Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Best Western logo
FV-00287FDD 2026Data Quality·Standard76%
Manager-run OKYes: Protected territory

Best Western Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

LodgingAZFranchising since 2020CEOLawrence M. CuculicWebsite Report an errorFranchisor? Claim this listing

Data from FDD filing + SBA 7(a) records

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

BAbove average61/100

Best Western is a hotel franchise of independently owned properties spanning economy to upper-midscale tiers. Franchisees own and run individual hotels, tapping the brand's reservation system, marketing, and loyalty program.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Best Western franchise requires a total initial investment of $582K – $2.6M and an ongoing 5.0% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. SBA 7(a) loans show a 8.8% charge-off rate across 418 loans[1]. FranchiseVerdict grade: B (Above average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Data last verified · figures per the 2026 FDD issuance

Overview

Investment
$582K – $2.6M
21st pct Lodging
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
5.0%
3rd pct Lodging
Units
1,750
72nd pct Lodging
SBA charge-off
8.8%
% of SBA 7(a) loans not repaid · median varies by category

Quick verdict · Lodging · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$582K – $2.6M
Avg $10.5M
below avg ↓
Franchise Fee
N/A
Avg $60K
Fee not disclosed
Liquid Capital Req'd
$271K – $292K
Avg $566K
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
5.0%
Avg 5.4%
Ongoing Fees
5.1% of rev
Avg 10.4%
SBA Charge-Off Rate
8.8%
Avg 5.7%
above avg ↑
System Size
1,750 units
Avg 229 units
Turnover Rate
11.6%
Avg 4.0%
Territory
Protected
Exclusive zone granted
Owner-Operator
Optional
Can hire a manager
Litigation
25 cases
Review carefully

Green = favorable by >10% vs Lodging avg · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $582K – $2.6M, 5.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict B (Above average), verdict score 61/100 (higher is better). SBA loan charge-off rate of 8.8% across 418 loans (near or below the 16% franchise average, based on all SBA 7(a) franchise lending, 2010–2025).
  • LEGAL25 litigation matters disclosed in Item 3, higher than typical. Review the summary for patterns (franchisor-initiated vs. franchisee-initiated).

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Best Western International, Inc.
CEO title
President and Chief Executive Officer
Lawrence M. Cuculic
Incorporated in
AZ
HQ
6201 N. 24th Parkway, Phoenix, AZ 85016
Auditor
Ernst & Young LLP
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$547.5M
vs $520.9M prior year

Overview

About

CEO
Lawrence M. Cuculic
Headquarters
AZ
Founded
1957
FDD year
2026
States available
50

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 85% below the typical lodging franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$582K – $2.6MCited, not corroborated — printed on page 44 of the 2026 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Royalty + ad fund5.0%
Working capital$271K – $292K

Source: FDD 2026 · Items 5–7

The filing conditions this fee

The filing does not state an initial franchise fee.

Full Item 7 breakdown22 line items

Initial investment breakdown

Item 7 initial investment line items
Line itemLowHigh
Impact Study Fee$0$4K
Entrance Fee$54K$54K
Proposed Construction Extension Fee$0$35K
Opening Date Extension Fee$0$14K
Distribution Photography Package Fee$1K$8K
Construction Work$4.8M$10.5M
Furniture, Fixtures and Equipment$693K$1.2M
Inventory and Operating Equipment$105K$242K
Signage$21K$47K
Computer System$117K$119K
Insurance$8K$13K
Organizational Expense$1K$2K
Permits and Licenses$26K$89K
Initial Training Fees$3K$6K
Miscellaneous Preopening and Project Management Expenses$0$79K
Green Key Global Certification$675$675
Additional Funds (3 months)$270K$292K
Renovation Work$0$677K
Furniture, Fixtures and Equipment (Conversion)$0$935K
Permits and Licenses (Conversion)$0$32K
Total initial investment$6.5M$14.7M

Line items extracted from FDD Item 7. Ranges reflect the franchisor's stated low and high per line. Total is the sum of line-item lows / highs — actual costs may fall outside this range depending on market and build-out scope.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$582K – $2.6M
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$271K – $292K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
N/A
Fee not disclosed
Royalty
5.0%
Tiered by sales volume · typical 6–8%
Ad fund
Advertising Assessment $16.86 per room per month (per-roo…
Total fee load
5.1%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Best Western: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty5.0% of gross sales
Training fee$3K
Inventory (initial)$105K $242K
Total fee load5.1% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

Best Western makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Best Western unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 68%
typ 35%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $582K–$2.6M (midpoint used)
FDD reports $271K–$292K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, ad fund rate, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
EBITDA margin
Total invested
$1.9M
Payback
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2026 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 120 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 5.1% — below the Lodging average of 10.4%.

