Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Flame Broiler logo
FV-00956FDD 2025Data Quality·Standard76%Pre-opening
Manager-run OKNo: No territory protection

Flame Broiler Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Quick-Service RestaurantsCAFranchising since 1999CEOYoung R. LeeWebsite Report an errorFranchisor? Claim this listing

Data from FDD filing + SBA 7(a) records

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

BAbove average51/100

Flame Broiler is a fast-casual franchise serving flame-grilled chicken and beef rice bowls with a healthier positioning. Franchisees run compact restaurants managing grilling, counter service, and staffing.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Flame Broiler franchise requires a total initial investment of $465K – $776K, including a $35K franchise fee and an ongoing 5.0% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. SBA 7(a) loans show a 4.5% charge-off rate across 27 loans[1]. FranchiseVerdict grade: B (Above average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Data last verified · figures per the 2025 FDD issuance

Overview

Investment
$465K – $776K
73rd pct Service Resta…
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
5.0%
12th pct Service Resta…
Units
125
78th pct Service Resta…
SBA charge-off
4.5%
% of SBA 7(a) loans not repaid · median varies by category

Quick verdict · Quick-Service Restaurants · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$465K – $776K
Avg $664K
near avg
Franchise Fee
$35K – $35K
Avg $34K
Liquid Capital Req'd
$67K – $135K
Avg $44K
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
5.0%
Avg 5.5%
Ongoing Fees
8.0% of rev
Avg 7.9%
SBA Charge-Off Rate
4.5%
Avg 17.3%
below avg ↓
System Size
125 units
Avg 236 units
Turnover Rate
8.8%
Avg 6.2%
Territory
Not protected
Franchisor can open nearby
Owner-Operator
Optional
Can hire a manager
Litigation
None disclosed
Clean record

Green = favorable by >10% vs Quick-Service Restaurants avg · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $465K – $776K including a $35K franchise fee, 5.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict B (Above average), verdict score 51/100 (higher is better). SBA loan charge-off rate of 4.5% across 27 loans (well below the franchise average, based on all SBA 7(a) franchise lending, 2010–2025).
  • DECLINESystem contracting at -15.9% CAGR over 3 years. Investigate whether closures are franchisor-driven (consolidation) or franchisee-driven (economics).

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
The Flame Broiler, Inc.
Ultimate parent
Young R. Lee and Sarah J. Lee Family Trust
CEO title
CEO and Director
Young R. Lee
CEO experience
28 yrs
Years in role or industry
Founder active
Yes
Original founder still leading the business
Incorporated in
CA
HQ
1538 E. Warner Avenue, Suite E, Santa Ana, California 92705
Auditor
Macias Gini & O'Connell LLP
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$14.4M
vs $12.0M prior year
Management churn noted
Frequent turnover
Item 2 disclosed frequent executive changes

Overview

About

CEO
Young R. Lee
Headquarters
CA
Founded
1996
FDD year
2025
States available
5

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost is about average for a quick-service restaurants franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$465K – $776KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 18 of the 2025 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$35,000Verified — printed on page 10 of the 2025 FDD (Item 5), and another item of the same filing prints the same figure on a labelled row, which is an independent restatement.
Royalty + ad fund5.0% + 3.0%
Working capital$67K – $135K

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 5–7

FDD Item 7 · 2025 filing

Initial investment breakdown

Flame Broiler: Item 7 initial investment breakdown
Cost componentLowHigh
Initial franchise fee$35K$35K
Working capital (3–6 mo)$67K$135K
Equipment, build-out, other$363K$606K
Total initial investment$465K$776K

Source: Flame Broiler 2025 FDD, Items 5 and 7[2]. “Equipment, build-out, other” is computed as total minus disclosed line items above.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$465K – $776K
Bottom third — review vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$67K – $135K
Bottom third — review vs category
Franchise fee
$35K – $35K
Middle of category vs category
Royalty
5.0%
typical 6–8%
Ad fund
3.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
8.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Flame Broiler: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty5.0% of net sales
Marketing / ad fund3.0% of net sales
Transfer fee$18K
Renewal fee$5K
Inventory (initial)$5K $7K
Total fee load8.0% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

Flame Broiler makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Flame Broiler unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 68%
typ 35%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $465K–$776K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $67K–$135K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
EBITDA margin
Total invested
$722K
Payback
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2025 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 134 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 8.0% (near the Quick-Service Restaurants average).

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

System contracting at -15.9% CAGR over 3 years. Investigate whether closures are franchisor-driven consolidation or franchisee exits.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Quick-Service Restaurants averages

How Flame Broiler Compares

Metric
Flame Broiler
Category Avg
vs Avg
Investment
$621K
$664K
Revenue
N/A
$1.2M
Unit Count
125
236.064

Is the system healthy?

Total units125Verified — printed on page 48 of the 2025 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it two ways.
3-yr growth-15.9%
Turnover rate8.8%

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
125
Opened
2
Last reporting year
Closed
11
Non-renewed
1
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
8.8%
Company-owned
14
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
89%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
-15.9%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
-15.9%
Compounded over last 3 years

3-year detail · Item 20

Opened (3yr)
2
Closed (3yr)
8
Terminated (3yr)
0
Non-renewed (3yr)
1
Transfers (3yr)
7
Reacquired (3yr)
2
Franchisor bought back
2022
132
Franchised units
2023
120-12
Franchised units
2024
111-9
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 12 · 5 states reported

The Territory Map

FDD Item 12 reports the state count, but the specific list isn't in our current data. The map will appear once we re-extract from the FDD or enough franchisee contacts are available.

