Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
PROSE (Area Representative Business) logo

PROSE (Area Representative Business) Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Business ServicesAZFranchising since 2017
CAverageAverage38/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$55K – $487K
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Limited · 21 loans

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-02054Data QualityStandard67%FDD 2022 · 4yr old
Owner-operator requiredNo: No territory protection

Data from FDD filing + SBA 7(a) records

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

This data is from a 2022 FDD. Current terms may differ. Always verify with the franchisor's latest disclosure document.

Prose is a personalized hair care franchise whose area representatives sell and service custom, made-to-order hair products. Franchisees work as local distributors, building a customer base and managing consultations and subscriptions.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A PROSE (Area Representative Business) franchise requires a total initial investment of $55K – $487K, including a $45K – $450K franchise fee. This franchisor states the initial franchise fee as a rule rather than as one amount, so the figure shown is a single point from it and not what every franchisee pays. Item 5 states it as: Your initial area representative fee (the “A/R Fee”) is calculated at the rate of $9,000 per the number of Salons to be developed in Territory pursuant to the Development Schedule. It will generally range from $45,000 (5 potential PROSE® Salons) to $450,000 (50 potential PROSE® Salons). This fee is for a master or area-representative grant rather than a single unit, so it is not comparable with the single-unit fees shown for other brands. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: C (Average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: high - issued more than two years ago

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✓ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored3 of 3 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing.

Overview

Investment
$55K – $487K
16th pct Business Serv…
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
Not extracted
Units
31
28th pct Business Serv…
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Business Services · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$55K – $487K
Median $133K
above median ↑, worse than category
Franchise Fee
$45K – $450K
Median $48K
Formula fee
Master/area fee
Liquid Capital Req'd
$3K – $15K
Median $23K
below median ↓, better than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
Not extracted
Median 7.0%
Ongoing Fees
Not extracted
Median 9.0%
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Limited · 21 loans
Limited SBA coverage: 21 loans, rate hidden until 10 have resolved and loans reach 2% of franchised units
System Size
31 units
Median 39 units
below median ↓, worse than category
Turnover Rate
N/A
Median 3.7%
below median ↓, better than category
Territory
None
The franchisor can open or license outlets nearby
Owner-Operator
Required
You must run it yourself
Litigation
None disclosed
Clean record

Green = favorable by >10% vs Business Services median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $55K – $487K including a $45K franchise fee. This franchisor states the initial franchise fee as a rule rather than as one amount, so the figure shown is a single point from it and not what every franchisee pays. Item 5 states it as: Your initial area representative fee (the “A/R Fee”) is calculated at the rate of $9,000 per the number of Salons to be developed in Territory pursuant to the Development Schedule. It will generally range from $45,000 (5 potential PROSE® Salons) to $450,000 (50 potential PROSE® Salons). This fee is for a master or area-representative grant rather than a single unit, so it is not comparable with the single-unit fees shown for other brands.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict C (Average), verdict score 38/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHFlat: no net change in franchised outlets in the latest year (0 opened, 0 closed) (Item 20).
  • DATAThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
PROSE Franchising, LLC
Parent company
PROSE Holding Company, LLC
FDD Item 1, page 8 of the 2022 FDD
CEO title
Director (former CEO April 2020-July 2022)
Nate McFarland
Incorporated in
AZ
HQ
4250 North Drinkwater Blvd., #300, Scottsdale, AZ 85251
Auditor
Henry+Horne
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$1.1M
vs $669K prior year
Management churn noted
Frequent turnover
Item 2 disclosed frequent executive changes

Overview

About

CEO
Nate McFarland
Headquarters
AZ
Founded
2017
FDD year
2022
States available
24

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 104% above the typical business services franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$55K – $487KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 16 of the 2022 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$45,000Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 13 of the 2022 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
RoyaltyNot extracted
Ad fundNot extracted
Working capital$3K – $15K

Source: FDD 2022 · Items 5–7

The filing states this fee as a rule

This franchisor states the initial franchise fee as a rule rather than as one amount, so the figure shown is a single point from it and not what every franchisee pays. Item 5 states it as: Your initial area representative fee (the “A/R Fee”) is calculated at the rate of $9,000 per the number of Salons to be developed in Territory pursuant to the Development Schedule. It will generally range from $45,000 (5 potential PROSE® Salons) to $450,000 (50 potential PROSE® Salons).

