Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Smile Source logo

Smile Source Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

HealthcareTXFranchising since 2006
AStrongest tierStrongest tier70/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$6K – $31K
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Under 10 loans (1)

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-02356Data QualityStandard62%FDD 2023 · 3yr old
Owner-operator requiredNo: No territory protection

Data from FDD filing + SBA 7(a) records

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

This data is from a 2023 FDD. Current terms may differ. Always verify with the franchisor's latest disclosure document.

Smile Source is a membership network for independent dental practices, giving owner-dentists group purchasing, marketing, and peer collaboration to compete without joining a DSO. Franchisees run their own dental practice while tapping the network's vendor savings and support.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Smile Source franchise requires a total initial investment of $6K – $31K and an ongoing 1.5% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: A (Strongest tier), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: high - issued more than two years ago

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored3 of 4 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing; the rest are marked “Not cited” beside the figure.

Overview

Investment
$6K – $31K
1st pct Healthcare
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
1.5%
1st pct Healthcare
Units
663
78th pct Healthcare
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Healthcare · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$6K – $31K
Median $321K
below median ↓, better than category
Franchise Fee
$0 – $0
Median $50K
below median ↓, better than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
N/A
Median $40K
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
1.5%
Median 7.0%
below median ↓, better than category
Ongoing Fees
2.0% of rev
Median 8.0%
below median ↓, better than category
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Under 10 loans (1)
Insufficient SBA coverage: 1 loan, rate hidden below 10
System Size
663 units
Median 23 units
above median ↑, better than category
Turnover Rate
13.0%
Median 0.0%
Territory
None
The franchisor can open or license outlets nearby
Owner-Operator
Required
You must run it yourself
Litigation
None disclosed
Clean record

Green = favorable by >10% vs Healthcare median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $6K – $31K, 1.5% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict A (Strongest tier), verdict score 70/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHPositive: net +38 franchised outlets in the latest year (124 opened, 86 closed) (Item 20).
  • DATAThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Smile Source L.P.
Parent company
Smile Source Management L.L.C. (General Partner); wholly owned by SSH Corporation
FDD Item 1, page 7 of the 2023 FDD
Ultimate parent
Smile Source Holdings, L.P. (controlled by Incline Equity Partners)
FDD Item 1, page 7 of the 2023 FDD
CEO title
President, Chief Executive Officer and Secretary
Greggory D. Groenemann
Incorporated in
Texas (Texas Limited Partnership)
HQ
4025 Feather Lakes Way #5858, Kingwood, Texas 77339
Auditor
FORVIS, LLP
Audited financials
Management churn noted
Frequent turnover
Item 2 disclosed frequent executive changes

Overview

About

CEO
Greggory D. Groenemann
Headquarters
TX
Founded
2006
FDD year
2023
States available
45

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 94% below the typical healthcare franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$6K – $31KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 17 of the 2023 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise feeNot extracted
Royalty1.5%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 12 of the 2023 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fund0.0%Not cited — published from our reading of the franchisor's disclosure document; the page it is printed on has not been located.
Working capitalNot extracted

Source: FDD 2023 · Items 5–7

Full Item 7 breakdown4 line items

Initial investment breakdown

Item 7 initial investment line items
Line itemLowHigh
Initial Franchise Fee——
Signage$3K$10K
Initial Inventories (Dental Supplies)$2K$20K
Legal Fees$800$1K
Total initial investment$6K$31K

Line items extracted from FDD Item 7. Ranges reflect the franchisor's stated low and high per line. Total is the sum of line-item lows / highs — actual costs may fall outside this range depending on market and build-out scope.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$6K – $31K
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
N/A
Cash you must have on hand
Franchise fee
N/A
Paid to franchisor at signing
Royalty
1.5%
Set by a formula · typical 6–8%
Ad fund
0.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
2.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Smile Source: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty1.5% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund0.0%
Inventory (initial)$2K – $40K
Total fee load2.0% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

Smile Source makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Smile Source unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $6K–$31K (midpoint used)
Item 7 didn't break this out. Enter your pre-opening cash burn

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy, other operating costs and working capital, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
—
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2023 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 115 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 2.0% — below the Healthcare median of 8.0%.

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

System expanding at 11.6% CAGR over 3 years across 663 units — operators are staying and new ones are joining.

Multi-unit rate

Only 7% of franchisees own multiple units. Could indicate challenging economics or a young system where operators haven't had time to expand.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Healthcare medians

How Smile Source Compares

Metric
Smile Source
Category median
vs median
Investment
$19K
$321Kmiddle half $178K–$530K · n=133
Below median, better than category
Revenue
N/A
$676Kmiddle half $496K–$929K · n=48
N/A
Unit Count
663
23middle half 5–101 · n=132
Above median, better than category

Category median of published Healthcare brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units663Verified — printed on page 34 of the 2023 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it three ways.
3-yr growth+11.6% (favorable vs category)
Turnover rate13.0% (caution)

Source: FDD 2023 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
663
Opened
124
Last reporting year
Closed
86
Terminated
27
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
36
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
13.0%
Company-owned
0
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
100%
vs corporate-owned
Multi-unit owners
7.1%
Net growth (3-yr)
+11.6%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
+11.6%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
27
Not renewed
36
Termination rate
9.5%
Franchisor-initiated terminations
Ceased ops
16.4%
Units that stopped operating
2020
594
Franchised units
2021
625+31
Franchised units
2022
663+38
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 20 · 45 states with active franchisees

The Territory Map

Derived from franchisee contact records. Shows states with at least one current operator. Not where the franchisor is registered to sell new units (that data is re-extracting in a future refresh).

