Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
H&R Block logo
FV-01138FDD 2025Data Quality·Excellent86%
Owner-operator requiredYes: Protected territory

H&R Block Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Financial ServicesMOFranchising since 2008CEOCurtis CampbellWebsite Report an errorFranchisor? Claim this listing

Data from FDD filing + SBA 7(a) records

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

BAbove average53/100

H&R Block is a tax-preparation franchise serving individuals and small businesses, in person and online. Franchisees run local offices handling client intake, return preparation, e-filing, and year-round tax services.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A H&R Block franchise requires a total initial investment of $34K – $159K, including a $3K franchise fee and an ongoing 40.0% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. SBA 7(a) loans show a 5.6% charge-off rate across 54 loans[1]. FranchiseVerdict grade: B (Above average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Data last verified · figures per the 2025 FDD issuance

Overview

Investment
$34K – $159K
14th pct Financial Ser…
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
40.0% (?)
Likely extraction error
Units
8,688
84th pct Financial Ser…
SBA charge-off
5.6%
% of SBA 7(a) loans not repaid · median varies by category

Quick verdict · Financial Services · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$34K – $159K
Avg $123K
below avg ↓
Franchise Fee
$3K – $3K
Avg $39K
Liquid Capital Req'd
$430 – $12K
Avg $17K
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
40.0%
Avg 13.5%
Ongoing Fees
N/A
Avg 16.9%
SBA Charge-Off Rate
5.6%
Avg 11.1%
below avg ↓
System Size
8,688 units
Avg 673 units
Turnover Rate
1.6%
Avg 12.7%
Territory
Protected
Exclusive zone granted
Owner-Operator
Required
You must run it yourself
Litigation
7 cases
Review carefully

Green = favorable by >10% vs Financial Services avg · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $34K – $159K including a $3K franchise fee, 40.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict B (Above average), verdict score 53/100 (higher is better). SBA loan charge-off rate of 5.6% across 54 loans (near or below the 16% franchise average, based on all SBA 7(a) franchise lending, 2010–2025).
  • DECLINESystem contracting at -15.0% CAGR over 3 years. Investigate whether closures are franchisor-driven (consolidation) or franchisee-driven (economics).

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
H&R Block Tax Services LLC
Parent company
H&R Block, Inc.
Predecessor
H&R Block Tax Services, Inc.
Prior franchisor entity
CEO title
President, Global Consumer Tax & Chief Product Officer
Curtis Campbell
Incorporated in
Missouri
HQ
One H&R Block Way, Kansas City, Missouri 64105
Auditor
Deloitte & Touche LLP
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$3.8B
vs $3.6B prior year

Independent franchisee associations

  • Independent Franchisee Association

Franchisee-led councils or alliances disclosed in Item 20. Indicates operator voice.

Affiliated brands

  • Emerald Financial Services
  • Franchise Partner
  • the Proprietary Marks used in the System

Other brands the franchisor or its parent operates (Item 1).

Overview

About

CEO
Curtis Campbell
Headquarters
MO
Founded
1955
FDD year
2025
States available
49

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 22% below the typical financial services franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$34K – $159KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 19 of the 2025 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$2,500Verified — printed on page 17 of the 2025 FDD (Item 5), and another item of the same filing prints the same figure on a labelled row, which is an independent restatement.
Royalty + ad fund40.0% (?)
Working capital$430 – $12K

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 5–7

FDD Item 7 · 2025 filing

Initial investment breakdown

H&R Block: Item 7 initial investment breakdown
Cost componentLowHigh
Initial franchise fee$3K$3K
Working capital (3–6 mo)$430$12K
Equipment, build-out, other$31K$144K
Total initial investment$34K$159K

Source: H&R Block 2025 FDD, Items 5 and 7[2]. “Equipment, build-out, other” is computed as total minus disclosed line items above.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$34K – $159K
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$430 – $12K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$3K – $3K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
40.0%
Tiered by sales volume · typical 6–8%
Ad fund
-n/d

Ongoing fees · Item 6

H&R Block: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty40.0% of gross sales
Transfer fee$3K
Inventory (initial)$500 $2K
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

H&R Block makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one H&R Block unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 68%
typ 35%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $34K–$159K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $430–$12K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, ad fund rate, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
EBITDA margin
Total invested
$103K
Payback
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2025 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 137 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

40.0% royalty — higher than the category average of 13.5%.

