Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson logo
FV-00642Data Quality·Excellent81%FDD 2024 · 2yr old
Manager-run OKNo: No territory protection

Country Inn & Suites by Radisson Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

LodgingMDFranchising since 1987CEOPatrick S. PaciousWebsite Report an errorFranchisor? Claim this listing

Data from FDD filing + SBA 7(a) records

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

This data is from a 2024 FDD. Current terms may differ. Always verify with the franchisor's latest disclosure document.
BAbove average61/100

Country Inn & Suites by Radisson is a midscale, limited-service hotel franchise. Franchisees own and operate individual properties, running front desk, housekeeping, and revenue management to brand standards.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Country Inn & Suites by Radisson franchise requires a total initial investment of $678K – $2.2M, including a $50K franchise fee and an ongoing 6.0% royalty[2]. The 2024 FDD on file does not yield a unit-revenue figure we can publish. SBA 7(a) loans show a 12.1% charge-off rate across 243 loans[1]. FranchiseVerdict grade: B (Above average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Data last verified · figures per the 2024 FDD issuance

Overview

Investment
$678K – $2.2M
22nd pct Lodging
Avg gross sales
N/A
Projection
Royalty
6.0%
53rd pct Lodging
Units
425
61st pct Lodging
SBA charge-off
12.1%
% of SBA 7(a) loans not repaid · median varies by category

Quick verdict · Lodging · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$678K – $2.2M
Avg $10.5M
below avg ↓
Franchise Fee
$50K – $50K
Avg $60K
Liquid Capital Req'd
$15K – $40K
Avg $566K
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Non-annual metric
Royalty Rate
6.0%
Avg 5.4%
Ongoing Fees
9.5% of rev
Avg 10.4%
SBA Charge-Off Rate
12.1%
Avg 5.7%
above avg ↑
System Size
425 units
Avg 229 units
Turnover Rate
2.6%
Avg 4.0%
Territory
Not protected
Franchisor can open nearby
Owner-Operator
Optional
Can hire a manager
Litigation
3 cases
Some history

Green = favorable by >10% vs Lodging avg · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $678K – $2.2M including a $50K franchise fee, 6.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSItem 19 reports hotel occupancy metrics rather than annual gross sales, so unit revenue is not directly comparable.
  • RISKVerdict B (Above average), verdict score 61/100 (higher is better). SBA loan charge-off rate of 12.1% across 243 loans (above the 16% franchise average, based on all SBA 7(a) franchise lending, 2010–2025).
  • DATAItem 19 reports hotel occupancy metrics rather than annual gross sales, so unit revenue is not directly comparable. Ask franchisees directly for full unit-level revenue.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Choice Hotels International, Inc.
Parent company
Choice Hotels International, Inc.
Predecessor
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Inc. (formerly Country Inns & Suites By Carlson, Inc.)
Prior franchisor entity
Incorporated in
DE
HQ
915 Meeting Street, Suite 600, North Bethesda, Maryland 20852
Auditor
Ernst & Young LLP
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$1.5B
vs $1.4B prior year

Independent franchisee associations

  • Franchise Advisory Council (FAC)

Franchisee-led councils or alliances disclosed in Item 20. Indicates operator voice.

Overview

About

CEO
Patrick S. Pacious
Headquarters
MD
Founded
1963
FDD year
2024
States available
42

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 86% below the typical lodging franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$678K – $2.2MCited, not corroborated — printed on page 49 of the 2024 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$50,000Not cited — published from our reading of the franchisor's disclosure document; the page it is printed on has not been located.
Royalty + ad fund6.0% + 3.5%
Working capital$15K – $40K

Source: FDD 2024 · Items 5–7

Full Item 7 breakdown15 line items

Initial investment breakdown

Item 7 initial investment line items
Line itemLowHigh
Affiliation Fee$50K$65K
Property Improvements$519K$1.7M
Insurance$3K$88K
Advertising$3K$40K
Pre-Opening Photography$1K$3K
Hardware to operate choiceADVANTAGE property management system$4K$11K
choiceADVANTAGE Software License and Systems Training$9K$11K
Opening Inventory of Supplies$24K$330K
Orientation and Hospitality Operations Training Fees$1K$3K
Mandatory On-Premises Signs$20K$100K
Interior Design Waiver Fee$0$15K
Architectural Design Review & Construction Services$0$15K
Design and engineering costs and inspections$10K$90K
Working Capital Required Before Operations Begin$15K$40K
Additional Funds for 3-Month Initial Period$25K$50K
Total initial investment$683K$2.6M

Line items extracted from FDD Item 7. Ranges reflect the franchisor's stated low and high per line. Total is the sum of line-item lows / highs — actual costs may fall outside this range depending on market and build-out scope.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$678K – $2.2M
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$15K – $40K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$50K – $50K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
6.0%
typical 6–8%
Ad fund
3.5%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
9.5%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Country Inn & Suites by Radisson: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty6.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund3.5% of gross sales
Technology fee$472
Training fee$3K
Transfer fee$65K
Inventory (initial)$24K $330K
Total fee load9.5% of rev

What do units actually make?

