Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
SpiderSmart Learning logo

SpiderSmart Learning Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

EducationVAFranchising since 2014
BAbove averageAbove average56/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$80K – $139K
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Not SBA-matched

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-02414FDD 2025Data QualityExcellent81%
Owner-operator requiredYes: Exclusive territory

Data from FDD filing

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

SpiderSmart Learning is a supplemental education franchise offering reading, writing, and math tutoring for K-12 students. Franchisees run the centers, managing tutors, curriculum, and enrollment.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A SpiderSmart Learning franchise requires a total initial investment of $80K – $139K, including a $30K franchise fee and an ongoing 5.0% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: B (Above average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: medium - issued 12 to 24 months ago; a newer filing is likely on file

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored4 of 4 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing.

Overview

Investment
$80K – $139K
25th pct Education
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
5.0%
3rd pct Education
Units
19
39th pct Education
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Education · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$80K – $139K
Median $194K
below median ↓, better than category
Franchise Fee
$30K – $30K
Median $45K
below median ↓, better than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$15K – $20K
Median $25K
below median ↓, better than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
5.0%
Median 7.0%
below median ↓, better than category
Ongoing Fees
5.0% of rev
Median 9.0%
below median ↓, better than category
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Not SBA-matched
Not matched to SBA 7(a) loans
System Size
19 units
Median 20 units
near median
Turnover Rate
N/A
Median 0.0%
Territory
Exclusive
No other outlet of the brand may open inside it
Owner-Operator
Required
You must run it yourself
Litigation
1 case
Some history

Green = favorable by >10% vs Education median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $80K – $139K including a $30K franchise fee, 5.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict B (Above average), verdict score 56/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHPositive: net +2 franchised outlets in the latest year (2 opened, 0 closed) (Item 20).
  • DATAThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
SpiderSmart, Inc.
Parent company
JLS Education, LLC
FDD Item 1, page 7 of the 2025 FDD
CEO title
President
Jordan Steinberg
CEO experience
23 yrs
Years in role or industry
Incorporated in
Virginia
HQ
8401 Maryland Dr, Ste S, Richmond, Virginia 23294
Auditor
Ahmad Associates, Ltd (AAL)
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$260K
vs $259K prior year
Management churn noted
Frequent turnover
Item 2 disclosed frequent executive changes

Overview

About

CEO
Jordan Steinberg
Headquarters
VA
Founded
2004
FDD year
2025
States available
6

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 44% below the typical education franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$80K – $139KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 15 of the 2025 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$30,000Verified — printed on page 10 of the 2025 FDD (Item 5), and another item of the same filing prints the same figure on a labelled row, which is an independent restatement.
Royalty5.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 85 of the 2025 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fundNot extracted
Working capital$15K – $20K

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 5–7

Full Item 7 breakdown16 line items

Initial investment breakdown

Item 7 initial investment line items
Line itemLowHigh
Initial Franchise Fee$30K$30K
Lease Deposit (2 months' rent)$5K$9K
Construction and remodeling$5K$30K
Furnishings$2K$5K
Fixtures$2K$5K
Signage$2K$6K
Equipment$1K$3K
Computers for use in tutoring instruction, plus one for the Center Manager's use$3K$5K
Inventory (Books and Supplies)$5K$8K
Utilities - deposits, connection fees, and monthly charges during first 3 months$1K$2K
Advertising (pre-opening and during start-up phase)$2K$3K
Business licenses$500$500
Wages for employees in the first three months$5K$8K
Insurance$400$400
Attorney, Accountant and other Professional Fees$1K$5K
Additional funds (initial 3 months)$15K$20K
Total initial investment$80K$139K

Line items extracted from FDD Item 7. Ranges reflect the franchisor's stated low and high per line. Total is the sum of line-item lows / highs — actual costs may fall outside this range depending on market and build-out scope.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$80K – $139K
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$15K – $20K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$30K – $30K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
5.0%
Set by a formula · typical 6–8%
Ad fund
Local advertising: at least 2% of Gross Revenue (calculat…
Total fee load
5.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

SpiderSmart Learning: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty5.0% of gross sales
Transfer fee$5K
Inventory (initial)$5K – $8K
Total fee load5.0% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

SpiderSmart Learning makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one SpiderSmart Learning unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $80K–$139K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $15K–$20K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, ad fund rate, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$127K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2025 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 127 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 5.0% — below the Education median of 9.0%.

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

System expanding at 5.6% CAGR over 3 years across 19 units — operators are staying and new ones are joining.

Multi-unit rate

50% of franchisees own multiple units, a moderate multi-unit rate.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Education medians

How SpiderSmart Learning Compares

Metric
SpiderSmart Learning
Category median
vs median
Investment
$110K
$194Kmiddle half $94K–$625K · n=164
Below median, better than category
Revenue
N/A
$408Kmiddle half $269K–$1.2M · n=72
N/A
Unit Count
19
20middle half 6–79 · n=164
Near median

Category median of published Education brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units19Verified — printed on page 32 of the 2025 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it two ways.
3-yr growth+5.6% (favorable vs category)

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
19
Opened
2
Last reporting year
Closed
0
Terminated
0
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
N/A
Company-owned
0
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
100%
vs corporate-owned
Multi-unit owners
50.0%
Net growth (3-yr)
+5.6%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
+5.6%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
0
Not renewed
0
Signed, not yet open
0
0.00 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
3
Franchisor's next-year forecast
2022
18
Franchised units
2023
17-1
Franchised units
2024
19+2
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 20 · 6 states with active franchisees

The Territory Map

Derived from franchisee contact records. Shows states with at least one current operator. Not where the franchisor is registered to sell new units (that data is re-extracting in a future refresh).

