Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Meadows Original Frozen Custard logo
FV-01599FDD 2025Data Quality·Standard76%
Owner-operator requiredYes: Protected territory

Meadows Original Frozen Custard Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Quick-Service RestaurantsPAFranchising since 1987CEOSteven D. GardnerWebsite Report an errorFranchisor? Claim this listing

Data from FDD filing

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

AStrongest tier73/100

Meadows Original Frozen Custard is a dessert franchise serving premium frozen custard and frozen treats. Franchisees run the shops, managing product prep, staffing, and counter service.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Meadows Original Frozen Custard franchise requires a total initial investment of $134K – $512K, including a $25K franchise fee. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: A (Strongest tier), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Data last verified · figures per the 2025 FDD issuance

Overview

Investment
$134K – $512K
10th pct Service Resta…
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
N/A
Units
29
55th pct Service Resta…
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Quick-Service Restaurants · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$134K – $512K
Avg $664K
below avg ↓
Franchise Fee
$25K – $25K
Avg $34K
Liquid Capital Req'd
$4K – $10K
Avg $44K
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
N/A
Avg 5.5%
Ongoing Fees
1.0% of rev
Avg 7.9%
SBA Charge-Off Rate
No SBA data
Not SBA-matched
System Size
29 units
Avg 236 units
Turnover Rate
N/A
Avg 6.2%
Territory
Protected
Exclusive zone granted
Owner-Operator
Required
You must run it yourself
Litigation
None disclosed
Clean record

Green = favorable by >10% vs Quick-Service Restaurants avg · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $134K – $512K including a $25K franchise fee.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict A (Strongest tier), verdict score 73/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHSystem growing at 20.8% CAGR over 3 years with 29 total units. Strong expansion trajectory.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
The Meadows Franchise Systems, Incorporated
Parent company
Gardner Meadows, Inc.
Predecessor
J. V. Meadows and Sons
Prior franchisor entity
CEO title
President
Steven D. Gardner
CEO experience
20 yrs
Years in role or industry
Incorporated in
PA
HQ
310 Penn Street, Suite 300, Hollidaysburg, Pennsylvania 16648
Auditor
Link & Associates, P.C.
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$294K
vs $270K prior year

Overview

About

CEO
Steven D. Gardner
Headquarters
PA
Founded
1986
FDD year
2025
States available
7

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 51% below the typical quick-service restaurants franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$134K – $512KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 12 of the 2025 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$25,000Verified — printed on page 8 of the 2025 FDD (Item 5), and another item of the same filing prints the same figure on a labelled row, which is an independent restatement.
Working capital$4K – $10K

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 5–7

FDD Item 7 · 2025 filing

Initial investment breakdown

Meadows Original Frozen Custard: Item 7 initial investment breakdown
Cost componentLowHigh
Initial franchise fee$25K$25K
Working capital (3–6 mo)$4K$10K
Equipment, build-out, other$105K$477K
Total initial investment$134K$512K

Source: Meadows Original Frozen Custard 2025 FDD, Items 5 and 7[2]. “Equipment, build-out, other” is computed as total minus disclosed line items above.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$134K – $512K
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$4K – $10K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$25K – $25K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
No royalty fee on Gross Sales is required at this time; r…
Ad fund
0.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
1.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Meadows Original Frozen Custard: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Marketing / ad fund0.0%
Transfer fee$5K
Renewal fee$5K
Inventory (initial)$10K $15K
Total fee load1.0% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

Meadows Original Frozen Custard makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Meadows Original Frozen Custard unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 68%
typ 35%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $134K–$512K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $4K–$10K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, royalty rate, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
EBITDA margin
Total invested
$330K
Payback
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2025 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 134 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 1.0% — below the Quick-Service Restaurants average of 7.9%.

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

System expanding at 20.8% CAGR over 3 years across 29 units — operators are staying and new ones are joining.

Multi-unit rate

Only 9% of franchisees own multiple units. Could indicate challenging economics or a young system where operators haven't had time to expand.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Quick-Service Restaurants averages

How Meadows Original Frozen Custard Compares

Metric
Meadows Original Frozen Custard
Category Avg
vs Avg
Investment
$323K
$664K
Revenue
N/A
$1.2M
Unit Count
29
236.064

Is the system healthy?

Total units29Verified — printed on page 28 of the 2025 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it two ways.
3-yr growth+20.8%

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
29
Opened
3
Last reporting year
Closed
0
Terminated
0
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
N/A
Company-owned
0
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
100%
vs corporate-owned
Multi-unit owners
8.8%
Net growth (3-yr)
+20.8%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
+20.8%
Compounded over last 3 years

3-year detail · Item 20

Opened (3yr)
3
Closed (3yr)
0
Terminated (3yr)
0
Non-renewed (3yr)
0
Transfers (3yr)
0
Reacquired (3yr)
0
Franchisor bought back
Projected new
3
Franchisor's next-year forecast
2022
24
Franchised units
2023
26+2
Franchised units
2024
29+3
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 20 · 7 states with active franchisees

The Territory Map

Derived from franchisee contact records. Shows states with at least one current operator. Not where the franchisor is registered to sell new units (that data is re-extracting in a future refresh).

