Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Gracie Barra logo
FV-01095FDD 2025Data Quality·Standard76%Pre-opening
Manager-run OKYes: Protected territory

Gracie Barra Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Health & FitnessCAFranchising since 2010CEOFlavio AlmeidaWebsite Report an errorFranchisor? Claim this listing

Data from FDD filing + SBA 7(a) records

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

AStrongest tier70/100

Gracie Barra is a martial-arts franchise teaching Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu to kids and adults through its global academy system. Franchisees run a training academy managing instructors, classes, and memberships.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Gracie Barra franchise requires a total initial investment of $76K – $234K, including a $10K franchise fee. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: A (Strongest tier), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Data last verified · figures per the 2025 FDD issuance

Overview

Investment
$76K – $234K
12th pct Health & Fitn…
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
N/A
Units
367
94th pct Health & Fitn…
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Health & Fitness · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$76K – $234K
Avg $560K
below avg ↓
Franchise Fee
$10K – $10K
Avg $45K
Liquid Capital Req'd
$10K – $30K
Avg $48K
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
N/A
Avg 6.9%
Ongoing Fees
N/A
Avg 8.4%
SBA Charge-Off Rate
No SBA data
Not SBA-matched
System Size
367 units
Avg 127 units
Turnover Rate
3.1%
Avg 5.7%
Territory
Protected
Exclusive zone granted
Owner-Operator
Optional
Can hire a manager
Litigation
1 case
Some history

Green = favorable by >10% vs Health & Fitness avg · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $76K – $234K including a $10K franchise fee.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict A (Strongest tier), verdict score 70/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHSystem growing at 42.9% CAGR over 3 years with 367 total units. Strong expansion trajectory.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Gracie Barra Franchise Systems, Inc.
Parent company
None
Predecessor
Gracie Barra America, Inc.
Prior franchisor entity
CEO title
Chief Executive Officer
Flavio Almeida
Incorporated in
CA
HQ
300 Spectrum Center Drive, Suite 400, Irvine, California 92618
Auditor
MM & Company, LLP
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$3.5M
vs $3.4M prior year

Overview

About

CEO
Flavio Almeida
Headquarters
CA
Founded
2009
FDD year
2025
States available
30

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 72% below the typical health & fitness franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$76K – $234KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 16 of the 2025 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$10,000Verified — printed on page 12 of the 2025 FDD (Item 5), and another item of the same filing prints the same figure on a labelled row, which is an independent restatement.
Working capital$10K – $30K

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 5–7

Full Item 7 breakdown11 line items

Initial investment breakdown

Item 7 initial investment line items
Line itemLowHigh
Franchise Feenot refundable$10K$10K
Uniform Expensesnot refundable$8K$20K
Initial Training Expenses
Leasehold Improvements$10K$40K
Rent$18K$60K
Computer Equipment and Software$2K$4K
School Furnishings, Fixtures and Equipment$10K$40K
Licenses and Deposits$3K$20K
Insurance$1K$2K
Supplies$1K$2K
Additional Funds (3 months)$10K$30K
Total initial investment$73K$228K

Line items extracted from FDD Item 7. Ranges reflect the franchisor's stated low and high per line. Total is the sum of line-item lows / highs — actual costs may fall outside this range depending on market and build-out scope.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$76K – $234K
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$10K – $30K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$10K – $10K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
$600/month when royalties begin; $900/month starting the …
Ad fund
No advertising fund contribution required

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Gracie Barra: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty (flat)$600/month initially; increases to $900/month beginning the 4th month after royalty payments start
Transfer fee$1K
Renewal fee$0
Inventory (initial)$1K $2K
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

Gracie Barra makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Gracie Barra unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundnot set
typ 68%
typ 35%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $76K–$234K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $10K–$30K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, royalty rate, ad fund rate, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
EBITDA margin
Total invested
$175K
Payback
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2025 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 134 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

System expanding at 42.9% CAGR over 3 years across 367 units — operators are staying and new ones are joining.

Multi-unit rate

Only 2% of franchisees own multiple units. Could indicate challenging economics or a young system where operators haven't had time to expand.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Health & Fitness averages

How Gracie Barra Compares

Metric
Gracie Barra
Category Avg
vs Avg
Investment
$155K
$560K
Revenue
N/A
$676K
Unit Count
367
127.124

Is the system healthy?

Total units367Verified — printed on page 44 of the 2025 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it two ways.
3-yr growth+42.9%
Turnover rate3.1%

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
367
Opened
40
Last reporting year
Closed
0
Terminated
7
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
4
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
3.1%
Company-owned
14
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
96%
vs corporate-owned
Multi-unit owners
1.6%
Net growth (3-yr)
+42.9%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
+42.9%
Compounded over last 3 years

3-year detail · Item 20

Opened (3yr)
40
Closed (3yr)
0
Terminated (3yr)
7
Non-renewed (3yr)
4
Transfers (3yr)
7
Reacquired (3yr)
0
Franchisor bought back
2022
288
Franchised units
2023
324+36
Franchised units
2024
353+29
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 20 · 6 states with active franchisees

The Territory Map

Derived from franchisee contact records. Shows states with at least one current operator. Not where the franchisor is registered to sell new units (that data is re-extracting in a future refresh).

