Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
TFS Burger Works logo

TFS Burger Works Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Quick-Service RestaurantsNYFranchising since 2023
DBelow averageBelow average33/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$265K – $389K
Disclosed sales
partial, no system average
SBA charge-off
Not SBA-matched

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-02586FDD 2025Data QualityExcellent81%
Manager-run OKYes: Protected territory

Data from FDD filing

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

TFS Burger Works is a quick-service franchise serving burgers, fries, and shakes. Franchisees run the restaurants, managing food prep, staffing, and counter service.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A TFS Burger Works franchise requires a total initial investment of $265K – $389K, including a $50K franchise fee and an ongoing 7.0% royalty[2]. The 2025 FDD on file does not yield a unit-revenue figure we can publish. FranchiseVerdict grade: D (Below average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: medium - issued 12 to 24 months ago; a newer filing is likely on file

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored5 of 5 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing.

Overview

Investment
$265K – $389K
40th pct Service Resta…
Avg gross sales
N/A
Company-owned onlyn=2
Royalty
7.0%
90th pct Service Resta…
Units
2
9th pct Service Resta…
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Quick-Service Restaurants · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$265K – $389K
Median $486K
below median ↓, better than category
Franchise Fee
$50K – $50K
Median $35K
above median ↑, worse than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$30K – $50K
Median $33K
above median ↑, worse than category
Avg Revenue
Partial, no system average
No system average in Item 19
Royalty Rate
7.0%
Median 5.5%
above median ↑, worse than category
Ongoing Fees
9.0% of rev
Median 7.5%
above median ↑, worse than category
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Not SBA-matched
Not matched to SBA 7(a) loans
System Size
2 units
Median 18 units
below median ↓, worse than category
Turnover Rate
N/A
Median 0.0%
Territory
Protected, not exclusive
Limits on the franchisor opening nearby; not an exclusive zone
Owner-Operator
Optional
Can hire a manager
Litigation
None disclosed
Clean record

Green = favorable by >10% vs Quick-Service Restaurants median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $265K – $389K including a $50K franchise fee, 7.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSItem 19 reports company owned only rather than annual gross sales, so unit revenue is not directly comparable.
  • RISKVerdict D (Below average), verdict score 33/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHFlat: no net change in franchised outlets in the latest year (0 opened, 0 closed) (Item 20).
  • DATAItem 19 reports company owned only rather than annual gross sales, so unit revenue is not directly comparable. Ask franchisees directly for full unit-level revenue.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
TFS Franchise Works LLC
CEO title
Founder
Nick Hill
Incorporated in
NY
HQ
243 RT 9W, Palisades, NY 10964
Auditor
Metwally CPA PLLC
Audited financials

Overview

About

CEO
Nick Hill
Headquarters
NY
Founded
2023
FDD year
2025
States available
1

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 33% below the typical quick-service restaurants franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$265K – $389KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 17 of the 2025 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$50,000Verified — printed on page 9 of the 2025 FDD (Item 5), and another item of the same filing prints the same figure on a labelled row, which is an independent restatement.
Royalty7.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 10 of the 2025 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fund2.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 10 of the 2025 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Working capital$30K – $50K

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 5–7

FDD Item 7 · 2025 filing

Initial investment breakdown

TFS Burger Works: Item 7 initial investment breakdown
Cost componentLowHigh
Initial franchise fee$50K$50K
Working capital (3–6 mo)$30K$50K
Equipment, build-out, other$185K$289K
Total initial investment$265K$389K

Source: TFS Burger Works 2025 FDD, Items 5 and 7[2]. “Equipment, build-out, other” is computed as total minus disclosed line items above.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$265K – $389K
Middle of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$30K – $50K
Middle of category vs category
Franchise fee
$50K – $50K
Bottom third — review vs category
Royalty
7.0%
typical 6–8%
Ad fund
2.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
9.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

TFS Burger Works: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty7.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund2.0% of gross sales
Technology fee$3K
Training fee$2K
Transfer fee$5K
Renewal fee$25K
Inventory (initial)$3K – $5K
Total fee load9.0% of rev

What do units actually make?

Avg gross salesNot extracted
Median gross salesNot extracted
Item 19 typecompany owned only
Sample size2

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 19

ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

No Item 19 revenue figure for TFS Burger Works is on file. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one TFS Burger Works unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $265K–$389K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $30K–$50K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$367K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2025 FDD

Financial Performance

Company-owned outlets only - not franchisee performance

Based on a sample of only 2

Item 19 type
company owned only
Sample size
2
vs category median 19 · small
Source filing
FDD 2025
The FDD edition these figures were read from
Transparency
6 / 10
vs category median 4 / 10 · above
Gross sales rank
No comparison data
Investment cost rank40th
Lower investment ranks lower (better)
Royalty rate rank90th
Lower royalty = lower percentile (better)
Unit count rank9th
vs Quick-Service Restaurants peers
Risk score rank94th
Lower risk = lower percentile (better)

Compared against 781 Quick-Service Restaurants brands

Showing the headline figures — all 131 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 9.0% — above the Quick-Service Restaurants median of 7.5%.