5

states with franchisees (per FDD Item 12)

Growth insight

A system losing more than 10% of its units year-over-year is a red flag. Check whether closures are concentrated in specific regions.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

A
SBA Lending Health
Excellent SBA lending record · 4.5% charge-off
Total loans
27
Loan volume
$5.0M
Median loan
$187K
average
Charge-off rate
4.5%
rates vary by category · see methodology

Historical SBA 7(a) lending data, not predictive of future performance. How SBA charge-off rates are calculated

Repayment rate (PIF)
N/A
5-yr charge-off
N/A
Loans approved 2021+
Active lenders
15
Defaults
1

Vintage analysis

Flame Broiler charge-off rate by loan vintage

BrandNational avg
Flame Broiler charge-off rate by loan vintage. Showing 10 vintages from 2006 to 2018. Rates range from 0.0% to 10.0%.0%5%10%'06'09'13'15'17'18

Top lenders financing Flame Broiler franchisees

Bank of Hope4 loans0.0%
Citibank, N.A.3 loans0.0%
SMBC MANUBANK3 loans33.3%

Showing 3 of 15 lenders. The full breakdown — every lender, state distribution, interest rates & risk ratings — is in the SBA Lending Report below.

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

Premium insight

SBA Lending Report

Deep-dive into Flame Broiler's SBA lending history: lender network, geographic footprint, interest rates, and more.

SBA Lending Report

  • Principal loss rate and NAICS industry benchmark
  • 10 lenders with concentration factor
  • Per-state charge-off rates across 3 states
  • Startup risk premium and job creation velocity
$29 one-time

Instant access. No subscription.

What could kill this investment?

SBA loans charge off at 4.5% — 72% below the 16.0% national norm, i.e. lower lender-observed risk.

SBA charge-off4.5%
Verdict score51/100 (higher is better)
Litigation0 cases
Going concernClear

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

BAbove average51Verdict score 51/100

Flame Broiler presents meaningful risk: declining unit count, missing financial disclosure, unprotected territories, and an opaque profit model that prevents ROI validation.

High confidence±5 pts
5464

Litigation (Item 3)

No litigation required to be disclosed in Item 3.

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Macias Gini & O'Connell LLP

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $14.4MYr 2: $12.0MNon-royalty: $0.4M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Audited total revenue FY ended Dec 31, 2024 of $14,423,330 includes food and beverage sales $7,887,593, franchise royalties $3,806,943, advertising/development fund revenue $2,231,086, rebates income $384,083, sales of franchises $112,500, and consulting revenue $1,125. Rebates/referral fees of $384,083 (2.7% of total revenue) per Item 8.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: Yes
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No

Score breakdown · what drove the 51 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MEDUnit count declined 7.5% YoY (125 units) — indicates system contraction and weak franchisee performance or retention
  2. 02MINORNo average revenue or net income disclosure (Item 19) — impossible to validate ROI claims or benchmark profitability
  3. 03MINORUnprotected territory — franchisees face direct competition from other Flame Broiler units and no exclusivity guarantee
  4. 04MEDHigh investment range ($464K–$776K) paired with 5% royalty on undisclosed sales — difficult to model payback period
  5. 05MINOR10-year term with $35K franchise fee — long commitment with moderate upfront cost and ongoing 5% drain on profits
  6. 06MINORNo 'Going Concern' flag in FDD suggests potential financial stability issues with franchisor

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 134 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 8.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term10 yrs
Renewal term5 yrs
TerritoryNot exclusive
Initial training480 hrs

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term10 years
Renewal term5 years
Allowed renewals2
Territory typenone
Protected territoryNo
Exclusive territoryNo
Online sales rightsRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorOptional
Non-compete (years)2 years
Right of first refusalYes
RoFR response window30 days
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Mandatory arbitrationYes
Arbitration locationOrange County, California
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawState where franchised restaurant is located
Litigation count0
View Item 3 litigation summary

No litigation required to be disclosed in Item 3.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
60 hrs
On-the-job training
420 hrs
Training location
Franchisor headquarters or designated franchisor-owned or franchised restaurant in Southern California
Ongoing training
Required
Time to open
12 mo
From signing to launch
Site selection
Franchisee selects, franchisor must approve
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10
POS system
Brink POS (Par Tech)
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

Site selection assistance
Grand opening support
Lease negotiation help

Technology: Brink POS (Par Tech)

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

99 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 99 contacts · $49
Free preview
(714) 522-••••CA
Unlock all 99 contacts
(562) 425-••••LP
(661) 322-••••CA
(661) 941-••••CA
(951) 461-••••CA

FDD download

Flame Broiler · FDD (2025) PDF

Single-page checkout · instant download · CSV export of contacts available separately above

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Flame Broiler franchise?

The total investment to open a Flame Broiler franchise ranges from $465K – $776K, with an initial franchise fee of $35K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Flame Broiler franchise owners earn?

Flame Broiler makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

What is Item 19 in the Flame Broiler FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Flame Broiler FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Flame Broiler's franchise failure rate?

Based on SBA 7(a) loan data, Flame Broiler has a charge-off rate of 4.5% across 27 loans, meaning 4.5% of franchise loans were charged off. Charge-off rates are one proxy for franchise risk, though they do not capture all closures. This data comes from FOIA-sourced SBA lending records.

How many Flame Broiler franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Flame Broiler has 125 total units in the United States, including 111 franchised units and 14 company-owned units. 2 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is Flame Broiler a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Flame Broiler as a B-grade franchise with a verdict score of 51 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Flame Broiler, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Quick-Service Restaurants franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Quick-Service Restaurants category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.