Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Freedom Boat Club logo

Freedom Boat Club Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Recreation & EntertainmentFLFranchising since 2011
AStrongest tierStrongest tier74/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$264K – $623K
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Limited · 32 loans

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-00994FDD 2026Data QualityExcellent81%
Owner-operator requiredYes: Exclusive territory

Data from FDD filing + SBA 7(a) records

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

Freedom Boat Club is a membership-based boating franchise giving members shared access to a fleet of boats without ownership. Franchisees run club locations at marinas managing the fleet, maintenance, reservations, and member services.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Freedom Boat Club franchise requires a total initial investment of $264K – $623K, including a $50K franchise fee and an ongoing 6.0% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: A (Strongest tier), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: low - issued within the last 12 months

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✓ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored4 of 5 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing; the rest are marked “Not cited” beside the figure.

Overview

Investment
$264K – $623K
21st pct Recreation & …
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
6.0%
9th pct Recreation & …
Units
437
52nd pct Recreation & …
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Recreation & Entertainment · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$264K – $623K
Median $560K
below median ↓, better than category
Franchise Fee
$50K – $50K
Median $49K
near median
Liquid Capital Req'd
$30K – $50K
Median $40K
near median
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
6.0%
Median 7.0%
below median ↓, better than category
Ongoing Fees
6.5% of rev
Median 8.0%
below median ↓, better than category
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Limited · 32 loans
Limited SBA coverage: 32 loans, rate hidden until 10 have resolved and loans reach 2% of franchised units
System Size
437 units
Median 11 units
above median ↑, better than category
Turnover Rate
3.2%
Median 0.0%
Territory
Exclusive
No other outlet of the brand may open inside it
Owner-Operator
Required
You must run it yourself
Litigation
3 cases
Some history

Green = favorable by >10% vs Recreation & Entertainment median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $264K – $623K including a $50K franchise fee, 6.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict A (Strongest tier), verdict score 74/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHPositive: net +19 franchised outlets in the latest year (33 opened, 14 closed); 6 signed but not yet open (Item 20).
  • DATAThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Freedom Franchise Systems, LLC
Parent company
Brunswick Corporation
FDD Item 1, page 8 of the 2026 FDD
Predecessor
Freedom Franchise Sales LLC
Prior franchisor entity
CEO title
President
Cecil Cohn
Incorporated in
FL
HQ
10975 Hughey Kimal Drive, Venice, FL 34292
Auditor
Robinson, Gruters & Roberts, P.A.
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$10.0M
vs $9.0M prior year

Affiliated brands

  • Name Pr

Other brands the franchisor or its parent operates (Item 1).

Overview

About

CEO
Cecil Cohn
Headquarters
FL
Founded
2011
FDD year
2026
States available
31

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 21% below the typical recreation & entertainment franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$264K – $623KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 22 of the 2026 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$50,000Verified — printed on page 14 of the 2026 FDD (Item 5), and another item of the same filing prints the same figure on a labelled row, which is an independent restatement.
Royalty6.0%Not cited — published from our reading of the franchisor's disclosure document; the page it is printed on has not been located.
Ad fund0.5%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 16 of the 2026 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Working capital$30K – $50K

Source: FDD 2026 · Items 5–7

Full Item 7 breakdown12 line items

Initial investment breakdown

Item 7 initial investment line items
Line itemLowHigh
Initial Franchise Fee$50K$50K
Training Expenses$2K$4K
Real Estate$3K$9K
Improvements (including Signage)$2K$5K
Furniture, Equipment$2K$4K
Boat Inventory$150K$400K
Professional Fees$2K$7K
Insurance$7K$15K
Start-up Advertising$15K$60K
Deposits, Licenses/Permits$1K$4K
Sales and Marketing Support Fee$0$15K
Additional Funds - Three Months$30K$50K
Total initial investment$264K$623K

Line items extracted from FDD Item 7. Ranges reflect the franchisor's stated low and high per line. Total is the sum of line-item lows / highs — actual costs may fall outside this range depending on market and build-out scope.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$264K – $623K
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$30K – $50K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$50K – $50K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
6.0%
Set by a formula · typical 6–8%
Ad fund
0.5%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
6.5%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Freedom Boat Club: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty6.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund0.5% of gross sales
Transfer fee$15K
Renewal fee$13K
Inventory (initial)$150K – $400K
Total fee load6.5% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

Freedom Boat Club makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Freedom Boat Club unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $264K–$623K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $30K–$50K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$483K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2026 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 150 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 6.5% — below the Recreation & Entertainment median of 8.0%.

