Skip to main content
FranchiseVerdict
Craters & Freighters logo

Craters & Freighters Franchise Cost, Revenue & Review 2026

Business ServicesColoradoFranchising since 1991
AStrongest tierStrongest tier73/100Editorial grade from public filings; not investment advice.
Investment
$207K – $390K
Disclosed sales
not disclosed
SBA charge-off
Under 10 loans (8)

Investment, fees, disclosed sales, units, SBA record and risk, as one PDF. Free; no spam; one click to unsubscribe.

FV-00652FDD 2026Data QualityStandard76%
Owner-operator requiredYes: Exclusive territory

Data from FDD filing + SBA 7(a) records

Analysis by FranchiseVerdict Research · Methodology

Craters & Freighters is a specialty shipping and crating franchise handling fragile, oversized, and high-value items. Franchisees run local centers, building custom crates and managing packing, freight, and logistics for businesses and individuals.

FranchiseVerdict summary · 2026

A Craters & Freighters franchise requires a total initial investment of $207K – $390K, including a $30K – $40K franchise fee and an ongoing 5.0% royalty[2]. This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. FranchiseVerdict grade: A (Strongest tier), an editorial assessment, not investment advice. Run a live ROI scan →

Sources, dates and evidence

FDD issued: · Data extracted: · Last cited check: · Staleness risk: low - issued within the last 12 months

Evidence: strong✓ Investment (Item 7)✓ Item 19 status✓ Units and owners (Item 20)✗ SBA loan coverage✓ Litigation (Item 3)✓ Financial statements (Item 21)✓ Franchisor identityhow this is scored4 of 5 headline figures on this page cite a page of the filing; the rest are marked “Not cited” beside the figure.

Overview

Investment
$207K – $390K
54th pct Business Serv…
Avg gross sales
N/A
Royalty
5.0%
5th pct Business Serv…
Units
65
41st pct Business Serv…
SBA charge-off
N/A

Quick verdict · Business Services · color = vs category peers

Total Investment
$207K – $390K
Median $133K
above median ↑, worse than category
Franchise Fee
$30K – $40K
Median $48K
below median ↓, better than category
Liquid Capital Req'd
$40K – $60K
Median $23K
above median ↑, worse than category
Avg Revenue
Not disclosed
Franchisor makes none
Royalty Rate
5.0%
Median 7.0%
below median ↓, better than category
Ongoing Fees
6.0% of rev
Median 9.0%
below median ↓, better than category
SBA Charge-Off Rate
Under 10 loans (8)
Insufficient SBA coverage: 8 loans, rate hidden below 10
System Size
65 units
Median 39 units
above median ↑, better than category
Turnover Rate
1.5%
Median 3.7%
below median ↓, better than category
Territory
Exclusive
No other outlet of the brand may open inside it
Owner-Operator
Required
You must run it yourself
Litigation
None disclosed
Clean record

Green = favorable by >10% vs Business Services median · No shading = within ±10% · Red = unfavorable by >10% · Source: FDD filings + SBA 7(a)

Data from public FDD filings and SBA records. Not financial advice. Methodology

Bottom line

  • COSTTotal investment $207K – $390K including a $30K franchise fee, 5.0% ongoing royalty.
  • RETURNSThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.
  • RISKVerdict A (Strongest tier), verdict score 73/100 (higher is better).
  • GROWTHNegative: net -1 franchised outlets in the latest year (0 opened, 1 closed) (Item 20).
  • DATAThis franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Item 1 · who you're contracting with

The Franchisor

Corporate structure & franchisor financials
Legal entity
Craters & Freighters Franchise Company
CEO title
Chief Executive Officer
Matthew Schmitz
Incorporated in
Colorado
HQ
331 Corporate Circle, Suite J, Golden, Colorado 80401
Auditor
Wipfli LLP
Audited financials
Franchisor revenue
$6.7M
vs $5.9M prior year

Affiliated brands

  • We developed a national account program through a former affiliate

Other brands the franchisor or its parent operates (Item 1).