AK
ME
VT
NH
MA
RI
CT
NY
NJ
PA
DE
MD
DC
WA
OR
CA
NV
ID
MT
WY
UT
CO
AZ
NM
ND
SD
NE
KS
OK
TX
MN
IA
MO
AR
LA
WI
IL
MS
TN
MI
IN
KY
AL
OH
WV
GA
VA
NC
SC
FL
HI
Active operators · 45 states
No contacts on file

States derived from franchisee contact records (FDD Item 20). Shows states with at least one current operator on file. Full state registration data (Item 12) will appear on a future FDD refresh.

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

696 current owners across 45 states; 38 former (terminated, transferred or not renewed) listed separately.

  • TX 64
  • GA 53
  • TN 51
  • WA 43
  • MS 32
  • SC 30
  • PA 29
  • OK 27
  • MI 26
  • OH 25
  • CA 22
  • FL 22
  • +33 more states

Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA loan disclosures. This brand has only 1 7(a) loan on file; statistical reliability is limited below 10 loans.

Total loans
1
Loan volume
$541K
Median loan
$541K
average
Charge-off rate
Under 10 loans (1)
Insufficient SBA coverage: 1 loan, rate hidden below 10

Historical SBA 7(a) lending data, not predictive of future performance. How SBA charge-off rates are calculated

Repayment rate (PIF)
Under 10 loans (1)
5-yr charge-off
Under 10 loans (1)
Loans approved 2021+
Active lenders
0
Defaults
N/A

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

Total loans
1
Loan volume
$541K
Charge-off rate
N/A
Jobs created
1

Historical SBA 504 lending data via CDCs, not predictive of future performance.

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offUnder 10 loans (1)
Verdict score70/100 (higher is better)
Litigation0 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

AStrongest tier70Verdict score 70/100

One minor concern: Item 19 not disclosed. Otherwise clean — no litigation, no bankruptcy, positive net worth $138,906, audited financials, and a large growing 663-unit franchised system (+11.6%).

Low confidence±16 pts
5486

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: officers or affiliates. The franchisor is not a named party in these cases.

No litigation required to be disclosed

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · FORVIS, LLP

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: No
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: Yes
  • Must buy proprietary products: No
  • Restricted to system-approved products: No
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: Yes

Score breakdown · what drove the 70 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MEDItem 19 not disclosed
  2. 02MINORNo litigation, no bankruptcy
  3. 03MINORPositive net worth $138,906, audited
  4. 04MINORLarge growing system: 663 units, +11.6%

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 115 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 2.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term5 yrs
Renewal term5 yrs
TerritoryNone (caution)
Initial trainingNot extracted

Source: FDD 2023 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term5 years
Renewal term5 years
Territory typeNo territory protection
Protected territoryNo
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Territory sizeℹRadius around location
Online sales rightsGranted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Not allowed
Owner-operatorRequired
Non-compete (years)ℹ3 years
Right of first refusalℹYes
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice60 days
Mandatory arbitrationYes
Arbitration locationHarris County, Texas
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawTexas
Litigation count0
View Item 3 litigation summary

No litigation required to be disclosed

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
0 hrs
On-the-job training
0 hrs
Training location
On-site and off-site
Ongoing training
Required
Time to open
6 mo
From signing to launch
Site selection
Franchisee selects site (or uses existing dental office); franchisor must approve; geospatial service offered to assist selection
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✗Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

734 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 734 contacts · $49
Free preview
(865) 984-••••TN
Unlock all 734 contacts
(262) 657-••••WI
(770) 506-••••GA
(918) 742-••••OK
(803) 794-••••SC

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Smile Source franchise?

The total investment to open a Smile Source franchise ranges from $6K – $31K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Smile Source franchise owners earn?

Smile Source makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns Smile Source?

Smile Source is franchised by Smile Source L.P.. Its parent company is Smile Source Management L.L.C. (General Partner); wholly owned by SSH Corporation. The ultimate parent named in the FDD is Smile Source Holdings, L.P. (controlled by Incline Equity Partners). Source: FDD Item 1, 2023 filing.

What is Item 19 in the Smile Source FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Smile Source FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Smile Source's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for Smile Source (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many Smile Source franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Smile Source has 663 total units in the United States, including 663 franchised units and 0 company-owned units. 124 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is Smile Source a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Smile Source as a A-grade franchise with a verdict score of 70 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Smile Source, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Healthcare franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Healthcare category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.