Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Pritikin ICR logo

Pritikin ICR Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

HealthcareMissouriFranchising since 2013
AStrongest tierStrongest tier83/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$6K – $53K
Disclosed sales
partial, no system average
SBA charge-off
Not SBA-matched

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-02044FDD 2026Data QualityStandard71%
Manager-run OKNo: No territory protection

Data from FDD filing

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

Pritikin ICR is a healthcare franchise that licenses hospitals and cardiology practices to deliver its Medicare-approved intensive cardiac-rehabilitation program. Licensees run the Pritikin program within their own facility, managing clinical delivery and patient enrollment.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Pritikin ICR franchise requires a total initial investment of $6K – $53K and an ongoing 16.0% royalty[2]. The 2026 FDD on file does not yield a unit-revenue figure we can publish. FranchiseVerdict grade: A (Strongest tier), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: low - issued within the last 12 months

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored3 of 3 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing.

Overview

Investment
$6K – $53K
0th pct Healthcare
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
16.0%
73rd pct Healthcare
Units
183
70th pct Healthcare
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Healthcare · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$6K – $53K
Median $321K
below median ↓, better than category
Franchise Fee
$0 – $0
Median $50K
below median ↓, better than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$0 – $32K
Median $40K
below median ↓, better than category
Avg Revenue
Partial, no system average
No system average in Item 19
Royalty Rate
16.0%
Median 7.0%
above median ↑, worse than category
Ongoing Fees
16.0% of rev
Median 8.0%
above median ↑, worse than category
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Not SBA-matched
Not matched to SBA 7(a) loans
System Size
183 units
Median 23 units
above median ↑, better than category
Turnover Rate
0.5%
Median 0.0%
Territory
None
The franchisor can open or license outlets nearby
Owner-Operator
Optional
Can hire a manager
Litigation
None disclosed
Clean record

Green = favorable by >10% vs Healthcare median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $6K – $53K, 16.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSItem 19 does not disclose whole-unit average gross sales. Instead it discloses (a) per-session Medicare reimbursement rate tables (2026 national average rates of $22-$132/session for CR and $132/session for ICR, projected at 25/50/100/150/200-patient volumes) and (b) 2025 Licensee Reported Results from 138 licensees: average of 46.9 Completed ICR Sessions per patient (median 47.6), ranging from 14.7 to 72.0 sessions, on a 72-session maximum prescription.
  • RISKVerdict A (Strongest tier), verdict score 83/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHPositive: net +37 franchised outlets in the latest year (38 opened, 1 closed) (Item 20).
  • GROWTHSystem growing at 64.0% CAGR over 3 years with 183 total units. Strong expansion trajectory.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Pritikin ICR LLC
Parent company
Pritikin Enterprises LLC
FDD Item 1, page 6 of the 2026 FDD
Ultimate parent
The Pritikin Organization LLC
FDD Item 1, page 6 of the 2026 FDD
Predecessor
in
Prior franchisor entity
CEO title
Chairman and Interim Chief Executive Officer
Donald Nickelson
Incorporated in
Delaware
HQ
7733 Forsyth Boulevard, Floor 23, Clayton, Missouri 63105
Auditor
Baker Tilly US, LLP
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$27.4M
vs $20.5M prior year

Affiliated brands

  • Florida Pritikin Center
  • operates the Pritikin Longevity Center in Doral
  • Pritikin Trademark Company

Other brands the franchisor or its parent operates (Item 1).

Overview

About

CEO
Donald Nickelson
Headquarters
Missouri
Founded
2013
FDD year
2026
States available
30

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 91% below the typical healthcare franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$6K – $53KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 17 of the 2026 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise feeNot extracted
Royalty16.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 13 of the 2026 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fundNot extracted
Working capital$0 – $32K

Source: FDD 2026 · Items 5–7

Full Item 7 breakdown11 line items

Initial investment breakdown

Item 7 initial investment line items
Line itemLowHigh
Real property - rent and deposit——
Leasehold improvements——
Furniture, Fixtures, Office Equipment and Supplies——
Cooking Equipment$0$10K
Computer and Business Software——
CMS Enrollment Application Fee$750$750
Business Licenses & Permits——
Professional Fees – Legal & Accounting$5K$10K
Insurance——
Training Expenses——
Additional Funds (3 Months)$0$32K
Total initial investment$6K$53K

Line items extracted from FDD Item 7. Ranges reflect the franchisor's stated low and high per line. Total is the sum of line-item lows / highs — actual costs may fall outside this range depending on market and build-out scope.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$6K – $53K
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$0 – $32K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
N/A
Paid to franchisor at signing
Royalty
16.0%
typical 6–8%
Ad fund
No advertising fund fee; franchisor not required to spend…
Total fee load
16.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Pritikin ICR: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty16.0%
Total fee load16.0% of rev

What do units actually make?

Avg gross salesNot extracted
Median gross salesNot extracted
Item 19 typeper-session utilization / …
Sample size138

Source: FDD 2026 · Item 19

ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

No Item 19 revenue figure for Pritikin ICR is on file. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Pritikin ICR unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $6K–$53K (midpoint used)
Item 7 didn't break this out. Enter your pre-opening cash burn

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, ad fund rate, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$45K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2026 FDD

Financial Performance

Item 19 does not disclose whole-unit average gross sales. Instead it discloses (a) per-session Medicare reimbursement rate tables (2026 national average rates of $22-$132/session for CR and $132/session for ICR, projected at 25/50/100/150/200-patient volumes) and (b) 2025 Licensee Reported Results from 138 licensees: average of 46.9 Completed ICR Sessions per patient (median 47.6), ranging from 14.7 to 72.0 sessions, on a 72-session maximum prescription.

