Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Roly Poly Rolled Sandwiches logo
FV-02175Data Quality·Excellent81%FDD 2023 · 3yr old
Owner-operator requiredYes: Protected territory

Roly Poly Rolled Sandwiches Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Quick-Service RestaurantsGAFranchising since 1997CEOLinda L. WolfWebsite Report an errorFranchisor? Claim this listing

Data from FDD filing + SBA 7(a) records

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

This data is from a 2023 FDD. Current terms may differ. Always verify with the franchisor's latest disclosure document.
DBelow average30/100

Roly Poly is a quick-service franchise serving rolled sandwiches, wraps, soups, and salads. Franchisees run compact shops, managing food prep, staffing, and counter service.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Roly Poly Rolled Sandwiches franchise requires a total initial investment of $107K – $227K, including a $23K franchise fee and an ongoing 5.0% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. SBA 7(a) loans show a 46.9% charge-off rate across 32 loans[1]. FranchiseVerdict grade: D (Below average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Data last verified · figures per the 2023 FDD issuance

Overview

Investment
$107K – $227K
7th pct Service Resta…
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
5.0%
12th pct Service Resta…
Units
25
52nd pct Service Resta…
SBA charge-off
46.9%
% of SBA 7(a) loans not repaid · median varies by category

Quick verdict · Quick-Service Restaurants · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$107K – $227K
Avg $664K
below avg ↓
Franchise Fee
$23K – $23K
Avg $34K
Liquid Capital Req'd
$5K – $20K
Avg $44K
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
5.0%
Avg 5.5%
Ongoing Fees
6.0% of rev
Avg 7.9%
SBA Charge-Off Rate
46.9%
Avg 17.3%
above avg ↑
System Size
25 units
Avg 236 units
Turnover Rate
16.0%
Avg 6.2%
Territory
Protected
Exclusive zone granted
Owner-Operator
Required
You must run it yourself
Litigation
None disclosed
Clean record

Green = favorable by >10% vs Quick-Service Restaurants avg · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $107K – $227K including a $23K franchise fee, 5.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict D (Below average), verdict score 30/100 (higher is better). SBA loan charge-off rate of 46.9% across 32 loans (well above the 16% franchise average, based on all SBA 7(a) franchise lending, 2010–2025).
  • FLAG4 units terminated last reporting year (16.0% of the system). Ask existing franchisees why.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Roly Poly Franchise Systems, LLC
Predecessor
Roly Poly Rolled Sandwiches, L.L.C.
Prior franchisor entity
CEO title
President
Linda L. Wolf
CEO experience
27 yrs
Years in role or industry
Founder active
Yes
Original founder still leading the business
Incorporated in
Georgia
HQ
12370 Preserve Lane, Alpharetta, Georgia 30005
Auditor
Santi & Associates, PC
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$188K
vs $196K prior year

Overview

About

CEO
Linda L. Wolf
Headquarters
GA
Founded
1996
FDD year
2023
States available
9

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 75% below the typical quick-service restaurants franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$107K – $227KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 12 of the 2023 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$22,500Verified — printed on page 9 of the 2023 FDD (Item 5), and another item of the same filing prints the same figure on a labelled row, which is an independent restatement.
Royalty + ad fund5.0%
Working capital$5K – $20K

Source: FDD 2023 · Items 5–7

Full Item 7 breakdown14 line items

Initial investment breakdown

Item 7 initial investment line items
Line itemLowHigh
Initial Franchise Fee$23K$23K
Initial Tuition Feenot refundable$3K$3K
Travel and Living Expenses for Pre-training and grand opening trainingnot refundable$500$1K
Initial Rent and Security Deposit$5K$11K
Construction and Leasehold Improvementsnot refundable$25K$90K
Signage, Menu Boardsnot refundable$5K$10K
Equipmentnot refundable$33K$48K
Initial Inventory of Productsnot refundable$4K$8K
Cash Register/POS Equipmentnot refundable$2K$5K
Utility Deposits$1K$3K
Business Licensesnot refundable$50$200
Architectnot refundable$500$3K
Insurancenot refundable$2K$3K
Additional Funds (6 months)not refundable$5K$20K
Total initial investment$107K$227K