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

System contracting at -2.9% CAGR over 3 years. Investigate whether closures are franchisor-driven consolidation or franchisee exits.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Lodging averages

How Best Western Compares

Metric
Best Western
Category Avg
vs Avg
Investment
$1.6M
$10.5M
Revenue
N/A
$1.4M
Unit Count
1,750
229.333

Is the system healthy?

Total units1,750Verified — printed on page 97 of the 2026 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it one way.
3-yr growth-2.9%
Turnover rate11.6%

Source: FDD 2026 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
1,750
Opened
32
Last reporting year
Closed
52
Terminated
11
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
39
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
11.6%
Company-owned
2
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
100%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
-2.9%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
-2.9%
Compounded over last 3 years

3-year detail · Item 20

Opened (3yr)
95
Closed (3yr)
17
Terminated (3yr)
42
Non-renewed (3yr)
143
Transfers (3yr)
245
Reacquired (3yr)
0
Franchisor bought back
2023
1,801
Franchised units
2024
1,768-33
Franchised units
2025
1,748-20
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 20 · 48 states with active franchisees

The Territory Map

Derived from franchisee contact records. Shows states with at least one current operator. Not where the franchisor is registered to sell new units (that data is re-extracting in a future refresh).

AK
ME
VT
NH
MA
RI
CT
NY
NJ
PA
DE
MD
DC
WA
OR
CA
NV
ID
MT
WY
UT
CO
AZ
NM
ND
SD
NE
KS
OK
TX
MN
IA
MO
AR
LA
WI
IL
MS
TN
MI
IN
KY
AL
OH
WV
GA
VA
NC
SC
FL
HI
Active operators · 48 states
No contacts on file

States derived from franchisee contact records (FDD Item 20). Shows states with at least one current operator on file. Full state registration data (Item 12) will appear on a future FDD refresh.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

B
SBA Lending Health
Strong SBA lending record · 8.8% charge-off
Total loans
418
Loan volume
$710.6M
Median loan
$1.3M
50th percentile
Charge-off rate
8.8%
rates vary by category · see methodology

Historical SBA 7(a) lending data, not predictive of future performance. How SBA charge-off rates are calculated

Repayment rate (PIF)
91.2%
5-yr charge-off
N/A
Loans approved 2021+
Active lenders
147
Defaults
34
Typical loan rate
5.4%
avg rate to borrowers
Franchised industry avg
6.3%
brand above franchise avg ↑
Jobs supported
3,937
0.6 per loan
Lender concentration
6%
top lender's share

Borrower mix: 33% went to startups / new businesses, 67% to established operators

Franchise vs independent — in hotels (except casino hotels) and motels, franchised businesses charge off at 6.3% vs 9.2% for independents — franchising is associated with 32% lower SBA default risk in this category.

Vintage analysis

Best Western charge-off rate by loan vintage

BrandNational avg
Best Western charge-off rate by loan vintage. Showing 26 vintages from 1992 to 2018. Rates range from 0.0% to 36.4%.0%5%10%15%20%25%30%35%40%'92'97'02'07'13'18

Top lenders financing Best Western franchisees

Wells Fargo Bank National Association26 loans15.4%
First Western SBLC, Inc22 loans0.0%
Business Loan Center, LLC21 loans19.0%

Showing 3 of 147 lenders. The full breakdown — every lender, state distribution, interest rates & risk ratings — is in the SBA Lending Report below.

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

Total loans
332
Loan volume
$379.2M
Charge-off rate
16.7%
Jobs created
5,059

Historical SBA 504 lending data via CDCs, not predictive of future performance.

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

Premium insight

SBA Lending Report

Deep-dive into Best Western's SBA lending history: lender network, geographic footprint, interest rates, and more.

SBA Lending Report

  • Principal loss rate and NAICS industry benchmark
  • 10 lenders with concentration factor
  • Per-state charge-off rates across 15 states
  • Startup risk premium and job creation velocity
  • 27-year lending trend
  • SBA 504 real estate/equipment data
$29 one-time

Instant access. No subscription.

What could kill this investment?

SBA loans charge off at 8.8% — 45% below the 16.0% national norm, i.e. lower lender-observed risk.

