Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Sunoco Retail LLC – Area Representative Program logo

Sunoco Retail LLC – Area Representative Program Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Food RetailTXFranchising since 2015
BAbove averageAbove average60/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$20K – $39K
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Not SBA-matched

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-02498FDD 2025Data QualityStandard71%Pre-opening
Owner-operator requiredNo: No territory protection

Data from FDD filing

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

This Sunoco program franchises Area Representatives who develop territories for the Sunoco APLUS convenience-store network, recruiting and supporting downstream store franchisees. Area Reps earn a share of franchise fees and royalties rather than running a store themselves.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Sunoco Retail LLC – Area Representative Program franchise requires a total initial investment of $20K – $39K, including a $5K franchise fee. This fee is for a master or area-representative grant rather than a single unit, so it is not comparable with the single-unit fees shown for other brands. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: B (Above average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: medium - issued 12 to 24 months ago; a newer filing is likely on file

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored3 of 3 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing.

Overview

Investment
$20K – $39K
0th pct Food Retail
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
Not extracted
Units
265
10th pct Food Retail
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Food Retail · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$20K – $39K
Median $290K
below median ↓, better than category
Franchise Fee
$5K – $5K
Median $45K
Master/area fee
Liquid Capital Req'd
$3K – $7K
Median $32K
below median ↓, better than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
Not extracted
Median 6.0%
Ongoing Fees
Not extracted
Median 7.0%
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Not SBA-matched
Not matched to SBA 7(a) loans
System Size
265 units
Median 37 units
above median ↑, better than category
Turnover Rate
0.8%
Median 2.0%
below median ↓, better than category
Territory
None
The franchisor can open or license outlets nearby
Owner-Operator
Required
You must run it yourself
Litigation
2 cases
Some history

Green = favorable by >10% vs Food Retail median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $20K – $39K including a $5K franchise fee. This fee is for a master or area-representative grant rather than a single unit, so it is not comparable with the single-unit fees shown for other brands.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict B (Above average), verdict score 60/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHNegative: net -2 franchised outlets in the latest year (0 opened, 2 closed) (Item 20).
  • DATAThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Sunoco Retail LLC
Parent company
Sunoco LP
FDD Item 1, page 8 of the 2025 FDD
CEO title
Chief Executive Officer and President
Joseph Kim
Incorporated in
PA
HQ
8111 Westchester Drive, Suite 600, Dallas, Texas 75225
Auditor
Grant Thornton LLP
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$22.7B
vs $23.1B prior year

Affiliated brands

  • Sunoco GP
  • Sunoco
  • Sunmarks

Other brands the franchisor or its parent operates (Item 1).

Same owner · FDD Item 1, page 8

1 other brand on this site name Sunoco LP as parent or ultimate parent in their own FDD.

Grouped by the owner's name as each filing prints it (this page: the 2025 FDD). Spelling variants of the same group may be listed apart; a brand is never grouped with an owner its filing does not name.

Overview

About

CEO
Joseph Kim
Headquarters
TX
Founded
2015
FDD year
2025
States available
11

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 90% below the typical food retail franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$20K – $39KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 21 of the 2025 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$5,000Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 16 of the 2025 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
RoyaltyNot extracted
Ad fundNot extracted
Working capital$3K – $7K

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 5–7

The filing conditions this fee

This fee is for a master or area-representative grant rather than a single unit, so it is not comparable with the single-unit fees shown for other brands.

Full Item 7 breakdown7 line items

Initial investment breakdown

Item 7 initial investment line items
Line itemLowHigh
Area Rep Initial Feenot refundable$5K$5K
Initial Training: Travel and Living Expenses$3K$5K
Office Supplies and Equipment (including Computer System)$3K$7K
Insurance$5K$10K
Professional Fees (lawyer, accountant, etc.)$2K$3K
Office Supplies$500$2K
Additional Funds (for first 3 months)$3K$7K
Total initial investment$20K$39K

Line items extracted from FDD Item 7. Ranges reflect the franchisor's stated low and high per line. Total is the sum of line-item lows / highs — actual costs may fall outside this range depending on market and build-out scope.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$20K – $39K
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$3K – $7K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$5K – $5K
Master/area fee
Royalty
No royalty is paid by the Area Representative to the fran…
Ad fund
Area Representatives currently pay no advertising fund. T…

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Sunoco Retail LLC – Area Representative Program: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Technology fee$600
Training fee$2K
Transfer fee$0
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

Sunoco Retail LLC – Area Representative Program makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Sunoco Retail LLC – Area Representative Program unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundnot set
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $20K–$39K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $3K–$7K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, royalty rate, ad fund rate, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$34K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2025 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 110 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

System roughly stable (-1.6% 3-year CAGR) with 265 units.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Food Retail medians

How Sunoco Retail LLC – Area Representative Program Compares

Metric
Sunoco Retail LLC – Area Representative Program
Category median
vs median
Investment
$29K
$290Kmiddle half $158K–$596K · n=18
Below median, better than category
Revenue
N/A
$1.1Mmiddle half $515K–$1.9M · n=4
N/A
Unit Count
265
37middle half 11–103 · n=18
Above median, better than category

Category median of published Food Retail brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units265Verified — printed on page 42 of the 2025 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it two ways.
3-yr growth-1.6% (worth scrutinizing)
Turnover rate0.8% (favorable vs category)

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
265
Opened
0
Last reporting year
Closed
2
Terminated
2
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
0.8%
Company-owned
19
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
93%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
-1.6%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
-1.6%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
2
Not renewed
0
Transferred
11
Reacquired
0
Franchisor bought back
2022
250
Franchised units
2023
248-2
Franchised units
2024
246-2
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 12 · 11 states reported

The Territory Map

FDD Item 12 reports the state count, but the specific list isn't in our current data. The map will appear once we re-extract from the FDD or enough franchisee contacts are available.