Line items extracted from FDD Item 7. Ranges reflect the franchisor's stated low and high per line. Total is the sum of line-item lows / highs — actual costs may fall outside this range depending on market and build-out scope.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$107K – $227K
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$5K – $20K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$23K – $23K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
5.0%
typical 6–8%
Ad fund
the greater of $75 per month or 1% of your Gross Volume o…
Total fee load
6.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Roly Poly Rolled Sandwiches: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty5.0% of gross sales
Training fee$3K
Transfer fee$3K
Renewal fee$50
Inventory (initial)$4K $8K
Total fee load6.0% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

Roly Poly Rolled Sandwiches makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Roly Poly Rolled Sandwiches unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 68%
typ 35%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $107K–$227K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $5K–$20K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, ad fund rate, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
EBITDA margin
Total invested
$179K
Payback
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2023 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 137 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 6.0% — below the Quick-Service Restaurants average of 7.9%.

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

System contracting at -21.9% CAGR over 3 years. Investigate whether closures are franchisor-driven consolidation or franchisee exits.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Quick-Service Restaurants averages

How Roly Poly Rolled Sandwiches Compares

Metric
Roly Poly Rolled Sandwiches
Category Avg
vs Avg
Investment
$167K
$664K
Revenue
N/A
$1.2M
Unit Count
25
236.064

Is the system healthy?

Total units25Verified — printed on page 34 of the 2023 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it two ways.
3-yr growth-21.9%
Turnover rate16.0%

Source: FDD 2023 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
25
Opened
1
Last reporting year
Closed
4
Terminated
4
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
16.0%
Company-owned
0
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
100%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
-21.9%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
-21.9%
Compounded over last 3 years

3-year detail · Item 20

Opened (3yr)
1
Closed (3yr)
0
Terminated (3yr)
4
Non-renewed (3yr)
0
Transfers (3yr)
0
Reacquired (3yr)
0
Franchisor bought back
Projected new
5
Franchisor's next-year forecast
Termination rate
16.0%
Franchisor-initiated terminations
Ceased ops
16.0%
Units that stopped operating
2020
32
Franchised units
2021
28-4
Franchised units
2022
25-3
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 20 · 8 states with active franchisees

The Territory Map

Derived from franchisee contact records. Shows states with at least one current operator. Not where the franchisor is registered to sell new units (that data is re-extracting in a future refresh).

AK
ME
VT
NH
MA
RI
CT
NY
NJ
PA
DE
MD
DC
WA
OR
CA
NV
ID
MT
WY
UT
CO
AZ
NM
ND
SD
NE
KS
OK
TX
MN
IA
MO
AR
LA
WI
IL
MS
TN
MI
IN
KY
AL
OH
WV
GA
VA
NC
SC
FL
HI
Active operators · 8 states
No contacts on file

States derived from franchisee contact records (FDD Item 20). Shows states with at least one current operator on file. Full state registration data (Item 12) will appear on a future FDD refresh.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

F
SBA Lending Health
Weak SBA lending record · 46.9% charge-off
Total loans
32
Loan volume
$2.5M
Median loan
$69K
50th percentile
Charge-off rate
46.9%
rates vary by category · see methodology

Historical SBA 7(a) lending data, not predictive of future performance. How SBA charge-off rates are calculated

Repayment rate (PIF)
53.1%
5-yr charge-off
N/A
Loans approved 2021+
Active lenders
22
Defaults
15
Typical loan rate
6.0%
avg rate to borrowers
Franchised industry avg
21.5%
brand above franchise avg ↑
Jobs supported
150
6.1 per loan
Lender concentration
9%
top lender's share

Franchise vs independent — in limited-service restaurants, franchised businesses charge off at 21.5% vs 25.0% for independents — franchising is associated with 14% lower SBA default risk in this category.

Vintage analysis

Roly Poly Rolled Sandwiches charge-off rate by loan vintage

BrandNational avg
Roly Poly Rolled Sandwiches charge-off rate by loan vintage. Showing 4 vintages from 2003 to 2007. Rates range from 40.0% to 66.7%.0%5%10%15%20%25%30%35%40%45%50%55%60%65%70%'03'04'06'07

Top lenders financing Roly Poly Rolled Sandwiches franchisees

JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association3 loans33.3%
State Bank of Texas3 loans66.7%
Fairfield County Bank3 loans66.7%

Showing 3 of 22 lenders. The full breakdown — every lender, state distribution, interest rates & risk ratings — is in the SBA Lending Report below.