Overview

About

CEO
Matthew Schmitz
Headquarters
Colorado
Founded
1991
FDD year
2026
States available
31

Can you afford it, and what does the money buy?

Entry cost runs 125% above the typical business services franchise.

Total investment (Item 7)$207K – $390KCited, not corroborated — printed on page 45 of the 2026 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Franchise fee$30,000Verified — printed on page 11 of the 2026 FDD (Item 5), and another item of the same filing prints the same figure on a labelled row, which is an independent restatement.
Royalty5.0%Not cited — published from our reading of the franchisor's disclosure document; the page it is printed on has not been located.
Ad fund1.0%Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 12 of the 2026 FDD (Item 6). Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
Working capital$40K – $60K

Source: FDD 2026 · Items 5–7

Full Item 7 breakdown13 line items

Initial investment breakdown

Item 7 initial investment line items
Line itemLowHigh
Initial Franchise Fee$35K$45K
Travel$3K$5K
Leasehold Improvements$5K$15K
Warehouse Tools & Equipment (manual & powered tools, material handling equipment)$40K$75K
Warehouse Materials (lumber, plywood, hardware, foam, packing supplies)$15K$25K
Office Furniture, Fixtures & Equipment$5K$10K
Monthly Rent$5K$15K
Lease Security Deposit$5K$30K
Vehicle Lease/Purchase$30K$65K
Organizational Expenses$3K$5K
Insurance$20K$35K
Miscellaneous Expense$2K$5K
Additional Funds for First Three Months$40K$60K
Total initial investment$207K$390K

Line items extracted from FDD Item 7. Ranges reflect the franchisor's stated low and high per line. Total is the sum of line-item lows / highs — actual costs may fall outside this range depending on market and build-out scope.

Item 7 · what it costs to open + operate

The Vitals

Total investment
$207K – $390K
Middle of category vs category
Liquid capital req'd
$40K – $60K
Middle of category vs category
Franchise fee
$30K – $40K
Top 40% of category vs category
Royalty
5.0%
Set by a formula · typical 6–8%
Ad fund
1.0%
typical 3–5%
Total fee load
6.0%
vs 9–13% typical

Ongoing fees · Item 6

Craters & Freighters: Item 6 recurring fees
FeeAmount
Royalty5.0% of gross sales
Marketing / ad fund1.0% of gross sales
Technology fee$500
Transfer fee$15K
Renewal fee$3K
Inventory (initial)$15K – $25K
Total fee load6.0% of rev
ROI & LBO modelsSingle-unit · 25-unit portfolio · editable
Blue values = direct from FDD (Item 7 investment, Item 19 revenue, Item 6 fees)Not set = no filing supplies it and we will not substitute one. Enter your own

Craters & Freighters makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. The return models need a revenue figure to start from, and the operating costs that turn gross sales into a profit are in no FDD. Enter your own and the calculator runs on your assumptions — nothing here is modelled until you do.

Returns model · single-unit ROIC

What would one Craters & Freighters unit return on the cash you put in?

From FDDNot set — you supply itYou overrode an FDD value
Revenue · per unit, per yearnot set
Item 19 not disclosed. Enter your own revenue assumption
Franchisor take · royalty + ad fundFDD
typ 6–8%
typ 3–5%
Operating costs · not in any FDDnot set

Illustrative category typicals — not sourced to any filing, survey or sample. Replace them with figures from franchisee validation calls before you rely on the output.

Total invested capital · what you put in to openFDD
FDD Item 7: $207K–$390K (midpoint used)
FDD reports $40K–$60K

Unlevered ROIC · per unit

Your modelled return on total invested capital, before any debt financing.

—

An FDD discloses gross sales, not profit. We hold no sourced figure for annual revenue, COGS, labour, rent / occupancy and other operating costs, and will not substitute an assumed one. Enter your own and the model runs on your assumptions.


