Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Dale Carnegie logo

Dale Carnegie Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

EducationNYFranchising since 2000
BAbove averageAbove average56/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$93K – $246K
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
15.4%
on 24 loans

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-00705Data QualityExcellent81%FDD 2021 · 5yr old
Owner-operator requiredYes: Exclusive territory

Data from FDD filing + SBA 7(a) records

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

This data is from a 2021 FDD. Current terms may differ. Always verify with the franchisor's latest disclosure document.

Dale Carnegie is a professional-training franchise delivering courses in communication, leadership, sales, and confidence to companies and individuals. Franchisees run a local training operation recruiting corporate clients and delivering instructor-led programs.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Dale Carnegie franchise requires a total initial investment of $93K – $246K, including a $20K – $65K franchise fee and an ongoing 12.0% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. SBA 7(a) loans show a 15.4% charge-off rate across 24 loans[1]. FranchiseVerdict grade: B (Above average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: 2021 filing · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: high - figures are from a filing two or more years old

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✓ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored5 of 5 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing.

Overview

Investment
$93K – $246K
29th pct Education
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
12.0%
70th pct Education
Units
143
68th pct Education
SBA charge-off
15.4%
% of SBA 7(a) loans not repaid · median varies by category

Quick verdict · Education · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$93K – $246K
Median $194K
below median ↓, better than category
Franchise Fee
$20K – $65K
Median $45K
near median
Liquid Capital Req'd
$50K – $100K
Median $25K
above median ↑, worse than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
12.0%
Median 7.0%
above median ↑, worse than category
Ongoing Fees
15.0% of rev
Median 9.0%
above median ↑, worse than category
SBA Charge-Off Rate
15.4%
24 loans · Median 7.2%
above median ↑, worse than category
System Size
143 units
Median 20 units
above median ↑, better than category
Turnover Rate
2.1%
Median 0.0%
Territory
Exclusive
No other outlet of the brand may open inside it
Owner-Operator
Required
You must run it yourself
Litigation
None disclosed
Clean record

Green = favorable by >10% vs Education median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $93K – $246K including a $20K franchise fee, 12.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict B (Above average), verdict score 56/100 (higher is better). SBA loan charge-off rate of 15.4% across 24 loans (above the 16% franchise average, based on all SBA 7(a) franchise lending, 2010–2025).
  • GROWTHPositive: net +1 franchised outlets in the latest year (4 opened, 3 closed) (Item 20).
  • DECLINESystem contracting at -6.0% CAGR over 3 years. Investigate whether closures are franchisor-driven (consolidation) or franchisee-driven (economics).

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Dale Carnegie & Associates, Inc.
CEO title
President and Chief Executive Officer
Joseph Hart
Incorporated in
NY
HQ
58 South Service Road, Suite 301, Melville, New York 11747
Auditor
CohnReznick LLP
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$19.5M
vs $20.1M prior year

Overview

About

CEO
Joseph Hart
Headquarters
NY
Founded
1955
FDD year
2021
States available
49

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 13% below the typical education franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$93K – $246KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 30 of the 2021 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$20,000Verified — printed on page 18 of the 2021 FDD (Item 5), and another item of the same filing prints the same figure on a labelled row, which is an independent restatement.
Royalty12.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 20 of the 2021 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fund3.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 20 of the 2021 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Working capital$50K – $100K

Source: FDD 2021 · Items 5–7

FDD Item 7 · 2021 filing

Initial investment breakdown

Dale Carnegie: Item 7 initial investment breakdown
Cost componentLowHigh
Initial franchise fee$20K$20K
Working capital (3–6 mo)$50K$100K
Equipment, build-out, other$23K$126K
Total initial investment$93K$246K

Source: Dale Carnegie 2021 FDD, Items 5 and 7[2]. “Equipment, build-out, other” is computed as total minus disclosed line items above.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$93K – $246K
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$50K – $100K
Middle of category vs category
Franchise fee
$20K – $65K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
12.0%
Tiered by sales volume · typical 6–8%
Ad fund
3.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
15.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Dale Carnegie: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty12.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund3.0%
Technology fee$1K
Training fee$10K
Renewal fee$3K
Total fee load15.0% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

Dale Carnegie makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Dale Carnegie unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $93K–$246K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $50K–$100K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$245K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2021 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 107 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 15.0% — above the Education median of 9.0%.

