Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
SelectQuote Local logo

SelectQuote Local Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Financial ServicesKSFranchising since 2026
DBelow averageBelow average34/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$74K – $114K
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Not SBA-matched

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-02274FDD 2026Data QualityStandard71%Pre-opening
Owner-operator requiredNo: No territory protection

Data from FDD filing

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

SelectQuote Local is an insurance franchise where agents sell health, life, Medicare, and property policies by shopping multiple carriers. Franchisees run local agencies, selling and servicing policies and managing clients.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A SelectQuote Local franchise requires a total initial investment of $74K – $114K, including a $55K franchise fee. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: D (Below average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Limited operating history: franchising since 2026. A system this young has fewer than three years of Item 20 outlet history and rarely enough SBA loans for a charge-off rate, so its grade rests on less evidence than an established system's. Read its Item 20 tables and talk to its first franchisees before relying on the grade. Other new franchisors

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: 2026 filing · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: low - the current year's filing

Evidence: partial✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored3 of 3 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing.

Overview

Investment
$74K – $114K
57th pct Financial Ser…
Avg gross sales
N/A
1 outlet
Royalty
Not extracted
Units
1
0th pct Financial Ser…
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Financial Services · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$74K – $114K
Median $94K
near median
Franchise Fee
$55K – $55K
Median $35K
above median ↑, worse than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$6K – $20K
Median $10K
above median ↑, worse than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
Not extracted
Median 10.0%
Ongoing Fees
22.0% of rev
Median 16.5%
above median ↑, worse than category
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Not SBA-matched
Not matched to SBA 7(a) loans
System Size
1 units
Median 50 units
below median ↓, worse than category
Turnover Rate
N/A
Median 5.0%
below median ↓, better than category
Territory
None
The franchisor can open or license outlets nearby
Owner-Operator
Required
You must run it yourself
Litigation
5 cases
Some history

Green = favorable by >10% vs Financial Services median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $74K – $114K including a $55K franchise fee.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict D (Below average), verdict score 34/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHFlat: no net change in franchised outlets in the latest year (0 opened, 0 closed) (Item 20).
  • DATAThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
SelectQuote Local Insurance Services, LLC
Parent company
SelectQuote Insurance Services (SQIS)
FDD Item 1, page 7 of the 2026 FDD
Ultimate parent
SelectQuote, Inc. (SLQT, NYSE)
FDD Item 1, page 7 of the 2026 FDD
Incorporated in
Delaware
HQ
6800 West 115th Street, Suite 2511, Overland Park, Kansas 66211
Auditor
Kezos & Dunlavy
Audited financials

Independent franchisee associations

  • Franchise Advisory Council (FAC)

Franchisee-led councils or alliances disclosed in Item 20. Indicates operator voice.

Affiliated brands

  • SelectQuote Insurance Services

Other brands the franchisor or its parent operates (Item 1).

Overview

About

CEO
Tim Danker
Headquarters
KS
Founded
2025
FDD year
2026
States available
1

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost is about typical for a financial services franchise (near the category median).

Total investment (Item 7)$74K – $114KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 21 of the 2026 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$55,000Verified — printed on page 12 of the 2026 FDD (Item 5), and another item of the same filing prints the same figure on a labelled row, which is an independent restatement.
RoyaltyNot extracted
Ad fundNot extracted
Working capital$6K – $20K

Source: FDD 2026 · Items 5–7

Full Item 7 breakdown10 line items

Initial investment breakdown

Item 7 initial investment line items
Line itemLowHigh
Initial Franchise Fee$55K$55K
Lease, Improvements, Furniture, Fixtures, Utilities$2K$6K
Rent$1K$4K
Signage and Media$500$3K
Office Equipment and Startup Supplies$5K$8K
Insurance$2K$5K
Licenses$500$1K
Professional Fees$1K$5K
Additional Training Expenses$500$7K
Additional Funds - 3 months$6K$20K
Total initial investment$74K$114K

Line items extracted from FDD Item 7. Ranges reflect the franchisor's stated low and high per line. Total is the sum of line-item lows / highs — actual costs may fall outside this range depending on market and build-out scope.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$74K – $114K
Middle of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$6K – $20K
Middle of category vs category
Franchise fee
$55K – $55K
Middle of category vs category
Royalty
20% of Net Revenues on Health/Life Insurance Products in …
Ad fund
National Marketing Fund Contribution is 2% of Net Revenue…
Total fee load
22.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

SelectQuote Local: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Technology fee$600
Transfer fee$55K
Renewal fee$28K
Total fee load22.0% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

SelectQuote Local makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one SelectQuote Local unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundnot set
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $74K–$114K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $6K–$20K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, royalty rate, ad fund rate, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$107K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2026 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 122 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 22.0% — above the Financial Services median of 16.5%.

