Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
COLORS ON PARADE logo

Colors On Parade Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

AutomotiveSCFranchising since 1991
AStrongest tierStrongest tier71/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$22K – $98K
Disclosed sales
partial, no system average
SBA charge-off
Under 10 loans (2)

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-00599FDD 2025Data QualityExcellent81%
Owner-operator requiredNo: No territory protection

Data from FDD filing + SBA 7(a) records

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

Colors on Parade is a mobile automotive-reconditioning franchise providing paintless dent repair, paint touch-up, and cosmetic repairs for dealers and consumers. Franchisees run a van-based service traveling to dealerships and customers in a territory.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A COLORS ON PARADE franchise requires a total initial investment of $22K – $98K, including a $3K – $8K franchise fee and an ongoing 30.0% royalty[2]. The 2025 FDD on file does not yield a unit-revenue figure we can publish. FranchiseVerdict grade: A (Strongest tier), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: 2025 filing · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: medium - a newer filing may exist

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored4 of 5 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing; the rest are marked “Not cited” beside the figure.

Overview

Investment
$22K – $98K
1st pct Automotive
Avg gross sales
N/A
Outlet subset
Royalty
30.0%
50th pct Automotive
Units
214
40th pct Automotive
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Automotive · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$22K – $98K
Median $368K
below median ↓, better than category
Franchise Fee
$3K – $8K
Median $35K
below median ↓, better than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$2K – $15K
Median $40K
below median ↓, better than category
Avg Revenue
Partial, no system average
No system average in Item 19
Royalty Rate
30.0%
Median 6.0%
above median ↑, worse than category
Ongoing Fees
20.0% of rev
Median 8.0%
above median ↑, worse than category
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Under 10 loans (2)
Insufficient SBA coverage: 2 loans, rate hidden below 10
System Size
214 units
Median 92 units
above median ↑, better than category
Turnover Rate
9.9%
Median 2.4%
above median ↑, worse than category
Territory
None
The franchisor can open or license outlets nearby
Owner-Operator
Required
You must run it yourself
Litigation
None disclosed
Clean record

Green = favorable by >10% vs Automotive median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $22K – $98K including a $8K franchise fee, 30.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSAverage fiscal-2022 gross sales for the 179 franchises operating more than three years (printed p.28), which is 179 of the 203 that had operated at least a year. All units are mobile. Data is fiscal 2022.
  • RISKVerdict A (Strongest tier), verdict score 71/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHFlat: no net change in franchised outlets in the latest year (26 opened, 22 closed) (Item 20).
  • DATAItem 19 reports outlet revenue, but not in a form that yields a per-outlet average we can compare across brands. Ask franchisees directly for full unit-level revenue.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Total Car Franchising Corporation
Predecessor
TCI, Inc.
Prior franchisor entity
CEO title
President, CEO and Director
Jeffrey Cox
Incorporated in
SC
HQ
125 Daytona Street, Conway, SC 29526
Auditor
Smith Sapp Professional Association
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$3.4M
vs $3.5M prior year
Management churn noted
Frequent turnover
Item 2 disclosed frequent executive changes

Independent franchisee associations

  • Franchise Advisory Council (FAC)

Franchisee-led councils or alliances disclosed in Item 20. Indicates operator voice.

Overview

About

CEO
Jeffrey Cox
Headquarters
SC
Founded
1991
FDD year
2025
States available
25

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 84% below the typical automotive franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$22K – $98KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 12 of the 2025 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$7,500Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 12 of the 2025 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Royalty30.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 9 of the 2025 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fund0.0%Not cited — published from our reading of the franchisor's disclosure document; the page it is printed on has not been located.
Working capital$2K – $15K

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 5–7

FDD Item 7 · 2025 filing

Initial investment breakdown

COLORS ON PARADE: Item 7 initial investment breakdown
Cost componentLowHigh
Initial franchise fee$8K$8K
Working capital (3–6 mo)$2K$15K
Equipment, build-out, other$12K$75K
Total initial investment$22K$98K

Source: COLORS ON PARADE 2025 FDD, Items 5 and 7[2]. “Equipment, build-out, other” is computed as total minus disclosed line items above.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$22K – $98K
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$2K – $15K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$3K – $8K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
30.0%
Tiered by sales volume · typical 6–8%
Ad fund
0.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
20.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

COLORS ON PARADE: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty30.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund0.0%
Training fee$8K
Transfer fee$1K
Renewal fee$4K
Total fee load20.0% of rev

What do units actually make?

