Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
American Poolplayers Association (APA) logo

American Poolplayers Association (APA) Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Recreation & EntertainmentMOFranchising since 1982
AStrongest tierStrongest tier74/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$22K – $31K
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Not SBA-matched

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-00122FDD 2025Data QualityExcellent81%
Owner-operator requiredYes: Protected territory

Data from FDD filing

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

The American Poolplayers Association (APA) is a franchise that runs recreational 8-ball and 9-ball pool leagues in bars and venues. Franchisees operate a local league recruiting players and teams, scheduling matches, and collecting dues within a territory.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A American Poolplayers Association (APA) franchise requires a total initial investment of $22K – $31K, including a $10K – $14K franchise fee and an ongoing 20.0% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: A (Strongest tier), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: medium - issued 12 to 24 months ago; a newer filing is likely on file

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored4 of 4 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing.

Overview

Investment
$22K – $31K
2nd pct Recreation & …
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
20.0%
52nd pct Recreation & …
Units
339
52nd pct Recreation & …
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Recreation & Entertainment · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$22K – $31K
Median $560K
below median ↓, better than category
Franchise Fee
$10K – $14K
Median $49K
below median ↓, better than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$3K – $3K
Median $40K
below median ↓, better than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
20.0%
Median 7.0%
above median ↑, worse than category
Ongoing Fees
25.0% of rev
Median 8.0%
above median ↑, worse than category
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Not SBA-matched
Not matched to SBA 7(a) loans
System Size
339 units
Median 11 units
above median ↑, better than category
Turnover Rate
0.3%
Median 0.0%
Territory
Protected, not exclusive
Limits on the franchisor opening nearby; not an exclusive zone
Owner-Operator
Required
You must run it yourself
Litigation
1 case
Some history

Green = favorable by >10% vs Recreation & Entertainment median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $22K – $31K including a $10K franchise fee, 20.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict A (Strongest tier), verdict score 74/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHPositive: net +9 franchised outlets in the latest year (13 opened, 1 closed) (Item 20).
  • DATAThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
American Poolplayers Association, Inc.
Predecessor
or parent and have not offered or sold franchises in any other line of
Prior franchisor entity
CEO title
President
Greg Fletcher
CEO experience
1995 yrs
Years in role or industry
Incorporated in
Missouri
HQ
1000 Lake Saint Louis Boulevard, Suite 325, Lake Saint Louis, Missouri 63367
Auditor
Anders Minkler Huber & Helm LLP
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$25.2M
vs $23.1M prior year
Management churn noted
Frequent turnover
Item 2 disclosed frequent executive changes

Independent franchisee associations

  • Independent Franchisee Association

Franchisee-led councils or alliances disclosed in Item 20. Indicates operator voice.

Overview

About

CEO
Greg Fletcher
Headquarters
MO
Founded
1981
FDD year
2025
States available
49

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 95% below the typical recreation & entertainment franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$22K – $31KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 26 of the 2025 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$10,000Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 26 of the 2025 FDD (Item 7). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Royalty20.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 12 of the 2025 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Ad fundNot extracted
Working capital$3K – $3K

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 5–7

Full Item 7 breakdown9 line items

Initial investment breakdown

Item 7 initial investment line items
Line itemLowHigh
Initial Franchise Fee$10K$14K
Equipment / Computer Software and Hardwarenot refundable$2K$6K
Broadband Internet Accessnot refundable$300$300
Training Seminar I Expenses$2K$3K
Real Estate & Improvements——
Initial Inventory——
Insurancenot refundable$789$789
Attorney / Accountant Feesnot refundable$4K$4K
Additional Funds - 3 monthsnot refundable$3K$3K
Total initial investment$22K$31K

Line items extracted from FDD Item 7. Ranges reflect the franchisor's stated low and high per line. Total is the sum of line-item lows / highs — actual costs may fall outside this range depending on market and build-out scope.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$22K – $31K
Top 40% of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$3K – $3K
Top 40% of category vs category
Franchise fee
$10K – $14K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
20.0%
typical 6–8%
Ad fund
No advertising fund is currently charged; APA may later p…
Total fee load
25.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

American Poolplayers Association (APA): Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty20.0%
Technology fee$388
Training fee$250
Transfer fee$2K
Renewal fee$0
Inventory (initial)$0 – $0
Total fee load25.0% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

American Poolplayers Association (APA) makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one American Poolplayers Association (APA) unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $22K–$31K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $3K–$3K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, ad fund rate, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$29K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2025 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 110 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 25.0% — above the Recreation & Entertainment median of 8.0%.

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

System expanding at 6.7% CAGR over 3 years across 339 units — operators are staying and new ones are joining.

Multi-unit rate

Only 7% of franchisees own multiple units. Could indicate challenging economics or a young system where operators haven't had time to expand.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Recreation & Entertainment medians

How American Poolplayers Association (APA) Compares

Metric
American Poolplayers Association (APA)
Category median
vs median
Investment
$26K
$560Kmiddle half $268K–$1.5M · n=91
Below median, better than category
Revenue
N/A
$794Kmiddle half $424K–$1.6M · n=25
N/A
Unit Count
339
11middle half 3–64 · n=91
Above median, better than category

Category median of published Recreation & Entertainment brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units339Verified — printed on page 57 of the 2025 FDD (Item 20), and the table's own arithmetic closes on it two ways.
3-yr growth+6.7% (favorable vs category)
Turnover rate0.3% (favorable vs category)

Source: FDD 2025 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
339
Opened
13
Last reporting year
Closed
1
Turnover rate
0.3%
Company-owned
5
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
99%
vs corporate-owned
Multi-unit owners
7.1%
Net growth (3-yr)
+6.7%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
+6.7%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Transfer rate
10.0%
Owners selling to other franchisees
Termination rate
0.3%
Franchisor-initiated terminations
Ceased ops
0.9%
Units that stopped operating
2022
313
Franchised units
2023
325+12
Franchised units
2024
334+9
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 20 · 17 states with active franchisees

The Territory Map

Derived from franchisee contact records. Shows states with at least one current operator. Not where the franchisor is registered to sell new units (that data is re-extracting in a future refresh).

