Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Premium Matcha Café Maiko logo

Premium Matcha Café Maiko Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Full-Service RestaurantsHIFranchising since 2021
BAbove averageAbove average56/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$333K – $471K
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Not SBA-matched

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-02026FDD 2025Data QualityStandard76%
Manager-run OKNo: No territory protection

Data from FDD filing

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

Premium Matcha Café Maiko is a dessert and beverage franchise serving matcha drinks, soft serve, and Japanese-style treats. Franchisees run the cafes, managing matcha prep, inventory, and counter service.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Premium Matcha Café Maiko franchise requires a total initial investment of $333K – $471K, including a $35K franchise fee and an ongoing 5.0% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: B (Above average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: medium - issued 12 to 24 months ago; a newer filing is likely on file

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored4 of 5 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing; the rest are marked “Not cited” beside the figure.

Overview

Investment
$333K – $471K
15th pct Service Resta…
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
5.0%
8th pct Service Resta…
Units
26
22nd pct Service Resta…
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Full-Service Restaurants · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$333K – $471K
Median $678K
below median ↓, better than category
Franchise Fee
$35K – $35K
Median $40K
below median ↓, better than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$10K – $20K
Median $43K
below median ↓, better than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
5.0%
Median 5.0%
near median
Ongoing Fees
7.0% of rev
Median 7.0%
near median
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Not SBA-matched
Not matched to SBA 7(a) loans
System Size
26 units
Median 20 units
above median ↑, better than category
Turnover Rate
N/A
Median 0.0%
Territory
None
The franchisor can open or license outlets nearby
Owner-Operator
Optional
Can hire a manager
Litigation
3 cases
Some history

Green = favorable by >10% vs Full-Service Restaurants median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $333K – $471K including a $35K franchise fee, 5.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict B (Above average), verdict score 56/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHPositive: net +2 franchised outlets in the latest year (2 opened, 0 closed) (Item 20).
  • DATAThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Eight USA Inc.
Parent company
Eight Kabushiki Gaisha (Eight Co., Ltd.)
FDD Item 1, page 6 of the 2025 FDD
Predecessor
EXEO USA, INC.
Prior franchisor entity
CEO title
President
Hideyuki Hashimoto
Founder active
Yes
Original founder still leading the business
Incorporated in
HI
HQ
1441 Kapiolani Blvd., Suite 910, Honolulu, Hawaii 96814
Auditor
Reiwa (Reiwa US, Honolulu, HI)
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$1.8M
vs $1.6M prior year

Overview

About

CEO
Hideyuki Hashimoto
Headquarters
HI
Founded
2019
FDD year
2025
States available
15

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 41% below the typical full-service restaurants franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$333K – $471KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 18 of the 2025 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$35,000Verified — printed on page 12 of the 2025 FDD (Item 5), and another item of the same filing prints the same figure on a labelled row, which is an independent restatement.
Royalty5.0%Not cited — published from our reading of the franchisor's disclosure document; the page it is printed on has not been located.
Ad fund0.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 28 of the 2025 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Working capital$10K – $20K

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 5–7

Item 7 total vs its own lines

The filing's Item 7 TOTAL row prints $333,300 to $470,800. Its own line items add to $336,800 to $419,800. The total is shown as the franchisor printed it; the lines are listed as printed. Only one Item 7 table in the filing; its printed TOTAL ($333,300-$470,800) equals the headline.