AK
ME
VT
NH
MA
RI
CT
NY
NJ
PA
DE
MD
DC
WA
OR
CA
NV
ID
MT
WY
UT
CO
AZ
NM
ND
SD
NE
KS
OK
TX
MN
IA
MO
AR
LA
WI
IL
MS
TN
MI
IN
KY
AL
OH
WV
GA
VA
NC
SC
FL
HI
Active operators · 6 states
No contacts on file

States derived from franchisee contact records (FDD Item 20). Shows states with at least one current operator on file. Full state registration data (Item 12) will appear on a future FDD refresh.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

Total loans
16
Loan volume
$7.9M
Median loan
$491K
average
Charge-off rate
N/A
no resolved loans yet — rate needs a terminal outcome

Historical SBA 7(a) lending data, not predictive of future performance. How SBA charge-off rates are calculated

Repayment rate (PIF)
N/A
5-yr charge-off
0.0%
Loans approved 2021+
Active lenders
12
Defaults
0
Typical loan rate
8.8%
avg rate to borrowers
vs industry
N/A
Jobs supported
N/A
Lender concentration
15%
top lender's share

Vintage analysis

Gracie Barra charge-off rate by loan vintage

BrandNational avg
Gracie Barra charge-off rate by loan vintage. Showing 8 vintages from 2014 to 2025. Rates range from 0.0% to 0.0%.0%5%10%'14'19'22'24'25

Top lenders financing Gracie Barra franchisees

JPMorgan Chase Bank, National Association2 loans0.0%
Hawthorn Bank1 loans0.0%
Wells Fargo Bank National Association1 loans0.0%

Showing 3 of 12 lenders. The full breakdown — every lender, state distribution, interest rates & risk ratings — is in the SBA Lending Report below.

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

Premium insight

SBA Lending Report

Deep-dive into Gracie Barra's SBA lending history: lender network, geographic footprint, interest rates, and more.

SBA Lending Report

  • Principal loss rate and NAICS industry benchmark
  • 10 lenders with concentration factor
  • Per-state charge-off rates across 9 states
  • Startup risk premium and job creation velocity
$29 one-time

Instant access. No subscription.

What could kill this investment?

Verdict score70/100 (higher is better)
Litigation1 cases
Going concernClear

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

AStrongest tier70Verdict score 70/100

Material litigation, undisclosed financials, and subpar growth create moderate-to-high risk despite protected territory and reasonable initial investment.

High confidence±5 pts
3949

Litigation (Item 3)

L.M. v Gracie Barra Franchise Systems, Inc. et al - pending in New Mexico; vicarious liability claim arising from alleged sexual grooming and assault at franchised location

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · MM & Company, LLP

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $3.5MYr 2: $3.4MNon-royalty: $0.2M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Total revenues for year ended Dec 31, 2024: franchise fees $314,657, marketing fees $137,750, royalty fees $2,574,141, online course registration $329,079, other income $185,007.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: No
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No

Score breakdown · what drove the 70 / 100 verdict

  1. 01HIGHActive litigation involving vicarious liability for sexual assault at franchised location creates significant legal and reputational risk
  2. 02MEDNo Item 19 financial disclosure (Avg Revenue and Net Income not disclosed) prevents accurate ROI analysis on $76k-$233.5k investment
  3. 03MINORModest unit growth of 9.0% YoY is below industry standards for martial arts/fitness franchises, suggesting market saturation or underperformance
  4. 04MINORLow royalty structure ($600-$900/month) indicates weak franchisor support infrastructure relative to franchisee investment size
  5. 05MINOR5-year term is shorter than industry standard (typically 10 years), creating renewal uncertainty and unstable long-term planning

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 134 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Full litigation history from the FDD (Items 3 and 4) →

What are you signing up for?

Initial term5 yrs
Renewal term5 yrs
TerritoryExclusive
Initial training30 hrs

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term5 years
Renewal term5 years
Territory typeexclusive
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryYes
Territory radius0.5 mi
Online sales rightsRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorOptional
Right of first refusalYes
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Mandatory arbitrationYes
Arbitration locationOrange County, California
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawCA
Litigation count1
View Item 3 litigation summary

L.M. v Gracie Barra Franchise Systems, Inc. et al - pending in New Mexico; vicarious liability claim arising from alleged sexual grooming and assault at franchised location

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
30 hrs
On-the-job training
0 hrs
Training location
Online
Ongoing training
Required
Time to open
6 mo
From signing to launch
Site selection
Franchisee selects; franchisor approves
Franchisor financing
Offered
Item 10
POS system
Kinetic Data
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

Site selection assistance
Grand opening support
Lease negotiation help

Technology: Kinetic Data

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

68 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 68 contacts · $49
Free preview
(630) 878-••••IL
Unlock all 68 contacts
(205) 565-••••AL
(408) 607-••••CA
(951) 764-••••CA
(818) 388-••••CA

FDD download

Gracie Barra · FDD (2025) PDF

Single-page checkout · instant download · CSV export of contacts available separately above

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Gracie Barra franchise?

The total investment to open a Gracie Barra franchise ranges from $76K – $234K, with an initial franchise fee of $10K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Gracie Barra franchise owners earn?

Gracie Barra makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

What is Item 19 in the Gracie Barra FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Gracie Barra FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Gracie Barra's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for Gracie Barra (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many Gracie Barra franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Gracie Barra has 367 total units in the United States, including 353 franchised units and 14 company-owned units. 40 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is Gracie Barra a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Gracie Barra as a A-grade franchise with a verdict score of 70 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Gracie Barra, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Health & Fitness franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Health & Fitness category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.