Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Red Robin logo
FV-02120FDD 2025Data Quality·Excellent81%
Owner-operator requiredYes: Protected territory

Red Robin Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Full-Service RestaurantsCOFranchising since 1979CEODavid A. PaceWebsite Report an errorFranchisor? Claim this listing

Data from FDD filing + SBA 7(a) records

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

BAbove average61/100

Red Robin is a casual-dining franchise known for gourmet burgers, bottomless steak fries, and a family-friendly atmosphere. Franchisees operate full-service restaurants managing a large kitchen and service staff across busy lunch and dinner service.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Red Robin franchise requires a total initial investment of $3.2M – $5.8M, including a $35K franchise fee and an ongoing 5.0% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: B (Above average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Data last verified · figures per the 2025 FDD issuance

Overview

Investment
$3.2M – $5.8M
39th pct Service Resta…
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
5.0%
8th pct Service Resta…
Units
498
36th pct Service Resta…
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Full-Service Restaurants · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$3.2M – $5.8M
Avg $1.2M
above avg ↑
Franchise Fee
$35K – $35K
Avg $40K
Liquid Capital Req'd
$100K – $200K
Avg $69K
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
5.0%
Avg 5.3%
Ongoing Fees
9.0% of rev
Avg 7.6%
SBA Charge-Off Rate
No SBA data
Not SBA-matched
System Size
498 units
Avg 177 units
Turnover Rate
0.2%
Avg 6.0%
Territory
Protected
Exclusive zone granted
Owner-Operator
Required
You must run it yourself
Litigation
2 cases
Some history

Green = favorable by >10% vs Full-Service Restaurants avg · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $3.2M – $5.8M including a $35K franchise fee, 5.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict B (Above average), verdict score 61/100 (higher is better).
  • DATAThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Red Robin International, Inc.
Parent company
Red Robin Gourmet Burgers, Inc.
CEO title
President and Chief Executive Officer
David A. Pace
Incorporated in
Nevada
HQ
10000 East Geddes Avenue, Suite 500, Englewood, Colorado 80112
Auditor
Deloitte & Touche LLP
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$1.3M
vs $1.3M prior year

Overview

About

CEO
David A. Pace
Headquarters
CO
Founded
1969
FDD year
2025
States available
13

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 287% above the typical full-service restaurants franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$3.2M – $5.8MNot cited — published from our reading of the franchisor's disclosure document; the page it is printed on has not been located.
Franchise fee$35,000Verified — printed on page 12 of the 2025 FDD (Item 5), and another item of the same filing prints the same figure on a labelled row, which is an independent restatement.
Royalty + ad fund5.0% + 4.0%
Working capital$100K – $200K

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 5–7

FDD Item 7 · 2025 filing

Initial investment breakdown

Red Robin: Item 7 initial investment breakdown
Cost componentLowHigh
Initial franchise fee$35K$35K
Working capital (3–6 mo)$100K$200K
Equipment, build-out, other$3.1M$5.6M
Total initial investment$3.2M$5.8M

Source: Red Robin 2025 FDD, Items 5 and 7[2]. “Equipment, build-out, other” is computed as total minus disclosed line items above.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$3.2M – $5.8M
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$100K – $200K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$35K – $35K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
5.0%
typical 6–8%
Ad fund
4.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
9.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Red Robin: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty5.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund4.0% of gross sales
Transfer fee$10K
Inventory (initial)$40K $50K
Total fee load9.0% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

Red Robin makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Red Robin unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 68%
typ 35%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $3.2M–$5.8M (midpoint used)
FDD reports $100K–$200K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
EBITDA margin
Total invested
$4.6M
Payback
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2025 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 112 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 9.0% — above the Full-Service Restaurants average of 7.6%.

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Full-Service Restaurants averages

How Red Robin Compares

Metric
Red Robin
Category Avg
vs Avg
Investment
$4.5M
$1.2M
Revenue
N/A
$1.8M
Unit Count
498
177.058

Is the system healthy?

