Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
JdV by Hyatt logo

JdV by Hyatt Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

LodgingILFranchising since 2019
BAbove averageAbove average68/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$40.7M – $135.3M
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Not SBA-matched

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-01342Data QualityStandard71%FDD 2024 · 2yr old
Manager-run OKYes: Protected territory

Data from FDD filing

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

This data is from a 2024 FDD. Current terms may differ. Always verify with the franchisor's latest disclosure document.

JdV by Hyatt is an upscale, independent-spirited boutique hotel franchise within Hyatt. Franchisees own and operate the hotels, managing guest services, food and beverage, and brand standards.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A JdV by Hyatt franchise requires a total initial investment of $40.7M – $135.3M, including a $100K – $120K franchise fee and an ongoing 7.0% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: B (Above average), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: 2024 filing · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: high - figures are from a filing two or more years old

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored3 of 4 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing; the rest are marked “Not cited” beside the figure.

Overview

Investment
$40.7M – $135.3M
66th pct Lodging
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
7.0%
65th pct Lodging
Units
17
26th pct Lodging
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Lodging · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$40.7M – $135.3M
Median $8.9M
above median ↑, worse than category
Franchise Fee
$100K – $120K
Median $50K
above median ↑, worse than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$650K – $1.0M
Median $312K
above median ↑, worse than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
7.0%
Median 5.0%
above median ↑, worse than category
Ongoing Fees
13.7% of rev
Median 8.5%
above median ↑, worse than category
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Not SBA-matched
Not matched to SBA 7(a) loans
System Size
17 units
Median 60 units
below median ↓, worse than category
Turnover Rate
N/A
Median 0.7%
below median ↓, better than category
Territory
Protected, not exclusive
Limits on the franchisor opening nearby; not an exclusive zone
Owner-Operator
Optional
Can hire a manager
Litigation
None disclosed
Clean record

Green = favorable by >10% vs Lodging median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $40.7M – $135.3M including a $100K franchise fee, 7.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict B (Above average), verdict score 68/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHPositive: net +2 franchised outlets in the latest year (2 opened, 0 closed); 3 signed but not yet open (Item 20).
  • DATAThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Hyatt Franchising, L.L.C.
Parent company
Hyatt Hotels Corporation
FDD Item 1, page 9 of the 2024 FDD
Incorporated in
DE
HQ
150 North Riverside Plaza, Chicago, Illinois 60606
Auditor
Deloitte & Touche LLP
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$6.7B
vs $5.9B prior year

Same owner · FDD Item 1, page 9

9 other brands on this site name Hyatt Hotels Corporation as parent or ultimate parent in their own FDD.

Grouped by the owner's name as each filing prints it (this page: the 2024 FDD). Spelling variants of the same group may be listed apart; a brand is never grouped with an owner its filing does not name.

Overview

About

CEO
Jim Chu
Headquarters
IL
Founded
1957
FDD year
2024
States available
4

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 889% above the typical lodging franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$40.7M – $135.3MCited, not corroborated — printed on page 36 of the 2024 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$100,000Not cited — published from our reading of the franchisor's disclosure document; the page it is printed on has not been located.
Royalty7.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 20 of the 2024 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fundNot extracted
Working capital$650K – $1.0M

Source: FDD 2024 · Items 5–7

FDD Item 7 · 2024 filing

Initial investment breakdown

JdV by Hyatt: Item 7 initial investment breakdown
Cost componentLowHigh
Initial franchise fee$100K$100K
Working capital (3–6 mo)$650K$1.0M
Equipment, build-out, other$40.0M$134.2M
Total initial investment$40.7M$135.3M

Source: JdV by Hyatt 2024 FDD, Items 5 and 7[2]. “Equipment, build-out, other” is computed as total minus disclosed line items above.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$40.7M – $135.3M
Middle of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$650K – $1.0M
Middle of category vs category
Franchise fee
$100K – $120K
Middle of category vs category
Royalty
7.0%
typical 6–8%
Ad fund
-n/d
Total fee load
13.7%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

JdV by Hyatt: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty7.0% of gross sales
Technology fee$6
Training fee$33K
Transfer fee$0
Renewal fee$10K
Total fee load13.7% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

JdV by Hyatt makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one JdV by Hyatt unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $40.7M–$135.3M (midpoint used)
FDD reports $650K–$1.0M

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, ad fund rate, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$88.8M
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2024 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 116 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 13.7% — above the Lodging median of 8.5%.

