Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Lil’ Angels Photography logo

Lil’ Angels Photography Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

EducationTNFranchising since 1998
BAbove averageAbove average59/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$41K – $46K
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Under 10 loans (1)

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-01499FDD 2025Data QualityStandard76%Pre-opening
Manager-run OKYes: Exclusive territory

Data from FDD filing + SBA 7(a) records

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

Lil' Angels Photography is a children's portrait photography franchise that shoots at preschools, daycares, and events. Franchisees run local operations, scheduling shoots, capturing portraits, and selling print and digital packages.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Lil’ Angels Photography franchise requires a total initial investment of $41K – $46K, including a $30K franchise fee. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: B (Above average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: 2025 filing · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: medium - a newer filing may exist

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored3 of 3 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing.

Overview

Investment
$41K – $46K
6th pct Education
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
Flat fee
Units
40
50th pct Education
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Education · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$41K – $46K
Median $194K
below median ↓, better than category
Franchise Fee
$30K – $30K
Median $45K
below median ↓, better than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$600 – $3K
Median $25K
below median ↓, better than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
Not extracted
Median 7.0%
Ongoing Fees
10.6% of rev
Median 9.0%
above median ↑, worse than category
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Under 10 loans (1)
Insufficient SBA coverage: 1 loan, rate hidden below 10
System Size
40 units
Median 20 units
above median ↑, better than category
Turnover Rate
10.0%
Median 0.0%
Territory
Exclusive
No other outlet of the brand may open inside it
Owner-Operator
Optional
Can hire a manager
Litigation
None disclosed
Clean record

Green = favorable by >10% vs Education median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $41K – $46K including a $30K franchise fee.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict B (Above average), verdict score 59/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHNegative: net -2 franchised outlets in the latest year (2 opened, 4 closed) (Item 20).
  • DECLINESystem contracting at -7.3% CAGR over 3 years. Investigate whether closures are franchisor-driven (consolidation) or franchisee-driven (economics).

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Lil' Angels, LLC
Predecessor
None
Prior franchisor entity
CEO title
Chief Manager
Paul Kimball
Incorporated in
TN
HQ
550 Industrial Drive SW, Cleveland, Tennessee 37311
Auditor
Hood, CPA & Associates
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$1.5M
vs $1.6M prior year

Overview

About

CEO
Paul Kimball
Headquarters
TN
Founded
1996
FDD year
2025
States available
22

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 78% below the typical education franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$41K – $46KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 11 of the 2025 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$29,500Verified — printed on page 8 of the 2025 FDD (Item 5), and another item of the same filing prints the same figure on a labelled row, which is an independent restatement.
RoyaltyFlat fee
Ad fundNot extracted
Working capital$600 – $3K

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 5–7

FDD Item 7 · 2025 filing

Initial investment breakdown

Lil’ Angels Photography: Item 7 initial investment breakdown
Cost componentLowHigh
Initial franchise fee$30K$30K
Working capital (3–6 mo)$600$3K
Equipment, build-out, other$11K$14K
Total initial investment$41K$46K

Source: Lil’ Angels Photography 2025 FDD, Items 5 and 7[2]. “Equipment, build-out, other” is computed as total minus disclosed line items above.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$41K – $46K
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$600 – $3K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$30K – $30K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
$0.60 per equivalent unit processed (system fee per pictu…
Ad fund
-n/d
Total fee load
10.6%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Lil’ Angels Photography: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty (flat)$0.60 per equivalent unit of every portrait package; $0.45 goes to Lil' Angels and $0.15 goes to referring franchise owner as commission
Technology fee$10
Training fee$2K
Transfer fee$3K
Inventory (initial)$10K – $10K
Total fee load10.6% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

Lil’ Angels Photography makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Lil’ Angels Photography unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundnot set
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $41K–$46K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $600–$3K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, royalty rate, ad fund rate, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$45K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2025 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 134 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 10.6% — above the Education median of 9.0%.

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

System contracting at -7.3% CAGR over 3 years. Investigate whether closures are franchisor-driven consolidation or franchisee exits.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Education medians

How Lil’ Angels Photography Compares

Metric
Lil’ Angels Photography
Category median
vs median
Investment
$44K
$194Kmiddle half $94K–$625K · n=164
Below median, better than category
Revenue
N/A
$408Kmiddle half $269K–$1.2M · n=72
N/A
Unit Count
40
20middle half 6–79 · n=164
Above median, better than category

Category median of published Education brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units40Verified — printed on page 28 of the 2025 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it three ways.
3-yr growth-7.3% (worth scrutinizing)
Turnover rate10.0% (favorable vs category)

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
40
Opened
2
Last reporting year
Closed
4
Terminated
1
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
10.0%
Company-owned
2
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
95%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
-7.3%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
-7.3%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
1
Not renewed
0
Transferred
1
Reacquired
0
Franchisor bought back
Signed, not yet open
0
0.00 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
0
Franchisor's next-year forecast
2022
41
Franchised units
2023
40-1
Franchised units
2024
38-2
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 20 · 16 states with active franchisees

The Territory Map

Derived from franchisee contact records. Shows states with at least one current operator. Not where the franchisor is registered to sell new units (that data is re-extracting in a future refresh).