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

System contracting at -6.0% CAGR over 3 years. Investigate whether closures are franchisor-driven consolidation or franchisee exits.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Education medians

How Dale Carnegie Compares

Metric
Dale Carnegie
Category median
vs median
Investment
$170K
$194Kmiddle half $94K–$625K · n=164
Below median, better than category
Revenue
N/A
$408Kmiddle half $269K–$1.2M · n=72
N/A
Unit Count
143
20middle half 6–79 · n=164
Above median, better than category

Category median of published Education brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units143Verified — printed on page 84 of the 2021 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it one way.
3-yr growth+0.7% (favorable vs category)
Turnover rate2.1% (favorable vs category)

Source: FDD 2021 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
143
Opened
4
Last reporting year
Closed
3
Terminated
3
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
2.1%
Company-owned
1
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
99%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
+0.7%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
-6.0%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
3
Signed, not yet open
0
0.00 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
0
Franchisor's next-year forecast
2018
151
Franchised units
2019
141-10
Franchised units
2020
142+1
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 20 · 24 states with active franchisees

The Territory Map

Derived from franchisee contact records. Shows states with at least one current operator. Not where the franchisor is registered to sell new units (that data is re-extracting in a future refresh).

AK
ME
VT
NH
MA
RI
CT
NY
NJ
PA
DE
MD
DC
WA
OR
CA
NV
ID
MT
WY
UT
CO
AZ
NM
ND
SD
NE
KS
OK
TX
MN
IA
MO
AR
LA
WI
IL
MS
TN
MI
IN
KY
AL
OH
WV
GA
VA
NC
SC
FL
HI
Active operators · 24 states
No contacts on file

States derived from franchisee contact records (FDD Item 20). Shows states with at least one current operator on file. Full state registration data (Item 12) will appear on a future FDD refresh.

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

37 current owners across 24 states.

  • CA 5
  • NY 3
  • TX 3
  • FL 2
  • IL 2
  • NC 2
  • ND 2
  • NJ 2
  • AZ 1
  • CO 1
  • HI 1
  • KS 1
  • +12 more states

Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20; 8 entries carry no state. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

D
SBA Lending Health
Below-average SBA lending record · 15.4% charge-off
Total loans
24
Loan volume
$6.4M
Median loan
$63K
50th percentile
Charge-off rate
15.4%
on 24 loans · rates vary by category · see methodology

Historical SBA 7(a) lending data, not predictive of future performance. How SBA charge-off rates are calculated

Repayment rate (PIF)
84.6%
5-yr charge-off
25.0%
Loans approved 2021+
Active lenders
14
Defaults
2
Typical loan rate
7.1%
avg rate to borrowers
Franchised industry avg
27.5%
brand beats franchise avg ↓
Jobs supported
89
2.1 per loan
Lender concentration
31%
top lender's share

Borrower mix: 25% went to startups / new businesses, 75% to established operators

Franchise vs independent — in professional and management development training, franchised businesses charge off at 27.5% vs 16.0% for independents — franchising is associated with 72% higher SBA default risk in this category.

Top lenders financing Dale Carnegie franchisees

California Bank of Commerce, NA5 loans0.0%
Manufacturers and Traders Trust Company2 loans—
Independence Bank1 loans100.0%

Showing 3 of 14 lenders. The full breakdown — every lender, state distribution, interest rates & risk ratings — is in the SBA Lending Report below.

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

Total loans
1
Loan volume
$237K
Charge-off rate
N/A
Jobs created
1

Historical SBA 504 lending data via CDCs, not predictive of future performance.

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

Lender network · 7(a) + 504

SBA Lending Report

Full lending analysis for Dale Carnegie from SBA 7(a) FOIA data.