Disclosure

Item 19 reports company owned only rather than annual gross sales, so unit revenue is not directly comparable.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Quick-Service Restaurants medians

How TFS Burger Works Compares

Metric
TFS Burger Works
Category median
vs median
Investment
$327K
$486Kmiddle half $342K–$748K · n=780
Below median, better than category
Revenue
N/A
$975Kmiddle half $664K–$1.4M · n=284
N/A
Unit Count
2
18middle half 5–79 · n=755
Below median, worse than category

Category median of published Quick-Service Restaurants brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units2Verified — printed on page 59 of the 2025 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it two ways.

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
2
Opened
0
Last reporting year
Closed
0
Turnover rate
N/A
Company-owned
2
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
0%
vs corporate-owned

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Transferred
0
2022
0
Franchised units
2023
0±0
Franchised units
2024
0±0
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 12 · 1 state reported

The Territory Map

FDD Item 12 reports the state count, but the specific list isn't in our current data. The map will appear once we re-extract from the FDD or enough franchisee contacts are available.

1

states with franchisees (per FDD Item 12)

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

No SBA loan data available for this brand.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offNot SBA-matched
Verdict score33/100 (higher is better)
Litigation0 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

DBelow average33Verdict score 33/100

Extremely early-stage burger concept with only 2 operating units, hidden profitability data, and unproven growth model presents significant venture risk despite protected territory.

Moderate confidence±13 pts
2046

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: officers or affiliates. The franchisor is not a named party in these cases.

No litigation is required to be disclosed in Item 3.

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Metwally CPA PLLC

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Figures from the audited financial statements of TFS Franchise Works, LLC (the franchisor), a New York LLC formed Dec 1, 2023; Statements of Operations for year ended Dec 31, 2024 (yr1) and the period Dec 1, 2023 to Dec 31, 2023 (yr2). Total Revenues were $0 in both periods (the entity was a startup with no operating revenue); net losses were $(43,339) in 2024 and $(16,436) in 2023. Balance sheet at Dec 31, 2024 reconciles: Total Assets $10,000 = Total Liabilities $0 + Total Members' Equity $10,000. Not in thousands; whole US dollars.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: No
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes

Score breakdown · what drove the 33 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MEDOnly 2 existing units with unknown growth trajectory indicates extremely limited system track record and validation
  2. 02MEDNet income deliberately not disclosed in FDD Item 19 prevents realistic ROI analysis on $265k-$389k investment
  3. 03MINOR7% royalty rate on $833k average revenue ($58k annual) is heavy burden when profitability metrics are hidden
  4. 04MINORTiny franchisee base (2 units) creates high risk of system collapse and insufficient peer support network
  5. 05MEDNo disclosed litigation but micro-scale prevents meaningful legal pattern analysis

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 131 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 9.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term10 yrs
Renewal term10 yrs
TerritoryProtected, not exclusive
Initial training16 hrs

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term10 years
Renewal term10 years
Allowed renewalsℹ1
Territory typeProtected territory
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Territory radius10 mi
Territory population250,000
Online sales rightsRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorOptional
Non-compete (years)ℹ2 years
Non-compete (miles)ℹ25 mi
Right of first refusalℹYes
RoFR response window30 days
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Mandatory arbitrationNo
Arbitration locationRockland, New York
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawNY
Litigation count0
View Item 3 litigation summary

No litigation is required to be disclosed in Item 3.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
16 hrs
On-the-job training
160 hrs
Training location
Rockland County, New York and the Franchised Business Site
Ongoing training
Required
Time to open
12 mo
From signing to launch
POS system
Toast, SpotOn, or Margin Edge Inventory
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Technology: Toast, SpotOn, or Margin Edge Inventory

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

1 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 1 contacts · $49
Free preview
917-541-••••

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a TFS Burger Works franchise?

The total investment to open a TFS Burger Works franchise ranges from $265K – $389K, with an initial franchise fee of $50K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do TFS Burger Works franchise owners earn?

Item 19 of the TFS Burger Works FDD discloses figures for part of the system but no single average across all outlets. These are gross sales figures, not profit; the Revenue section shows what the filing reports and on what basis. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns TFS Burger Works?

TFS Burger Works is franchised by TFS Franchise Works LLC. Source: FDD Item 1, 2025 filing.

What is Item 19 in the TFS Burger Works FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the TFS Burger Works FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is TFS Burger Works's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for TFS Burger Works (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many TFS Burger Works franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, TFS Burger Works has 2 total units in the United States.

Is TFS Burger Works a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates TFS Burger Works as a D-grade franchise with a verdict score of 33 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent TFS Burger Works, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Quick-Service Restaurants franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Quick-Service Restaurants category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.