Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Keystone Insurers Group logo

Keystone Insurers Group Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Financial ServicesPAFranchising since 1999
BAbove averageAbove average64/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$27K – $99K
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Under 10 loans (1)

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-01399FDD 2025Data QualityStandard71%
Owner-operator requiredNo: No territory protection

Data from FDD filing + SBA 7(a) records

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

Keystone Insurers Group is an independent insurance-agency franchise focused on commercial and business insurance. Franchisees run an agency writing and servicing commercial policies across carriers, earning commissions with franchisor support.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Keystone Insurers Group franchise requires a total initial investment of $27K – $99K, including a $5K – $20K franchise fee. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: B (Above average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: medium - issued 12 to 24 months ago; a newer filing is likely on file

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored2 of 3 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing; the rest are marked “Not cited” beside the figure.

Overview

Investment
$27K – $99K
9th pct Financial Ser…
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
Tiered by sales volume
Units
302
66th pct Financial Ser…
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Financial Services · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$27K – $99K
Median $94K
below median ↓, better than category
Franchise Fee
$5K – $20K
Median $35K
below median ↓, better than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$0 – $0
Median $10K
below median ↓, better than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
Not extracted
Median 10.0%
Ongoing Fees
Not extracted
Median 16.5%
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Under 10 loans (1)
Insufficient SBA coverage: 1 loan, rate hidden below 10
System Size
302 units
Median 50 units
above median ↑, better than category
Turnover Rate
8.6%
Median 5.0%
above median ↑, worse than category
Territory
None
The franchisor can open or license outlets nearby
Owner-Operator
Required
You must run it yourself
Litigation
2 cases
Some history

Green = favorable by >10% vs Financial Services median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $27K – $99K including a $5K franchise fee.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict B (Above average), verdict score 64/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHNegative: net -18 franchised outlets in the latest year (8 opened, 26 closed) (Item 20).
  • FLAG17 units terminated last reporting year (5.6% of the system). Ask existing franchisees why.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Keystone Insurers Group LLC
Parent company
Keystone Agency Partners LLC
FDD Item 1, page 7 of the 2025 FDD
Predecessor
Keystone Insurers Group, Inc.
Prior franchisor entity
CEO title
Chief Executive Officer
Patrick Kinney
Incorporated in
DE
HQ
1215 Manor Drive, Suite 208, Mechanicsburg, PA 17055
Auditor
Baker Tilly US, LLP
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$44.7M
vs $33.3M prior year

Overview

About

CEO
Patrick Kinney
Headquarters
PA
Founded
1983
FDD year
2025
States available
19

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 33% below the typical financial services franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$27K – $99KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 24 of the 2025 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$5,000Not cited — published from our reading of the franchisor's disclosure document; the page it is printed on has not been located.
RoyaltyTiered by sales volume
Ad fundNot extracted
Working capital$0 – $0

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 5–7

FDD Item 7 · 2025 filing

Initial investment breakdown

Keystone Insurers Group: Item 7 initial investment breakdown
Cost componentLowHigh
Initial franchise fee$5K$5K
Working capital (3–6 mo)$0$0
Equipment, build-out, other$22K$94K
Total initial investment$27K$99K

Source: Keystone Insurers Group 2025 FDD, Items 5 and 7[2]. “Equipment, build-out, other” is computed as total minus disclosed line items above.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$27K – $99K
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$0 – $0
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$5K – $20K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
Monthly Service Fee based on Gross Premium tiers: $881/mo…
Ad fund
No advertising fund; franchisor has no advertising counci…

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Keystone Insurers Group: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty (flat)Monthly Service Fee tiered by annual gross written premium; ranges from $881/month (< $1M GWP) to $3,524/month ($49-50M GWP), adding $55.06 per additional $1M above $50M
Renewal fee$0
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

Keystone Insurers Group makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Keystone Insurers Group unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundnot set
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $27K–$99K (midpoint used)
Item 7 didn't break this out. Enter your pre-opening cash burn

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, royalty rate, ad fund rate, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$63K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2025 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 101 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

System roughly stable (+3.7% 3-year CAGR) with 302 units.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Financial Services medians

How Keystone Insurers Group Compares

Metric
Keystone Insurers Group
Category median
vs median
Investment
$63K
$94Kmiddle half $70K–$116K · n=38
Below median, better than category
Revenue
N/A
$262Kmiddle half $115K–$322K · n=9
N/A
Unit Count
302
50middle half 14–241 · n=38
Above median, better than category

Category median of published Financial Services brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units302Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 48 of the 2025 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
3-yr growth-4.4% (worth scrutinizing)
Turnover rate8.6% (favorable vs category)

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
302
Opened
8
Last reporting year
Closed
26
Terminated
17
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
8.6%
Company-owned
22
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
93%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
-4.4%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
+3.7%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
17
Reacquired
5
Franchisor bought back
Projected new
29
Franchisor's next-year forecast
Termination rate
2.6%
Franchisor-initiated terminations
Ceased ops
1.1%
Units that stopped operating
2022
270
Franchised units
2023
298+28
Franchised units
2024
280-18
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 20 · 11 states with active franchisees

The Territory Map

Derived from franchisee contact records. Shows states with at least one current operator. Not where the franchisor is registered to sell new units (that data is re-extracting in a future refresh).