Store EBITDA · annual
—
EBITDA margin
—
Total invested
$349K
Payback
—
Single-unit only. A multi-unit portfolio gives up roughly 5–15% of this to shared services (corporate G&A) before reaching the ~10-unit break-even point.

These models are for research and scenario planning only. Not investment advice. Actual results depend on your specific location, management, and market conditions. Consult a franchise attorney and accountant before signing any franchise agreement.

Item 19 · Source: 2026 FDD

Financial Performance

No financial performance representation

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that.

Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Showing the headline figures — all 132 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

Operator outlook

What the numbers say

Data-driven interpretation of this brand's financial disclosures, fee structure, and system trajectory.

Fee burden

Total ongoing fee load of 6.0% — below the Business Services median of 9.0%.

Disclosure

This franchisor makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD. Item 19 is voluntary under the FTC Franchise Rule, and this filing states that it makes none, so no revenue or earnings figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Operator retention

System roughly stable (0.0% 3-year CAGR) with 65 units.

Source: FDD Item 19 financial performance representations and publicly filed FDD data. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Verify all figures with the franchisor and current franchisees before making any investment decision.

vs Business Services medians

How Craters & Freighters Compares

Metric
Craters & Freighters
Category median
vs median
Investment
$299K
$133Kmiddle half $79K–$260K · n=193
Above median, worse than category
Revenue
N/A
$686Kmiddle half $373K–$1.4M · n=61
N/A
Unit Count
65
39middle half 8–116 · n=193
Above median, better than category

Category median of published Business Services brands that report the figure; the middle half spans the 25th to 75th percentile and n counts the brands behind it. Medians are used because a few very large systems pull an average far from the typical brand. Revenue is disclosed gross sales, not profit.

Is the system healthy?

Total units65Cited, not corroborated — printed on page 45 of the 2026 FDD. Nothing else in our record independently restates or re-derives it.
3-yr growth+0.0%
Turnover rate1.5% (favorable vs category)

Source: FDD 2026 · Item 20

Unit growth

Item 20 · unit dynamics

The Growth Chart

Total units
65
Opened
0
Last reporting year
Closed
1
Terminated
0
Franchisor ended the franchise (per Item 20)
Non-renewed
0
Term expired, not renewed (per Item 20)
Turnover rate
1.5%
Company-owned
1
Corporate units in the system
% franchised
99%
vs corporate-owned
Net growth (3-yr)
+0.0%
Net unit change over 3 years
3-yr CAGR
+0.0%
Compounded over last 3 years

Last fiscal year · Item 20 exits and transfers

Terminated
0
Not renewed
0
Transferred
9
Reacquired
1
Franchisor bought back
Signed, not yet open
0
0.00 per open outlet · Item 20 Table 5
Projected new
3
Franchisor's next-year forecast
Transfer rate
1.6%
Owners selling to other franchisees
Ceased ops
1.6%
Units that stopped operating
2023
64
Franchised units
2024
65+1
Franchised units
2025
64-1
Franchised units

Year-over-year franchised unit counts and net change. Source: FDD Item 20.

Item 12 · 31 states reported

The Territory Map

FDD Item 12 reports the state count, but the specific list isn't in our current data. The map will appear once we re-extract from the FDD or enough franchisee contacts are available.

31

states with franchisees (per FDD Item 12)

SBA loan performance

Government records

SBA Loan Data

Aggregated from SBA loan disclosures. This brand has only 8 7(a) loans on file; statistical reliability is limited below 10 loans.

Total loans
8
Loan volume
$4.1M
Median loan
$301K
50th percentile
Charge-off rate
Under 10 loans (8)
Insufficient SBA coverage: 8 loans, rate hidden below 10

Historical SBA 7(a) lending data, not predictive of future performance. How SBA charge-off rates are calculated

Repayment rate (PIF)
Under 10 loans (8)
5-yr charge-off
Under 10 loans (8)
Loans approved 2021+
Active lenders
8
Defaults
N/A

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

Total loans
2
Loan volume
$1.1M
Charge-off rate
N/A
Jobs created
8

Historical SBA 504 lending data via CDCs, not predictive of future performance.