Principal loss rate
14.3%
Avg SBA guarantee
64%
Avg interest rate
7.08%
Avg chargeoff amount
$302K
Lender concentration
31.3%
Job velocity
2.1 per $100K
NAICS benchmark
11.1%
NAICS 611430
Jobs supported
89

Top SBA lendersTop lender holds 31% of loans

#LenderLoansVolumeDefault %
1California Bank of Commerce, NA5$275K0.0%
2Manufacturers and Traders Trust Company2$550KN/A
3Independence Bank1$150K100.0%
4Live Oak Banking Company1$675KN/A
5Amarillo National Bank1$485K100.0%
6Five Star Bank1$45KN/A
7First Merchants Bank1$50KN/A
8Old National Bank1$886KN/A
9Columbia Bank1$20K0.0%
10Pinnacle Bank1$1000KN/A

Geographic failure vector

StateLoansDefaultsRate
CACalifornia500.0%
NYNew York30--
GAGeorgia10--
MIMichigan10--
NDNorth Dakota10--
NJNew Jersey10--
NVNevada10--
OHOhio11100.0%
OROregon100.0%
TXTexas11100.0%

SBA 7(a) lending trend

2018
4
2019
3
2020
4
2022
3
2024
1
2025
1

Borrower profile

Unanswered6 (38%)
New (< 2 yr)4 (25%)
Existing (2+ yr)4 (25%)
Ownership change1 (6%)
Established (5+ yr)1 (6%)

Source: SBA 7(a) + 504 FOIA loan-level data, matched by FranchiseVerdict

What could kill this investment?

SBA loans here charge off near the 16.0% national average.

SBA charge-off15.4% · 24 loans
Verdict score56/100 (higher is better)
Litigation0 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

BAbove average56Verdict score 56/100

Dale Carnegie presents meaningful risk due to stagnant growth, missing financial disclosure, aggressive royalty structure, and lack of evidence franchisees achieve positive ROI.

Moderate confidence±10 pts
4666

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · CohnReznick LLP

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $19.5MYr 2: $20.1MNon-royalty: $1.7M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Net revenues for fiscal years ended August 31, 2021 ($19,544K) and 2020 ($20,103K), audited, in thousands. Other income, net of $1,676K reported separately below income from operations.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: Yes
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: Yes

Score breakdown · what drove the 56 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MINORStagnant unit growth at 0.7% YoY indicates a mature or declining system with minimal expansion momentum
  2. 02MEDFinancial performance metrics (avg revenue and net income) not disclosed in FDD Item 19, making ROI assessment impossible
  3. 03MINORTiered royalty structure up to 12% is aggressive and disproportionately punishes underperforming locations, creating cash flow pressure
  4. 04MED143 total units is a small franchise system with limited brand recognition and support infrastructure compared to competitors
  5. 05MED10-year term is unusually long for a training/services business with no disclosed unit economics or franchisee profitability data

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 107 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 15.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term10 yrs
Renewal term10 yrs
TerritoryExclusive (favorable vs category)
Initial training103 hrs

Source: FDD 2021 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term10 years
Renewal term10 years
Territory typeExclusive territory
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryℹYes
Territory population1,000,000
Online sales rightsRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorRequired
Non-compete (years)ℹ1 year
Non-compete (miles)ℹ50 mi
Right of first refusalℹYes
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Mandatory arbitrationNo
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawNY
Litigation count0

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
43 hrs
On-the-job training
0 hrs
Training location
Melville, New York or such other location as designated
Ongoing training
Required
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10
POS system
DCT Client Builder, Salesforce, Microsoft Office 365
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✗Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Technology: DCT Client Builder, Salesforce, Microsoft Office 365

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

45 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 45 contacts · $49
Free preview
(804) 270-••••VA
Unlock all 45 contacts
(954) 961-••••FL
(704) 262-••••NC
(972) 702-••••TX
(808) 538-••••HI

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Dale Carnegie franchise?

The total investment to open a Dale Carnegie franchise ranges from $93K – $246K, with an initial franchise fee of $20K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Dale Carnegie franchise owners earn?

Dale Carnegie makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns Dale Carnegie?

Dale Carnegie is franchised by Dale Carnegie & Associates, Inc.. Source: FDD Item 1, 2021 filing.

What is Item 19 in the Dale Carnegie FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Dale Carnegie FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Dale Carnegie's franchise failure rate?

Based on SBA 7(a) loan data, Dale Carnegie has a charge-off rate of 15.4% across 24 loans, meaning 15.4% of franchise loans were charged off. Charge-off rates are one proxy for franchise risk, though they do not capture all closures. This data comes from FOIA-sourced SBA lending records.

How many Dale Carnegie franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Dale Carnegie has 143 total units in the United States, including 142 franchised units and 1 company-owned units. 4 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is Dale Carnegie a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Dale Carnegie as a B-grade franchise with a verdict score of 56 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Dale Carnegie, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Education franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Education category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.