Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Breakaway BA logo

Breakaway BA Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Financial ServicesORFranchising since 2020
CAverageAverage45/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$11K – $35K
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Not SBA-matched

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-00384FDD 2025Data QualityStandard71%
Manager-run OKNo: No territory protection

Data from FDD filing

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

Breakaway is a financial services franchise offering fractional bookkeeping, controller, and CFO services to small and midsize businesses. Franchisees run local practices, building client accounts and managing service delivery teams.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Breakaway BA franchise requires a total initial investment of $11K – $35K and an ongoing 25.0% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: C (Average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: medium - issued 12 to 24 months ago; a newer filing is likely on file

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored3 of 3 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing.

Overview

Investment
$11K – $35K
2nd pct Financial Ser…
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
25.0%
61st pct Financial Ser…
Units
39
34th pct Financial Ser…
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Financial Services · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$11K – $35K
Median $94K
below median ↓, better than category
Franchise Fee
$0 – $0
Median $35K
below median ↓, better than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$5K – $10K
Median $10K
below median ↓, better than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
25.0%
Median 10.0%
above median ↑, worse than category
Ongoing Fees
25.0% of rev
Median 16.5%
above median ↑, worse than category
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Not SBA-matched
Not matched to SBA 7(a) loans
System Size
39 units
Median 50 units
below median ↓, worse than category
Turnover Rate
5.1%
Median 5.0%
near median
Territory
None
The franchisor can open or license outlets nearby
Owner-Operator
Optional
Can hire a manager
Litigation
None disclosed
Clean record

Green = favorable by >10% vs Financial Services median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $11K – $35K, 25.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict C (Average), verdict score 45/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHPositive: net +17 franchised outlets in the latest year (19 opened, 2 closed) (Item 20).
  • FLAGAuditor disclosed a going-concern note, which flagged doubt about the franchisor's ability to continue operations. Verify against the latest FDD.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
BREAKAWAY BA, LLC
Parent company
BREAKAWAY BOOKKEEPING & ADVISING, LLC
FDD Item 1, page 6 of the 2025 FDD
CEO title
Chief Executive Officer (Co-Founder)
Shea Keats
Founder active
Yes
Original founder still leading the business
Incorporated in
OR
HQ
22467 SW Ash St., Sherwood, Oregon 97140
Auditor
Fordham & Co LLP
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$2.8M
vs $2.0M prior year
Management churn noted
Frequent turnover
Item 2 disclosed frequent executive changes
⚠ Going-concern note
Disclosed in FDD 2025
Auditor flagged doubt about continued operations. Verify against the latest FDD before deciding.

Overview

About

CEO
Shea Keats
Headquarters
OR
Founded
2020
FDD year
2025
States available
17

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 76% below the typical financial services franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$11K – $35KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 13 of the 2025 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise feeNot extracted
Royalty25.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 8 of the 2025 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fundNot extracted
Working capital$5K – $10K

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 5–7

Full Item 7 breakdown9 line items

Initial investment breakdown

Item 7 initial investment line items
Line itemLowHigh
Initial Franchise Feenot refundable——
Rent, Utilities, and Security Deposit - 3 monthsnot refundable$0$5K
Equipment, Fixtures, Furnishings, Computer Hardware and Software, and Suppliesnot refundable$3K$10K
Initial Advertisingnot refundable$0$3K
Licenses and Permitsnot refundable$1K$2K
Professional Feesnot refundable$1K$2K
Additional Insurance (Annually)not refundable$500$3K
Miscellaneous Opening Costsnot refundable$0$1K
Additional Funds - 3 monthsnot refundable$5K$10K
Total initial investment$11K$35K

Line items extracted from FDD Item 7. Ranges reflect the franchisor's stated low and high per line. Total is the sum of line-item lows / highs — actual costs may fall outside this range depending on market and build-out scope.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$11K – $35K
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$5K – $10K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
N/A
Paid to franchisor at signing
Royalty
25.0%
Tiered by sales volume · typical 6–8%
Ad fund
No advertising fund. Franchisor does not require franchis…
Total fee load
25.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Breakaway BA: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty25.0% of gross sales
Technology fee$75
Transfer fee$3K
Renewal fee$0
Total fee load25.0% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

Breakaway BA makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Breakaway BA unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $11K–$35K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $5K–$10K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, ad fund rate, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$30K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2025 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 113 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 25.0% — above the Financial Services median of 16.5%.