Full Item 7 breakdown18 line items

Initial investment breakdown

Item 7 initial investment line items
Line itemLowHigh
Initial Franchise Fee$35K$35K
Real Estate Rental$5K$15K
Construction fees including fixtures and equipment installation$180K$180K
Soft serve machine$27K$27K
Ice cream freezer$7K$7K
Ice cube machine$6K$6K
Refrigerator$7K$7K
Refrigerator (2)$4K$4K
Undercounter refrigerator$3K$3K
Inventory$12K$12K
Kitchen supplies$3K$3K
Consultation fees$3K$3K
Computer, IT and other systems$10K$15K
Furnishing$20K$70K
Opening Advertising$3K$10K
Insurance (1 year)$2K$2K
Training$1K$2K
Additional Funds$10K$20K
Total initial investment$337K$420K

Line items extracted from FDD Item 7. Ranges reflect the franchisor's stated low and high per line. Total is the sum of line-item lows / highs — actual costs may fall outside this range depending on market and build-out scope.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$333K – $471K
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$10K – $20K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$35K – $35K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
5.0%
Set by a formula · typical 6–8%
Ad fund
0.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
7.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Premium Matcha Café Maiko: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty5.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund0.0% of gross sales
Transfer fee$35K
Renewal fee$0
Inventory (initial)$12K – $12K
Total fee load7.0% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

Premium Matcha Café Maiko makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Premium Matcha Café Maiko unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $333K–$471K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $10K–$20K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$417K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2025 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 119 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 7.0% (near the Full-Service Restaurants median).

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

System expanding at 8.7% CAGR over 3 years across 26 units — operators are staying and new ones are joining.

Multi-unit rate

60% of franchisees own multiple units — high repeat-buyer rate signals strong unit economics and operator satisfaction.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Full-Service Restaurants medians

How Premium Matcha Café Maiko Compares

Metric
Premium Matcha Café Maiko
Category median
vs median
Investment
$402K
$678Kmiddle half $427K–$1.3M · n=326
Below median, better than category
Revenue
N/A
$1.6Mmiddle half $885K–$2.4M · n=122
N/A
Unit Count
26
20middle half 6–73 · n=308
Above median, better than category

Category median of published Full-Service Restaurants brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units26Verified — printed on page 48 of the 2025 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it three ways.
3-yr growth+8.7% (favorable vs category)

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
26
Opened
2
Last reporting year
Closed
0
Terminated
0
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
N/A
Company-owned
1
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
96%
vs corporate-owned
Multi-unit owners
60.0%
Net growth (3-yr)
+8.7%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
+8.7%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
0
Not renewed
0
Transferred
2
Reacquired
0
Franchisor bought back
Transfer rate
3.8%
Owners selling to other franchisees
2022
23
Franchised units
2023
23±0
Franchised units
2024
25+2
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 20 · 14 states with active franchisees

The Territory Map

Derived from franchisee contact records. Shows states with at least one current operator. Not where the franchisor is registered to sell new units (that data is re-extracting in a future refresh).

AK
ME
VT
NH
MA
RI
CT
NY
NJ
PA
DE
MD
DC
WA
OR
CA
NV
ID
MT
WY
UT
CO
AZ
NM
ND
SD
NE
KS
OK
TX
MN
IA
MO
AR
LA
WI
IL
MS
TN
MI
IN
KY
AL
OH
WV
GA
VA
NC
SC
FL
HI
Active operators · 14 states
No contacts on file

States derived from franchisee contact records (FDD Item 20). Shows states with at least one current operator on file. Full state registration data (Item 12) will appear on a future FDD refresh.

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

26 current owners across 14 states.

  • CA 9
  • GA 2
  • NJ 2
  • NY 2
  • VA 2
  • AZ 1
  • FL 1
  • HI 1
  • MA 1
  • MI 1
  • NC 1
  • OR 1
  • +2 more states

Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

No SBA loan data available for this brand.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offNot SBA-matched
Verdict score56/100 (higher is better)
Litigation3 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

BAbove average56Verdict score 56/100

Regulatory repeat offender with zero financial transparency, anemic growth, and undisclosed going concern issues—avoid until compliance and unit economics are demonstrated.

Why this reads harsher than the B grade: the grade weighs financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency across the whole filing, while this summary lists individual flags without that weighting. The flags are worth checking with current owners; neither is investment advice.

Low confidence±15 pts
4171

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: the franchisor is a named party (defendant).