Item 19 typeoccupancy/ADR/RevPAR metri…
Sample size417 outlets

Source: FDD 2024 · Item 19

ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

No Item 19 revenue figure for Country Inn & Suites by Radisson is on file. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Country Inn & Suites by Radisson unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 68%
typ 35%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $678K–$2.2M (midpoint used)
FDD reports $15K–$40K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
EBITDA margin
Total invested
$1.5M
Payback
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2024 FDD

Financial Performance

An occupancy metric, not unit revenue

Item 19 type
occupancy/ADR/RevPAR metrics only; no per-unit gross sales figures
Sample size
417 outlets
vs category median 98 · large
Reporting year
2023
Fiscal year the figures cover
Source filing
FDD 2024
Disclosed in the 2024 filing, covering 2023
Gross sales rank
No comparison data
Investment cost rank22th
Lower investment ranks lower (better)
Royalty rate rank53th
Lower royalty = lower percentile (better)
Unit count rank61th
vs Lodging peers
Risk score rank36th
Lower risk = lower percentile (better)

Compared against 175 Lodging brands

Showing the headline figures — all 133 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 9.5% (near the Lodging average).

Disclosure

Item 19 reports hotel occupancy metrics rather than annual gross sales, so unit revenue is not directly comparable.

Operator retention

System contracting at -5.0% CAGR over 3 years. Investigate whether closures are franchisor-driven consolidation or franchisee exits.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Lodging averages

How Country Inn & Suites by Radisson Compares

Metric
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson
Category Avg
vs Avg
Investment
$1.5M
$10.5M
Revenue
N/A
$1.4M
Unit Count
425
229.333

Is the system healthy?

Total units425Verified — printed on page 88 of the 2024 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it two ways.
3-yr growth-5.0%
Turnover rate2.6%

Source: FDD 2024 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
425
Opened
3
Last reporting year
Closed
11
Terminated
1
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
2
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
2.6%
Company-owned
4
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
99%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
-5.0%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
-5.0%
Compounded over last 3 years

3-year detail · Item 20

Opened (3yr)
8
Closed (3yr)
2
Terminated (3yr)
4
Non-renewed (3yr)
2
Transfers (3yr)
26
Reacquired (3yr)
2
Franchisor bought back
Projected new
0
Franchisor's next-year forecast
Termination rate
1.3%
Franchisor-initiated terminations
Ceased ops
0.4%
Units that stopped operating
2021
443
Franchised units
2022
429-14
Franchised units
2023
421-8
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 12 · 42 states reported

The Territory Map

FDD Item 12 reports the state count, but the specific list isn't in our current data. The map will appear once we re-extract from the FDD or enough franchisee contacts are available.

42

states with franchisees (per FDD Item 12)

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

C
SBA Lending Health
Average SBA lending record · 12.1% charge-off
Total loans
243
Loan volume
$458.5M
Median loan
$1.9M
average
Charge-off rate
12.1%
rates vary by category · see methodology

Historical SBA 7(a) lending data, not predictive of future performance. How SBA charge-off rates are calculated

Repayment rate (PIF)
N/A
5-yr charge-off
N/A
Loans approved 2021+
Active lenders
60
Defaults
21

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

What could kill this investment?

SBA loans charge off at 12.1% — 24% below the 16.0% national norm, i.e. lower lender-observed risk.

SBA charge-off12.1%
Verdict score61/100 (higher is better)
Litigation3 cases
Going concernClear

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

BAbove average61Verdict score 61/100

Country Inn & Suites exhibits high-risk characteristics including system decline, franchisee financial distress (84 collection actions), material litigation alleging RICO violations, undisclosed financial performance, and unprotected territories—warranting extreme caution.

High confidence±3 pts
4854

Litigation (Item 3)

Three pending cases including a Canadian class action re destination marketing fees, a stayed multi-plaintiff discrimination/antitrust suit with related arbitration, and a Florida breach-of-contract/trade-secrets case. Franchisor initiated many actions in prior year to recover royalties. Largest resolved adverse judgment was $779,398.