AK
ME
VT
NH
MA
RI
CT
NY
NJ
PA
DE
MD
DC
WA
OR
CA
NV
ID
MT
WY
UT
CO
AZ
NM
ND
SD
NE
KS
OK
TX
MN
IA
MO
AR
LA
WI
IL
MS
TN
MI
IN
KY
AL
OH
WV
GA
VA
NC
SC
FL
HI
Active operators · 11 states
No contacts on file

States derived from franchisee contact records (FDD Item 20). Shows states with at least one current operator on file. Full state registration data (Item 12) will appear on a future FDD refresh.

Available to sell in · Item 12

  • California
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Maryland
  • New York
  • Wisconsin

States where the franchisor is registered to sell new franchises (FDD registration filings).

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

18 current owners across 12 states.

  • GA 2
  • IA 2
  • PA 2
  • TN 2
  • TX 2
  • VA 2
  • IN 1
  • MI 1
  • NJ 1
  • OH 1
  • US 1
  • WI 1

Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA loan disclosures. This brand has only 1 7(a) loan on file; statistical reliability is limited below 10 loans.

Total loans
1
Loan volume
$997K
Median loan
$997K
50th percentile
Charge-off rate
Under 10 loans (1)
Insufficient SBA coverage: 1 loan, rate hidden below 10

Historical SBA 7(a) lending data, not predictive of future performance. How SBA charge-off rates are calculated

Repayment rate (PIF)
Under 10 loans (1)
5-yr charge-off
Under 10 loans (1)
Loans approved 2021+
Active lenders
1
Defaults
N/A

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offUnder 10 loans (1)
Verdict score64/100 (higher is better)
Litigation2 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

BAbove average64Verdict score 64/100

Keystone Insurers faces unit decline, undisclosed profitability, active litigation, and unprotected territories—present material risks for franchisees despite moderate initial investment.

Moderate confidence±13 pts
5177

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: the franchisor is a named party (defendant).

Two cases: (1) American Builders Insurance Co. v. Keystone Insurers Group - workers' comp policy dispute, summary judgment for defendants in Sept 2023, settled after appeal; (2) Boytos v. East Coast Risk Management - wrongful death claim against affiliate Risk Management, settled.

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Baker Tilly US, LLP

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $44.7MYr 2: $33.3MNon-royalty: $1.3M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Consolidated total revenues, net (Keystone Insurers Group, Inc. and Subsidiaries, audited): commission related $32,993,367, franchise related $6,113,288, consulting $5,588,249 for FY2023. Audited financials are of the franchisor's predecessor in interest, Keystone Insurers Group, Inc.; other_revenue reflects the 'Other income' line in Other Income, not part of total revenues net.

ⓘ These are the parent company's consolidated financials (the parent guarantees the franchisor), not this brand's standalone results — the figure reflects the whole corporate group, not this brand alone.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: No
  • Must buy proprietary products: No
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes

Score breakdown · what drove the 64 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MINORUnit count declining 6.0% YoY (280 units) suggests system contraction and potential saturation or performance issues
  2. 02MINORNo average revenue or net income disclosure (Item 19) prevents validation of profit potential and ROI timeline
  3. 03MINORTwo active lawsuits involving workers' compensation and fatality liability expose franchisees to reputational and legal risk in insurance sector
  4. 04MINORUnprotected territory creates direct competition risk—multiple franchisees could operate in same area
  5. 05MINORMonthly royalties of $881–$3,524 based on gross premium (not net) could create cash flow pressure during slow months

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 101 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Full litigation history from the FDD (Items 3 and 4) →

What are you signing up for?

Initial term5 yrs
Renewal term5 yrs
TerritoryNone (caution)
Initial trainingNot extracted

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term5 years
Renewal term5 years
Territory typeNo territory protection
Protected territoryNo
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Online sales rightsGranted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Not allowed
Owner-operatorRequired
Non-compete (years)ℹ2 years
Right of first refusalℹYes
RoFR response window30 days
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice15 days
Curable defaultsℹ4
Mandatory arbitrationNo
Arbitration locationPennsylvania
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawPA
Litigation count2
View Item 3 litigation summary

Two cases: (1) American Builders Insurance Co. v. Keystone Insurers Group - workers' comp policy dispute, summary judgment for defendants in Sept 2023, settled after appeal; (2) Boytos v. East Coast Risk Management - wrongful death claim against affiliate Risk Management, settled.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Training location
On-site and franchisor location
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✗Site selection assistance
✗Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

18 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 18 contacts · $49
Free preview
(740) 373-••••OH
Unlock all 18 contacts
(434) 292-••••VA
(319) 653-••••IA
(865) 470-••••TN
(804) 282-••••VA

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Keystone Insurers Group franchise?

The total investment to open a Keystone Insurers Group franchise ranges from $27K – $99K, with an initial franchise fee of $5K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Keystone Insurers Group franchise owners earn?

Keystone Insurers Group makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns Keystone Insurers Group?

Keystone Insurers Group is franchised by Keystone Insurers Group LLC. Its parent company is Keystone Agency Partners LLC. Source: FDD Item 1, 2025 filing.

What is Item 19 in the Keystone Insurers Group FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Keystone Insurers Group FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Keystone Insurers Group's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for Keystone Insurers Group (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many Keystone Insurers Group franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Keystone Insurers Group has 302 total units in the United States, including 280 franchised units and 22 company-owned units. 8 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is Keystone Insurers Group a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Keystone Insurers Group as a B-grade franchise with a verdict score of 64 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Keystone Insurers Group, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Financial Services franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Financial Services category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.