Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Red Mango logo
FV-02119FDD 2025Data Quality·Excellent81%
Owner-operator requiredYes: Protected territory

Red Mango Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Quick-Service RestaurantsTXFranchising since 2007CEOSherif MityasWebsite Report an errorFranchisor? Claim this listing

Data from FDD filing + SBA 7(a) records

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

DBelow average30/100

Red Mango is a frozen yogurt and smoothie franchise serving tart yogurt, probiotic smoothies, and acai bowls. Franchisees run the shops, managing product prep, staffing, and counter service.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Red Mango franchise requires a total initial investment of $323K – $557K, including a $15K – $30K franchise fee and an ongoing 6.0% royalty[2]. The 2025 FDD on file does not yield a unit-revenue figure we can publish. SBA 7(a) loans show a 30.8% charge-off rate across 14 loans[1]. FranchiseVerdict grade: D (Below average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Data last verified · figures per the 2025 FDD issuance

Overview

Investment
$323K – $557K
53rd pct Service Resta…
Avg gross sales
N/A
Outlet subset
Royalty
6.0%
48th pct Service Resta…
Units
45
64th pct Service Resta…
SBA charge-off
30.8%
% of SBA 7(a) loans not repaid · median varies by category

Quick verdict · Quick-Service Restaurants · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$323K – $557K
Avg $664K
below avg ↓
Franchise Fee
$15K – $30K
Avg $34K
Liquid Capital Req'd
$10K – $20K
Avg $44K
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Non-annual metric
Royalty Rate
6.0%
Avg 5.5%
Ongoing Fees
9.0% of rev
Avg 7.9%
SBA Charge-Off Rate
30.8%
Avg 17.3%
above avg ↑
System Size
45 units
Avg 236 units
Turnover Rate
15.6%
Avg 6.2%
Territory
Protected
Exclusive zone granted
Owner-Operator
Required
You must run it yourself
Litigation
None disclosed
Clean record

Green = favorable by >10% vs Quick-Service Restaurants avg · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $323K – $557K including a $30K franchise fee, 6.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSItem 19 reports outlet revenue, but not in a form that yields a per-outlet average we can compare across brands.
  • RISKVerdict D (Below average), verdict score 30/100 (higher is better). SBA loan charge-off rate of 30.8% across 14 loans (well above the 16% franchise average, based on all SBA 7(a) franchise lending, 2010–2025).
  • DECLINESystem contracting at -21.1% CAGR over 3 years. Investigate whether closures are franchisor-driven (consolidation) or franchisee-driven (economics).

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Red Mango FC, LLC
Parent company
Red Mango, LLC (RM LLC)
Predecessor
Red Mango Franchising Company (California corporation); Relay International Co., Ltd (trademark predecessor)
Prior franchisor entity
CEO title
Chief Executive Officer
Sherif Mityas
Incorporated in
Texas
HQ
14860 Montfort Drive, Suite 150 PMB 34, Dallas, Texas 75254
Auditor
A&G LLP
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$1.1M
vs $1.2M prior year

Overview

About

CEO
Sherif Mityas
Headquarters
TX
Founded
2006
FDD year
2025
States available
10

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 34% below the typical quick-service restaurants franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$323K – $557KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 20 of the 2025 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$30,000Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 19 of the 2025 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Royalty + ad fund6.0% + 3.0%
Working capital$10K – $20K

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 5–7

FDD Item 7 · 2025 filing

Initial investment breakdown

Red Mango: Item 7 initial investment breakdown
Cost componentLowHigh
Initial franchise fee$30K$30K
Working capital (3–6 mo)$10K$20K
Equipment, build-out, other$283K$507K
Total initial investment$323K$557K

Source: Red Mango 2025 FDD, Items 5 and 7[2]. “Equipment, build-out, other” is computed as total minus disclosed line items above.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$323K – $557K
Middle of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$10K – $20K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$15K – $30K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
6.0%
typical 6–8%
Ad fund
3.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
9.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Red Mango: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty6.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund3.0% of gross sales
Technology fee$2K
Transfer fee$10K
Renewal fee$8K
Inventory (initial)$5K $6K
Total fee load9.0% of rev

What do units actually make?

