Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
The Ivy Review logo

The Ivy Review Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

EducationCAFranchising since 2014
BAbove averageAbove average55/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$18K – $43K
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Not SBA-matched

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-02656FDD 2025Data QualityExcellent81%
Owner-operator requiredYes: Exclusive territory

Data from FDD filing

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

The Ivy Review is an education franchise providing test prep, tutoring, and college admissions consulting. Franchisees run local operations, managing instructors, client relationships, and enrollment.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A The Ivy Review franchise requires a total initial investment of $18K – $43K, including a $9K franchise fee and an ongoing 8.0% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: B (Above average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: medium - issued 12 to 24 months ago; a newer filing is likely on file

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored5 of 5 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing.

Overview

Investment
$18K – $43K
0th pct Education
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
8.0%
44th pct Education
Units
8
25th pct Education
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Education · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$18K – $43K
Median $194K
below median ↓, better than category
Franchise Fee
$9K – $9K
Median $45K
below median ↓, better than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$1K – $3K
Median $25K
below median ↓, better than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
8.0%
Median 7.0%
above median ↑, worse than category
Ongoing Fees
43.0% of rev
Median 9.0%
above median ↑, worse than category
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Not SBA-matched
Not matched to SBA 7(a) loans
System Size
8 units
Median 20 units
below median ↓, worse than category
Turnover Rate
N/A
Median 0.0%
Territory
Exclusive
No other outlet of the brand may open inside it
Owner-Operator
Required
You must run it yourself
Litigation
None disclosed
Clean record

Green = favorable by >10% vs Education median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $18K – $43K including a $9K franchise fee, 8.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict B (Above average), verdict score 55/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHFlat: no net change in franchised outlets in the latest year (0 opened, 0 closed) (Item 20).
  • DATAThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Yabez, Inc.
Predecessor
The Ivy Review, Inc.
Prior franchisor entity
CEO title
President and Chief Executive Officer
Alexander Benjamin Hull
CEO experience
10 yrs
Years in role or industry
Founder active
Yes
Original founder still leading the business
Incorporated in
California
HQ
900 E Hamilton Avenue, Suite 100, Campbell, California 95008
Auditor
Bernard M. Valek, MBA, CPA
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$336K
vs $416K prior year

Overview

About

CEO
Alexander Benjamin Hull
Headquarters
CA
Founded
2013
FDD year
2025
States available
1

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 84% below the typical education franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$18K – $43KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 17 of the 2025 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$9,000Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 8 of the 2025 FDD (Item 5). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Royalty8.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 8 of the 2025 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fund0.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 14 of the 2025 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Working capital$1K – $3K

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 5–7

FDD Item 7 · 2025 filing

Initial investment breakdown

The Ivy Review: Item 7 initial investment breakdown
Cost componentLowHigh
Initial franchise fee$9K$9K
Working capital (3–6 mo)$1K$3K
Equipment, build-out, other$8K$31K
Total initial investment$18K$43K

Source: The Ivy Review 2025 FDD, Items 5 and 7[2]. “Equipment, build-out, other” is computed as total minus disclosed line items above.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$18K – $43K
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$1K – $3K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$9K – $9K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
8.0%
typical 6–8%
Ad fund
0.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
43.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

The Ivy Review: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty8.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund0.0%
Technology fee$30
Training fee$500
Transfer fee$5K
Renewal fee$5K
Inventory (initial)$0 – $100
Total fee load43.0% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

The Ivy Review makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one The Ivy Review unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $18K–$43K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $1K–$3K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$33K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2025 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 126 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 43.0% — above the Education median of 9.0%.

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

Net unit growth roughly flat at 0.0%.