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

System expanding at 126.7% CAGR over 3 years across 39 units — operators are staying and new ones are joining.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Financial Services medians

How Breakaway BA Compares

Metric
Breakaway BA
Category median
vs median
Investment
$23K
$94Kmiddle half $70K–$116K · n=38
Below median, better than category
Revenue
N/A
$262Kmiddle half $115K–$322K · n=9
N/A
Unit Count
39
50middle half 14–241 · n=38
Below median, worse than category

Category median of published Financial Services brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units39Verified — printed on page 32 of the 2025 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it three ways.
3-yr growth+126.7% (favorable vs category)
Turnover rate5.1% (favorable vs category)

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
39
Opened
19
Last reporting year
Closed
2
Terminated
0
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
5.1%
Company-owned
5
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
87%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
+126.7%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
+126.7%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
0
Not renewed
0
Projected new
20
Franchisor's next-year forecast
Ceased ops
5.1%
Units that stopped operating
2022
15
Franchised units
2023
17+2
Franchised units
2024
34+17
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 12 · 17 states reported

The Territory Map

FDD Item 12 reports the state count, but the specific list isn't in our current data. The map will appear once we re-extract from the FDD or enough franchisee contacts are available.

17

states with franchisees (per FDD Item 12)

Growth insight

Fast growth in a small system. Newer franchisors expanding quickly may not yet have the support infrastructure of larger systems.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

No SBA loan data available for this brand.

What could kill this investment?

The auditor flagged going-concern doubt (Item 21) — the single biggest risk here.

SBA charge-offNot SBA-matched
Verdict score45/100 (higher is better)
Litigation0 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtYes (worth scrutinizing)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

CAverage45Verdict score 45/100

Early-stage franchise with aggressive growth metrics, opaque financials, high royalty rates, and no territory protection presents elevated risk for franchisee profitability despite low entry cost.

Low confidence±15 pts
3060

Litigation (Item 3)

No litigation required to be disclosed

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Fordham & Co LLP⚠ Going-concern note flagged

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $2.8MYr 2: $2.0MNon-royalty: $0.0M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Item 21 references audited financial statements as of Dec 31 2022/2023/2024 in Exhibit A, but the financial statement pages in this OCR text are image-only with no extractable numbers; all Item 21 figures unavailable.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: Yes
  • Must buy proprietary products: No
  • Restricted to system-approved products: No
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: Yes

Score breakdown · what drove the 45 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MEDNo average revenue or net income disclosed — impossible to validate ROI on $10.5k-$34.5k investment
  2. 02MINORExtremely high royalty burden (20-25%) leaves minimal margin for profitability on small revenue base
  3. 03MINORZero franchise fee suggests potential cash flow issues or aggressive unit acquisition strategy masking unit quality
  4. 04MINOR39 units showing 100% YoY growth is unsustainable and indicates either new system or aggressive recruiting over retention
  5. 05MINORNo protected territory creates direct competition risk between franchisees within same market
  6. 06MINOR10-year term is unusually long without performance milestones or exit clauses
  7. 07MINORGoing Concern status with no financial disclosure creates uncertainty about franchisor stability

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 113 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 25.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term10 yrs
Renewal term10 yrs
TerritoryNone (caution)
Initial training59 hrs

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term10 years
Renewal term10 years
Territory typeNo territory protection
Protected territoryNo
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Online sales rightsℹRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorOptional
Non-compete (years)ℹ2 years
Right of first refusalℹYes
RoFR response window30 days
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Mandatory arbitrationNo
Arbitration locationMultnomah County, Oregon (mediation required before litigation)
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawOR
Litigation count0
View Item 3 litigation summary

No litigation required to be disclosed

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
5 hrs
On-the-job training
0 hrs
Training location
Online / At-home
Ongoing training
Required
Field support
0 hrs/yr
On-site visits per year
Time to open
2 mo
From signing to launch
Site selection
franchisee (subject to franchisor approval)
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✗Site selection assistance
✗Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

3 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 3 contacts · $49
Free preview
503-307-••••
Unlock all 3 contacts
336-902-••••
(503) 941-••••

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Breakaway BA franchise?

The total investment to open a Breakaway BA franchise ranges from $11K – $35K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Breakaway BA franchise owners earn?

Breakaway BA makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns Breakaway BA?

Breakaway BA is franchised by BREAKAWAY BA, LLC. Its parent company is BREAKAWAY BOOKKEEPING & ADVISING, LLC. Source: FDD Item 1, 2025 filing.

What is Item 19 in the Breakaway BA FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Breakaway BA FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Breakaway BA's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for Breakaway BA (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many Breakaway BA franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Breakaway BA has 39 total units in the United States, including 34 franchised units and 5 company-owned units. 19 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is Breakaway BA a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Breakaway BA as a C-grade franchise with a verdict score of 45 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Breakaway BA, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Financial Services franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Financial Services category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.