Three state regulatory enforcement matters, all settled by consent/settlement order: Washington DFI Securities Division Consent Order (No. S-19-2813-20-CO01, 2020); Virginia State Corporation Commission Settlement Order (Case No. SEC-2021-00021, entered Jan 2022, civil penalties and costs); California DFPI Consent Order (Sept 2023, administrative penalties). All concerned offering/selling franchises without registration or FDD delivery, inherited via purchase of predecessor EXEO USA.

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Reiwa (Reiwa US, Honolulu, HI)

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $1.8MYr 2: $1.6M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: No
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No

Score breakdown · what drove the 56 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MINORMultiple regulatory violations across three states (WA, VA, CA) for illegal franchise sales and disclosure failures between 2020-2023, indicating systemic compliance issues
  2. 02MINORZero financial transparency: no average unit volume, average net income, or Item 19 disclosure, making ROI impossible to validate
  3. 03HIGHAnemic growth rate of 8.7% YoY with only 26 units suggests market rejection or saturation in premium matcha category; units may be declining post-litigation
  4. 04MINORHigh initial investment ($333K-$471K) combined with mandatory $500/month minimum royalty creates cash flow pressure without proven unit economics
  5. 05MINORUnprotected territory creates direct competition risk; multiple franchisees can canibalize same market without contractual safeguards
  6. 06MINOR5-year term is shorter than industry standard (10 years typical), offering minimal amortization window for initial investment

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 119 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Full litigation history from the FDD (Items 3 and 4) →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 7.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term5 yrs
Renewal term5 yrs
TerritoryNone (caution)
Initial training30 hrs

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term5 years
Renewal term5 years
Allowed renewalsℹ1
Territory typeNo territory protection
Protected territoryNo
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Online sales rightsRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorOptional
Non-compete (years)ℹ1.5 years
Right of first refusalℹYes
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice14 days
Mandatory arbitrationYes
Arbitration locationHawaii
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawHI
Litigation count3
View Item 3 litigation summary

Three state regulatory enforcement matters, all settled by consent/settlement order: Washington DFI Securities Division Consent Order (No. S-19-2813-20-CO01, 2020); Virginia State Corporation Commission Settlement Order (Case No. SEC-2021-00021, entered Jan 2022, civil penalties and costs); California DFPI Consent Order (Sept 2023, administrative penalties). All concerned offering/selling franchises without registration or FDD delivery, inherited via purchase of predecessor EXEO USA.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
5 hrs
On-the-job training
25 hrs
Training location
Hawaii (Franchisor company-owned store)
Ongoing training
Required
Field support
25 hrs/yr
On-site visits per year
Time to open
10 mo
From signing to launch
POS system
electronic cash register or other computer system commonly used in the retail industry
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✗Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Technology: electronic cash register or other computer system commonly used in the retail industry

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

26 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 26 contacts · $49
Free preview
(808) 679-••••HI
Unlock all 26 contacts
(480) 318-••••AZ
(248) 250-••••MI
(210) 267-••••TX
(407) 730-••••FL

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Premium Matcha Café Maiko franchise?

The total investment to open a Premium Matcha Café Maiko franchise ranges from $333K – $471K, with an initial franchise fee of $35K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Premium Matcha Café Maiko franchise owners earn?

Premium Matcha Café Maiko makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns Premium Matcha Café Maiko?

Premium Matcha Café Maiko is franchised by Eight USA Inc.. Its parent company is Eight Kabushiki Gaisha (Eight Co., Ltd.). Source: FDD Item 1, 2025 filing.

What is Item 19 in the Premium Matcha Café Maiko FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Premium Matcha Café Maiko FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Premium Matcha Café Maiko's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for Premium Matcha Café Maiko (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many Premium Matcha Café Maiko franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Premium Matcha Café Maiko has 26 total units in the United States, including 25 franchised units and 1 company-owned units. 2 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is Premium Matcha Café Maiko a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Premium Matcha Café Maiko as a B-grade franchise with a verdict score of 56 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Premium Matcha Café Maiko, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Full-Service Restaurants franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Full-Service Restaurants category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.