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

System expanding at 8.3% CAGR over 3 years across 437 units — operators are staying and new ones are joining.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Recreation & Entertainment medians

How Freedom Boat Club Compares

Metric
Freedom Boat Club
Category median
vs median
Investment
$443K
$560Kmiddle half $268K–$1.5M · n=91
Below median, better than category
Revenue
N/A
$794Kmiddle half $424K–$1.6M · n=25
N/A
Unit Count
437
11middle half 3–64 · n=91
Above median, better than category

Category median of published Recreation & Entertainment brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units437Verified — printed on page 48 of the 2026 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it three ways.
3-yr growth+8.3% (favorable vs category)
Turnover rate3.2% (favorable vs category)

Source: FDD 2026 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
437
Opened
33
Last reporting year
Closed
14
Terminated
2
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
3.2%
Company-owned
149
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
66%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
+8.3%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
+8.3%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
2
Not renewed
0
Transferred
4
Reacquired
0
Franchisor bought back
Signed, not yet open
6
0.01 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
17
Franchisor's next-year forecast
Transfer rate
0.9%
Owners selling to other franchisees
Termination rate
0.7%
Franchisor-initiated terminations
Ceased ops
2.3%
Units that stopped operating
2023
266
Franchised units
2024
269+3
Franchised units
2025
288+19
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 12 · 31 states reported

The Territory Map

FDD Item 12 reports the state count, but the specific list isn't in our current data. The map will appear once we re-extract from the FDD or enough franchisee contacts are available.

31

states with franchisees (per FDD Item 12)

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

2 current owners across 1 state.

  • FL 2

Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20; 3 entries carry no state. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

Total loans
32
Loan volume
$20.7M
Median loan
$286K
50th percentile
Charge-off rate
Limited · 32 loans
Limited SBA coverage: 32 loans, rate hidden until 10 have resolved and loans reach 2% of franchised units

Historical SBA 7(a) lending data, not predictive of future performance. How SBA charge-off rates are calculated

Repayment rate (PIF)
Limited · 32 loans
5-yr charge-off
0.0%
Loans approved 2021+
Active lenders
11
Defaults
0
Typical loan rate
6.4%
avg rate to borrowers
vs industry
0.0%
NAICS 713930
Jobs supported
452
3.4 per loan
Lender concentration
46%
top lender's share

Borrower mix: 14% went to startups / new businesses, 86% to established operators

Vintage analysis

Freedom Boat Club charge-off rate by loan vintage

BrandNational avg
Freedom Boat Club charge-off rate by loan vintage. Showing 3 vintages from 2014 to 2016. Rates range from 0.0% to 0.0%.0%5%10%'14'15'16

Top lenders financing Freedom Boat Club franchisees

Paradise Bank11 loans0.0%
Wells Fargo Bank National Association3 loans0.0%
Trustmark Bank3 loans0.0%

Showing 3 of 11 lenders. The full breakdown — every lender, state distribution, interest rates & risk ratings — is in the SBA Lending Report below.

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

Total loans
5
Loan volume
$5.6M
Charge-off rate
N/A
Jobs created
20

Historical SBA 504 lending data via CDCs, not predictive of future performance.

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

Lender network · 7(a) + 504

SBA Lending Report

Full lending analysis for Freedom Boat Club from SBA 7(a) FOIA data.

Principal loss rate
0.0%
Avg SBA guarantee
76%
Avg interest rate
6.42%
Lender concentration
45.8%
Job velocity
3.4 per $100K
NAICS benchmark
0.0%
NAICS 713930
Jobs supported
452

Top SBA lendersTop lender holds 46% of loans

#LenderLoansVolumeDefault %
1Paradise Bank11$8.1M0.0%
2Wells Fargo Bank National Association3$931K0.0%
3Trustmark Bank3$512K0.0%
4iTHINK Financial CU1$650K0.0%
5Rockland Trust Company1$250K0.0%
6The Central Trust Bank1$127K0.0%
7CDC Small Business Finance Corp.1$80K0.0%
8First National Bank of Pennsylvania1$263K0.0%
9Live Oak Banking Company1$515KN/A
10First Business Bank1$2.0MN/A

Geographic failure vector

StateLoansDefaultsRate
FLFlorida1200.0%
TXTexas300.0%
CACalifornia200.0%
MOMissouri200.0%
SCSouth Carolina200.0%
MAMassachusetts100.0%
NCNorth Carolina100.0%
NYNew York10--

SBA 7(a) lending trend

2014
6
2015
5
2016
4
2017
2
2019
2
2020
1
2021
2
2023
1
2025
1

Borrower profile

Existing (2+ yr)5 (71%)
Ownership change1 (14%)
Startup1 (14%)

Source: SBA 7(a) + 504 FOIA loan-level data, matched by FranchiseVerdict

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offLimited · 32 loans
Verdict score74/100 (higher is better)
Litigation3 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

AStrongest tier74Verdict score 74/100

Freedom Boat Club presents meaningful litigation risk, opaque unit economics, and modest growth—warranting deep validation before investment.