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

System expanding at 66.7% CAGR over 3 years across 17 units — operators are staying and new ones are joining.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Lodging medians

How JdV by Hyatt Compares

Metric
JdV by Hyatt
Category median
vs median
Investment
$88.0M
$8.9Mmiddle half $1.2M–$18.3M · n=96
Above median, worse than category
Revenue
N/A
$1.4Mmiddle half $1.0M–$1.8M · n=2
N/A
Unit Count
17
60middle half 6–245 · n=126
Below median, worse than category

Category median of published Lodging brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units17Verified — printed on page 80 of the 2024 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it three ways.
3-yr growth+66.7% (favorable vs category)

Source: FDD 2024 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
17
Opened
2
Last reporting year
Closed
0
Terminated
0
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
N/A
Company-owned
12
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
29%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
+66.7%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
+66.7%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
0
Not renewed
0
Transferred
0
Reacquired
0
Franchisor bought back
Signed, not yet open
3
0.18 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
2
Franchisor's next-year forecast
2021
3
Franchised units
2022
3±0
Franchised units
2023
5+2
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 12 · 4 states reported

The Territory Map

FDD Item 12 reports the state count, but the specific list isn't in our current data. The map will appear once we re-extract from the FDD or enough franchisee contacts are available.

4

states with franchisees (per FDD Item 12)

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

1 current owner across 1 state.

  • IL 1

Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

Growth insight

Fast growth in a small system. Newer franchisors expanding quickly may not yet have the support infrastructure of larger systems.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

No SBA loan data available for this brand.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offNot SBA-matched
Verdict score68/100 (higher is better)
Litigation0 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

BAbove average68Verdict score 68/100

JdV by Hyatt presents extreme capital requirements, zero financial transparency, unproven unit economics with only 17 locations, and opaque royalty definitions that create substantial downside risk for franchisees.

Low confidence±18 pts
5086

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Deloitte & Touche LLP

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $6667.0MYr 2: $5891.0MNon-royalty: $300.0M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Consolidated financial statements of Hyatt Hotels Corporation (parent/guarantor), in millions of dollars, FY ended December 31, 2023, audited by Deloitte & Touche LLP. Franchise entity is Hyatt Franchising, L.L.C.; figures shown are the consolidated parent guarantor. Total revenues include $3,058M reimbursement of costs incurred on behalf of managed/franchised properties.

ⓘ These are the parent company's consolidated financials (the parent guarantees the franchisor), not this brand's standalone results — the figure reflects the whole corporate group, not this brand alone.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes

Score breakdown · what drove the 68 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MINORExtreme investment range with $0 floor suggests undefined or variable costs; $40.7M ceiling indicates luxury hotel development requiring massive capital with unclear ROI timeline
  2. 02MEDNo Item 19 financial performance data disclosed — cannot validate claimed 66.7% YoY unit growth or assess actual franchisee profitability
  3. 03MINORRoyalty structure tied only to 'Channel Bookings' (likely OTA/direct only) — opaque definition may exclude significant revenue streams, making true cost burden unclear
  4. 04MINOROnly 17 units across entire system indicates nascent/unproven brand with minimal operating history to validate business model
  5. 05MEDHyatt luxury positioning creates high barrier to entry and operational complexity; franchisees must meet strict brand standards with no disclosed support mechanisms
  6. 06MED20-year term is extraordinarily long for hospitality with no disclosed renewal terms, suggesting franchisor locks in franchisees long-term with limited exit

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 116 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 13.7% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term20 yrs
Renewal term10 yrs
TerritoryProtected, not exclusive
Initial training128 hrs

Source: FDD 2024 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term20 years
Renewal term10 years
Allowed renewalsℹ1
Territory typeProtected territory
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Territory radius3 mi
Online sales rightsℹGranted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorOptional
Right of first refusalℹYes
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice10 days
Curable defaultsℹ5
Mandatory arbitrationYes
Arbitration locationChicago, Illinois (within 10 miles of franchisor's principal business address)
Governing lawIL
Litigation count0

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
242 hrs
On-the-job training
40 hrs
Training location
Chicago, Illinois (HQ), designated Hyatt hotels, or virtually; on-site at franchisee's Hotel
Ongoing training
Required
Site selection
Franchisor approves site; franchisee selects
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10
POS system
Simphony
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✗Site selection assistance
✗Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Technology: Simphony

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

1 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 1 contacts · $49
Free preview
312787••••IL

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a JdV by Hyatt franchise?

The total investment to open a JdV by Hyatt franchise ranges from $40.7M – $135.3M, with an initial franchise fee of $100K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do JdV by Hyatt franchise owners earn?

JdV by Hyatt makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns JdV by Hyatt?

JdV by Hyatt is franchised by Hyatt Franchising, L.L.C.. Its parent company is Hyatt Hotels Corporation. Source: FDD Item 1, 2024 filing.

What is Item 19 in the JdV by Hyatt FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the JdV by Hyatt FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is JdV by Hyatt's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for JdV by Hyatt (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many JdV by Hyatt franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, JdV by Hyatt has 17 total units in the United States, including 5 franchised units and 12 company-owned units. 2 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is JdV by Hyatt a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates JdV by Hyatt as a B-grade franchise with a verdict score of 68 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent JdV by Hyatt, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Lodging franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Lodging category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.