AK
ME
VT
NH
MA
RI
CT
NY
NJ
PA
DE
MD
DC
WA
OR
CA
NV
ID
MT
WY
UT
CO
AZ
NM
ND
SD
NE
KS
OK
TX
MN
IA
MO
AR
LA
WI
IL
MS
TN
MI
IN
KY
AL
OH
WV
GA
VA
NC
SC
FL
HI
Active operators · 16 states
No contacts on file

States derived from franchisee contact records (FDD Item 20). Shows states with at least one current operator on file. Full state registration data (Item 12) will appear on a future FDD refresh.

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

37 current owners across 16 states.

  • GA 5
  • NV 5
  • CA 4
  • IA 4
  • CO 3
  • IL 2
  • MO 2
  • MS 2
  • SD 2
  • TN 2
  • FL 1
  • KY 1
  • +4 more states

Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA loan disclosures. This brand has only 1 7(a) loan on file; statistical reliability is limited below 10 loans.

Total loans
1
Loan volume
$25K
Median loan
$25K
average
Charge-off rate
Under 10 loans (1)
Insufficient SBA coverage: 1 loan, rate hidden below 10

Historical SBA 7(a) lending data, not predictive of future performance. How SBA charge-off rates are calculated

Repayment rate (PIF)
Under 10 loans (1)
5-yr charge-off
Under 10 loans (1)
Loans approved 2021+
Active lenders
1
Defaults
N/A

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offUnder 10 loans (1)
Verdict score59/100 (higher is better)
Litigation0 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

BAbove average59Verdict score 59/100

Shrinking system with opaque financials, non-standard royalty structure, and fee-heavy model creates meaningful uncertainty around unit economics and profitability potential.

Moderate confidence±13 pts
4672

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: officers or affiliates. The franchisor is not a named party in these cases.

No litigation required to be disclosed.

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Hood, CPA & Associates

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $1.5MYr 2: $1.6M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Audited statements for Lil' Angels LLC (Tennessee LLC), year ended December 31, 2023 (comparative 2022). 2023 Total Revenues of $1,587,404 = Processing income $1,565,899 + Franchise income $21,505. Members' equity is a deficit of ($22,925). Net income $227,413. Auditor's report present but no CPA firm name appears in the extracted text.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: Yes
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No

Score breakdown · what drove the 59 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MINORDeclining unit count (-2.4% YoY) signals system contraction and potential market saturation
  2. 02MINORNo Item 19 financial disclosure (avg revenue/net income) prevents accurate ROI modeling and suggests weak performer metrics
  3. 03MINORUnusual royalty structure ($0.60 per 'equivalent unit') is vague and non-standard; unclear how this translates to actual franchisee costs
  4. 04MINORSmall unit base (40 locations) limits brand recognition, marketing leverage, and support infrastructure stability
  5. 05MINOR10-year term is longer than industry standard (5-7 years typical), locking franchisees into potentially unfavorable economics

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 134 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 10.6% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term10 yrs
Renewal term10 yrs
TerritoryExclusive (favorable vs category)
Initial training69 hrs

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term10 years
Renewal term10 years
Allowed renewalsℹ1
Territory typeExclusive territory
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryℹYes
Territory population300,000
Online sales rightsℹGranted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorOptional
Non-compete (years)ℹ2 years
Non-compete (miles)ℹ50 mi
Right of first refusalℹYes
RoFR response window30 days
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Mandatory arbitrationYes
Arbitration locationCleveland, Bradley County, Tennessee
Jury trial waiverNo
Governing lawTN
Litigation count0
View Item 3 litigation summary

No litigation required to be disclosed.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
24 hrs
On-the-job training
45 hrs
Training location
CPQ Colorchrome, Inc., Cleveland, Tennessee; field training at business location in territory or CPQ Colorchrome
Ongoing training
Optional
Time to open
1 mo
From signing to launch
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✗Site selection assistance
✗Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

37 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 37 contacts · $49
Free preview
(760) 535-••••CA
Unlock all 37 contacts
(662) 671-••••IA
(318) 345-••••IA
(717) 386-••••NV
(423) 716-••••PA

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Lil’ Angels Photography franchise?

The total investment to open a Lil’ Angels Photography franchise ranges from $41K – $46K, with an initial franchise fee of $30K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Lil’ Angels Photography franchise owners earn?

Lil’ Angels Photography makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns Lil’ Angels Photography?

Lil’ Angels Photography is franchised by Lil' Angels, LLC. The FDD names no parent company. Source: FDD Item 1, 2025 filing.

What is Item 19 in the Lil’ Angels Photography FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Lil’ Angels Photography FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Lil’ Angels Photography's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for Lil’ Angels Photography (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many Lil’ Angels Photography franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Lil’ Angels Photography has 40 total units in the United States, including 38 franchised units and 2 company-owned units. 2 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is Lil’ Angels Photography a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Lil’ Angels Photography as a B-grade franchise with a verdict score of 59 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Lil’ Angels Photography, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Education franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Education category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.