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

System contracting at -15.0% CAGR over 3 years. Investigate whether closures are franchisor-driven consolidation or franchisee exits.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Financial Services averages

How H&R Block Compares

Metric
H&R Block
Category Avg
vs Avg
Investment
$96K
$123K
Revenue
N/A
$243K
Unit Count
8,688
673.368

Is the system healthy?

Total units8,688Verified — printed on page 44 of the 2025 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it three ways.
3-yr growth-15.0%
Turnover rate1.6%

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
8,688
Opened
1
Last reporting year
Closed
21
Terminated
9
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
1
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
1.6%
Company-owned
6,701
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
23%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
-15.0%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
-15.0%
Compounded over last 3 years

3-year detail · Item 20

Opened (3yr)
1
Closed (3yr)
21
Terminated (3yr)
9
Non-renewed (3yr)
1
Transfers (3yr)
26
Reacquired (3yr)
118
Franchisor bought back
2022
2,339
Franchised units
2023
2,135-204
Franchised units
2024
1,987-148
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 20 · 50 states with active franchisees

The Territory Map

Derived from franchisee contact records. Shows states with at least one current operator. Not where the franchisor is registered to sell new units (that data is re-extracting in a future refresh).

AK
ME
VT
NH
MA
RI
CT
NY
NJ
PA
DE
MD
DC
WA
OR
CA
NV
ID
MT
WY
UT
CO
AZ
NM
ND
SD
NE
KS
OK
TX
MN
IA
MO
AR
LA
WI
IL
MS
TN
MI
IN
KY
AL
OH
WV
GA
VA
NC
SC
FL
HI
Active operators · 50 states
No contacts on file

States derived from franchisee contact records (FDD Item 20). Shows states with at least one current operator on file. Full state registration data (Item 12) will appear on a future FDD refresh.

Available to sell in · Item 12

  • California
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Michigan

States where the franchisor is registered to sell new franchises (FDD registration filings).

Growth insight

A system losing more than 10% of its units year-over-year is a red flag. Check whether closures are concentrated in specific regions.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

B
SBA Lending Health
Strong SBA lending record · 5.6% charge-off
Total loans
54
Loan volume
$8.6M
Median loan
$100K
50th percentile
Charge-off rate
5.6%
rates vary by category · see methodology

Historical SBA 7(a) lending data, not predictive of future performance. How SBA charge-off rates are calculated

Repayment rate (PIF)
94.4%
5-yr charge-off
N/A
Loans approved 2021+
Active lenders
41
Defaults
3
Typical loan rate
5.8%
avg rate to borrowers
Franchised industry avg
7.8%
brand beats franchise avg ↓
Jobs supported
895
5.7 per loan
Lender concentration
21%
top lender's share

Borrower mix: 27% went to startups / new businesses, 73% to established operators

Franchise vs independent — in tax preparation services, franchised businesses charge off at 7.8% vs 17.7% for independents — franchising is associated with 56% lower SBA default risk in this category.

Vintage analysis

H&R Block charge-off rate by loan vintage

BrandNational avg
H&R Block charge-off rate by loan vintage. Showing 5 vintages from 2014 to 2018. Rates range from 0.0% to 0.0%.0%5%10%'14'15'16'17'18

Top lenders financing H&R Block franchisees

Union Bank and Trust Company9 loans0.0%
Citizens Bank, National Association4 loans0.0%
Capitol Federal Savings Bank2 loans0.0%

Showing 3 of 41 lenders. The full breakdown — every lender, state distribution, interest rates & risk ratings — is in the SBA Lending Report below.

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

Total loans
1
Loan volume
$239K
Charge-off rate
N/A
Jobs created
2

Historical SBA 504 lending data via CDCs, not predictive of future performance.

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

Premium insight

SBA Lending Report

Deep-dive into H&R Block's SBA lending history: lender network, geographic footprint, interest rates, and more.

SBA Lending Report

  • Principal loss rate and NAICS industry benchmark
  • 10 lenders with concentration factor
  • Per-state charge-off rates across 15 states
  • Startup risk premium and job creation velocity
  • 5-year lending trend
  • SBA 504 real estate/equipment data
$29 one-time

Instant access. No subscription.

What could kill this investment?

SBA loans charge off at 5.6% — 65% below the 16.0% national norm, i.e. lower lender-observed risk.

SBA charge-off5.6%
Verdict score53/100 (higher is better)
Litigation7 cases
Going concernClear

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

BAbove average53Verdict score 53/100

H&R Block presents HIGH RISK due to system contraction, aggressive royalty structure, absent financial disclosures, active litigation, and unprotected territory—making ROI validation impossible and franchisee success uncertain.