Explore lender portfolios on Bank Reports or regional data on State Reports.

What could kill this investment?

SBA charge-offUnder 10 loans (8)
Verdict score73/100 (higher is better)
Litigation0 cases
Auditor going-concern doubtNo (favorable vs category)

Source: SBA 7(a) FOIA · FDD Items 3, 21

Risk analysis

FranchiseVerdict rating + FDD Items 3, 4, 8, 16, 21

Risk & Legal

AStrongest tier73Verdict score 73/100

Craters & Freighters presents meaningful caution risk due to complete lack of financial transparency, stagnant unit base, and undefined royalty minimums that could strain cash flow.

Moderate confidence±9 pts
6482

Litigation (Item 3)

Subject: the franchisor is a named party (plaintiff).

No Item 3 litigation disclosed. Item 13 discloses a long-running trademark infringement case (franchisor as plaintiff) against Daisychain Enterprises/Benz defendants over unauthorized use of "Freight & Crate"/"Craters & Freighters" marks, still active as of FDD issuance.

Bankruptcy (Item 4)

None disclosed

Audited financials (Item 21)

Yes · Wipfli LLP

Franchisor revenue (Item 21)

Yr 1: $6.7MYr 2: $5.9M

Franchisor entity revenue (not unit-level)

Item 21 references audited financial statements as of Dec 31, 2023/2022/2021, but only the UNAUDITED balance sheet and P&L as of March 31, 2024 (Exhibit E) are present in the extracted text. Figures shown are from that unaudited Q1 2024 statement: Total Assets $8,205,597.90; Total Liabilities $522,245.94; Equity (net worth) $7,683,351.96; Jan-Mar 2024 Income $1,139,243.03; Net Income $540,957.16. These statements are unaudited and contain no footnotes. No CPA firm/auditor name appears in the extracted text.

Supplier relationship · Items 8 & 16

  • Franchisor sells you products: No
  • Kickbacks from required suppliers: Yes
  • Must buy proprietary products: Yes
  • Restricted to system-approved products: Yes
  • Can negotiate own supplier terms: Yes

Score breakdown · what drove the 73 / 100 verdict

  1. 01MINORNo Item 19 financial performance disclosure (average revenue and net income not provided) prevents ROI validation
  2. 02MEDStagnant or unknown unit growth with only 64 locations suggests limited brand expansion and market traction
  3. 03MINOR15-year term is lengthy and locks franchisee into relationship without demonstrated unit economics
  4. 04MEDMinimum Monthly Royalty Fee structure not disclosed—actual royalty burden unclear and potentially burdensome in slow months

Severity inferred from the FDD text · not a regulatory classification

Showing the headline figures — all 132 extracted fields are in the Full FDD Report · $19 →

What are you signing up for?

Ongoing fees run about 6.0% of sales (royalty + ad fund), before rent and labor.

Initial term15 yrs
Renewal term15 yrs
TerritoryExclusive (favorable vs category)
Initial training84 hrs

Source: FDD 2026 · Items 11, 12, 17

FDD Items 12, 15, 17 · continued from Risk & Legal

Contract & Territory Detail

Initial term15 years
Renewal term15 years
Allowed renewalsℹ1
Territory typeExclusive territory
Protected territoryYes
Exclusive territoryℹYes
Territory population1,000,000
Online sales rightsℹRestricted
Franchisor can competeYes
Hire a manager?Allowed
Owner-operatorRequired
Non-compete (years)ℹ2 years
Non-compete (miles)ℹ10 mi
Right of first refusalℹYes
Transfer requires consentYes
Termination notice30 days
Curable defaultsℹ11
Mandatory arbitrationYes
Arbitration locationDenver, Colorado
Jury trial waiverYes
Governing lawColorado
Litigation count0
View Item 3 litigation summary

No Item 3 litigation disclosed. Item 13 discloses a long-running trademark infringement case (franchisor as plaintiff) against Daisychain Enterprises/Benz defendants over unauthorized use of "Freight & Crate"/"Craters & Freighters" marks, still active as of FDD issuance.