SBA charge-off8.8%
Verdict score61/100 (higher is better)
Litigation25 cases
Going concernClear

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

BAbove average61Verdict score 61/100

Best Western faces regulatory headwinds, declining membership, systemic franchisee collection actions, and undisclosed financial performance metrics, making this a high-caution investment despite long 20-year terms and protected territories.

High confidence±3 pts
4854

Litigation (Item 3)

Most cases involve franchisor suing former members for unpaid fees and dues following termination or self-termination, with counterclaims by former members for wrongful termination. Several regulatory actions by state securities/franchise regulators alleging membership agreements constitute franchises requiring registration. 8 new actions filed in 2025 fiscal year for unpaid fees and/or trademark infringement.

Largest disclosed settlement: $250,000

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Ernst & Young LLP

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $547.5MYr 2: $520.9MNon-royalty: $62.9M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Audited consolidated TOTAL REVENUES for fiscal year ended November 30, 2025 = $547,544K, comprised of Fees, dues and assessments $304,904K; Program revenues $179,735K; Other revenues $62,905K. Prior year (FY2024) total revenues $520,942K. Item 5 separately states FY2025 total revenue of $588 million on a different basis. Net worth = Total Net Assets (nonprofit membership association). Net income = Excess of revenues over expenses attributable to Best Western International, Inc. ($55,270K).

ⓘ These are the parent company's consolidated financials (the parent guarantees the franchisor), not this brand's standalone results — the figure reflects the whole corporate group, not this brand alone.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: Yes
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes

Score breakdown · what drove the 61 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MINORDeclining unit count of -1.1% YoY indicates shrinking system despite 1,748 locations
  2. 02HIGHMultiple active litigation cases across 4+ states challenging franchise classification and membership structure suggests regulatory and structural vulnerability
  3. 03MINORFranchisor initiated numerous collection actions for unpaid fees during last fiscal year, signaling cash flow stress among franchisees and potential systemic profitability issues
  4. 04MINORRoyalty structure tied to 'Property Room Revenue' is non-standard and unclear, creating potential disputes over revenue calculation and fee obligations
  5. 05HIGHHigh franchise fee ($45,000) combined with declining units and litigation creates unfavorable risk-reward profile

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 120 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Full litigation history from the FDD (Items 3 and 4) →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 5.1% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term20 yrs
Renewal term10 yrs
TerritoryNot exclusive
Initial training99 hrs

Source: FDD 2026 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term20 years
Renewal term10 years
Territory typeprotected
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryNo
Online sales rightsRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorOptional
Right of first refusalNo
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Mandatory arbitrationNo
Jury trial waiverNo
Governing lawAZ
Litigation count25
View Item 3 litigation summary

Most cases involve franchisor suing former members for unpaid fees and dues following termination or self-termination, with counterclaims by former members for wrongful termination. Several regulatory actions by state securities/franchise regulators alleging membership agreements constitute franchises requiring registration. 8 new actions filed in 2025 fiscal year for unpaid fees and/or trademark infringement.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
84 hrs
On-the-job training
15 hrs
Training location
The Property or another location designated by franchisor
Ongoing training
Required
Time to open
24 mo
From signing to launch
Site selection
Member selects; franchisor reviews and approves
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10
POS system
AutoClerk Atlas PMS
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

Site selection assistance
Grand opening support
Lease negotiation help

Technology: AutoClerk Atlas PMS

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

1,885 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 1,885 contacts · $49
Free preview
(716) 372-••••OL
Unlock all 1,885 contacts
(713) 485-••••HO
(618) 918-••••CE
(515) 296-••••AM
(817) 293-••••FO

FDD download

Best Western · FDD (2026) PDF

Single-page checkout · instant download · CSV export of contacts available separately above

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Best Western franchise?

The total investment to open a Best Western franchise ranges from $582K – $2.6M. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Best Western franchise owners earn?

Best Western makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

What is Item 19 in the Best Western FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Best Western FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Best Western's franchise failure rate?

Based on SBA 7(a) loan data, Best Western has a charge-off rate of 8.8% across 418 loans, meaning 8.8% of franchise loans were charged off. Charge-off rates are one proxy for franchise risk, though they do not capture all closures. This data comes from FOIA-sourced SBA lending records.

How many Best Western franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Best Western has 1,750 total units in the United States, including 1,748 franchised units and 2 company-owned units. 32 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is Best Western a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Best Western as a B-grade franchise with a verdict score of 61 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Best Western, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Lodging franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Lodging category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.