The filing conditions this fee

This fee is for a master or area-representative grant rather than a single unit, so it is not comparable with the single-unit fees shown for other brands.

Full Item 7 breakdown10 line items

Initial investment breakdown

Item 7 initial investment line items
Line itemLowHigh
Initial A/R Feenot refundable$45K$450K
Demographic Analysis/Map of Territorynot refundable$0$2K
Travel and Living Expenses During Training (for all attendees)not refundable$3K$5K
Furniture, Fixtures and Equipment (including Computer System)not refundable$0$3K
Signage & Business Cardsnot refundable$100$1K
Business Licensesnot refundable$100$2K
Insurancenot refundable$2K$3K
Vehiclenot refundable$0$3K
Advertisingnot refundable$3K$4K
Additional Funds - 3 Monthsnot refundable$3K$15K
Total initial investment$55K$487K

Line items extracted from FDD Item 7. Ranges reflect the franchisor's stated low and high per line. Total is the sum of line-item lows / highs — actual costs may fall outside this range depending on market and build-out scope.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$55K – $487K
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$3K – $15K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$45K – $450K
Master/area fee
Royalty
Not a standard franchisee-paid royalty. Area Representati…
Ad fund
Not applicable to Area Representative Business itself; Ar…

Ongoing fees · Item 6

PROSE (Area Representative Business): Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Technology fee$750
Transfer fee$4K
Renewal fee$4K
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

PROSE (Area Representative Business) makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one PROSE (Area Representative Business) unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundnot set
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $55K–$487K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $3K–$15K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, royalty rate, ad fund rate, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$280K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2022 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 122 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

vs Business Services medians

How PROSE (Area Representative Business) Compares

Metric
PROSE (Area Representative Business)
Category median
vs median
Investment
$271K
$133Kmiddle half $79K–$260K · n=193
Above median, worse than category
Revenue
N/A
$686Kmiddle half $373K–$1.4M · n=61
N/A
Unit Count
31
39middle half 8–116 · n=193
Below median, worse than category

Category median of published Business Services brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units31Verified — printed on page 39 of the 2022 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it two ways.

Source: FDD 2022 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
31
Opened
0
Last reporting year
Closed
0
Terminated
0
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
N/A
Company-owned
1
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
97%
vs corporate-owned

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
0
Not renewed
0
Transferred
0
Reacquired
0
Franchisor bought back
Signed, not yet open
0
0.00 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
5
Franchisor's next-year forecast
Continuity rate
100.0%
Units that stayed open
2019
27
Franchised units
2020
30+3
Franchised units
2021
30±0
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 20 · 15 states with active franchisees

The Territory Map

Derived from franchisee contact records. Shows states with at least one current operator. Not where the franchisor is registered to sell new units (that data is re-extracting in a future refresh).

AK
ME
VT
NH
MA
RI
CT
NY
NJ
PA
DE
MD
DC
WA
OR
CA
NV
ID
MT
WY
UT
CO
AZ
NM
ND
SD
NE
KS
OK
TX
MN
IA
MO
AR
LA
WI
IL
MS
TN
MI
IN
KY
AL
OH
WV
GA
VA
NC
SC
FL
HI
Active operators · 15 states
No contacts on file

States derived from franchisee contact records (FDD Item 20). Shows states with at least one current operator on file. Full state registration data (Item 12) will appear on a future FDD refresh.

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

17 current owners across 15 states.

  • FL 2
  • MN 2
  • AZ 1
  • CA 1
  • CO 1
  • HI 1
  • IL 1
  • IN 1
  • MO 1
  • NC 1
  • NJ 1
  • PA 1
  • +3 more states

Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

Total loans
21
Loan volume
$8.3M
Median loan
$397K
average
Charge-off rate
Limited · 21 loans
Limited SBA coverage: 21 loans, rate hidden until 10 have resolved and loans reach 2% of franchised units

Historical SBA 7(a) lending data, not predictive of future performance. How SBA charge-off rates are calculated

Repayment rate (PIF)
Limited · 21 loans
5-yr charge-off
Limited · 21 loans
Loans approved 2021+
Active lenders
8
Defaults
0

Vintage analysis

PROSE (Area Representative Business) charge-off rate by loan vintage

BrandNational avg
PROSE (Area Representative Business) charge-off rate by loan vintage. Showing 4 vintages from 2019 to 2022. Rates range from 0.0% to 0.0%.0%5%10%'19'20'21'22

Top lenders financing PROSE (Area Representative Business) franchisees

Luminate Bank11 loans0.0%
Old National Bank2 loans0.0%
Pinnacle Bank2 loans0.0%

Showing 3 of 8 lenders. The full breakdown — every lender, state distribution, interest rates & risk ratings — is in the SBA Lending Report below.