Largest disclosed settlement: $779,398

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Ernst & Young LLP

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $1544.2MYr 2: $1401.9MNon-royalty: $46.1M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Item 21 financials are the audited consolidated statements of the franchisor's parent, Choice Hotels International, Inc. (auditor served since 2014; report dated Feb 20, 2024). Figures are for fiscal years ended Dec 31, 2023 (yr1) and Dec 31, 2022 (yr2), reported in thousands. Total revenues of $1,544.165M include $784.16M of 'other revenues from franchised and managed properties'; 'Other' revenue line was $46.051M. Total shareholders' equity (net worth) was only $35.598M due to large treasury stock balance.

ⓘ These are the parent company's consolidated financials (the parent guarantees the franchisor), not this brand's standalone results — the figure reflects the whole corporate group, not this brand alone.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: Yes
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No

Score breakdown · what drove the 61 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MINORDeclining unit count (-1.9% YoY) indicates system contraction and market saturation concerns
  2. 02HIGHMultiple material litigations including RICO/antitrust allegations by franchisees suggest systemic franchisor-franchisee relationship problems
  3. 03MINOR84 royalty collection actions in one year demonstrates widespread franchisee financial distress and payment defaults
  4. 04HIGHClass action litigation regarding destination marketing fees suggests hidden or unexpected fee structures impacting franchisee profitability
  5. 05MINORGuest data misappropriation lawsuit raises operational and legal compliance risks
  6. 06MINORUnprotected territory creates direct competition risk from other Country Inn & Suites locations and cannibalization of market revenue
  7. 07HIGHHigh litigation volume (4 material cases resolved + multiple pending) indicates contentious franchisor practices and dispute resolution patterns

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 133 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Full litigation history from the FDD (Items 3 and 4) →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 9.5% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term20 yrs
TerritoryNot exclusive
Initial training63 hrs

Source: FDD 2024 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term20 years
Allowed renewals0
Territory typenone
Protected territoryNo
Exclusive territoryNo
Online sales rightsGranted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorOptional
Right of first refusalNo
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Termination grounds4
Curable defaults5
Mandatory arbitrationYes
Arbitration locationMaryland
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawMD
Litigation count3
View Item 3 litigation summary

Three pending cases including a Canadian class action re destination marketing fees, a stayed multi-plaintiff discrimination/antitrust suit with related arbitration, and a Florida breach-of-contract/trade-secrets case. Franchisor initiated many actions in prior year to recover royalties. Largest resolved adverse judgment was $779,398.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
47 hrs
On-the-job training
0 hrs
Training location
North Bethesda, Maryland or Scottsdale, Arizona (Choice Onboard); virtual/online (HOST)
Ongoing training
Required
Time to open
18 mo
From signing to launch
Site selection
Franchisee selects, franchisor must approve
Franchisor financing
Offered
Item 10
POS system
choiceADVANTAGE
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

Site selection assistance
Grand opening support
Lease negotiation help

Technology: choiceADVANTAGE

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

184 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 184 contacts · $49
Free preview
435592••••
Unlock all 184 contacts
615406••••
650281••••
757259••••
717552••••

FDD download

Country Inn & Suites by Radisson · FDD (2024) PDF

Single-page checkout · instant download · CSV export of contacts available separately above

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Country Inn & Suites by Radisson franchise?

The total investment to open a Country Inn & Suites by Radisson franchise ranges from $678K – $2.2M, with an initial franchise fee of $50K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Country Inn & Suites by Radisson franchise owners earn?

No average owner earnings figure for Country Inn & Suites by Radisson is on file. Item 19 — where a franchisor may disclose what its outlets earn — is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and we have not established what this brand's FDD says. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

What is Item 19 in the Country Inn & Suites by Radisson FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Country Inn & Suites by Radisson FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Country Inn & Suites by Radisson's franchise failure rate?

Based on SBA 7(a) loan data, Country Inn & Suites by Radisson has a charge-off rate of 12.1% across 243 loans, meaning 12.1% of franchise loans were charged off. Charge-off rates are one proxy for franchise risk, though they do not capture all closures. This data comes from FOIA-sourced SBA lending records.

How many Country Inn & Suites by Radisson franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Country Inn & Suites by Radisson has 425 total units in the United States, including 421 franchised units and 4 company-owned units. 3 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is Country Inn & Suites by Radisson a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Country Inn & Suites by Radisson as a B-grade franchise with a verdict score of 61 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Lodging franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Lodging category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.