Avg gross salesNot extracted
Median gross salesNot extracted
Item 19 typegross sales
Sample size196

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 19

ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

No Item 19 revenue figure for COLORS ON PARADE is on file. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one COLORS ON PARADE unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $22K–$98K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $2K–$15K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$68K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2025 FDD

Financial Performance

Average fiscal-2022 gross sales for the 179 franchises operating more than three years (printed p.28), which is 179 of the 203 that had operated at least a year. All units are mobile. Data is fiscal 2022.

Reported for a subset of outlets rather than the whole system

Item 19 type
gross sales
Sample size
196
vs category median 70 · large
Reporting year
2022
Fiscal year the figures cover
Source filing
FDD 2025
Disclosed in the 2025 filing, covering 2022
Transparency
4 / 10
vs category median 4 / 10 · typical
Gross sales rank
No comparison data
Investment cost rank1th
Lower investment ranks lower (better)
Royalty rate rank50th
Lower royalty = lower percentile (better)
Unit count rank40th
vs Automotive peers
Risk score rank17th
Lower risk = lower percentile (better)

Compared against 167 Automotive brands

Showing the headline figures — all 103 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Item 19 · by group

What the filing does disclose

Item 19 of this FDD reports performance in more than one group. We publish no single average for this brand; the groups the filing does disclose are listed below, quoted from its own Item 19 table.

Each row below is quoted from the FDD's own Item 19 table. Gross sales are not profit.

Outlet subset

Item 19 detail

What these figures cover

Average fiscal-2022 gross sales for the 179 franchises operating more than three years (printed p.28), which is 179 of the 203 that had operated at least a year. All units are mobile. Data is fiscal 2022.

By years open

SegmentSampleAvg
Franchises Operating More Than 3 Years179$144K
Franchises Operating 2-3 Years13$92K
Franchises Operating 1-2 Years11$150K

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 20.0% — above the Automotive median of 8.0%.

Disclosure

Item 19 reports outlet revenue, but not in a form that yields a per-outlet average we can compare across brands.

Operator retention

System roughly stable (+2.8% 3-year CAGR) with 214 units.

Multi-unit rate

Only 5% of franchisees own multiple units. Could indicate challenging economics or a young system where operators haven't had time to expand.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Automotive medians

How Colors On Parade Compares

Metric
Colors On Parade
Category median
vs median
Investment
$60K
$368Kmiddle half $178K–$858K · n=95
Below median, better than category
Revenue
N/A
$1.0Mmiddle half $695K–$1.8M · n=38
N/A
Unit Count
214
92middle half 23–293 · n=94
Above median, better than category

Category median of published Automotive brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units214Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 37 of the 2025 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
3-yr growth+2.8% (favorable vs category)
Turnover rate9.9% (favorable vs category)

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
214
Opened
26
Last reporting year
Closed
22
Turnover rate
9.9%
Company-owned
0
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
100%
vs corporate-owned
Multi-unit owners
5.0%
Net growth (3-yr)
+2.8%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
+2.8%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Signed, not yet open
0
0.00 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
12
Franchisor's next-year forecast
2022
223
Franchised units
2023
214-9
Franchised units
2024
214±0
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 20 · 8 states with active franchisees

The Territory Map

Derived from franchisee contact records. Shows states with at least one current operator. Not where the franchisor is registered to sell new units (that data is re-extracting in a future refresh).

AK
ME
VT
NH
MA
RI
CT
NY
NJ
PA
DE
MD
DC
WA
OR
CA
NV
ID
MT
WY
UT
CO
AZ
NM
ND
SD
NE
KS
OK
TX
MN
IA
MO
AR
LA
WI
IL
MS
TN
MI
IN
KY
AL
OH
WV
GA
VA
NC
SC
FL
HI
Active operators · 8 states
No contacts on file

States derived from franchisee contact records (FDD Item 20). Shows states with at least one current operator on file. Full state registration data (Item 12) will appear on a future FDD refresh.