Total units498Verified — printed on page 45 of the 2025 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it two ways.
Turnover rate0.2%

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
498
Opened
0
Last reporting year
Closed
1
Turnover rate
0.2%
Company-owned
407
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
18%
vs corporate-owned

3-year detail · Item 20

Transfers (3yr)
0
2022
97
Franchised units
2023
92-5
Franchised units
2024
91-1
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 12 · 13 states reported

The Territory Map

FDD Item 12 reports the state count, but the specific list isn't in our current data. The map will appear once we re-extract from the FDD or enough franchisee contacts are available.

13

states with franchisees (per FDD Item 12)

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA loan disclosures. This brand has only 1 7(a) loan on file; statistical reliability is limited below 10 loans.

Total loans
1
Loan volume
$518K
Median loan
$518K
50th percentile
Charge-off rate
N/A
limited sample (1 loan) — rate not shown below 10

Historical SBA 7(a) lending data, not predictive of future performance. How SBA charge-off rates are calculated

Repayment rate (PIF)
N/A
5-yr charge-off
N/A
Loans approved 2021+
Active lenders
1
Defaults
N/A

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

Total loans
1
Loan volume
$1.1M
Charge-off rate
N/A
Jobs created
41

Historical SBA 504 lending data via CDCs, not predictive of future performance.

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

What could kill this investment?

Verdict score61/100 (higher is better)
Litigation2 cases
Going concernClear

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

BAbove average61Verdict score 61/100

Established (1979) system of 498 units with only 2 related litigation matters, both settled in 2016. No bankruptcy, no going-concern, audited financials. No Item 19 disclosed is a minor gap but overall a clean, mature franchisor; financials mostly company-owned (407) operations.

Moderate confidence±8 pts
4359

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Deloitte & Touche LLP

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $1.3MYr 2: $1.3M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Item 21 statements are the audited CONSOLIDATED financials of Red Robin Gourmet Burgers, Inc. (the Delaware parent/guarantor of franchisor Red Robin International, Inc.) for FY2024/2023/2022. The Exhibit A financial-statement pages did not extract into this text (scanned images), so no balance-sheet, income-statement, or auditor figures could be recovered.

ⓘ These are the parent company's consolidated financials (the parent guarantees the franchisor), not this brand's standalone results — the figure reflects the whole corporate group, not this brand alone.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: No
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: Yes
  • Must buy proprietary products: No
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No

Score breakdown · what drove the 61 / 100 verdict

  1. 01HIGHOnly 2 old settled litigation matters (2016)
  2. 02MINORNo bankruptcy/going-concern; audited financials
  3. 03MINORMature 498-unit system since 1979
  4. 04MINORMinor: no Item 19 disclosure

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 112 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Full litigation history from the FDD (Items 3 and 4) →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 9.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term20 yrs
TerritoryNot exclusive
Initial training594 hrs

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term20 years
Allowed renewals0
Territory typeRadius
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryNo
Online sales rightsRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorRequired
Non-compete (years)2 years
Non-compete (miles)5 mi
Right of first refusalYes
RoFR response window30 days
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice10 days
Mandatory arbitrationNo
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawColorado
Litigation count2

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
0 hrs
On-the-job training
594 hrs
Ongoing training
Required
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10
POS system
Aloha/NCR Voyix
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

Site selection assistance
Grand opening support
Lease negotiation help

Technology: Aloha/NCR Voyix

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

77 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 77 contacts · $49
Free preview
(302) 834-••••
Unlock all 77 contacts
(419) 878-••••
(816) 381-••••
(302) 478-••••
(469) 272-••••

FDD download

Red Robin · FDD (2025) PDF

Single-page checkout · instant download · CSV export of contacts available separately above

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Red Robin franchise?

The total investment to open a Red Robin franchise ranges from $3.2M – $5.8M, with an initial franchise fee of $35K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Red Robin franchise owners earn?

Red Robin makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

What is Item 19 in the Red Robin FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Red Robin FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Red Robin's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for Red Robin (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many Red Robin franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Red Robin has 498 total units in the United States, including 91 franchised units and 407 company-owned units.

Is Red Robin a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Red Robin as a B-grade franchise with a verdict score of 61 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Red Robin, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Full-Service Restaurants franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Full-Service Restaurants category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.