Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Sharetea logo

Sharetea Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Quick-Service RestaurantsDEFranchising since 2015
BAbove averageAbove average63/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$225K – $555K
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
9.1%
on 30 loans

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-02296FDD 2025Data QualityExcellent86%
Owner-operator requiredYes: Protected territory

Data from FDD filing + SBA 7(a) records

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

Sharetea is a quick-service bubble-tea franchise serving milk teas, fruit teas, and toppings. Franchisees run compact shops managing drink prep, POS, and staffing.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Sharetea franchise requires a total initial investment of $225K – $555K, including a $12K franchise fee and an ongoing 6.0% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. SBA 7(a) loans show a 9.1% charge-off rate across 30 loans[1]. FranchiseVerdict grade: B (Above average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: 2025 filing · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: medium - a newer filing may exist

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✓ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored5 of 5 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing.

Overview

Investment
$225K – $555K
31st pct Service Resta…
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
6.0%
48th pct Service Resta…
Units
153
80th pct Service Resta…
SBA charge-off
9.1%
% of SBA 7(a) loans not repaid · median varies by category

Quick verdict · Quick-Service Restaurants · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$225K – $555K
Median $486K
below median ↓, better than category
Franchise Fee
$12K – $12K
Median $35K
below median ↓, better than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$20K – $80K
Median $33K
above median ↑, worse than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
6.0%
Median 5.5%
near median
Ongoing Fees
9.0% of rev
Median 7.5%
above median ↑, worse than category
SBA Charge-Off Rate
9.1%
30 loans · Median 14.3%
below median ↓, better than category
System Size
153 units
Median 18 units
above median ↑, better than category
Turnover Rate
10.5%
Median 0.0%
Territory
Protected, not exclusive
Limits on the franchisor opening nearby; not an exclusive zone
Owner-Operator
Required
You must run it yourself
Litigation
6 cases
Review carefully

Green = favorable by >10% vs Quick-Service Restaurants median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $225K – $555K including a $12K franchise fee, 6.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict B (Above average), verdict score 63/100 (higher is better). SBA loan charge-off rate of 9.1% across 30 loans (near or below the 16% franchise average, based on all SBA 7(a) franchise lending, 2010–2025).
  • GROWTHNegative: net -6 franchised outlets in the latest year (10 opened, 16 closed); 11 signed but not yet open (Item 20).
  • DATAThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Lilian USA LLC
Parent company
Lian Fa International Dining Business Corporation
FDD Item 1, page 6 of the 2025 FDD
Ultimate parent
Lian Fa International Dining Business Corporation (Taiwan)
FDD Item 1, page 6 of the 2025 FDD
CEO title
Chief Executive Officer
Po-Yu Lai
Incorporated in
Delaware
HQ
One Commerce Center, 1201 Orange Street #600, Wilmington, DE 19899
Auditor
Kaizen CPA PLLC
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$4.2M
vs $4.7M prior year

Same owner · FDD Item 1, page 6

1 other brand on this site name Lian Fa International Dining Business Corporation (Taiwan) as parent or ultimate parent in their own FDD.

Grouped by the owner's name as each filing prints it (this page: the 2025 FDD). Spelling variants of the same group may be listed apart; a brand is never grouped with an owner its filing does not name.

Overview

About

CEO
Po-Yu Lai
Headquarters
DE
Founded
2015
FDD year
2025
States available
29

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 20% below the typical quick-service restaurants franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$225K – $555KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 20 of the 2025 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$12,000Verified — printed on page 11 of the 2025 FDD (Item 5), and another item of the same filing prints the same figure on a labelled row, which is an independent restatement.
Royalty6.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 15 of the 2025 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fund3.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 18 of the 2025 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Working capital$20K – $80K

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 5–7

FDD Item 7 · 2025 filing

Initial investment breakdown

Sharetea: Item 7 initial investment breakdown
Cost componentLowHigh
Initial franchise fee$12K$12K
Working capital (3–6 mo)$20K$80K
Equipment, build-out, other$193K$463K
Total initial investment$225K$555K

Source: Sharetea 2025 FDD, Items 5 and 7[2]. “Equipment, build-out, other” is computed as total minus disclosed line items above.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$225K – $555K
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$20K – $80K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$12K – $12K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
6.0%
Set by a formula · typical 6–8%
Ad fund
3.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
9.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Sharetea: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty6.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund3.0%
Technology fee$50
Transfer fee$10K
Renewal fee$26K
Inventory (initial)$30K – $45K
Total fee load9.0% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

Sharetea makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Sharetea unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $225K–$555K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $20K–$80K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$440K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2025 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 130 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 9.0% — above the Quick-Service Restaurants median of 7.5%.