AK
ME
VT
NH
MA
RI
CT
NY
NJ
PA
DE
MD
DC
WA
OR
CA
NV
ID
MT
WY
UT
CO
AZ
NM
ND
SD
NE
KS
OK
TX
MN
IA
MO
AR
LA
WI
IL
MS
TN
MI
IN
KY
AL
OH
WV
GA
VA
NC
SC
FL
HI
Active operators · 6 states
No contacts on file

States derived from franchisee contact records (FDD Item 20). Shows states with at least one current operator on file. Full state registration data (Item 12) will appear on a future FDD refresh.

Available to sell in · Item 12

  • California
  • Maryland
  • Virginia

States where the franchisor is registered to sell new franchises (FDD registration filings).

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

17 current owners across 6 states.

  • TX 7
  • MD 3
  • VA 3
  • CA 2
  • DC 1
  • GA 1

Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20; 3 entries carry no state. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

No SBA loan data available for this brand.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offNot SBA-matched
Verdict score56/100 (higher is better)
Litigation1 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

BAbove average56Verdict score 56/100

Positive but thin financials: net worth $118,371, net income $71,579 on $260,179 revenue across 19 units. One regulatory matter — a 2015 Maryland Consent Order for unregistered franchise sales, resolved with cease-and-desist and rescission offers. No Item 19 disclosure.

Moderate confidence±13 pts
4369

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: the franchisor is a named party (defendant).

Consent Order with Maryland Securities Commissioner (File No. Maryland 2014-0422) dated March 20, 2015. Commissioner concluded SpiderSmart violated Sections 14-214 and 14-223 of Maryland Franchise Law by entering into Licensed Facility Agreements for six locations without proper registration. Franchisor agreed to cease and desist from offering/selling franchises in violation of Maryland law, complete franchise registration application, and offer Maryland licensees option to rescind agreements and receive refunds of setup, initiation or transfer fees.

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Ahmad Associates, Ltd (AAL)

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $0.3MYr 2: $0.3MNon-royalty: $0.0M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: Yes
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No

Score breakdown · what drove the 56 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MINOR1 regulatory Item-3 matter (Maryland Consent Order, 2015)
  2. 02MINORThin financials: net worth $118,371, revenue $260,179
  3. 03MINORNo Item 19 disclosure
  4. 04MINORNo going-concern, no bankruptcy, audited

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 127 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Full litigation history from the FDD (Items 3 and 4) →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 5.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term10 yrs
Renewal term10 yrs
TerritoryExclusive (favorable vs category)
Initial training22 hrs

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term10 years
Renewal term10 years
Allowed renewalsℹ1
Territory typeExclusive territory
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryℹYes
Territory radius2 mi
Territory population5,000
Online sales rightsℹRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorRequired
Non-compete (years)ℹ2 years
Non-compete (miles)ℹ15 mi
Right of first refusalℹYes
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice20 days
Termination groundsℹ1
Curable defaultsℹ1
Mandatory arbitrationNo
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawVirginia
Litigation count1
View Item 3 litigation summary

Consent Order with Maryland Securities Commissioner (File No. Maryland 2014-0422) dated March 20, 2015. Commissioner concluded SpiderSmart violated Sections 14-214 and 14-223 of Maryland Franchise Law by entering into Licensed Facility Agreements for six locations without proper registration. Franchisor agreed to cease and desist from offering/selling franchises in violation of Maryland law, complete franchise registration application, and offer Maryland licensees option to rescind agreements and receive refunds of setup, initiation or transfer fees.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
22 hrs
On-the-job training
0 hrs
Training location
virtual through video conferencing technology
Ongoing training
Required
Time to open
2 mo
From signing to launch
Site selection
Franchisee (with franchisor advice/approval)
Franchisor financing
Offered
Item 10
POS system
Spidersmart.com Website
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✗Lease negotiation help

Technology: Spidersmart.com Website

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

20 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 20 contacts · $49
Free preview
(833) 492-••••
Unlock all 20 contacts
(647) 907-••••
(949) 591-••••CA
(281) 745-••••TX
(443) 864-••••MD

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a SpiderSmart Learning franchise?

The total investment to open a SpiderSmart Learning franchise ranges from $80K – $139K, with an initial franchise fee of $30K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do SpiderSmart Learning franchise owners earn?

SpiderSmart Learning makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns SpiderSmart Learning?

SpiderSmart Learning is franchised by SpiderSmart, Inc.. Its parent company is JLS Education, LLC. Source: FDD Item 1, 2025 filing.

What is Item 19 in the SpiderSmart Learning FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the SpiderSmart Learning FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is SpiderSmart Learning's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for SpiderSmart Learning (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many SpiderSmart Learning franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, SpiderSmart Learning has 19 total units in the United States, including 19 franchised units and 0 company-owned units. 2 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is SpiderSmart Learning a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates SpiderSmart Learning as a B-grade franchise with a verdict score of 56 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent SpiderSmart Learning, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Education franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Education category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.