Item 19 type
per-session utilization / Medicare reimbursement projections (not gross sales)
Sample size
138
vs category median 20 · large
Reporting year
2025
Fiscal year the figures cover
Source filing
FDD 2026
Disclosed in the 2026 filing, covering 2025
Gross sales rank
No comparison data
Investment cost rank0th
Lower investment ranks lower (better)
Royalty rate rank73th
Lower royalty = lower percentile (better)
Unit count rank70th
vs Healthcare peers
Risk score rank2th
Lower risk = lower percentile (better)

Compared against 162 Healthcare brands

Showing the headline figures — all 117 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 16.0% — above the Healthcare median of 8.0%.

Disclosure

Item 19 does not yield a per-outlet annual revenue figure we can compare across brands.

Operator retention

System expanding at 64.0% CAGR over 3 years across 183 units — operators are staying and new ones are joining.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Healthcare medians

How Pritikin ICR Compares

Metric
Pritikin ICR
Category median
vs median
Investment
$29K
$321Kmiddle half $178K–$530K · n=133
Below median, better than category
Revenue
N/A
$676Kmiddle half $496K–$929K · n=48
N/A
Unit Count
183
23middle half 5–101 · n=132
Above median, better than category

Category median of published Healthcare brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units183Verified — printed on page 46 of the 2026 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it three ways.
3-yr growth+64.0% (favorable vs category)
Turnover rate0.5% (favorable vs category)

Source: FDD 2026 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
183
Opened
38
Last reporting year
Closed
1
Terminated
1
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
0.5%
Company-owned
1
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
100%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
+64.0%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
+64.0%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
1
Not renewed
0
Transferred
0
Reacquired
0
Franchisor bought back
Termination rate
0.1%
Franchisor-initiated terminations
Ceased ops
0.1%
Units that stopped operating
2023
111
Franchised units
2024
145+34
Franchised units
2025
182+37
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 12 · 30 states reported

The Territory Map

FDD Item 12 reports the state count, but the specific list isn't in our current data. The map will appear once we re-extract from the FDD or enough franchisee contacts are available.

30

states with franchisees (per FDD Item 12)

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

No SBA loan data available for this brand.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offNot SBA-matched
Verdict score83/100 (higher is better)
Litigation0 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

AStrongest tier83Verdict score 83/100

No litigation, bankruptcy, or going-concern; audited financials with net worth $9,344,921 and net income $4,747,215 on $14.69M revenue. Item 19 disclosed, 112 units growing +60.9%. Financially strong and clean.

Low confidence±15 pts
6898

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: officers or affiliates. The franchisor is not a named party in these cases.

No litigation disclosed in Item 3.

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Baker Tilly US, LLP

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $27.4MYr 2: $20.5M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes

Score breakdown · what drove the 83 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MINORNo litigation/bankruptcy/going-concern
  2. 02MINORNet worth $9.34M, net income $4.75M
  3. 03MEDAudited, Item 19 disclosed, +60.9% growth

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 117 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 16.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term3 yrs
Renewal term3 yrs
TerritoryNone (caution)
Initial training127 hrs

Source: FDD 2026 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term3 years
Renewal term3 years
Territory typeNo territory protection
Protected territoryNo
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Online sales rightsℹRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorOptional
Non-compete (years)ℹ3 years
Right of first refusalℹNo
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Termination groundsℹ2
Curable defaultsℹ1
Mandatory arbitrationNo
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawDelaware
Litigation count0
View Item 3 litigation summary

No litigation disclosed in Item 3.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
123 hrs
On-the-job training
4 hrs
Training location
Remote/online self-paced modules plus onsite training at Provider's facility
Ongoing training
Required
Time to open
4 mo
From signing to launch
Site selection
not_applicable
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10
POS system
ICR Portal
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✗Site selection assistance
✗Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Technology: ICR Portal

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

73 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 73 contacts · $49
Free preview
806-725-••••
Unlock all 73 contacts
479-317-••••
308-455-••••
617-787-••••
318-681-••••

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Pritikin ICR franchise?

The total investment to open a Pritikin ICR franchise ranges from $6K – $53K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Pritikin ICR franchise owners earn?

Item 19 of the Pritikin ICR FDD discloses figures for part of the system but no single average across all outlets. These are gross sales figures, not profit; the Revenue section shows what the filing reports and on what basis. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns Pritikin ICR?

Pritikin ICR is franchised by Pritikin ICR LLC. Its parent company is Pritikin Enterprises LLC. The ultimate parent named in the FDD is The Pritikin Organization LLC. Source: FDD Item 1, 2026 filing.

What is Item 19 in the Pritikin ICR FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Pritikin ICR FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Pritikin ICR's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for Pritikin ICR (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many Pritikin ICR franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Pritikin ICR has 183 total units in the United States, including 182 franchised units and 1 company-owned units. 38 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is Pritikin ICR a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Pritikin ICR as a A-grade franchise with a verdict score of 83 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Pritikin ICR, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Healthcare franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Healthcare category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.