Available to sell in · Item 12

  • California
  • New York
  • Virginia

States where the franchisor is registered to sell new franchises (FDD registration filings).

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

82 current owners across 9 states.

  • FL 23
  • CA 19
  • AR 13
  • AL 9
  • GA 8
  • CO 7
  • CT 1
  • DE 1
  • DL 1

Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA loan disclosures. This brand has only 2 7(a) loans on file; statistical reliability is limited below 10 loans.

Total loans
2
Loan volume
$150K
Median loan
$75K
50th percentile
Charge-off rate
Under 10 loans (2)
Insufficient SBA coverage: 2 loans, rate hidden below 10

Historical SBA 7(a) lending data, not predictive of future performance. How SBA charge-off rates are calculated

Repayment rate (PIF)
Under 10 loans (2)
5-yr charge-off
Under 10 loans (2)
Loans approved 2021+
Active lenders
2
Defaults
N/A

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offUnder 10 loans (2)
Verdict score71/100 (higher is better)
Litigation0 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

AStrongest tier71Verdict score 71/100
Moderate confidence±10 pts
6181

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: officers or affiliates. The franchisor is not a named party in these cases.

No litigation required to be disclosed

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Smith Sapp Professional Association

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $3.4MYr 2: $3.5MNon-royalty: $0.9M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes

Score breakdown · what drove the 71 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MEDNet income not disclosed in FDD Item 19 — impossible to validate actual profitability claims
  2. 02MINORExtremely high royalty burden (20-30% of gross) combined with $143.5K avg revenue leaves minimal profit margin (~$28.7K-$57.4K gross after royalties alone)
  3. 03MINORMinimal system growth (1.8% YoY) with only 223 units — stagnant franchise system
  4. 04MINORNo territory protection — franchisees face cannibalization risk and direct competition from other franchisees
  5. 05MINORHigh royalty-to-revenue ratio suggests unit economics may not support franchisee profitability
  6. 06MINOR20-year term is unusually long and locks franchisees into relationship with struggling franchisor

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 103 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 20.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term20 yrs
Renewal term10 yrs
TerritoryNone (caution)
Initial training152 hrs

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term20 years
Renewal term10 years
Allowed renewalsℹ1
Territory typeNo territory protection
Protected territoryNo
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Territory population100,000
Online sales rightsℹRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorRequired
Non-compete (years)ℹ2 years
Right of first refusalℹYes
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Mandatory arbitrationYes
Arbitration locationConway, SC
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawSC
Litigation count0
View Item 3 litigation summary

No litigation required to be disclosed

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
80 hrs
On-the-job training
0 hrs
Training location
Conway, SC or Springdale, AR (paint); approved third parties (PDR and interior)
Ongoing training
Required
Time to open
1 mo
From signing to launch
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10
POS system
QuickBooks Pro
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✗Site selection assistance
✗Lease negotiation help

Technology: QuickBooks Pro

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

82 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 82 contacts · $49
Free preview
(706) 325-••••GA
Unlock all 82 contacts
(256) 640-••••AL
(858) 679-••••CA
(479) 250-••••AR
(949) 768-••••CA

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a COLORS ON PARADE franchise?

The total investment to open a COLORS ON PARADE franchise ranges from $22K – $98K, with an initial franchise fee of $8K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do COLORS ON PARADE franchise owners earn?

Item 19 of the COLORS ON PARADE FDD discloses figures for part of the system but no single average across all outlets. These are gross sales figures, not profit; the Revenue section shows what the filing reports and on what basis. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns COLORS ON PARADE?

COLORS ON PARADE is franchised by Total Car Franchising Corporation. Source: FDD Item 1, 2025 filing.

What is Item 19 in the COLORS ON PARADE FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the COLORS ON PARADE FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is COLORS ON PARADE's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for COLORS ON PARADE (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many COLORS ON PARADE franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, COLORS ON PARADE has 214 total units in the United States, including 214 franchised units and 0 company-owned units. 26 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is COLORS ON PARADE a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates COLORS ON PARADE as a A-grade franchise with a verdict score of 71 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent COLORS ON PARADE, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Automotive franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Automotive category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.