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Financial Services medians

How SelectQuote Local Compares

Metric
SelectQuote Local
Category median
vs median
Investment
$94K
$94Kmiddle half $70K–$116K · n=38
Near median
Revenue
N/A
$262Kmiddle half $115K–$322K · n=9
N/A
Unit Count
1
50middle half 14–241 · n=38
Below median, worse than category

Category median of published Financial Services brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units1Verified — printed on page 54 of the 2026 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it one way.

Source: FDD 2026 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
1
Opened
0
Last reporting year
Closed
0
Terminated
0
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
N/A
Company-owned
1
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
0%
vs corporate-owned

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
0
Not renewed
0
Transferred
0
Reacquired
0
Franchisor bought back
Signed, not yet open
0
0.00 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
0
Franchisor's next-year forecast

No multi-year history disclosed and no opening/closing activity in the last reporting year.

Item 12 · 1 state reported

The Territory Map

FDD Item 12 reports the state count, but the specific list isn't in our current data. The map will appear once we re-extract from the FDD or enough franchisee contacts are available.

1

states with franchisees (per FDD Item 12)

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

No SBA loan data available for this brand.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offNot SBA-matched
Verdict score34/100 (higher is better)
Litigation5 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

DBelow average34Verdict score 34/100

Pre-opening insurance franchise (began franchising 2026, 1 company unit, 0 franchised) with negative net income of -$166,290 and modest net worth of $448,710. Four litigation matters are all against ultimate parent SelectQuote, Inc. (securities class actions, a stayed derivative suit, and a DOJ qui tam False Claims Act intervention over sales practices) rather than the franchisor entity. No Item 19 disclosure.

Low confidence±15 pts
1949

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: the franchisor is a named party (defendant).

All disclosed litigation is against ultimate parent SelectQuote, Inc. (securities class actions Hartel/WPBPPF consolidated 2021-2025, ongoing appeal; Jadlow derivative suit stayed; DOJ qui tam False Claims Act intervention regarding sales/marketing practices, motions to dismiss pending; Pahlkotter securities class action stayed). No litigation involving the franchisor entity SelectQuote Local Insurance Services, LLC itself.

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Kezos & Dunlavy

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: No
  • Must buy proprietary products: No
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No

Score breakdown · what drove the 34 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MINORPre-opening, only 1 company-owned unit, 0 franchised units
  2. 02MINORNegative net income -$166,290
  3. 03MINORNo Item 19 earnings disclosure
  4. 04HIGH4 parent-level litigation matters including DOJ qui tam FCA intervention over sales/marketing practices (reputational overhang)

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 122 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Full litigation history from the FDD (Items 3 and 4) →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 22.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term10 yrs
Renewal term10 yrs
TerritoryNone (caution)
Initial training281 hrs

Source: FDD 2026 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term10 years
Renewal term10 years
Allowed renewalsℹ1
Territory typeNo territory protection
Protected territoryNo
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Territory population1,250,000
Online sales rightsℹRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorRequired
Non-compete (years)ℹ2 years
Right of first refusalℹYes
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Curable defaultsℹ1
Mandatory arbitrationYes
Arbitration locationJAMS office nearest franchisor's principal place of business (currently Overland Park, Kansas)
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawKansas
Litigation count5
View Item 3 litigation summary

All disclosed litigation is against ultimate parent SelectQuote, Inc. (securities class actions Hartel/WPBPPF consolidated 2021-2025, ongoing appeal; Jadlow derivative suit stayed; DOJ qui tam False Claims Act intervention regarding sales/marketing practices, motions to dismiss pending; Pahlkotter securities class action stayed). No litigation involving the franchisor entity SelectQuote Local Insurance Services, LLC itself.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
39 hrs
On-the-job training
242 hrs
Training location
On-site and corporate
Ongoing training
Required
Site selection
Franchisee selects, subject to franchisor approval
Franchisor financing
Offered
Item 10
POS system
SelectLocal
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Technology: SelectLocal

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a SelectQuote Local franchise?

The total investment to open a SelectQuote Local franchise ranges from $74K – $114K, with an initial franchise fee of $55K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do SelectQuote Local franchise owners earn?

SelectQuote Local makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns SelectQuote Local?

SelectQuote Local is franchised by SelectQuote Local Insurance Services, LLC. Its parent company is SelectQuote Insurance Services (SQIS). The ultimate parent named in the FDD is SelectQuote, Inc. (SLQT, NYSE). Source: FDD Item 1, 2026 filing.

What is Item 19 in the SelectQuote Local FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the SelectQuote Local FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is SelectQuote Local's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for SelectQuote Local (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many SelectQuote Local franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, SelectQuote Local has 1 total units in the United States.

Is SelectQuote Local a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates SelectQuote Local as a D-grade franchise with a verdict score of 34 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent SelectQuote Local, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Financial Services franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Financial Services category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.