Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Schmidt Baking Distribution (dba Schmidt) logo

Schmidt Baking Distribution (dba Schmidt) Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Food RetailMDFranchising since 2011
BAbove averageAbove average49/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$45K – $364K
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Not SBA-matched

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-02248FDD 2025Data QualityStandard67%Pre-opening
Manager-run OKYes: Exclusive territory

Data from FDD filing

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

Schmidt Baking Distribution is a direct-store-delivery franchise distributing fresh Schmidt-brand breads and baked goods to retailers. Franchisees own protected delivery routes, restocking store shelves and managing inventory and accounts rather than a storefront.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Schmidt Baking Distribution (dba Schmidt) franchise requires a total initial investment of $45K – $364K, including a $30K – $210K franchise fee. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: B (Above average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: 2025 filing · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: medium - a newer filing may exist

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored2 of 3 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing; the rest are marked “Not cited” beside the figure.

Overview

Investment
$45K – $364K
2nd pct Food Retail
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
Not extracted
Units
460
11th pct Food Retail
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Food Retail · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$45K – $364K
Median $290K
below median ↓, better than category
Franchise Fee
$30K – $210K
Median $45K
above median ↑, worse than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$2K – $6K
Median $32K
below median ↓, better than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
Not extracted
Median 6.0%
Ongoing Fees
42.5% of rev
Median 7.0%
above median ↑, worse than category
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Not SBA-matched
Not matched to SBA 7(a) loans
System Size
460 units
Median 37 units
above median ↑, better than category
Turnover Rate
10.2%
Median 2.0%
above median ↑, worse than category
Territory
Exclusive
No other outlet of the brand may open inside it
Owner-Operator
Optional
Can hire a manager
Litigation
8 cases
Review carefully

Green = favorable by >10% vs Food Retail median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $45K – $364K including a $30K franchise fee.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict B (Above average), verdict score 49/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHNegative: net -2 franchised outlets in the latest year (45 opened, 47 closed) (Item 20).
  • DATAThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Schmidt Baking Distribution, LLC
Parent company
Schmidt Baking Company, Incorporated
FDD Item 1, page 7 of the 2025 FDD
Predecessor
Schmidt Baking Company, Incorporated
Prior franchisor entity
CEO title
President
Stephen J. Paterakis
Incorporated in
Maryland
HQ
601 S. Caroline Street, Baltimore, Maryland 21231
Auditor
Gross, Mendelsohn & Associates, P.A.
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$249.2M
vs $254.5M prior year

Affiliated brands

  • Jonber Associates
  • Exeter Financial Services
  • Presidential Truck Leasing

Other brands the franchisor or its parent operates (Item 1).

Overview

About

CEO
Stephen J. Paterakis
Headquarters
MD
Founded
2010
FDD year
2025
States available
9

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 30% below the typical food retail franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$45K – $364KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 20 of the 2025 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$30,000Not cited — published from our reading of the franchisor's disclosure document; the page it is printed on has not been located.
RoyaltyNot extracted
Ad fundNot extracted
Working capital$2K – $6K

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 5–7

Full Item 7 breakdown10 line items

Initial investment breakdown

Item 7 initial investment line items
Line itemLowHigh
Initial Purchase Fee$30K$210K
Computer Use and Suppliesnot refundable$553$553
Vehicle$7K$101K
Loan Fees to Exeter$430$2K
Down Payment Loan Origination Fee to DSA$400$400
Products for 1 Week (Inventory)$3K$40K
Vehicle Maintenance$460$3K
Initial Insurance Coveragenot refundable$600$2K
Incorporation Expenses$300$800
Additional Funds (3 months)$2K$6K
Total initial investment$45K$364K

Line items extracted from FDD Item 7. Ranges reflect the franchisor's stated low and high per line. Total is the sum of line-item lows / highs — actual costs may fall outside this range depending on market and build-out scope.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$45K – $364K
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$2K – $6K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$30K – $210K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
No royalty is charged. Franchisor derives revenue from wh…
Ad fund
No mandatory advertising fund; franchisor does not conduc…
Total fee load
42.5%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Schmidt Baking Distribution (dba Schmidt): Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Technology fee$42
Transfer fee$2
Inventory (initial)$3K – $40K
Total fee load42.5% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

Schmidt Baking Distribution (dba Schmidt) makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Schmidt Baking Distribution (dba Schmidt) unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundnot set
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $45K–$364K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $2K–$6K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, royalty rate, ad fund rate, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$208K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2025 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 136 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 42.5% — above the Food Retail median of 7.0%.

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Food Retail medians

How Schmidt Baking Distribution (dba Schmidt) Compares

Metric
Schmidt Baking Distribution (dba Schmidt)
Category median
vs median
Investment
$204K
$290Kmiddle half $158K–$596K · n=18
Below median, better than category
Revenue
N/A
$1.1Mmiddle half $515K–$1.9M · n=4
N/A
Unit Count
460
37middle half 11–103 · n=18
Above median, better than category

Category median of published Food Retail brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units460Verified — printed on page 43 of the 2025 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it two ways.
Turnover rate10.2% (caution)

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
460
Opened
45
Last reporting year
Closed
47
Terminated
0
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
10.2%
Company-owned
24
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
95%
vs corporate-owned

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
0
Not renewed
0
Transferred
64
Reacquired
46
Franchisor bought back
Signed, not yet open
0
0.00 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
23
Franchisor's next-year forecast
2022
418
Franchised units
2023
438+20
Franchised units
2024
436-2
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 20 · 7 states with active franchisees

The Territory Map

Derived from franchisee contact records. Shows states with at least one current operator. Not where the franchisor is registered to sell new units (that data is re-extracting in a future refresh).