High confidence±3 pts
5561

Litigation (Item 3)

Two settled compliance fee class actions (Lopez/Perras, total $660K); Form 8863 MDL settled $150K; Vocational Consultants settled $840K; FTC administrative complaint settled $7M; Colorado Tax Specialists (ongoing, Missouri Franchise Act claim dismissed without prejudice); H&R Block v. Calise (settled May 2025 with consent injunction). One lawsuit against franchisee (Sandra Moore) for restrictive covenant enforcement.

Largest disclosed settlement: $7,000,000

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Deloitte & Touche LLP

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $3761.0MYr 2: $3610.3MNon-royalty: $287.1M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Consolidated financials are for parent H&R Block, Inc. (2025 Form 10-K), whose performance is unconditionally guaranteed (Exhibit C), not the franchisor entity H&R Block Tax Services LLC alone. Revenues = Service revenues $3,473,932K + Royalty, product and other revenues $287,063K = $3,760,995K (FY ended June 30, 2025; in 000s).

ⓘ These are the parent company's consolidated financials (the parent guarantees the franchisor), not this brand's standalone results — the figure reflects the whole corporate group, not this brand alone.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: No
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No

Score breakdown · what drove the 53 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MINORDeclining unit count (-6.9% YoY) suggests system contraction and potential market saturation or franchisee dissatisfaction
  2. 02MINORExtremely high royalty structure (60% on first $5,000, then 40%) consumes majority of early-stage revenue, creating cash flow pressure
  3. 03MEDNo average revenue or net income disclosed in FDD Item 19, making ROI projections impossible and preventing informed investment decisions
  4. 04HIGHMultiple active litigation matters including FTC settlement, class actions on deceptive fees, and restrictive covenant disputes indicate compliance and reputational issues
  5. 05MINORUnprotected territory exposes franchisees to direct competition from other H&R Block franchisees and company-owned locations
  6. 06MINORDeclining system size suggests fewer operational references and reduced collective bargaining power for franchisees

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 137 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Full litigation history from the FDD (Items 3 and 4) →

What are you signing up for?

Initial term10 yrs
Renewal term10 yrs
TerritoryNot exclusive
Initial training61 hrs

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term10 years
Renewal term10 years
Territory typeprotected
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryNo
Online sales rightsRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorRequired
Non-compete (years)2 years
Non-compete (miles)25 mi
Right of first refusalYes
RoFR response window30 days
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Mandatory arbitrationNo
Jury trial waiverNo
Governing lawMO
Litigation count7
View Item 3 litigation summary

Two settled compliance fee class actions (Lopez/Perras, total $660K); Form 8863 MDL settled $150K; Vocational Consultants settled $840K; FTC administrative complaint settled $7M; Colorado Tax Specialists (ongoing, Missouri Franchise Act claim dismissed without prejudice); H&R Block v. Calise (settled May 2025 with consent injunction). One lawsuit against franchisee (Sandra Moore) for restrictive covenant enforcement.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
42 hrs
On-the-job training
19 hrs
Training location
Kansas City, MO (in-person first session); remaining sessions virtual at franchisee's approved location
Ongoing training
Required
Time to open
2 mo
From signing to launch
Site selection
Franchisee with franchisor approval
Franchisor financing
Offered
Item 10
POS system
POS
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

Site selection assistance
Grand opening support
Lease negotiation help

Technology: POS

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

2,052 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 2,052 contacts · $49
Free preview
970-925-••••CO
Unlock all 2,052 contacts
717-677-••••PA
307-332-••••WY
818-541-••••CA
936-544-••••TX

FDD download

H&R Block · FDD (2025) PDF

Single-page checkout · instant download · CSV export of contacts available separately above

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a H&R Block franchise?

The total investment to open a H&R Block franchise ranges from $34K – $159K, with an initial franchise fee of $3K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do H&R Block franchise owners earn?

H&R Block makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

What is Item 19 in the H&R Block FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the H&R Block FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is H&R Block's franchise failure rate?

Based on SBA 7(a) loan data, H&R Block has a charge-off rate of 5.6% across 54 loans, meaning 5.6% of franchise loans were charged off. Charge-off rates are one proxy for franchise risk, though they do not capture all closures. This data comes from FOIA-sourced SBA lending records.

How many H&R Block franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, H&R Block has 8,688 total units in the United States, including 1,987 franchised units and 6,701 company-owned units. 1 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is H&R Block a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates H&R Block as a B-grade franchise with a verdict score of 53 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent H&R Block, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Financial Services franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Financial Services category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.