AK
ME
VT
NH
MA
RI
CT
NY
NJ
PA
DE
MD
DC
WA
OR
CA
NV
ID
MT
WY
UT
CO
AZ
NM
ND
SD
NE
KS
OK
TX
MN
IA
MO
AR
LA
WI
IL
MS
TN
MI
IN
KY
AL
OH
WV
GA
VA
NC
SC
FL
HI
Active operators · 17 states
No contacts on file

States derived from franchisee contact records (FDD Item 20). Shows states with at least one current operator on file. Full state registration data (Item 12) will appear on a future FDD refresh.

Available to sell in · Item 12

  • Wisconsin

States where the franchisor is registered to sell new franchises (FDD registration filings).

Where the owners are · Item 20 owner list

83 current owners across 17 states.

  • FL 26
  • CA 20
  • CO 9
  • AZ 6
  • AL 5
  • AR 3
  • CT 3
  • GA 2
  • AK 1
  • DE 1
  • IL 1
  • KY 1
  • +5 more states

Counts only, from the list the franchisor prints in Item 20; 1 entries carry no state. Names and phone numbers are for your own due diligence and are not shown here.

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA 7(a) and 504 loan disclosures, public data unique to FranchiseVerdict.

No SBA loan data available for this brand.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offNot SBA-matched
Verdict score74/100 (higher is better)
Litigation1 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

AStrongest tier74Verdict score 74/100

Stagnant growth, undisclosed financials, and opaque royalty structure create meaningful uncertainty around profitability and franchise sustainability despite protected territory.

Moderate confidence±13 pts
6187

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: the franchisor is a named party (defendant).

One disclosed case: John and Cynthia Devore v. Jeffrey and Michelle Duda, et al. (Court of Common Pleas of Philadelphia County, PA, Docket No. 000579, filed May 4, 2016, dismissed Aug 7, 2017). A Member sued a franchisee and APA alleging defamation/tortious interference over a Facebook post; APA named via a single unsupported agency allegation. Settled by the insurer; APA denied liability.

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Anders Minkler Huber & Helm LLP

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $25.2MYr 2: $23.1MNon-royalty: $0.7M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: Yes
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: Yes
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: Yes

Score breakdown · what drove the 74 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MINORStagnant unit growth of only 2.8% YoY with 339 units suggests mature/declining system momentum
  2. 02MEDNo Item 19 (average revenue/income) disclosed prevents ROI validation and raises transparency concerns
  3. 03MINOR20% royalty on 'Basic Weekly Fee' structure is ambiguous—unclear what constitutes revenue base and actual take-home
  4. 04HIGH2016 litigation involving defamation/tortious interference indicates brand management and social media liability exposure

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 110 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Full litigation history from the FDD (Items 3 and 4) →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 25.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term7 yrs
Renewal term5 yrs
TerritoryProtected, not exclusive
Initial training60 hrs

Source: FDD 2025 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term7 years
Renewal term5 years
Territory typeProtected territory
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryℹNo
Territory population25,000
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Not allowed
Owner-operatorRequired
Non-compete (years)ℹ2 years
Right of first refusalℹNo
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice120 days
Curable defaultsℹ4
Mandatory arbitrationYes
Arbitration locationSt. Louis, Missouri metropolitan area
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawMO
Litigation count1
View Item 3 litigation summary

One disclosed case: John and Cynthia Devore v. Jeffrey and Michelle Duda, et al. (Court of Common Pleas of Philadelphia County, PA, Docket No. 000579, filed May 4, 2016, dismissed Aug 7, 2017). A Member sued a franchisee and APA alleging defamation/tortious interference over a Facebook post; APA named via a single unsupported agency allegation. Settled by the insurer; APA denied liability.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
60 hrs
On-the-job training
33 hrs
Training location
Lake Saint Louis, MO (headquarters); plus virtual sessions and in-market field training
Ongoing training
Required
Time to open
2 mo
From signing to launch
POS system
Nexus
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✗Site selection assistance
✗Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Technology: Nexus

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

84 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 84 contacts · $49
Free preview
(209) 622-••••CA
Unlock all 84 contacts
(770) 855-••••GA
(303) 653-••••CO
(321) 252-••••FL
(302) 276-••••DE

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a American Poolplayers Association (APA) franchise?

The total investment to open a American Poolplayers Association (APA) franchise ranges from $22K – $31K, with an initial franchise fee of $10K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do American Poolplayers Association (APA) franchise owners earn?

American Poolplayers Association (APA) makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns American Poolplayers Association (APA)?

American Poolplayers Association (APA) is franchised by American Poolplayers Association, Inc.. Source: FDD Item 1, 2025 filing.

What is Item 19 in the American Poolplayers Association (APA) FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the American Poolplayers Association (APA) FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is American Poolplayers Association (APA)'s franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for American Poolplayers Association (APA) (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many American Poolplayers Association (APA) franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, American Poolplayers Association (APA) has 339 total units in the United States, including 334 franchised units and 5 company-owned units. 13 new units were opened in the latest reporting year.

Is American Poolplayers Association (APA) a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates American Poolplayers Association (APA) as a A-grade franchise with a verdict score of 74 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent American Poolplayers Association (APA), you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Recreation & Entertainment franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Recreation & Entertainment category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.