11

states with franchisees (per FDD Item 12)

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

1 current owner across 1 state.

  • TX 1

Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

No SBA loan data available for this brand.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offNot SBA-matched
Verdict score60/100 (higher is better)
Litigation2 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

BAbove average60Verdict score 60/100
Low confidence±15 pts
4575

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: the franchisor is a named party (defendant).

Two matters disclosed. Pending: Sunoco (R&M), LLC and Sunoco, LLC v. Pennsylvania National Mutual Casualty Insurance Co., Greyhound Aramingo Petroleum Co., and Sergey Gorlov (breach of contract/indemnification over a 2014 gas-station accident; trial court awarded Sunoco a $2,288,802.76 verdict against Greyhound; cross-appeals pending in PA Superior Court). Completed: Kiran Park Newsstand Inc. v. Sunoco, Inc. (EDNY interpleader over an $79,218.01 security deposit; Sunoco dismissed with prejudice in 2018).

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Grant Thornton LLP

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $22693.0MYr 2: $23068.0M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

ⓘ These are the parent company's consolidated financials (the parent guarantees the franchisor), not this brand's standalone results — the figure reflects the whole corporate group, not this brand alone.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: No
  • Must buy proprietary products: No
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes

Score breakdown · what drove the 60 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MINORDeclining unit count (-0.8% YoY) indicates system contraction and potential saturation or performance issues
  2. 02MEDNo average revenue or net income disclosure (missing Item 19) prevents ROI assessment and suggests weak unit economics
  3. 03HIGHActive litigation involving breach of contract and personal injury liability creates legal and reputational risk
  4. 04MINORUnprotected territory creates cannibalization risk where ARs compete for same royalty revenue from overlapping stores
  5. 05MINORMinimum $500/month guarantee appears modest and insufficient to justify $20K-$38.5K investment without growth potential
  6. 06MINORIndirect revenue model (dependent on APLUS franchisee performance, not direct AR earnings) creates misaligned incentives

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 110 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Full litigation history from the FDD (Items 3 and 4) →

What are you signing up for?

Initial term5 yrs
Renewal termNot extracted
TerritoryNone (caution)
Initial training6 hrs

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term5 years
Allowed renewalsℹ0
Territory typeNo territory protection
Protected territoryNo
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Online sales rightsRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorRequired
Non-compete (years)ℹ2 years
Non-compete (miles)ℹ10 mi
Right of first refusalℹYes
RoFR response window30 days
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Termination groundsℹ1
Mandatory arbitrationNo
Jury trial waiverNo
Governing lawTX
Litigation count2
View Item 3 litigation summary

Two matters disclosed. Pending: Sunoco (R&M), LLC and Sunoco, LLC v. Pennsylvania National Mutual Casualty Insurance Co., Greyhound Aramingo Petroleum Co., and Sergey Gorlov (breach of contract/indemnification over a 2014 gas-station accident; trial court awarded Sunoco a $2,288,802.76 verdict against Greyhound; cross-appeals pending in PA Superior Court). Completed: Kiran Park Newsstand Inc. v. Sunoco, Inc. (EDNY interpleader over an $79,218.01 security deposit; Sunoco dismissed with prejudice in 2018).

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
6 hrs
On-the-job training
0 hrs
Training location
Franchisor headquarters in Pennsylvania, the franchised business location, or another designated location including virtual
Ongoing training
Required
Time to open
3 mo
From signing to launch

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✗Site selection assistance
✗Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

1 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 1 contacts · $49
Free preview
(214) 840-••••TX

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Sunoco Retail LLC – Area Representative Program franchise?

The total investment to open a Sunoco Retail LLC – Area Representative Program franchise ranges from $20K – $39K, with an initial franchise fee of $5K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD). This fee is for a master or area-representative grant rather than a single unit, so it is not comparable with the single-unit fees shown for other brands.

What do Sunoco Retail LLC – Area Representative Program franchise owners earn?

Sunoco Retail LLC – Area Representative Program makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns Sunoco Retail LLC – Area Representative Program?

Sunoco Retail LLC – Area Representative Program is franchised by Sunoco Retail LLC. Its parent company is Sunoco LP. Source: FDD Item 1, 2025 filing.

What is Item 19 in the Sunoco Retail LLC – Area Representative Program FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Sunoco Retail LLC – Area Representative Program FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Sunoco Retail LLC – Area Representative Program's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for Sunoco Retail LLC – Area Representative Program (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many Sunoco Retail LLC – Area Representative Program franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Sunoco Retail LLC – Area Representative Program has 265 total units in the United States, including 246 franchised units and 19 company-owned units.

Is Sunoco Retail LLC – Area Representative Program a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Sunoco Retail LLC – Area Representative Program as a B-grade franchise with a verdict score of 60 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Sunoco Retail LLC – Area Representative Program, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Food Retail franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Food Retail category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.