · n=164
Below median, worse than category

Category median of published Education brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units14Verified — printed on page 40 of the 2023 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it two ways.
3-yr growth+40.0% (favorable vs category)
Turnover rate7.1% (favorable vs category)

Source: FDD 2023 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
14
Opened
3
Last reporting year
Closed
1
Terminated
0
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
1
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
7.1%
Company-owned
0
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
100%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
+40.0%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
+40.0%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
0
Not renewed
1
Transferred
0
Reacquired
0
Franchisor bought back
Signed, not yet open
0
0.00 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
4
Franchisor's next-year forecast
2020
10
Franchised units
2021
11+1
Franchised units
2022
14+3
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 12 · 1 state reported

The Territory Map

FDD Item 12 reports the state count, but the specific list isn't in our current data. The map will appear once we re-extract from the FDD or enough franchisee contacts are available.

1

states with franchisees (per FDD Item 12)

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

7 current owners across 1 state.

  • CA 7

Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

Growth insight

Fast growth in a small system. Newer franchisors expanding quickly may not yet have the support infrastructure of larger systems.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

No SBA loan data available for this brand.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offNot SBA-matched
Verdict score51/100 (higher is better)
Litigation0 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

BAbove average51Verdict score 51/100
Low confidence±16 pts
3567

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: officers or affiliates. The franchisor is not a named party in these cases.

No litigation required to be disclosed.

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

No audited financials on file

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $0.0MYr 2: $0.2M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: No
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: Yes

Score breakdown · what drove the 51 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MINORNo audited financials
  2. 02MINORThin net worth $100,000
  3. 03MINORNo Item 19 disclosure

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 139 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 31.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term3 yrs
Renewal term3 yrs
TerritoryExclusive (favorable vs category)
Initial training48 hrs

Source: FDD 2023 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term3 years
Renewal term3 years
Territory typeExclusive territory
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryℹYes
Territory population12,000
Online sales rightsℹRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorOptional
Non-compete (years)ℹ2 years
Non-compete (miles)ℹ50 mi
Right of first refusalℹYes
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Mandatory arbitrationYes
Arbitration locationWithin the Territory (state where franchisor's office is located; choice of law and forum also that state)
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawCalifornia
Litigation count0
View Item 3 litigation summary

No litigation required to be disclosed.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
36 hrs
On-the-job training
12 hrs
Ongoing training
Required
Site selection
franchisee, subject to franchisor approval; franchisor provides site selection guidelines/assistance
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10
POS system
Seriously Addictive Mathematics IT system
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support
✓Lease negotiation help

Technology: Seriously Addictive Mathematics IT system

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

7 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 7 contacts · $49
Free preview
(650) 394-••••CA
Unlock all 7 contacts
(858) 666-••••CA
(209) 937-••••CA
(650) 889-••••CA
(408) 888-••••CA

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Seriously Addictive Mathematics franchise?

The total investment to open a Seriously Addictive Mathematics franchise ranges from $58K – $100K, with an initial franchise fee of $25K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Seriously Addictive Mathematics franchise owners earn?

Seriously Addictive Mathematics makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns Seriously Addictive Mathematics?

Seriously Addictive Mathematics is franchised by SAM Chicagoland, LLC (subfranchisor); Seriously Addictive Learning Center USA LLC (franchisor). Its parent company is Seriously Addictive Learning Centre Pte Ltd. (Singapore). Source: FDD Item 1, 2023 filing.

What is Item 19 in the Seriously Addictive Mathematics FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Seriously Addictive Mathematics FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Seriously Addictive Mathematics's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for Seriously Addictive Mathematics (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many Seriously Addictive Mathematics franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Seriously Addictive Mathematics has 14 total units in the United States, including 14 franchised units and 0 company-owned units. 3 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is Seriously Addictive Mathematics a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Seriously Addictive Mathematics as a B-grade franchise with a verdict score of 51 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Seriously Addictive Mathematics, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Education franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Education category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.