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

System roughly stable (+4.8% 3-year CAGR) with 153 units.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Quick-Service Restaurants medians

How Sharetea Compares

Metric
Sharetea
Category median
vs median
Investment
$390K
$486Kmiddle half $342K–$748K · n=780
Below median, better than category
Revenue
N/A
$975Kmiddle half $664K–$1.4M · n=284
N/A
Unit Count
153
18middle half 5–79 · n=755
Above median, better than category

Category median of published Quick-Service Restaurants brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units153Verified — printed on page 57 of the 2025 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it two ways.
3-yr growth-3.8% (worth scrutinizing)
Turnover rate10.5% (caution)

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
153
Opened
10
Last reporting year
Closed
16
Turnover rate
10.5%
Company-owned
0
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
100%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
-3.8%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
+4.8%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Transferred
9
Reacquired
0
Franchisor bought back
Signed, not yet open
11
0.07 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
26
Franchisor's next-year forecast
2022
146
Franchised units
2023
159+13
Franchised units
2024
153-6
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 20 · 3 states with active franchisees

The Territory Map

Derived from franchisee contact records. Shows states with at least one current operator. Not where the franchisor is registered to sell new units (that data is re-extracting in a future refresh).

AK
ME
VT
NH
MA
RI
CT
NY
NJ
PA
DE
MD
DC
WA
OR
CA
NV
ID
MT
WY
UT
CO
AZ
NM
ND
SD
NE
KS
OK
TX
MN
IA
MO
AR
LA
WI
IL
MS
TN
MI
IN
KY
AL
OH
WV
GA
VA
NC
SC
FL
HI
Active operators · 3 states
No contacts on file

States derived from franchisee contact records (FDD Item 20). Shows states with at least one current operator on file. Full state registration data (Item 12) will appear on a future FDD refresh.

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

3 current owners across 3 states.

  • CA 1
  • IL 1
  • OR 1

Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

B
SBA Lending Health
Strong SBA lending record · 9.1% charge-off
Total loans
30
Loan volume
$11.9M
Median loan
$338K
50th percentile
Charge-off rate
9.1%
on 30 loans · rates vary by category · see methodology

Historical SBA 7(a) lending data, not predictive of future performance. How SBA charge-off rates are calculated

Repayment rate (PIF)
90.9%
5-yr charge-off
0.0%
Loans approved 2021+
Active lenders
21
Defaults
1
Typical loan rate
7.9%
avg rate to borrowers
Franchised industry avg
10.6%
brand beats franchise avg ↓
Jobs supported
423
3.6 per loan
Lender concentration
10%
top lender's share

Borrower mix: 62% went to startups / new businesses, 38% to established operators

Franchise vs independent — in snack and nonalcoholic beverage bars, franchised businesses charge off at 10.6% vs 8.9% for independents — franchising is associated with 19% higher SBA default risk in this category.

Top lenders financing Sharetea franchisees

East West Bank3 loans0.0%
The Huntington National Bank3 loans—
Readycap Lending, LLC3 loans0.0%

Showing 3 of 21 lenders. The full breakdown — every lender, state distribution, interest rates & risk ratings — is in the SBA Lending Report below.

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

Total loans
1
Loan volume
$261K
Charge-off rate
N/A
Jobs created
2

Historical SBA 504 lending data via CDCs, not predictive of future performance.

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

Lender network · 7(a) + 504

SBA Lending Report

Full lending analysis for Sharetea from SBA 7(a) FOIA data.

Principal loss rate
1.6%
Avg SBA guarantee
74%
Avg interest rate
7.94%
Avg chargeoff amount
$196K
Lender concentration
10.0%
Job velocity
3.6 per $100K
Startup risk premium
+16.7pp
NAICS benchmark
7.0%
NAICS 722515
Jobs supported
423

Top SBA lendersTop lender holds 10% of loans

#LenderLoansVolumeDefault %
1East West Bank3$730K0.0%
2The Huntington National Bank3$794KN/A
3Readycap Lending, LLC3$1.2M0.0%
4CDC Small Business Finance Corp.2$256K0.0%
5GBC International Bank2$708KN/A
6Timberland Bank2$1.7MN/A
7Midwest Regional Bank1$407KN/A
8Bank of Hope1$420K0.0%
9Mountain Pacific Bank1$400K0.0%
10United Business Bank1$215K100.0%

Geographic failure vector

StateLoansDefaultsRate
CACalifornia12116.7%
WAWashington1100.0%
NCNorth Carolina200.0%
TXTexas20--
ILIllinois10--
KYKentucky10--
NMNew Mexico100.0%

SBA 7(a) lending trend

2017
1
2018
3
2019
5
2020
6
2021
2
2022
2
2023
5
2024
2
2025
3
2026
1

Borrower profile

Startup15 (52%)
Existing (2+ yr)7 (24%)
Ownership change3 (10%)
New (< 2 yr)3 (10%)
Unanswered1 (3%)

Source: SBA 7(a) + 504 FOIA loan-level data, matched by FranchiseVerdict

What could kill this investment?