Item 19 typegross sales
Sample size43

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 19

ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

No Item 19 revenue figure for Red Mango is on file. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Red Mango unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 68%
typ 35%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $323K–$557K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $10K–$20K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
EBITDA margin
Total invested
$455K
Payback
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2025 FDD

Financial Performance

Reported for a subset of outlets rather than the whole system

Item 19 type
gross sales
Sample size
43
vs category median 18 · large
Range (low → high)
$4K$1.1M
Cohort dispersion (min → max)
Reporting year
2024
Fiscal year the figures cover
Source filing
FDD 2025
Disclosed in the 2025 filing, covering 2024
Gross sales rank
No comparison data
Investment cost rank53th
Lower investment ranks lower (better)
Royalty rate rank48th
Lower royalty = lower percentile (better)
Unit count rank64th
vs Quick-Service Restaurants peers
Risk score rank95th
Lower risk = lower percentile (better)

Compared against 782 Quick-Service Restaurants brands

Showing the headline figures — all 164 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Item 19 · by group

What the filing does disclose

Item 19 of this FDD reports performance in more than one group. We publish no single average for this brand; the groups the filing does disclose are listed below, quoted from its own Item 19 table.

Each row below is quoted from the FDD's own Item 19 table. Gross sales are not profit.

Outlet subset

Item 19 detail

top quartile

SegmentSampleAvg
Top 25% of Stores11$740K

bottom quartile

SegmentSampleAvg
Bottom 25% of Stores11$6K

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 9.0% (near the Quick-Service Restaurants average).

Disclosure

Item 19 reports outlet revenue, but not in a form that yields a per-outlet average we can compare across brands.

Operator retention

System contracting at -21.1% CAGR over 3 years. Investigate whether closures are franchisor-driven consolidation or franchisee exits.

Multi-unit rate

Only 1% of franchisees own multiple units. Could indicate challenging economics or a young system where operators haven't had time to expand.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Quick-Service Restaurants averages

How Red Mango Compares

Metric
Red Mango
Category Avg
vs Avg
Investment
$440K
$664K
Revenue
N/A
$1.2M
Unit Count
45
236.064

Is the system healthy?

Total units45Verified — printed on page 54 of the 2025 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it two ways.
3-yr growth-21.1%
Turnover rate15.6%

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
45
Opened
2
Last reporting year
Closed
7
Non-renewed
4
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
15.6%
Company-owned
0
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
1%
vs corporate-owned
Multi-unit owners
1.0%
Net growth (3-yr)
-21.1%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
-21.1%
Compounded over last 3 years

3-year detail · Item 20

Opened (3yr)
0
Closed (3yr)
5
Terminated (3yr)
0
Non-renewed (3yr)
4
Transfers (3yr)
0
Reacquired (3yr)
0
Franchisor bought back
2022
57
Franchised units
2023
50-7
Franchised units
2024
45-5
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 20 · 12 states with active franchisees

The Territory Map

Derived from franchisee contact records. Shows states with at least one current operator. Not where the franchisor is registered to sell new units (that data is re-extracting in a future refresh).

AK
ME
VT
NH
MA
RI
CT
NY
NJ
PA
DE
MD
DC
WA
OR
CA
NV
ID
MT
WY
UT
CO
AZ
NM
ND
SD
NE
KS
OK
TX
MN
IA
MO
AR
LA
WI
IL
MS
TN
MI
IN
KY
AL
OH
WV
GA
VA
NC
SC
FL
HI
Active operators · 12 states
No contacts on file

States derived from franchisee contact records (FDD Item 20). Shows states with at least one current operator on file. Full state registration data (Item 12) will appear on a future FDD refresh.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

F
SBA Lending Health
Weak SBA lending record · 30.8% charge-off
Total loans
14
Loan volume
$6.1M
Median loan
$220K
50th percentile
Charge-off rate
30.8%
rates vary by category · see methodology

Historical SBA 7(a) lending data, not predictive of future performance. How SBA charge-off rates are calculated

Repayment rate (PIF)
69.2%
5-yr charge-off
N/A
Loans approved 2021+
Active lenders
10
Defaults
4
Typical loan rate
6.1%
avg rate to borrowers
Franchised industry avg
10.6%
brand above franchise avg ↑
Jobs supported
358
5.8 per loan
Lender concentration
14%
top lender's share

Borrower mix: 67% went to startups / new businesses, 33% to established operators

Franchise vs independent — in snack and nonalcoholic beverage bars, franchised businesses charge off at 10.6% vs 8.9% for independents — franchising is associated with 19% higher SBA default risk in this category.