AK
ME
VT
NH
MA
RI
CT
NY
NJ
PA
DE
MD
DC
WA
OR
CA
NV
ID
MT
WY
UT
CO
AZ
NM
ND
SD
NE
KS
OK
TX
MN
IA
MO
AR
LA
WI
IL
MS
TN
MI
IN
KY
AL
OH
WV
GA
VA
NC
SC
FL
HI
Active operators · 7 states
No contacts on file

States derived from franchisee contact records (FDD Item 20). Shows states with at least one current operator on file. Full state registration data (Item 12) will appear on a future FDD refresh.

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

93 current owners across 7 states.

  • MD 66
  • CT 10
  • DE 9
  • DC 3
  • NY 2
  • OR 2
  • PA 1

Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20; 2 entries carry no state. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

No SBA loan data available for this brand.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offNot SBA-matched
Verdict score49/100 (higher is better)
Litigation8 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

BAbove average49Verdict score 49/100

460-unit distribution franchisor with a net loss of -$1,918,274 and financial distress flagged, though net worth is a solid $10.3M on $249M revenue. Two pending federal class/collective misclassification actions (Silva, Franzone) plus a $300,000 settled case (Adragna), which are material for an IC-distributor model. No Item 19 disclosure. Multiple concerns stacked: losses, active class litigation, and no earnings claim.

Low confidence±15 pts
3464

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: the franchisor is a named party (defendant).

Two pending federal class/collective actions (Silva v. Schmidt in D. Conn.; Franzone v. Schmidt in E.D. Pa.) alleging misclassification of Distributors as independent contractors rather than employees; one concluded case (Adragna et al. v. Schmidt, M.D. Pa.) settled for $300,000 in Dec 2024; one concluded case (Gray/Jackson v. Schmidt, D. Md.) settled via arbitration for $72,500 and $110,000 respectively; franchisor also filed 3 arbitration demands against franchisees in the last fiscal year; a 2019 Maryland Securities Division consent order for selling unregistered franchises, with a $32,500 penalty and rescission offers.

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Gross, Mendelsohn & Associates, P.A.

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $249.2MYr 2: $254.5MNon-royalty: $1.0M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: No
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: No
  • Must buy proprietary products: No
  • Restricted to system-approved products: No
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No

Score breakdown · what drove the 49 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MINORNet loss -$1,918,274; financial distress flagged
  2. 02MINORTwo pending federal misclassification class/collective actions plus $300K settlement
  3. 03MINORNo Item 19 disclosure
  4. 04MINORPositive net worth $10.3M mitigates severity

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 136 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Full litigation history from the FDD (Items 3 and 4) →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 42.5% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial termNot extracted
Renewal termNot extracted
TerritoryExclusive (favorable vs category)
Initial trainingNot extracted

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Territory typeExclusive territory
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryℹYes
Territory sizeℹGeographic
Online sales rightsRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorOptional
Right of first refusalℹYes
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice3 days
Termination groundsℹ2
Curable defaultsℹ1
Mandatory arbitrationYes
Arbitration locationBaltimore, Maryland
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawMaryland
Litigation count8
View Item 3 litigation summary

Two pending federal class/collective actions (Silva v. Schmidt in D. Conn.; Franzone v. Schmidt in E.D. Pa.) alleging misclassification of Distributors as independent contractors rather than employees; one concluded case (Adragna et al. v. Schmidt, M.D. Pa.) settled for $300,000 in Dec 2024; one concluded case (Gray/Jackson v. Schmidt, D. Md.) settled via arbitration for $72,500 and $110,000 respectively; franchisor also filed 3 arbitration demands against franchisees in the last fiscal year; a 2019 Maryland Securities Division consent order for selling unregistered franchises, with a $32,500 penalty and rescission offers.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
0 hrs
On-the-job training
0 hrs
Training location
On-site and corporate
Ongoing training
Optional
Site selection
Franchisor designates Sales Area; no site selection required (no fixed office/business location required)
Franchisor financing
Offered
Item 10
POS system
hand-held computer system
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✗Site selection assistance
✗Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Technology: hand-held computer system

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

95 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 95 contacts · $49
Free preview
(545) 000-••••
Unlock all 95 contacts
(541) 000-••••OR
(541) 000-••••OR
(443) 527-••••MD
(202) 294-••••DC

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Schmidt Baking Distribution (dba Schmidt) franchise?

The total investment to open a Schmidt Baking Distribution (dba Schmidt) franchise ranges from $45K – $364K, with an initial franchise fee of $30K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Schmidt Baking Distribution (dba Schmidt) franchise owners earn?

Schmidt Baking Distribution (dba Schmidt) makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns Schmidt Baking Distribution (dba Schmidt)?

Schmidt Baking Distribution (dba Schmidt) is franchised by Schmidt Baking Distribution, LLC. Its parent company is Schmidt Baking Company, Incorporated. Source: FDD Item 1, 2025 filing.

What is Item 19 in the Schmidt Baking Distribution (dba Schmidt) FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Schmidt Baking Distribution (dba Schmidt) FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Schmidt Baking Distribution (dba Schmidt)'s franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for Schmidt Baking Distribution (dba Schmidt) (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many Schmidt Baking Distribution (dba Schmidt) franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Schmidt Baking Distribution (dba Schmidt) has 460 total units in the United States, including 436 franchised units and 24 company-owned units. 45 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is Schmidt Baking Distribution (dba Schmidt) a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Schmidt Baking Distribution (dba Schmidt) as a B-grade franchise with a verdict score of 49 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Schmidt Baking Distribution (dba Schmidt), you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Food Retail franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Food Retail category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.