Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Dirty Birds Bar and Grill logo

Dirty Birds Bar and Grill Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Full-Service RestaurantsCAFranchising since 2021
BAbove averageAbove average46/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$463K – $1.6M
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Not SBA-matched

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-00756FDD 2025Data QualityStandard76%
Manager-run OKNo: No territory protection

Data from FDD filing

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

Dirty Birds Bar and Grill is a casual-dining franchise serving wings, burgers, and bar fare in a sports-bar setting. Franchisees run the restaurants, managing the kitchen, bar, and dining service.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Dirty Birds Bar and Grill franchise requires a total initial investment of $463K – $1.6M, including a $50K franchise fee and an ongoing 5.0% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: B (Above average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: medium - issued 12 to 24 months ago; a newer filing is likely on file

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored5 of 5 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing.

Overview

Investment
$463K – $1.6M
21st pct Service Resta…
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
5.0%
8th pct Service Resta…
Units
7
10th pct Service Resta…
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Full-Service Restaurants · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$463K – $1.6M
Median $678K
above median ↑, worse than category
Franchise Fee
$50K – $50K
Median $40K
above median ↑, worse than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$50K – $75K
Median $43K
above median ↑, worse than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
5.0%
Median 5.0%
near median
Ongoing Fees
7.0% of rev
Median 7.0%
near median
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Not SBA-matched
Not matched to SBA 7(a) loans
System Size
7 units
Median 20 units
below median ↓, worse than category
Turnover Rate
N/A
Median 0.0%
Territory
None
The franchisor can open or license outlets nearby
Owner-Operator
Optional
Can hire a manager
Litigation
None disclosed
Clean record

Green = favorable by >10% vs Full-Service Restaurants median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $463K – $1.6M including a $50K franchise fee, 5.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict B (Above average), verdict score 46/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHPositive: net +1 franchised outlets in the latest year (1 opened, 0 closed) (Item 20).
  • DATAThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
DB HQ LLC
CEO title
Managing Partner
Jonathan Ollis
Incorporated in
CA
HQ
5934 Joel Lane, La Mesa, California 91942
Auditor
Velez-Hardy CPAs and Advisors
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$87K
vs $81K prior year

Overview

About

CEO
Jonathan Ollis
Headquarters
CA
Founded
2020
FDD year
2025
States available
2

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 52% above the typical full-service restaurants franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$463K – $1.6MCited, not corroborated — printed on page 17 of the 2025 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$50,000Verified — printed on page 9 of the 2025 FDD (Item 5), and another item of the same filing prints the same figure on a labelled row, which is an independent restatement.
Royalty5.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 10 of the 2025 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fund2.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 10 of the 2025 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Working capital$50K – $75K

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 5–7

FDD Item 7 · 2025 filing

Initial investment breakdown

Dirty Birds Bar and Grill: Item 7 initial investment breakdown
Cost componentLowHigh
Initial franchise fee$50K$50K
Working capital (3–6 mo)$50K$75K
Equipment, build-out, other$363K$1.5M
Total initial investment$463K$1.6M

Source: Dirty Birds Bar and Grill 2025 FDD, Items 5 and 7[2]. “Equipment, build-out, other” is computed as total minus disclosed line items above.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$463K – $1.6M
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$50K – $75K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$50K – $50K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
5.0%
typical 6–8%
Ad fund
2.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
7.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Dirty Birds Bar and Grill: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty5.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund2.0%
Training fee$300
Transfer fee$25K
Renewal fee$25K
Inventory (initial)$25K – $50K
Total fee load7.0% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

Dirty Birds Bar and Grill makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Dirty Birds Bar and Grill unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $463K–$1.6M (midpoint used)
FDD reports $50K–$75K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$1.1M
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2025 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 131 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 7.0% (near the Full-Service Restaurants median).

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

Net unit growth of +100.0% over 3 years (1 opened, 0 closed).