AK
ME
VT
NH
MA
RI
CT
NY
NJ
PA
DE
MD
DC
WA
OR
CA
NV
ID
MT
WY
UT
CO
AZ
NM
ND
SD
NE
KS
OK
TX
MN
IA
MO
AR
LA
WI
IL
MS
TN
MI
IN
KY
AL
OH
WV
GA
VA
NC
SC
FL
HI
Active operators · 7 states
No contacts on file

States derived from franchisee contact records (FDD Item 20). Shows states with at least one current operator on file. Full state registration data (Item 12) will appear on a future FDD refresh.

Growth insight

Fast growth in a small system. Newer franchisors expanding quickly may not yet have the support infrastructure of larger systems.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

No SBA loan data available for this brand.

What could kill this investment?

Verdict score73/100 (higher is better)
Litigation0 cases
Going concernClear

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

AStrongest tier73Verdict score 73/100

Meadows presents a CAUTION-to-HIGH RISK profile due to missing financial disclosure (Item 19), uncertain franchisor financial health (Going Concern = False), minimal system size (29 units), and opaque unit economics despite significant capital requirement.

Low confidence±12 pts
3054

Litigation (Item 3)

No litigation required to be disclosed in Item 3

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Link & Associates, P.C.

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $0.3MYr 2: $0.3MNon-royalty: $0.0M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

FY ending Nov 30, 2024. Total Revenue $293,553 = Royalties $215,887 + Franchise Fees $35,000 + Rebate Income $35,624 + Investment Income $7,042. Royalties equal revenue from required formula-mix purchases ($1.00-$1.50/gallon).

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: Yes
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No

Score breakdown · what drove the 73 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MEDNo Item 19 (Average Unit Volume) disclosed — impossible to assess ROI or payback period on $134k-$512k investment
  2. 02HIGHGoing Concern status is FALSE, indicating potential financial distress at franchisor level
  3. 03MINORUnit growth of only 11.5% YoY is modest for a growing brand and suggests market saturation or recruitment challenges
  4. 04MINORWide investment range ($134k-$512k) with no net income data makes cost predictability impossible for franchisees
  5. 05MINORNo royalty fees creates revenue uncertainty for franchisor sustainability and ongoing support quality
  6. 06MEDOnly 29 total units is a micro-franchise system with limited brand recognition and economies of scale
  7. 07MINORFrozen custard category is highly seasonal and location-dependent, increasing individual unit volatility

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 134 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 1.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term10 yrs
Renewal term10 yrs
TerritoryExclusive
Initial training208 hrs

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term10 years
Renewal term10 years
Allowed renewals1
Territory typeexclusive
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryYes
Online sales rightsGranted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Not allowed
Owner-operatorRequired
Non-compete (years)2 years
Non-compete (miles)10 mi
Right of first refusalYes
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Mandatory arbitrationNo
Arbitration locationBlair County, Pennsylvania (courts)
Jury trial waiverNo
Governing lawPA
Litigation count0
View Item 3 litigation summary

No litigation required to be disclosed in Item 3

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
4 hrs
On-the-job training
204 hrs
Training location
Affiliate-operated custard stand in Ebensburg, PA or predecessor location in Duncansville, PA
Ongoing training
Required
Time to open
3 mo
From signing to launch
Site selection
Franchisee selects, subject to Meadows approval
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

Site selection assistance
Grand opening support
Lease negotiation help

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

26 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 26 contacts · $49
Free preview
(717) 264-••••PA
Unlock all 26 contacts
(717) 762-••••PA
(814) 765-••••PA
(706) 432-••••GA
(717) 412-••••PA

FDD download

Meadows Original Frozen Custard · FDD (2025) PDF

Single-page checkout · instant download · CSV export of contacts available separately above

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Meadows Original Frozen Custard franchise?

The total investment to open a Meadows Original Frozen Custard franchise ranges from $134K – $512K, with an initial franchise fee of $25K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Meadows Original Frozen Custard franchise owners earn?

Meadows Original Frozen Custard makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

What is Item 19 in the Meadows Original Frozen Custard FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Meadows Original Frozen Custard FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Meadows Original Frozen Custard's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for Meadows Original Frozen Custard (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many Meadows Original Frozen Custard franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Meadows Original Frozen Custard has 29 total units in the United States, including 29 franchised units and 0 company-owned units. 3 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is Meadows Original Frozen Custard a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Meadows Original Frozen Custard as a A-grade franchise with a verdict score of 73 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Meadows Original Frozen Custard, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Quick-Service Restaurants franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Quick-Service Restaurants category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.