Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
GradePower Learning logo

GradePower Learning Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

EducationONFranchising since 2017
CAverageAverage38/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$126K – $226K
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Under 10 loans (8)

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-01096FDD 2025Data QualityExcellent81%
Owner-operator requiredYes: Protected territory

Data from FDD filing + SBA 7(a) records

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

GradePower Learning is an after-school tutoring franchise providing cognitive, subject, and test-prep instruction for K-12 students. Franchisees run a learning center managing tutors, enrollment, and student progress.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A GradePower Learning franchise requires a total initial investment of $126K – $226K, including a $38K franchise fee and an ongoing 10.0% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: C (Average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: medium - issued 12 to 24 months ago; a newer filing is likely on file

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored4 of 5 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing; the rest are marked “Not cited” beside the figure.

Overview

Investment
$126K – $226K
36th pct Education
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
10.0%
65th pct Education
Units
20
40th pct Education
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Education · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$126K – $226K
Median $194K
near median
Franchise Fee
$38K – $38K
Median $45K
below median ↓, better than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$35K – $50K
Median $25K
above median ↑, worse than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
10.0%
Median 7.0%
above median ↑, worse than category
Ongoing Fees
13.0% of rev
Median 9.0%
above median ↑, worse than category
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Under 10 loans (8)
Insufficient SBA coverage: 8 loans, rate hidden below 10
System Size
20 units
Median 20 units
near median
Turnover Rate
N/A
Median 0.0%
Territory
Protected, not exclusive
Limits on the franchisor opening nearby; not an exclusive zone
Owner-Operator
Required
You must run it yourself
Litigation
3 cases
Some history

Green = favorable by >10% vs Education median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $126K – $226K including a $38K franchise fee, 10.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict C (Average), verdict score 38/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHPositive: net +2 franchised outlets in the latest year (2 opened, 0 closed) (Item 20).
  • DATAThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
G.B. Tokani, Inc.
Parent company
Oxford Learning Centres, Inc.
FDD Item 1, page 7 of the 2025 FDD
Ultimate parent
BrightFutures 1 Inc.
FDD Item 1, page 7 of the 2025 FDD
Predecessor
Oxford Group International, LLC
Prior franchisor entity
CEO title
CEO
Robert Nicholas Whitehead
CEO experience
40 yrs
Years in role or industry
Incorporated in
DE
HQ
747 Hyde Park Road, Suite 230, London, Ontario, Canada N6H 3S3
Auditor
KPMG LLP
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$1.2M
vs $1.1M prior year
Management churn noted
Frequent turnover
Item 2 disclosed frequent executive changes

Overview

About

CEO
Robert Nicholas Whitehead
Headquarters
ON
Founded
2003
FDD year
2025
States available
11

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 9% below the typical education franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$126K – $226KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 19 of the 2025 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$37,500Verified — printed on page 12 of the 2025 FDD (Item 5), and another item of the same filing prints the same figure on a labelled row, which is an independent restatement.
Royalty10.0%Not cited — published from our reading of the franchisor's disclosure document; the page it is printed on has not been located.
Ad fund3.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 13 of the 2025 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Working capital$35K – $50K

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 5–7

Full Item 7 breakdown15 line items

Initial investment breakdown

Item 7 initial investment line items
Line itemLowHigh
Initial Franchise Feenot refundable$38K$38K
Management Information System License Feenot refundable$1K$1K
Furniturenot refundable$18K$22K
Equipment and Softwarenot refundable$3K$5K
Leasehold and Improvementsnot refundable$0$45K
Lease and Utility Deposits$2K$6K
Rent (Six Months)not refundable$9K$26K
Curriculum, Literature, Education Materialsnot refundable$10K$11K
Office Suppliesnot refundable$550$2K
Professional Pre-Opening Feesnot refundable$1K$3K
Signsnot refundable$3K$7K
Shippingnot refundable$1K$5K
Expenses during trainingnot refundable$4K$5K
Insurancenot refundable$1K$3K
Additional Funds for First 6 Monthsnot refundable$35K$50K
Total initial investment$126K$226K

Line items extracted from FDD Item 7. Ranges reflect the franchisor's stated low and high per line. Total is the sum of line-item lows / highs — actual costs may fall outside this range depending on market and build-out scope.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$126K – $226K
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$35K – $50K
Middle of category vs category
Franchise fee
$38K – $38K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
10.0%
Set by a formula · typical 6–8%
Ad fund
3.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
13.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

GradePower Learning: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty10.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund3.0% of gross sales
Technology fee$235
Training fee$7K
Transfer fee$16K
Renewal fee$9K
Inventory (initial)$10K – $11K
Total fee load13.0% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

GradePower Learning makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one GradePower Learning unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $126K–$226K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $35K–$50K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$218K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2025 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 125 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 13.0% — above the Education median of 9.0%.

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

System expanding at 5.3% CAGR over 3 years across 20 units — operators are staying and new ones are joining.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Education medians

How GradePower Learning Compares

Metric
GradePower Learning
Category median
vs median
Investment
$176K
$194Kmiddle half $94K–$625K · n=164
Near median
Revenue
N/A
$408Kmiddle half $269K–$1.2M · n=72
N/A
Unit Count
20
20middle half 6–79 · n=164
Near median

Category median of published Education brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units20Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 49 of the 2025 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
3-yr growth+5.3% (favorable vs category)

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
20
Opened
2
Last reporting year
Closed
0
Terminated
0
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
N/A
Company-owned
0
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
100%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
+5.3%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
+5.3%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
0
Not renewed
0
Transferred
1
Transfer rate
7.9%
Owners selling to other franchisees
Termination rate
0.7%
Franchisor-initiated terminations
Ceased ops
0.7%
Units that stopped operating
2022
19
Franchised units
2023
18-1
Franchised units
2024
20+2
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 12 · 11 states reported

The Territory Map

FDD Item 12 reports the state count, but the specific list isn't in our current data. The map will appear once we re-extract from the FDD or enough franchisee contacts are available.