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Full-Service Restaurants medians

How Dirty Birds Bar and Grill Compares

Metric
Dirty Birds Bar and Grill
Category median
vs median
Investment
$1.0M
$678Kmiddle half $427K–$1.3M · n=326
Above median, worse than category
Revenue
N/A
$1.6Mmiddle half $885K–$2.4M · n=122
N/A
Unit Count
7
20middle half 6–73 · n=308
Below median, worse than category

Category median of published Full-Service Restaurants brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units7Verified — printed on page 55 of the 2025 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it two ways.
3-yr growth+100.0% (favorable vs category)

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
7
Opened
1
Last reporting year
Closed
0
Turnover rate
N/A
Company-owned
5
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
29%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
+100.0%
Net unit change over 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Signed, not yet open
0
0.00 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
1
Franchisor's next-year forecast
2022
0
Franchised units
2023
1+1
Franchised units
2024
2+1
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 12 · 2 states reported

The Territory Map

FDD Item 12 reports the state count, but the specific list isn't in our current data. The map will appear once we re-extract from the FDD or enough franchisee contacts are available.

2

states with franchisees (per FDD Item 12)

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

4 current owners across 4 states.

  • BU 1
  • CA 1
  • SA 1
  • TX 1

Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20; 1 entries carry no state. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

Growth insight

Fast growth in a small system. Newer franchisors expanding quickly may not yet have the support infrastructure of larger systems.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

No SBA loan data available for this brand.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offNot SBA-matched
Verdict score46/100 (higher is better)
Litigation0 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

BAbove average46Verdict score 46/100
Low confidence±15 pts
3161

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: officers or affiliates. The franchisor is not a named party in these cases.

No litigation required to be disclosed (FDD Item 3).

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Velez-Hardy CPAs and Advisors

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $0.1MYr 2: $0.1M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Financial statements are unaudited (prepared without an audit; no CPA opinion). Only a Statement of Cash Flows for DB HQ, LLC (Jan-Sep 2025) is included, showing Net Income of $8,454.97. No balance sheet or income statement with revenue/asset/liability totals is provided.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes

Score breakdown · what drove the 46 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MINORNo Item 19 financial disclosure (average unit revenue and net income not provided) — impossible to validate ROI claims
  2. 02MINORExtremely wide investment range ($462.9K–$1.59M) suggests lack of standardization and unpredictable startup costs
  3. 03MEDOnly 7 units in system creates severe limited data set and raises questions about franchisor's operational maturity and support infrastructure
  4. 04MINOR100% YoY unit growth from minimal base (likely 3-4 units previously) is statistically meaningless and may mask underlying weakness
  5. 05MINOR5% royalty on gross revenue (not net profit) combined with no profitability data creates risk of cash-flow squeeze for franchisees

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 131 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 7.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term10 yrs
Renewal term10 yrs
TerritoryNone (caution)
Initial training40 hrs

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term10 years
Renewal term10 years
Allowed renewalsℹ1
Territory typeNo territory protection
Protected territoryNo
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Territory radius3 mi
Territory population100,000
Online sales rightsℹRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorOptional
Non-compete (years)ℹ2 years
Non-compete (miles)ℹ25 mi
Right of first refusalℹYes
RoFR response window90 days
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Mandatory arbitrationYes
Arbitration locationSan Diego, California
Jury trial waiverNo
Governing lawCA
Litigation count0
View Item 3 litigation summary

No litigation required to be disclosed (FDD Item 3).

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
20 hrs
On-the-job training
20 hrs
Training location
La Mesa, California
Ongoing training
Required
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10
POS system
Toast
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Technology: Toast

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

5 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 5 contacts · $49
Free preview
619-807-••••
Unlock all 5 contacts
214-412-••••TX
619-726-••••SA
718-710-••••CA
(517) 373-••••BU

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Dirty Birds Bar and Grill franchise?

The total investment to open a Dirty Birds Bar and Grill franchise ranges from $463K – $1.6M, with an initial franchise fee of $50K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Dirty Birds Bar and Grill franchise owners earn?

Dirty Birds Bar and Grill makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns Dirty Birds Bar and Grill?

Dirty Birds Bar and Grill is franchised by DB HQ LLC. Source: FDD Item 1, 2025 filing.

What is Item 19 in the Dirty Birds Bar and Grill FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Dirty Birds Bar and Grill FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Dirty Birds Bar and Grill's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for Dirty Birds Bar and Grill (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many Dirty Birds Bar and Grill franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Dirty Birds Bar and Grill has 7 total units in the United States, including 2 franchised units and 5 company-owned units. 1 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is Dirty Birds Bar and Grill a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Dirty Birds Bar and Grill as a B-grade franchise with a verdict score of 46 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Dirty Birds Bar and Grill, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Full-Service Restaurants franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Full-Service Restaurants category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.