Items 10, 11

Training & Operations

Classroom training
40 hrs
On-the-job training
44 hrs
Training location
Golden, Colorado, and/or one or more franchised locations in Colorado
Ongoing training
Required
Time to open
3 mo
From signing to launch
Site selection
franchisee, subject to franchisor approval
Franchisor financing
Not offered
Item 10
POS system
Proprietary Program
Operating tech stack

Items 5 & 11

Franchisor Support

✓Site selection assistance
✓Grand opening support
✗Lease negotiation help

Technology: Proprietary Program

Item 20 · call current owners

Franchisee Contacts

55 owners to call

Name · phone · city · state. Extracted from FDD Item 20

Unlock 55 contacts · $49
Free preview
314-770-••••
Unlock all 55 contacts
713-467-••••
407-854-••••
303-393-••••
512-295-••••

Frequently asked questions

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does it cost to open a Craters & Freighters franchise?

The total investment to open a Craters & Freighters franchise ranges from $207K – $390K, with an initial franchise fee of $30K. This includes real estate, equipment, inventory, and working capital as disclosed in their Franchise Disclosure Document (FDD).

What do Craters & Freighters franchise owners earn?

Craters & Freighters makes no financial performance representation in Item 19 of its FDD - a voluntary item under the FTC Franchise Rule - so no unit revenue figures are disclosed. Declining to publish one is lawful and is not evidence of how the outlets perform. It does mean that less about this brand can be verified from its filing, and the FranchiseVerdict grade - an editorial assessment, not investment advice - reflects that. Item 20 of the FDD lists current and former franchisees; asking them directly is the standard way to fill this gap.

Who owns Craters & Freighters?

Craters & Freighters is franchised by Craters & Freighters Franchise Company. Source: FDD Item 1, 2026 filing.

What is Item 19 in the Craters & Freighters FDD?

The FDD section where a franchisor may disclose financial performance of its outlets. Disclosure is optional and formats vary; figures are typically gross sales, which is revenue before expenses, not profit. FranchiseVerdict extracts these figures directly from the Craters & Freighters FDD and qualifies whose outlets they describe.

What is Craters & Freighters's franchise failure rate?

SBA 7(a) loan charge-off data is not available for Craters & Freighters (fewer than 10 loans on file). Charge-off rates are one way to gauge franchise risk, but not all franchise loans go through the SBA program. We recommend reviewing turnover and closure data in the FDD and speaking with current franchisees.

How many Craters & Freighters franchise locations are there?

As of their most recent FDD filing, Craters & Freighters has 65 total units in the United States, including 64 franchised units and 1 company-owned units.

Is Craters & Freighters a good franchise to buy?

FranchiseVerdict rates Craters & Freighters as a A-grade franchise with a verdict score of 73 out of 100 (higher is better). The grade is a deterministic score built from six weighted dimensions — financial health, unit economics, unit growth, scale, legal, and transparency — then calibrated against SBA loan charge-off rates and FDD age. Transparency is one of the six, so a filing that discloses less scores lower on that dimension than one that discloses more. Our rating is based solely on publicly available FDD and government data; we recommend speaking with current franchisees before making any investment decision. This is not investment advice.

Data sourced from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) FOIA records. Not financial advice.

For franchisors

Are you the franchisor?

If you represent Craters & Freighters, you can request corrections or provide updated information.

Other Business Services franchises

Compare similar franchise opportunities in the Business Services category

Data extracted from public FDD filings and SBA 7(a) loan disclosures (FOIA). This information is provided for research purposes only and does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. Verify all figures with the franchisor's current Franchise Disclosure Document before making any investment decision.