Top lenders financing Red Mango franchisees

Banco Popular de Puerto Rico2 loans0.0%
Bank of Hope2 loans50.0%
FirstBank Puerto Rico2 loans50.0%

Showing 3 of 10 lenders. The full breakdown — every lender, state distribution, interest rates & risk ratings — is in the SBA Lending Report below.

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

Premium insight

SBA Lending Report

Deep-dive into Red Mango's SBA lending history: lender network, geographic footprint, interest rates, and more.

SBA Lending Report

  • Principal loss rate and NAICS industry benchmark
  • 10 lenders with concentration factor
  • Per-state charge-off rates across 6 states
  • Startup risk premium and job creation velocity
  • 6-year lending trend
$29 one-time

Instant access. No subscription.

Lending insight

A 30.8% charge-off rate means roughly 1 in 3 franchisees failed to repay their SBA loan. Investigate what changed.

What could kill this investment?

SBA loans charge off at 30.8% — 92% above the 16.0% national norm, i.e. higher lender-observed risk.

SBA charge-off30.8%
Verdict score30/100 (higher is better)
Litigation0 cases
Going concernClear

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

DBelow average30Verdict score 30/100
High confidence±3 pts
7379

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · A&G LLP

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $1.1MYr 2: $1.2MNon-royalty: $0.1M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Total revenues of $1,146,283 for FY2024 comprised of franchise fees $68,625, royalties $809,983, brand development fund revenue $199,823, and other revenue $67,852. Prior year (FY2023) total revenues were $1,236,745.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: No
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: Yes
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: Yes

Score breakdown · what drove the 30 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MINORSlightly negative net worth -$24,704
  2. 02MINOROffset: positive net income $574,606; audited + Item 19
  3. 03MINORNo litigation/bankruptcy/going-concern

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 164 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 9.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term10 yrs
Renewal term5 yrs
TerritoryNot exclusive
Initial training48 hrs

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term10 years
Renewal term5 years
Allowed renewals2
Territory typeRadius
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryNo
Territory sizeProtected Area described as a radius or geographic area around the Store, excluding Closed Markets (malls over 350,000 sqft, airports, stadiums, etc.)
Online sales rightsRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorRequired
Non-compete (years)2 years
Non-compete (miles)1 mi
Right of first refusalYes
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Mandatory arbitrationNo
Arbitration locationDallas, Texas (AAA offices); mediation required for disputes, not binding arbitration; venue for other proceedings is Dallas County, Texas
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawTexas
Litigation count0

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
12 hrs
On-the-job training
36 hrs
Ongoing training
Required
Site selection
Franchisor approves site; franchisee required to work with designated tenant representative consulting firm
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10
POS system
Revel
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

Site selection assistance
Grand opening support
Lease negotiation help

Technology: Revel

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

39 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 39 contacts · $49
Free preview
(214) 302-••••TX
Unlock all 39 contacts
(917) 817-••••NY
(310) 294-••••TX
(646) 525-••••NY
(630) 291-••••IL

FDD download

Red Mango · FDD (2025) PDF

Single-page checkout · instant download · CSV export of contacts available separately above

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Red Mango franchise?

The total investment to open a Red Mango franchise ranges from $323K – $557K, with an initial franchise fee of $30K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Red Mango franchise owners earn?

No average owner earnings figure for Red Mango is on file. Item 19 — where a franchisor may disclose what its outlets earn — is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and we have not established what this brand's FDD says. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

What is Item 19 in the Red Mango FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Red Mango FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Red Mango's franchise failure rate?

Based on SBA 7(a) loan data, Red Mango has a charge-off rate of 30.8% across 14 loans, meaning 30.8% of franchise loans were charged off. Charge-off rates are one proxy for franchise risk, though they do not capture all closures. This data comes from FOIA-sourced SBA lending records.

How many Red Mango franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Red Mango has 45 total units in the United States, including 45 franchised units and 0 company-owned units. 2 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is Red Mango a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Red Mango as a D-grade franchise with a verdict score of 30 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Red Mango, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Quick-Service Restaurants franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Quick-Service Restaurants category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.