Multi-unit rate

50% of franchisees own multiple units, a moderate multi-unit rate.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Education medians

How The Ivy Review Compares

Metric
The Ivy Review
Category median
vs median
Investment
$31K
$194Kmiddle half $94K–$625K · n=164
Below median, better than category
Revenue
N/A
$408Kmiddle half $269K–$1.2M · n=72
N/A
Unit Count
8
20middle half 6–79 · n=164
Below median, worse than category

Category median of published Education brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units8Verified — printed on page 49 of the 2025 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it one way.
3-yr growth+0.0%

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
8
Opened
0
Last reporting year
Closed
0
Terminated
0
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
N/A
Company-owned
1
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
88%
vs corporate-owned
Multi-unit owners
50.0%
Net growth (3-yr)
+0.0%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
+0.0%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
0
Not renewed
0
Transferred
0
Reacquired
0
Franchisor bought back
Signed, not yet open
0
0.00 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
1
Franchisor's next-year forecast
Continuity rate
100.0%
Units that stayed open
2022
7
Franchised units
2023
7±0
Franchised units
2024
7±0
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 12 · 1 state reported

The Territory Map

FDD Item 12 reports the state count, but the specific list isn't in our current data. The map will appear once we re-extract from the FDD or enough franchisee contacts are available.

1

states with franchisees (per FDD Item 12)

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

4 current owners across 1 state.

  • CA 4

Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

No SBA loan data available for this brand.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offNot SBA-matched
Verdict score55/100 (higher is better)
Litigation0 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

BAbove average55Verdict score 55/100

Small tutoring/admissions franchisor (since 2014) with 8 units, audited financials, and no litigation, bankruptcy, or distress. The single concern is no Item 19 earnings disclosure. Flat growth (0%).

Moderate confidence±13 pts
4268

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: officers or affiliates. The franchisor is not a named party in these cases.

No litigation is required to be disclosed

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Bernard M. Valek, MBA, CPA

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $0.3MYr 2: $0.4M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Item 21 states Exhibit C contains audited balance sheet, income statement, and cash flows for fiscal years ending April 30, 2025, 2024, and 2023 for the franchisor Yabez, Inc. However, the Exhibit C financial statement pages are image-based and were not captured in the available text (blank in OCR), so no balance sheet, income, revenue, or auditor figures could be extracted.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: No
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No

Score breakdown · what drove the 55 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MINORNo Item 19 disclosure
  2. 02MINORSmall system (8 units), flat growth
  3. 03HIGHNo litigation, bankruptcy, or distress
  4. 04MINORAudited financials

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 126 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 43.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term10 yrs
Renewal term10 yrs
TerritoryExclusive (favorable vs category)
Initial training40 hrs

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term10 years
Renewal term10 years
Allowed renewalsℹ2
Territory typeExclusive territory
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryℹYes
Territory radius5 mi
Online sales rightsℹRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Not allowed
Owner-operatorRequired
Non-compete (years)ℹ2 years
Non-compete (miles)ℹ50 mi
Right of first refusalℹYes
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Mandatory arbitrationYes
Arbitration locationSan Jose, Santa Clara County, CA
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawCalifornia
Litigation count0
View Item 3 litigation summary

No litigation is required to be disclosed

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
30 hrs
On-the-job training
10 hrs
Training location
Campbell, CA or virtual
Ongoing training
Required
Field support
10 hrs/yr
On-site visits per year
Site selection
Franchisee proposes; franchisor accepts or rejects within 15 business days
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10
POS system
College Planner Pro
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Technology: College Planner Pro

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

4 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 4 contacts · $49
Free preview
(408) 982-••••CA
Unlock all 4 contacts
(415) 323-••••CA
(805) 991-••••CA
(916) 221-••••CA

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a The Ivy Review franchise?

The total investment to open a The Ivy Review franchise ranges from $18K – $43K, with an initial franchise fee of $9K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do The Ivy Review franchise owners earn?

The Ivy Review makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns The Ivy Review?

The Ivy Review is franchised by Yabez, Inc.. Source: FDD Item 1, 2025 filing.

What is Item 19 in the The Ivy Review FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the The Ivy Review FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is The Ivy Review's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for The Ivy Review (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many The Ivy Review franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, The Ivy Review has 8 total units in the United States, including 7 franchised units and 1 company-owned units.

Is The Ivy Review a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates The Ivy Review as a B-grade franchise with a verdict score of 55 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent The Ivy Review, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Education franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Education category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.