High confidence±4 pts
7078

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: the franchisor is a named party (defendant).

FBC Marine Group v. FFS (2018): former franchisee alleged deceptive trade, Florida Franchise Act violations, fraudulent inducement. Settled in January 2019 for $700,000 total ($52,000 litigation-related, $648,000 for buyout of purchase option rights). All cases including two related prior suits dismissed with prejudice.

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Robinson, Gruters & Roberts, P.A.

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $10.0MYr 2: $9.0MNon-royalty: $0.0M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Total revenue for FY ended Dec 31, 2024 comprised Royalties $9,471,629, Franchise fees $549,793, and Other $13,301 (Statement of Operations, Item 21 audited financials).

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: Yes
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: No

Score breakdown · what drove the 74 / 100 verdict

  1. 01HIGHSettled litigation involving fraudulent inducement and negligent misrepresentation regarding termination of franchise agreements—indicates systemic disputes over contract enforcement
  2. 02MEDNo Item 19 (Average Unit Volume) disclosure—inability to assess actual profitability; combined with undisclosed net income, prevents ROI validation
  3. 03MINORModest unit growth of 7.1% YoY against high initial investment ($263.5K–$622.5K) suggests marginal unit economics and potential market saturation
  4. 04MED6% minimum royalty floor on undisclosed revenue base creates cash flow risk; royalty burden is unknown without average unit volumes
  5. 05MINORCollective settlement agreement indicates multiple franchisees had termination grievances—suggests franchisor enforcement practices or performance expectations may be problematic

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 150 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Full litigation history from the FDD (Items 3 and 4) →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 6.5% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term5 yrs
Renewal term5 yrs
TerritoryExclusive (favorable vs category)
Initial training49 hrs

Source: FDD 2026 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term5 years
Renewal term5 years
Allowed renewalsℹ2
Territory typeExclusive territory
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryℹYes
Territory radius5 mi
Territory population50,000
Online sales rightsℹRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorRequired
Non-compete (years)ℹ2 years
Non-compete (miles)ℹ50 mi
Right of first refusalℹYes
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice10 days
Curable defaultsℹ4
Mandatory arbitrationYes
Arbitration locationSarasota, Florida
Jury trial waiverNo
Governing lawFL
Litigation count3
View Item 3 litigation summary

FBC Marine Group v. FFS (2018): former franchisee alleged deceptive trade, Florida Franchise Act violations, fraudulent inducement. Settled in January 2019 for $700,000 total ($52,000 litigation-related, $648,000 for buyout of purchase option rights). All cases including two related prior suits dismissed with prejudice.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
37 hrs
On-the-job training
12 hrs
Training location
Venice, Florida or other location designated by franchisor
Ongoing training
Required
Time to open
2 mo
From signing to launch
Site selection
Franchisee with franchisor approval
Franchisor financing
Offered
Item 10
POS system
QuickBooks and Microsoft Office 365
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Technology: QuickBooks and Microsoft Office 365

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

5 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 5 contacts · $49
Free preview
(941) 451-••••FL
Unlock all 5 contacts
(570) 974-••••FL
(047) 309-••••
(041) 915-••••
(778) 378-••••

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Freedom Boat Club franchise?

The total investment to open a Freedom Boat Club franchise ranges from $264K – $623K, with an initial franchise fee of $50K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Freedom Boat Club franchise owners earn?

Freedom Boat Club makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns Freedom Boat Club?

Freedom Boat Club is franchised by Freedom Franchise Systems, LLC. Its parent company is Brunswick Corporation. Source: FDD Item 1, 2026 filing.

What is Item 19 in the Freedom Boat Club FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Freedom Boat Club FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Freedom Boat Club's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for Freedom Boat Club (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many Freedom Boat Club franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Freedom Boat Club has 437 total units in the United States, including 288 franchised units and 149 company-owned units. 33 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is Freedom Boat Club a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Freedom Boat Club as a A-grade franchise with a verdict score of 74 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Freedom Boat Club, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Recreation & Entertainment franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Recreation & Entertainment category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.