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

Premium insight

SBA Lending Report

Deep-dive into Roly Poly Rolled Sandwiches's SBA lending history: lender network, geographic footprint, interest rates, and more.

SBA Lending Report

  • Principal loss rate and NAICS industry benchmark
  • 10 lenders with concentration factor
  • Per-state charge-off rates across 13 states
  • Startup risk premium and job creation velocity
  • 7-year lending trend
$29 one-time

Instant access. No subscription.

Lending insight

A 46.9% charge-off rate means roughly 1 in 2 franchisees failed to repay their SBA loan. Investigate what changed.

What could kill this investment?

SBA loans charge off at 46.9% — 193% above the 16.0% national norm, i.e. higher lender-observed risk.

SBA charge-off46.9%
Verdict score30/100 (higher is better)
Litigation0 cases
Going concernClear

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

DBelow average30Verdict score 30/100

No litigation, bankruptcy, or going-concern; audited with positive net worth $89,017 and net income $127,239. Concerns are no Item 19, contraction (-21.9% net growth), thin revenue ($188,383) and elevated 16% turnover on a small 25-unit system.

High confidence±4 pts
7280

Litigation (Item 3)

No litigation required to be disclosed

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Santi & Associates, PC

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $0.2MYr 2: $0.2M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Franchisor FY2021 revenue $188,383 vs FY2020 $168,771 (Exhibit D audited statements); FY2022 figures referenced but not present in text extract.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: No
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: No
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No

Score breakdown · what drove the 30 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MINORNo Item 19 disclosure
  2. 02MINORNegative net growth -21.9%, thin revenue $188,383, 16% turnover
  3. 03MINORNo litigation/bankruptcy; positive net worth $89,017, audited

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 137 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 6.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term10 yrs
Renewal term10 yrs
TerritoryNot exclusive
Initial training253 hrs

Source: FDD 2023 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term10 years
Renewal term10 years
Allowed renewals1
Territory typeDelivery Area
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryNo
Territory radius1 mi
Online sales rightsRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorRequired
Non-compete (years)1 year
Right of first refusalYes
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Mandatory arbitrationYes
Arbitration locationFlorida
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawFlorida
Litigation count0
View Item 3 litigation summary

No litigation required to be disclosed

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
9 hrs
On-the-job training
244 hrs
Training location
designated Roly Poly location for pre-training, franchisee's Unit for grand opening training
Ongoing training
Required
Site selection
franchisee (franchisor approves)
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10
POS system
Square Point of Sale system
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

Site selection assistance
Grand opening support
Lease negotiation help

Technology: Square Point of Sale system

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

17 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 17 contacts · $49
Free preview
(205) 324-••••AL
Unlock all 17 contacts
(803) 252-••••SC
(337) 884-••••LA
(337) 234-••••LA
(225) 229-••••LA

FDD download

Roly Poly Rolled Sandwiches · FDD (2023) PDF

Single-page checkout · instant download · CSV export of contacts available separately above

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Roly Poly Rolled Sandwiches franchise?

The total investment to open a Roly Poly Rolled Sandwiches franchise ranges from $107K – $227K, with an initial franchise fee of $23K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Roly Poly Rolled Sandwiches franchise owners earn?

Roly Poly Rolled Sandwiches makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

What is Item 19 in the Roly Poly Rolled Sandwiches FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Roly Poly Rolled Sandwiches FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Roly Poly Rolled Sandwiches's franchise failure rate?

Based on SBA 7(a) loan data, Roly Poly Rolled Sandwiches has a charge-off rate of 46.9% across 32 loans, meaning 46.9% of franchise loans were charged off. Charge-off rates are one proxy for franchise risk, though they do not capture all closures. This data comes from FOIA-sourced SBA lending records.

How many Roly Poly Rolled Sandwiches franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Roly Poly Rolled Sandwiches has 25 total units in the United States, including 25 franchised units and 0 company-owned units. 1 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is Roly Poly Rolled Sandwiches a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Roly Poly Rolled Sandwiches as a D-grade franchise with a verdict score of 30 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Roly Poly Rolled Sandwiches, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Quick-Service Restaurants franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Quick-Service Restaurants category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.