11

states with franchisees (per FDD Item 12)

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA loan disclosures. This brand has only 8 7(a) loans on file; statistical reliability is limited below 10 loans.

Total loans
8
Loan volume
$1.3M
Median loan
$465K
50th percentile
Charge-off rate
Under 10 loans (8)
Insufficient SBA coverage: 8 loans, rate hidden below 10

Historical SBA 7(a) lending data, not predictive of future performance. How SBA charge-off rates are calculated

Repayment rate (PIF)
Under 10 loans (8)
5-yr charge-off
Under 10 loans (8)
Loans approved 2021+
Active lenders
7
Defaults
N/A

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offUnder 10 loans (8)
Verdict score38/100 (higher is better)
Litigation3 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

CAverage38Verdict score 38/100

GradePower Learning presents caution-level risk: minimal system growth, undisclosed unit economics, recurring litigation with franchisees, and aggressive royalty structures warrant deep validation before committing $226k+ capital.

High confidence±6 pts
3244

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: the franchisor is a named party (defendant).

Item 3 discloses three matters: (1) a completed AAA arbitration, Merit Strategic, LLC and Anthony Mauro v. G.B. Tokani, Inc., et al. (franchisee alleged improper termination, fraudulent misrepresentation, and NY Franchise Sales Act violation; settled June 2019). (2) Matthew Baxter and 9198539 Canada Inc. v. Oxford Learning Centres, Inc., et al. (Ontario), wrongful dismissal/franchise dispute, settled Nov 2017. (3) Oxford Learning Centres, Inc., et al. v. Jordan Nash, et al. (Ontario), franchisor-as-plaintiff economic-relations/extortion claims, dismissed Oct 2023 after Sept 2023 release.

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · KPMG LLP

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $1.2MYr 2: $1.1MNon-royalty: $0.0M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes

Score breakdown · what drove the 38 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MINORStagnant unit growth (2.0% YoY) suggests market saturation or franchisee satisfaction issues
  2. 02MINORNo Item 19 financial disclosure prevents validation of $125k-$226k investment ROI claims
  3. 03HIGHMultiple litigation matters (arbitration + 2 Canadian settlements) indicate franchisor-franchisee relationship strain
  4. 04MINORAggressive royalty floor ($1,250/month minimum) creates cash flow pressure for underperforming locations
  5. 05MEDHigh franchise fee ($37,500) relative to disclosed average revenue/income data (completely absent from FDD)
  6. 06MINOR10-year term lock-in combined with unclear unit economics increases downside risk exposure

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 125 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Full litigation history from the FDD (Items 3 and 4) →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 13.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term10 yrs
Renewal term10 yrs
TerritoryProtected, not exclusive
Initial training120 hrs

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term10 years
Renewal term10 years
Allowed renewalsℹ1
Territory typeProtected territory
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Online sales rightsℹRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorRequired
Non-compete (years)ℹ2 years
Non-compete (miles)ℹ25 mi
Right of first refusalℹYes
RoFR response window30 days
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Mandatory arbitrationYes
Arbitration locationLondon, Ontario, Canada (or next-closest city with an AAA office)
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawDE
Litigation count3
View Item 3 litigation summary

Item 3 discloses three matters: (1) a completed AAA arbitration, Merit Strategic, LLC and Anthony Mauro v. G.B. Tokani, Inc., et al. (franchisee alleged improper termination, fraudulent misrepresentation, and NY Franchise Sales Act violation; settled June 2019). (2) Matthew Baxter and 9198539 Canada Inc. v. Oxford Learning Centres, Inc., et al. (Ontario), wrongful dismissal/franchise dispute, settled Nov 2017. (3) Oxford Learning Centres, Inc., et al. v. Jordan Nash, et al. (Ontario), franchisor-as-plaintiff economic-relations/extortion claims, dismissed Oct 2023 after Sept 2023 release.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
50 hrs
On-the-job training
20 hrs
Training location
London, Ontario, Canada, virtually/online, or another location designated by franchisor
Ongoing training
Required
POS system
Management Information System (MIS)
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✗Lease negotiation help

Technology: Management Information System (MIS)

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

4 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 4 contacts · $49
Free preview
208 608 ••••
Unlock all 4 contacts
519 747 ••••
519 747 ••••
512 892 ••••

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a GradePower Learning franchise?

The total investment to open a GradePower Learning franchise ranges from $126K – $226K, with an initial franchise fee of $38K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do GradePower Learning franchise owners earn?

GradePower Learning makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns GradePower Learning?

GradePower Learning is franchised by G.B. Tokani, Inc.. Its parent company is Oxford Learning Centres, Inc.. The ultimate parent named in the FDD is BrightFutures 1 Inc.. Source: FDD Item 1, 2025 filing.

What is Item 19 in the GradePower Learning FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the GradePower Learning FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is GradePower Learning's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for GradePower Learning (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many GradePower Learning franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, GradePower Learning has 20 total units in the United States, including 20 franchised units and 0 company-owned units. 2 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is GradePower Learning a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates GradePower Learning as a C-grade franchise with a verdict score of 38 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent GradePower Learning, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Education franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Education category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.