SBA loans charge off at 9.1% — 43% below the 16.0% national norm, i.e. lower lender-observed risk.

SBA charge-off9.1% · 30 loans
Verdict score63/100 (higher is better)
Litigation6 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

BAbove average63Verdict score 63/100

Six litigation matters but all trademark/territory disputes, mostly settled or involving the parent overseas; system is a healthy 153 units with strong financials (net worth $3.2M, net income $899,373). Item 19 not disclosed. Litigation count is moderate relative to system size and mostly IP-related.

High confidence±4 pts
5967

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: the franchisor is a named party (defendant).

Parent company Lian Fa has an ongoing trademark infringement suit against its Australian master franchisee (filed 2021). Lilian USA settled a franchisee protected-territory/trademark dispute (Tenmei Group, 2019) and a trademark infringement suit it filed against a third party (Yucheng Liu/Coolblue, settled March 2022). A personal injury suit naming Lilian USA as co-defendant (hot water burn incident) was settled. Lilian USA self-reported an unregistered franchise sale in Minnesota (consent order Sept 2022) and is subject to an ongoing Hawaii securities/franchise investigation opened March 2021. No bankruptcies disclosed.

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Kaizen CPA PLLC

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $4.2MYr 2: $4.7MNon-royalty: $0.0M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Franchisor FY2024 revenue: Franchise Revenue $1,179,205 + Royalty Income $3,045,489 + Sales $6,910 = Total Revenue $4,231,604

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: Yes
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No

Score breakdown · what drove the 63 / 100 verdict

  1. 01HIGH6 litigation matters (mostly trademark, several settled)
  2. 02MEDItem 19 not disclosed
  3. 03MINORStrong financials: net worth $3.18M, net income $899,373
  4. 04MINOR153 units, no going-concern or bankruptcy

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 130 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Full litigation history from the FDD (Items 3 and 4) →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 9.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term5 yrs
Renewal term5 yrs
TerritoryProtected, not exclusive
Initial training68 hrs

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term5 years
Renewal term5 years
Allowed renewalsℹ1
Territory typeProtected territory
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Territory radius7 mi
Online sales rightsℹRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorRequired
Non-compete (years)ℹ2 years
Non-compete (miles)ℹ3 mi
Right of first refusalℹYes
RoFR response window30 days
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Curable defaultsℹ3
Mandatory arbitrationNo
Arbitration locationCalifornia
Governing lawCalifornia
Litigation count6
View Item 3 litigation summary

Parent company Lian Fa has an ongoing trademark infringement suit against its Australian master franchisee (filed 2021). Lilian USA settled a franchisee protected-territory/trademark dispute (Tenmei Group, 2019) and a trademark infringement suit it filed against a third party (Yucheng Liu/Coolblue, settled March 2022). A personal injury suit naming Lilian USA as co-defendant (hot water burn incident) was settled. Lilian USA self-reported an unregistered franchise sale in Minnesota (consent order Sept 2022) and is subject to an ongoing Hawaii securities/franchise investigation opened March 2021. No bankruptcies disclosed.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
6 hrs
On-the-job training
62 hrs
Site selection
Franchisee selects/negotiates site; franchisor must approve
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

3 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 3 contacts · $49
Free preview
(503) 338-••••OR
Unlock all 3 contacts
(213) 576-••••CA
(217) 382-••••IL

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Sharetea franchise?

The total investment to open a Sharetea franchise ranges from $225K – $555K, with an initial franchise fee of $12K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Sharetea franchise owners earn?

Sharetea makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns Sharetea?

Sharetea is franchised by Lilian USA LLC. Its parent company is Lian Fa International Dining Business Corporation. The ultimate parent named in the FDD is Lian Fa International Dining Business Corporation (Taiwan). Source: FDD Item 1, 2025 filing.

What is Item 19 in the Sharetea FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Sharetea FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Sharetea's franchise failure rate?

Based on SBA 7(a) loan data, Sharetea has a charge-off rate of 9.1% across 30 loans, meaning 9.1% of franchise loans were charged off. Charge-off rates are one proxy for franchise risk, though they do not capture all closures. This data comes from FOIA-sourced SBA lending records.

How many Sharetea franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Sharetea has 153 total units in the United States, including 153 franchised units and 0 company-owned units. 10 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is Sharetea a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Sharetea as a B-grade franchise with a verdict score of 63 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Sharetea, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Quick-Service Restaurants franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Quick-Service Restaurants category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.