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

Lender network · 7(a) + 504

SBA Lending Report

Full lending analysis for PROSE (Area Representative Business) from SBA 7(a) FOIA data.

Top SBA lenders

#LenderLoansVolumeDefault %
1Luminate Bank11$4.1M0.0%
2Old National Bank2$806K0.0%
3Pinnacle Bank2$1.3M0.0%
4The Huntington National Bank2$550K0.0%
5BankFirst Financial Services1$207KN/A
6Busey Bank1$547K0.0%
7Unity Bank1$400KN/A
8Manufacturers and Traders Trust Company1$350KN/A

Geographic failure vector

StateLoansDefaultsRate
MNMinnesota1100.0%
TNTennessee400.0%
ILIllinois100.0%
INIndiana100.0%
MDMaryland10--
MSMississippi10--
NDNorth Dakota100.0%
NJNew Jersey10--

Source: SBA 7(a) + 504 FOIA loan-level data, matched by FranchiseVerdict

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offLimited · 21 loans
Verdict score38/100 (higher is better)
Litigation0 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

CAverage38Verdict score 38/100
Moderate confidence±13 pts
2551

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: officers or affiliates. The franchisor is not a named party in these cases.

No litigation required to be disclosed

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Henry+Horne

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $1.1MYr 2: $0.7M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: No
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: Yes

Score breakdown · what drove the 38 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MINOR31 units, 0% turnover

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 122 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

What are you signing up for?

Initial term10 yrs
Renewal term10 yrs
TerritoryNone (caution)
Initial training121 hrs

Source: FDD 2022 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term10 years
Renewal term10 years
Allowed renewalsℹ1
Territory typeNo territory protection
Protected territoryNo
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Territory sizeℹSpecific geographic territory
Online sales rightsRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorRequired
Non-compete (years)ℹ2 years
Non-compete (miles)ℹ50 mi
Right of first refusalℹYes
RoFR response window60 days
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Termination groundsℹ18
Curable defaultsℹ13
Mandatory arbitrationNo
Arbitration locationMaricopa County, Arizona
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawArizona
Litigation count0
View Item 3 litigation summary

No litigation required to be disclosed

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
55 hrs
On-the-job training
66 hrs
Training location
On-site and off-site
Ongoing training
Required
Site selection
area_representative_with_franchisor_approval
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✗Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

17 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 17 contacts · $49
Free preview
(618) 531-••••MO
Unlock all 17 contacts
(952) 388-••••MN
(305) 301-••••FL
(612) 306-••••MN
(602) 402-••••AZ

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a PROSE (Area Representative Business) franchise?

The total investment to open a PROSE (Area Representative Business) franchise ranges from $55K – $487K, with an initial franchise fee of $45K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD). This fee is for a master or area-representative grant rather than a single unit, so it is not comparable with the single-unit fees shown for other brands.

What do PROSE (Area Representative Business) franchise owners earn?

PROSE (Area Representative Business) makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns PROSE (Area Representative Business)?

PROSE (Area Representative Business) is franchised by PROSE Franchising, LLC. Its parent company is PROSE Holding Company, LLC. Source: FDD Item 1, 2022 filing.

What is Item 19 in the PROSE (Area Representative Business) FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the PROSE (Area Representative Business) FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is PROSE (Area Representative Business)'s franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for PROSE (Area Representative Business) (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many PROSE (Area Representative Business) franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, PROSE (Area Representative Business) has 31 total units in the United States, including 30 franchised units and 1 company-owned units.

Is PROSE (Area Representative Business) a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates PROSE (Area Representative Business) as a C-grade franchise with a verdict score of 38 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent PROSE (Area Representative Business), you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Business Services franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Business Services category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.